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VEHICLE CODE

MCL 257.710e
Booster seats now required
Effective July 1, 2008

Public Act 43 of 2008 amends the Michigan
Vehicle Code (MCL 257.710e) to require
that a child 4 to 7 years old and under 4 feet
9 inches tall, be seated in a child restraint
system (commonly called a “booster seat”).

As with the previous version of the statute,
there are a number of exceptions (e.g.,
children seated in school busses), and
officers should review the statute for those
exceptions. It is worth noting that the list
includes exceptions for children in vehicles
in which all available seatbelts are being
used, but those exceptions only apply to a
child who does not have to be in a booster
seat (e.g., over 4’9" or 8 to 15 years old).

For more information about the new statute,
visit the Office of Highway Safety Planning
website.

Public Act 43 of 2008

This update is published by the Michigan State Police Executive Division. Questions
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found at www.michigan.gov/msp-legal.

Additionally, the list also applies to positions

besides teachers and administrators when

the person uses their position to “gain

access to, or to establish a relationship with”

the victim. Those include:

e School employees

e Contractors employed by schools

e Non-student volunteers

e Government employees assigned to
schools

Public Act 163 of 2007

SUBSCRIPTIONS

In order to subscribe to receive the Update
via  e-malil, send an e-mail to
MSPLegal@michigan.gov. The body of the
e-mail must include: Name (first & last),
Rank, Department, and Work Phone.

CRIMINAL LAW

MCL 750.520a — MCL 750.520e

List of prohibited actors expanded in
criminal sexual conduct statutes

Effective July 1, 2008

Public Act 163 of 2007 amends the list of
persons affiliated with schools who commit
criminal sexual conduct when they engage
in sexual activity with a student.

The former version of the statute only
included teachers and administrators of
“public or nonpublic” schools. The Act adds
teachers and administrators of school
districts and intermediate school districts.

This update is provided for informational purposes only. Officers should contact their local prosecutor for an
interpretation before applying the information contained in this update.
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