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Sex Offenders Registration Act 
Amendments  
 
Public Acts 17 and 18 of 2011 amended the 
Sex Offenders Registration Act (SORA), 
MCL 28.721 to 28.736, bringing Michigan 
into compliance with the federal Sex 
Offenders Registration and Notification Act. 
 
The Tier System 
 
The amendments to the SORA require each 
offender to be placed into a tier 
classification.  The Michigan State Police 
Sex Offender Registry and Enforcement Unit 
is responsible for determining an offender’s 
tier classification based on the offense for 
which the offender was convicted of and 
certain prior convictions.  The tier 
classification determines the length of time 
the offender is required to be registered 
(MCL 28.725) and the number of times the 
offender is required to verify each year (MCL 
28.725a).   
 
Tier I offenders are required to register for 
15 years and must verify their address 
annually, within the first fifteen days of 
January. 
 
Tier II offenders are required to register for 
25 years and must verify their address twice 

a year, within the first fifteen days of January 
and July.   
 
Tier III offenders are required to register for 
life and must verify their address quarterly, 
within the first fifteen days of January, April, 
July, and October.   
 
The Reporting Requirements 
 
MCL 28.725 requires offenders who are 
residents of Michigan to report in person and 
notify law enforcement immediately 
(defined as three business days) after the 
offender does any of the following:   
 
 Changes or vacates his or her residence 

or domicile.   
 Changes place of employment or 

employment is discontinued.   
 Enrolls as a student with an institution of 

higher education, changes campuses, 
or enrollment is discontinued.   

 Changes his or her name. 
 Intends to temporarily reside at any 

place other than his or her residence for 
more than seven days.   

 Establishes any e-mail address, instant 
message address, or any other 
designations used in electronic 
communications.   

 Purchases or begins to regularly 
operate any vehicle and when 
ownership or operation is discontinued. 

 
In addition, MCL 28.725 requires offenders 
who are residents of Michigan to report in 
person and notify law enforcement three 
days prior to changing their residence or 
domicile to another state.  Offenders who 
are residents of Michigan must report in 
person and notify law enforcement 21 days 
prior to changing their residence or domicile 
to another country or travelling to another 
country for more than 7 days.   
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The 2010 edition of Michigan Criminal Law 
and Procedure: A Manual for Michigan Police 
Officers is available for purchase.     
 
The manual is published by Kendall Hunt 
Publishing Co.  Copies may be ordered by 
calling Kendall Hunt Customer Service at 
(800) 228-0810, or through their online 
catalog (search by title or ISBN: 978-0-7575-
8710-8). 

This update is provided for informational purposes only.  Officers should contact their local prosecutor for an 
interpretation before applying the information contained in this update. 
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Homeless Offenders 
 
The amendments revised the definition of 
“residence” in MCL 28.722 to address the 
issue of registering and verifying homeless 
offenders.  The definition of “residence” now 
includes the statement, “If a person is 
homeless or otherwise lacks a fixed or 
temporary residence, residence means the 
village, city, or township where the person 
spends a majority of his or her time.”  
Homeless offenders are required to comply 
with the SORA, including address 
verification and the reporting requirements 
listed above.   
 
Employee Definition Includes Volunteers 
 
MCL 28.722 now defines “employee” as “an 
individual who is self-employed or works for 
any other entity as a full-time or part-time 
employee, contractual provider, or volunteer, 
regardless of whether he or she is financially 
compensated.”  Accordingly, offenders who 
are unpaid volunteers are considered 
employees for purposes of the SORA and 
they are required to report this employment 
information to law enforcement, including 
changes to the place the offender volunteers 
and if the offender discontinues volunteering 
for the entity.   
 
Non-Residents 
 
MCL 28.723 provides that a nonresident 
who is convicted in Michigan of a listed 
offense on or after July 1, 2011, is required 
to register as an offender in Michigan.  
Nonresident offenders are not required to 
comply with the ongoing reporting 
requirements as long as the offender 
remains a nonresident and is not otherwise 
required to report under the SORA.  A 
nonresident offender is also required to have 
a photograph taken as required by MCL 
28.725a.     
 
MCL 28.725(2) requires nonresident 
offenders who work in Michigan to report in 
person and notify law enforcement of a 
change in place of employment or if 
employment is discontinued.   
 
MCL 28.724a requires nonresident 
offenders who enroll with an institution of  

 
higher education in Michigan to report in 
person and notify law enforcement within 10 
days after they enroll as students, change 
campuses, or enrollment is discontinued.   
 
Penalties  
 
MCL 28.729 and MCL 28.735 list the 
penalties for violation of the SORA.  The 
amendments changed the penalties listed in 
MCL 28.729 for violation of the reporting 
requirements.  Now, any offender who 
willfully violates the SORA is guilty of a 
felony, except: 
 
 Failure to verify address as required by 

MCL 28.725a(3) is punishable as a 2-
year misdemeanor. 

 Failure to sign registration forms as 
required by MCL 28.727(4) is 
punishable as a 93-day misdemeanor.   

 Refusal or failure to pay registration fee 
as required by MCL 28.725a(6) or MCL 
28.727(1) within 90 days of the date the 
individual registers is punishable as a 
90-day misdemeanor. 

 Failure to maintain a valid identification 
as required by MCL 28.725a(7) is 
punishable as a 2-year misdemeanor. 

 Residing in a student safety zone in 
violation of MCL 28.735 is punishable as 
a 1-year misdemeanor for first offense 
and a 2-year felony for a second or 
subsequent offense.   

 Working or loitering within a student 
safety zone in violation of MCL 28.734 is 
punishable as a 1-year misdemeanor for 
first offense and a 2-year felony for a 
second or subsequent offense.   

 
Public Act 17 of 2011 
Public Act 18 of 2011 
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In order to receive the Update via e-mail, click here 
or go to www.michigan.gov/msp-legal and click on 
“subscribe to legal updates.” 

This update is provided for informational purposes only.  Officers should contact their local prosecutor for an 
interpretation before applying the information contained in this update. 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-722-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-722-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(hccomj55uhmw2ieolzas4p55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-723-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-725a.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-725a.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(hccomj55uhmw2ieolzas4p55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-725-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(r0252fafbgrgxlvqp0k5zh45))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-724a.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-729-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-735.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-729-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-725a.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-727-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(y0nfxg45q500av45cliwi255))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-725a.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-727-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(euz3gonyfy0l1a55acrsgz55))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-727-amended.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(y0nfxg45q500av45cliwi255))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-725a.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(l3nfq255u5jlx355vyk5v245))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-735.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(l3nfq255u5jlx355vyk5v245))/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-28-734.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(rll3jqfzax4zd2zpse5yia45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=2011-SB-0188
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?2011-SB-0189
http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,1607,7-123-1574-188015--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/msp-legal

