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VVEEHHIICCLLEE  CCOODDEE  
 
Motorcycle helmet use   
 
Public Act 98 of 2012 amended MCL 
257.658, effective immediately, repealing 
Michigan’s mandatory motorcycle helmet 
requirement for certain motorcycle operators 
and passengers.   
 
A motorcycle operator is not required to 
wear a helmet if all of the following 
conditions apply: 
• The operator is at least 21 years of age 
• The operator has had his or her 

motorcycle endorsement for at least two 
years or has successfully passed a 
motorcycle safety course conducted 
according to MCL 257.811a or MCL 
257.811b 

• The operator has in effect a security for 
the first-party medical benefits payable if 
he or she is involved in a motorcycle 
crash for at least $20,000 for the 
operator or $20,000 per person if the 
operator is carrying an additional 
passenger and the passenger does not 
have at least $20,000 security 

 
A motorcycle passenger is not required to 
wear a crash helmet if all of the following 
conditions apply: 
• The passenger is at least 21 years of 

age 

• The passenger has in effect at least a 
$20,000 security for the first party 
medical benefits payable if he or she is 
involved in a motorcycle accident or the 
operator of the motorcycle has in effect 
a security that covers the operator and 
the passenger for at least $20,000 per 
person  

 
MCL 257.658 does not require a motorcycle 
operator to carry proof that he or she has 
possessed a motorcycle endorsement for at 
least two years or has successfully passed 
the motorcycle safety course. 
   
Additionally, the law does not require a 
motorcycle operator or passenger carry 
proof of the $20,000 security required to 
operate or ride a motorcycle without a 
helmet.   
 
Operators and passengers who violate MCL 
257.658 are responsible for a civil infraction 
as detailed in MCL 257.656.   
 
Officers are reminded that an officer must 
have articulable and reasonable suspicion 
that a violation of the Michigan Vehicle Code 
has occurred in order to lawfully stop a 
vehicle for a violation of the Michigan 
Vehicle Code.  For example, officers may 
not stop a motorcycle operator for not 
wearing a helmet based on the mere 
possibility the operator or passenger may 
not be exempt from the requirement to wear 
a helmet.  Officers must possess facts rising 
to the level of reasonable suspicion that the 
operator or passenger is required to wear 
and helmet and is violating the requirement.   
 

Public Act 98 of 2012 
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SSUUBBSSCCRRIIPPTTIIOONNSS  
 

In order to receive the Update via e-mail, click here 
or go to www.michigan.gov/msp-legal and click on 
“subscribe to legal updates.” 
 

CCRRIIMMIINNAALL  LLAAWW  AANNDD  PPRROOCCEEDDUURREE  MMAANNUUAALL 
 
The 2010 edition of Michigan Criminal Law 
and Procedure: A Manual for Michigan Police 
Officers is available for purchase.     
 
The manual is published by Kendall Hunt 
Publishing Co.  Copies may be ordered by 
calling Kendall Hunt Customer Service at 
(800) 228-0810, or through their online 
catalog (search by title or ISBN: 978-0-7575-
8710-8). 
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