

# Drunk driving mobilization starts August 17



The final mobilization of Fiscal Year 2018 is set to kick off in mid-August. *Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over*, a statewide crackdown, runs from Aug. 17 through Sept. 3. With support from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), state and local law enforcement agencies will be showing zero tolerance in an effort to save lives.

The enforcement period includes the Labor Day holiday weekend. Last year, there were a total of 10 fatal crashes during the three-day-holiday weekend, with four of those being alcohol-involved, including two motorcyclists. For all of 2017 in Michigan, 359 people died in 320 alcohol-involved traffic crashes. That's the highest number of fatalities from alcohol-involved crashes since 2006.

"Bad decisions can stick with you for many years to come," said Michael L. Prince, director of the Office of Highway Safety Planning (OHSP). "Drunk driving can really mess with your life, but it can end someone else's." In Michigan, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, although motorists can be arrested at any BAC level if an officer believes they are impaired. Motorists face enhanced

penalties if arrested for a first-time drunk driving offense with a .17 BAC or higher.

"We're encouraging motorists to make good choices and always put safety first," said Prince. "There are many excellent options available to help motorists get home after celebrating. It makes sense to call a taxi, have a designated driver, or spend the night at a friend's house. With all these alternatives, there's no need to put yourself, or others, at risk."

During the most recent *Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over* campaign (Nov. 17 – Dec. 10, 2017), a total of 482 motorists were arrested for drunk driving, including 71 who were charged under the state's high BAC law with a BAC of 0.17 or higher. In addition, officers issued 2,281 citations for speeding and 663 citations for driving with a suspended license.

Penalties for the first offense can include restrictions on driving privileges, up to 93 days in jail, and/or a fine up to \$500.

# Car and booster seat campaign launches

A new advertising campaign aimed at reminding parents of the three stages of child seats (rear-facing car seat, forward facing car seat, and booster seat) began in late July. The campaign includes video and radio advertising as well as social media messages. The overall message of the campaign is simple. Children should be in rear-facing car seats until they are two years old. They should be in forward-facing car seats through age five, and they should be in a booster seat until they reach 4'9" in height or eight years old.

A video was filmed at the Oakland County Fair in early July. It is being distributed in August throughout the state. Six kids from Michigan participated in the shoot, which was produced by Brogan & Partners and Radish Creative Group.

The new video can also be seen by clicking <u>here</u>.







### Traffic fatalities decline in first quarter of 2018

According to the NHTSA, traffic crash fatalities across the U.S. are projected to be down 3.6 percent in 2018 versus the same period in 2017. The NHTSA projects a total of 7,950 motor vehicle traffic fatalities in January, February, and March of 2018. For the same months in 2017, the NHTSA projects 8,250 fatalities. Final data for 2017 will be available this fall while final data

for 2018 will be available in the fall of 2019. The 2018 total of 7,950 would be the lowest first quarter total since 2015. And the 3.6 percent decrease would be the largest first quarter decrease since 2015.

Preliminary data from the Federal Highway Administration shows that vehicle miles traveled (VMT) in the first three months of 2018 increased about 2.5 billion

miles, a 0.3 percent increase. Coupled with the decrease in fatalities, that puts the projected fatality rate per 100 million VMT at 1.07, down from the 2017 first quarter projection of 1.12. The first quarter fatality rate has not been below 1.00 since 2014.

Table 1: Fatalities and Fatality Rate by Quarter, Full Year, and the Percentage Change From the Corresponding Quarter or Full Year in the Previous Year

Quarter	1st Quarter (Jan-Mar)	2nd Quarter (Apr-Jun)	3rd Quarter (Jul-Sep)	4th Quarter (Oct-Dec)	Total (Full Year)
	Fatalities an	d Percentage Change in Fa	talities for the Corresponding	ng Quarter From the Prior Yo	ear
2006	9,558	10,942	11,395	10,813	42,708
2007	9,354 [ -2.1%]	10,611 [ -3.0%]	11,056 [ -3.0%]	10,238 [ -5.3%]	41,259 [ -3.4%]
2008	8,459 [ -9.6%]	9,435 [-11.1%]	9,947 [-10.0%]	9,582 [ -6.4%]	37,423 [ -9.3%]
2009	7,552 (-10.7%)	8,975 [ -4.9%]	9,104 ( -8.5%)	8,252 [-13.9%]	33,883 [ -9.5%]
2010	6,755 [-10.6%]	8,522 [ -5,0%]	9,226 [+1,3%]	8,496 [+3.0%]	32,999 [ -2.6%]
2011	6,726 (-0.4%)	8,227 [-3.5%]	8,984 [ -2.6%]	8,542 (+0.5%)	32,479 -1.6%
2012	7,521 [+11.8%]	8,612 [+4,7%]	9,171 [ +2.1%]	8,478 [ -0.7%]	33,782 [+4.0%]
2013	7,166 [ -4.7%]	8,207 [ -4.7%]	9,024 [ -1.6%]	8,496 [+0.2%]	32,893 [ -2.6%]
2014	6.856 [ -4.3%]	8,179 [ -0.3%]	8,799 [ -2,5%]	8,910 [ +4.9%]	32,744 [ -0.5%]
2015	7,370 [ +7.5%]	8,823 [ +7.9%]	9,805 [+11.4%]	9,487 [+6.5%]	35,485 [+8.4%]
2016	8,128 [+10.3%]	9,502 [ +7.7%]	9,988 [ +1.9%]	9,843 [ +3.8%]	37,461 [+5.6%]
20171	8,250 [ +1.5%]	9,350 [ -1.6%]	9,950 [ -0.4%]	9,600 [ -2.5%]	37,150 [ -0.8%]
2018	7,950 [ -3.6%]	-	-		7 2
Barbara and		Fatality Rate per 10	Million Vehicle Miles of Tr	avel (VMT)	
2006	1.35	1.41	1.47	1,44	1.42
2007	1.31	1.35	1,41	1.37	1.36
2008	1.22	1.25	1.33	1.32	1.26
2009	1.09	1.16	1.17	1.12	1.15
2010	0.98	1.09	1.18	1.14	1.11
2011	0.98	1.09	1.18	1.17	1.10
2012	1.08	1.12	1.21	1.16	1.14
2013	1.04	1.07	1.17	1.15	1,10
2014	0.99	1.03	1.11	1.17	1.08
2015	1.03	1.08	1.20	1.21	1.15
2016	1.11	1.16	1.21	1.25	1.18
2017*	1.12	1.12	1.19	1.20	1.16
2018	1.07	-	-	-	-

12017 and 2018 statistical projections and rates based on these projections. Source: Fatalities, 2005–2015 FARS Final File, 2016 FARS Annual Report File.

VMT: FHWA March 2018 Traffic Volume Trends for 2017 and 2018 VMT, 2016 Annual Highway Statistics Series.









### Instructors needed for motorcycle safety classes

In 2017, more than 11,500 people enrolled in a Michigan motorcycle rider education class. Now, training sponsors across the state are looking for more motorcyclists to become instructors of those classes. Instructors, or "RiderCoaches," can earn between \$24-\$35 per hour. The most immediate need for RiderCoaches are at Grand Rapids Community College and Schoolcraft College.

To become a certified Motorcycle Safety Foundation RiderCoach in Michigan, you must meet the following criteria:

- Be at least 18 years old
- Have passed a Basic Rider Course (beginning motorcycle class) within the last year
- Have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least one year
- · Possess a good driving record
- · Pass a criminal background check
- Obtain a sponsorship with an approved public or private motorcycle

safety course provider (providers are located throughout the state)

 Successfully complete the RiderCoach Prep Course

The fee for a RiderCoach Prep Course is \$75 and includes the materials required for the course. RiderCoach candidates will spend approximately 80 hours in the classroom and on the motorcycle riding range. Participants must attend every session, and pass a riding-skills test and a knowledge test. They will learn how to effectively instruct and evaluate students in the classroom and on the range and will be required to teach a basic motorcycle safety class under the tutelage of an experienced instructor.

Two RiderCoach Prep Courses are being offered in August 2018.

#### **#1 IN THE LANSING AREA:**

 August 9-12 and August 16-19 at the west campus of Lansing Community College in Lansing. For more information about this eight-day course, contact RiderCoach Trainer Steve Lick at Steve.Lick@gmail.com.

#### **#2 IN THE DETROIT AREA:**

- August 13-16 at Macomb Community College—South Campus
- August 17-19 at Schoolcraft College— Radcliff Campus
- August 20 at Schoolcraft College— Livonia Campus

This eight-day course will be led by RiderCoach Trainer Vince Consiglio. For more information, contact Renee Waraksa at waraksar@macomb.edu.

In addition to the Basic Rider Course, the state offers a Basic Rider Course 2, Returning Rider Course, an Advance Rider Course, and a 3-Wheel Basic Rider Course.

Funding for the training of riders and coaches comes in part from grants administered by the OHSP. In 2017, more than \$65,000 was spent on both training 176 students in 16 ARC classes and training 39 new RiderCoaches in four RiderCoach Prep Sessions. Additionally, more than \$85,000 in federal grant funds in 2017 were spent on new training motorcycles used at the rider education ranges across the state.







West Shore Educational Service District Career and Technical Education Center (Mason County) finished first in 2018 S4SD competition.

### S4SD seeks high school applications

Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death among teens. Strive for a Safer Drive (S4SD) is a wonderful opportunity for school leaders to instruct teens about safe driving through peer-to-peer teaching. Anyone at the school can oversee the program, but it is often led by groups such as Students Against Destructive Decisions, Distributive Education Clubs of America, Student Leadership Services, National Honor Society, Student Council, Student

Senate, Link Crew, and others such as English teachers, counselors, school liaison officers, and driver education, audio visual, leadership development, and health education instructors.

All Michigan high schools are eligible to participate and receive \$1,000 to create a traffic safety campaign. Schools showcase their campaign in a PowerPoint or video and cash prizes will be awarded to the top five schools. Participating schools also

have the opportunity to attend the Ford Ride and Drive event in the spring.

Up to 75 schools will be selected to participate. The first 30 schools that apply by October 31 will receive a \$100 Visa gift card. All applications are due by November 14.

For more information, visit the *S4SD* website at Michigan.gov/s4sd or contact Tony Surman, the project coordinator, at 248-334-4971 ext. 301, or email at Strive4aSaferDrive@gmail.com.

### Save the Date

**24TH ANNUAL** 

SUMMIT SAFETY

March 19-20, 2019

(please note the Summit will be two days)
Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center, East Lansing, MI



OHSP Director Michael L. Prince recently presented Linda Fech with a pin commemorating 20 years of service with the Department of State Police. Linda started in 1998 in the Management Services Division and was there until 2012 when she became a program manager with the OHSP.



# AUSTICE .

### Three phases of an OWI investigation

By Kinga Canike and Ken Stecker

A court case is only as good as its investigation. Therefore, law enforcement must do a thorough and complete investigation so that prosecutors stand a better chance of securing a conviction at trial. In an operating while intoxicated (OWI) case, a thorough and complete investigation includes the following three phases—vehicle in motion, personal contact, and pre-arrest screening.

#### **VEHICLE IN MOTION**

Most OWI investigations begin with the driving. A vehicle may exhibit unusual driving actions such as weaving or slow speed which catch the attention of an officer. Other times, it may be an equipment violation such as an expired plate or burned out light which results in a traffic stop. Vehicle in motion refers to an officer's observations of how a vehicle is being operated, as well as how it stops when pulled over. Unusual driving patterns need to be documented in this phase.

Following are 24 cues which police may rely on to detect impaired drivers. The NHTSA studied hundreds of police reports to narrow this list down from more than 100 driving patterns that have been found to predict breath/blood alcohol concentrations (BACs) of 0.08 percent or greater.

### PROBLEMS MAINTAINING PROPER LANE POSITION

- 1. Weaving
- 2. Swerving
- 3. Weaving across lane lines
- 4. Straddling a lane line
- 5. Drifting
- 6. Turning with a wide radius
- 7. Almost striking a vehicle or other object

#### PROBLEMS WITH SPEED AND BRAKING

8. Stopping problems (too far, too short, or too jerky)

- 9. Accelerating or decelerating for no apparent reason
- 10. Varying speed
- 11. Slow speed (10+ mph under limit)

#### **VIGILANCE PROBLEMS**

- 12. Driving in opposing lanes or wrong way on one-way road
- 13. Slow response to traffic signals
- 14. Slow or failure to respond to officer's signals
- 15. Stopping in lane for no apparent reason
- 16. Driving without headlights at night
- 17. Failure to signal or signal inconsistent with action

#### **JUDGMENT PROBLEMS**

- 18. Following too closely
- 19. Improper or unsafe lane change
- 20. Illegal or improper turn (too fast, jerky, sharp, etc.)
- 21. Driving on other than the designated roadway
- 22. Stopping inappropriately in response to officer
- 23. Inappropriate or unusual behavior (throwing, arguing, etc.)
- 24. Appearing to be impaired

Studies have shown that there is a 65 percent probability that the driver is intoxicated if weaving plus one of the other above listed cues are present. If any two cues other than weaving are present, the probability that the driver is intoxicated is at least 50 percent. The presence of some cues alone (such as swerving, accelerating for no reason, or driving on other than the designated roadway) have probabilities greater than 70 percent.

How a driver stops a vehicle when commanded to do so should also be documented if there is anything unusual with the stop. Following is a list of inappropriate stopping cues:

- Attempts to flee
- Does not respond to stopping request
- Responds slowly to stopping request
- Weaves abruptly to stop
- Strikes curb/other object while stopping
- Stops suddenly

In this phase, the officer needs to determine if there is enough reasonable suspicion to make a stop based on how a vehicle is being operated, whether it's an unusual driving pattern, or if it's a simple traffic violation. All observations should be documented in the driving portion of the police report.

#### **PERSONAL CONTACT**

In this phase, the officer is determining where there is sufficient cause to ask the driver to get out of the vehicle for a road-side investigation based upon contact with the driver, which includes a face-to-face interview and observation of the driver. Sometimes the officer's decision is based on both the driving observations and interview/observations of the driver. Other times it may be based only on the interview/observations of the driver (such as where the vehicle is stopped for an equipment violation).

The face-to-face observation and interview of the driver allows the officer to use three senses to gather evidence of alcohol and/or drug influence:

**Sight:** bloodshot eyes, soiled clothing, fumbling fingers, alcohol containers, drugs or drug paraphernalia, bruises, bumps or scratches, unusual actions.

**Hearing:** slurred speech, admission of drinking, inconsistent responses, abusive language, unusual statements.

**Three Phases** Continued on page 6 >





**Three Phases** Continued from page 5 >

Smell: alcoholic beverages, marijuana, "cover up" odors like breath sprays, unusual odors.

In addition to the face-to-face interview and observations of the driver, the officer may also conduct divided attention tests which require the driver to concentrate on two or more things at the same time. The following are some examples of pre-exit questions that require a driver to divide their attention.

Asking for two things simultaneously—be alert for the driver who:

 Forgets to produce both documents, produces documents other than the ones requested; fails to see requested documents while searching through wallet or purse; fumbles or drops wallet, purse, documents; is unable to retrieve documents using fingertips.

Asking interrupting or distracting questions—be alert for the driver who:

· Ignores the question and concentrates only on the license, insurance, and registration search; forgets to resume the search after answering the question; supplies a grossly incorrect answer to the question.

Asking unusual questions:

· For example, while holding the driver's license the officer may ask the driver, "What is your middle name?"

Always observe how a driver exits the vehicle and document anything unusual. Be alert to the driver who:

· Shows angry or unusual reactions, cannot follow instructions, cannot open the door, leaves the vehicle in gear, "climbs" out of vehicle, leans against vehicle, keeps hands on vehicle for balance.

Proper face-to-face observation and interview of a driver requires the ability to recognize the sensory evidence of alcohol

and/or drug influence and the ability to describe that evidence clearly and convincingly in both the police report and later on the stand.

#### PRE-ARREST SCREENING

In this phase, the officer administers the three scientifically validated psychophysical Standardized Field Sobriety Tests. This phase also includes the Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) and any post-arrest chemical

Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) Test—This is the most reliable field sobriety test. HGN refers to an involuntary jerking occurring as the eyes gaze toward the side. Involuntary jerking of the eyes

becomes readily noticeable when a person is impaired.

In administering the HGN test, the officer has the suspect follow the motion of a small stimulus (approximately 12-15 inches from the subject's face) with the eyes only. The stimulus may be the tip of a pen or penlight.

When the HGN test is administered, the officer always begins with the subject's left eye. Each eye is examined for three spe-

- As the eye moves from side to side, does it move smoothly or does it jerk noticeably?
- · When the eye moves as far to the side as possible and is kept at that position for several seconds (minimum of four seconds), does it jerk distinctly?
- As the eye moves toward the side, does it start to jerk prior to a 45-degree angle?

The maximum number of clues that appear in one eye is three. The maximum total number for any subject is six. Research shows that if four or more clues are evident, the test is 88 percent reliable at indicating a person's BAC is .08 grams or higher.

Walk and Turn (WAT)—This is a divided-attention test which consists of an instruction and walking stage.

The WAT test consists of eight clues: 1) can't balance during instructions; 2) starts too soon; 3) stops while walking; 4) doesn't touch heel-to-toe; 5) steps off line; 6) uses arms to balance; 7) loses balance on turn or turns incorrectly; and 8) takes the wrong number of steps.

Research shows that if a subject exhibits two or more of the clues, the test is 79 percent reliable at indicating a person's BAC is .08 grams or higher.

One-Leg Stand (OLS)—It is a dividedattention test consisting of an instruction stage and a balance and counting stage.

The OLS consists of four clues: 1) sways while balancing; 2) uses arms to balance; 3) hops; and 4) puts foot down.

Research shows that, when the suspect produces two or more clues, the test is 83 percent reliable at indicating a person's BAC is .08 grams or higher.

The basic purpose of a PBT is to demonstrate the association of alcohol with the observable evidence of the subject's impairment. The PBT result is only one of many factors the officer considers in determining whether the subject should be arrested for OWI. It should never be the sole basis for an OWI arrest. In Michigan, the PBT has evidentiary limitations.

In an OWI case, an arrest/no arrest decision is always "based on the totality of the circumstances" of ALL three phases of an OWI investigation. If all the evidence taken together establishes probable cause to believe an OWI has been committed, an officer should arrest the subject for OWI.

For more information on this article and PAAM training programs, contact Kenneth Stecker or Kinga Gorzelewski Canike, Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutors, at 517-334-6060 or e-mail at steckerk@michigan.gov or gorzelewskik@michigan.gov. Please consult your prosecutor before adopting practices suggested by reports in this article. Discuss your practices that relate to this article with your commanding officers, police legal advisors, and the prosecuting attorney before changing your practice.







### 134th Trooper Recruit School graduates

After 26 weeks of training that started in January, 107 recruits were sworn in as Michigan State Police (MSP) troopers at a ceremony in Lansing on July 12. The recruits are the 134th graduating class. There are now 1,269 troopers assigned statewide.

In her address to the graduates, MSP Director Col. Kriste Kibbey Etue said, "The desire of our newest members to want to influence positive change in their communities says a lot about the caliber of people joining our ranks today. In all things you do,

do what's right, do your best, and treat others the way you want to be treated."

During Trooper Recruit School, prospective troopers receive training in firearms, water safety, defensive tactics, patrol techniques, report writing, ethics, cultural diversity and implicit bias, first aid, criminal law, crime scene processing, and precision driving.

The 135th Trooper Recruit School is set to begin on Sept. 23, 2018. If you, or someone you know, is interested in applying to become an MSP trooper, start by clicking here.

### What's Ahead

#### **AUGUST 2018**

- 14 Traffic Safety Engineering Action Team meeting. Horatio S. Earle Learning Center, 7575 Crowner Drive, Dimondale, 9 a.m.
- 14 Occupant Protection Action
  Team meeting. MSP Headquarters
  (Blue Diamond Room), 7150 Harris
  Drive, Dimondale, 10 a.m.

#### **SEPTEMBER 2018**

- 12 Michigan Truck Safety
  Commission Action Team meeting. Michigan Center for Truck
  Safety, 1131 Centennial Way,
  Lansing, 9 a.m.
- 13 Motorcycle Safety Action Team meeting. Horatio S. Earle Learning Center, 7575 Crowner Drive, Dimondale, 9 a.m.
- 13 Senior Mobility and Safety Action Team meeting. Horatio S. Earle Learning Center, 7575 Crowner Drive, Dimondale, 1:30
- 25 Pedestrian & Bicycle Safety
  Action Team meeting. Horatio
  S. Earle Learning Center, 7575
  Crowner Drive, Dimondale, 9 a.m.
- 26 Capital Area Traffic Safety Network. Horatio S. Earle Learning Center, 7575 Crowner Drive, Dimondale, 10 a.m.



# Officers attend commercial vehicle crash training

Twelve officers from around the state gathered in Marshall for a week-long commercial vehicle crash investigation course. The officers learned about rotational mechanics, skid mark measurements, speed analysis, speed from gear ratio, axle weight analysis, off-tracking, and more. The course was put on by the Institute

of Police Technology and Management (IPTM).

The officers were from MSP, MSP Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division, Ottawa County Sheriff's Office, Calhoun County Sheriff's Office, Hillsdale County Sheriff's Office, and Shelby Township Police Department.









# **University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute**

The University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute (UMTRI) opened in 1965 as the Highway Safety Research Institute and over the last 53 years has been a global leader in transportation safety research. The UMTRI has conducted more than 1,000 research projects with a multidisciplinary approach involving traffic safety analysis and bioengineering to human factors, mechanical engineering, psychology, economics, and public policy. The UMTRI has achieved international recognition for contributions to road traffic safety. Many of those contributions are now an integral, everyday part of transportation systems and technology.

Dr. Robert L. Hess, professor of engineering mechanics at the University of Michigan, was the organization's first director, retiring in 1983. Today, Dr. James Sayer leads a staff of more than 100 full-time researchers, technical and administrative personnel, teaching faculty affiliated with the university academic departments, graduate students, and other support staff.

Currently, UMTRI faculty and staff are working with the OHSP on the Michigan Traffic Crash Facts website and a study on the risk and exposure of pedestrians and bicyclists. You can learn more about UMTRI by clicking here.

### 2017 drunk driving audit available

The annual drunk driving audit for the State of Michigan is now available. The audit contains breathalyzer statistics and information for all 83 counties in the state, as well as a county-by-county look at all adjudicated cases. The MSP Criminal Justice Information Center (CJIC) is responsible for putting out the audit.

The audit found that each county averaged 124 alcohol-involved crashes in 2017,

with Wayne County having the most (1,315) and Oscoda County the fewest (three). The average alcohol-involved crash rate per 10,000 population per county was 10.30 in 2017. Baraga County had the highest rate (22.51) and Oscoda had the lowest (3.62).

The complete report, as well as reports for prior years, can be found here.



NHTSA Region 5 Regional Administrator Jonlee Anderle visits the OHSP office on Wednesday, July 25. Anderle took over the regional administrator position from Darin Jones in early 2018

### Seeking Traffic Safety Summit presentations for 2019

The OHSP is seeking general session and workshop topics and speakers for the 24th annual Michigan Traffic Safety Summit, March 19-20, 2019, at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center in East Lansing.

Presentation proposals will be reviewed by the OHSP based on the following criteria: application to a broad range of traffic safety professionals; relevance to the event; and a topic not presented at a recent summit

Forms are available on the OHSP website.

The completed form can be submitted to the OHSP by fax: 517-284-3338, email: MSP-OHSP-Summit@ michigan.gov, or mail: P.O. Box 30634, Lansing, MI 48913, by September 14, 2018.

The 2018 summit had five general sessions and more than 30 workshops, featuring more than 70 speakers.





### **OHSP Staff:**

Contact	Program Area	Phone	E-mail				
Michael L. Prince	Director	517-284-3066	princem@michigan.gov				
Kara Rueckert	Executive Assistant	517-284-3066	rueckertk1@michigan.gov				
Mallory Fox	Administrative Assistant	517-284-3091	foxm12@michigan.gov				
PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATION							
Anne Readett	Section Chief	517-284-3120	readetta@michigan.gov				
Susan Bishop	Grants Technician	517-284-3059	bishops2@michigan.gov				
Charlotte Kilvington	Analysis & Evaluation	517-284-3068	kilvingtonc@michigan.gov				
Jessica Riley	Traffic Records	517-284-3112	rileyj9@michigan.gov				
COMMUNICATIONS							
Kendall Wingrove	Section Chief	517-284-3147	wingrovek@michigan.gov				
Kari Arend	Communications Strategist	517-284-3045	arendk@michigan.gov				
Jonathan Benallack	Graphic Design	517-284-3048	benallackj1@michigan.gov				
Jon Ross	Senior Editor	517-284-3141	rossj7@michigan.gov				
FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT							
Spencer Simmons	Section Chief	517-284-3136	simmonss6@michigan.gov				
Julie Roth	Secondary Road Patrol	517-284-3121	rothj3@michigan.gov				
Heidi Ruis	Federal Programs	517-284-3122	ruish@michigan.gov				
Jean Shattuck	Accounting Technician	517-284-3123	shattuckj@michigan.gov				
PROGRAM MANAGEMENT							
Alicia Sledge	Section Chief	517-284-3140	sledgea@michigan.gov				
Jamie Dolan	Northern Michigan	517-331-6140	dolanj@michigan.gov				
Pat Eliason	Police Traffic Services	517-284-3061	eliasonp@michigan.gov				
Linda Fech	Teens/Seniors/Distracted Driving	517-284-3063	fechl@michigan.gov				
Michael Harris	DUI Enforcement Training	517-420-7889	harrism13@michigan.gov				
Alyson Kechkaylo	Occupant Protection	517-284-3067	kechkayloa@michigan.gov				
Dianne Perukel	Underage Drinking	517-284-3111	perukeld@michigan.gov				
Christy Sanborn	Impaired Driving	517-284-3135	sanbornc@michigan.gov				
Emily Shinevar	Vulnerable Roadway Users	517-284-3071	shinevare@michigan.gov				

Safety Network is published by the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning Editor: Jon Ross

Designer: Jon Benallack

Office of Highway Safety Planning

P.O. Box 30634 Lansing, MI 48909 517-284-3332

