
Michigan Department of State Police 
Precision Driving Unit 

 
STUDENT INFORMATION 

 
 
AIRLINES: 
The Capitol City Airport in Lansing, Michigan is located approximately 10 miles from the training facility.  National, 
Avis, Hertz, and Budget rental cars are available.  
 
The Kent County Airport in Grand Rapids, Michigan is located approximately 60 miles from the training facility.  
National, Avis, Hertz, and Budget rental cars are available. 
 
The Detroit Metropolitan Airport in Detroit, Michigan is located approximately 85 miles from the training facility.  
Most major car rental companies are available. 
 
 
PARKING: 
All automobiles (private, rental or departmental) will be parked in the student lot located across the street from the main 
training academy facility.  Student vehicles should not be parked in the lot directly adjacent to the main building. 
 
 
ARRIVAL: 
Class begins at 8 a.m. Monday morning.  Students should plan on arriving at the Academy early enough on Monday to 
unpack and be ready for class.  (We suggest you arrive by at least 7:30 a.m. to provide adequate time to become 
familiar with the academy grounds.) 
 
Sunday arrivals should report to the main Training Academy building.  A lock box is located in the lobby entrance.  
The combination to this lock box is 11425.  Your key and entrance into the building will be in that lock box.  If you 
have questions regarding this, please call Sheila Cowles at 517-322-5174. 
 
All students should report to the front lobby of the main Training Academy building to obtain meal passes and/or room 
assignments. 
 
LODGING: 
Lodging will be available at the Training Academy Sunday-Thursday night.  
 
All rooms will be double occupancy.  No facilities are available for spouses, families or pets. 
 
Smoking is no longer allowed in any state facility including academy dorm rooms. 
 
A television is available in the recreation room located in the basement of the academy adjacent to the cafeteria. 
 
MEALS: 
Meals will begin with lunch on Monday and conclude with lunch on Friday.  Meals will be served in the Training 
Academy cafeteria located in the basement of the Academy.  Meal times are as follows: 
 
 Meal Start Time End Time 
 Breakfast 7:00 a.m.  8:00 a.m. 
 A.M. Break 9:30 a.m.  10:30 a.m. 
 Lunch 11:30 a.m.  1:00 p.m. 
 P.M. Break 2:30 p.m.  3:30 p.m. 
 Dinner 4:30 p.m.  6:00 p.m. 
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CLOTHING: 
Appropriate attire will consist of collared shirts, denim jeans and/or slacks, and tennis shoes.  Remember that your 
personal appearance reflects not only upon yourself and our facility, but also upon the law enforcement profession. 
 
 
RECREATIONAL ACTIVITIES: 
The academy swimming pool, gymnasium, and weight room are open to all students after classroom hours.  Use of 
these areas is governed by the rules and regulations posted on entry doors.  A certified lifeguard must be on duty before 
swimming is allowed. 
 
 
WEAPONS: 
Weapons shall be locked in your dormitory desk drawer while on the Training Academy premises. 
 
 
COURT APPEARANCES: 
Successful completion of courses requires 100% attendance.  Court appearances or other departmental engagements for 
the week of your scheduled program should be rescheduled. 
 
 
STUDENT CONTACT: 
Personal mail to be received at the Academy should be addressed as follows: 
 
    Student Name 
    Advanced Precision Driving Program  
    Michigan State Police Training Academy 
    7426 North Canal Road 
    Lansing, MI  48913 
 
EMERGENCIES: 
In the event of an emergency, the telephone number is:  (517) 322-1200 
 
 
SUGGESTED ITEMS TO BRING: 
 
 3-5 Pair of Denim Jeans 

and/or Slacks 
 Boots, Gloves, Knit Cap 

(seasonal) 
 Toilet Articles (Toothpaste, 

toothbrush, razor...) 
 5 Collared Shirts  Raincoat  Sweat Clothes (if desired) 
 Tennis Shoes  Hat  Garment Bag, Suitcase 
 Sleepwear  Aspirin  Duffels 
 Sunglasses  Shower Thongs   
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NOTE 
 

Students attending the 80 hour INSTRUCTOR PROGRAM: 
 
 
 

CLASS PICTURES WILL BE TAKEN FOR 
THE INSTRUCTOR PROGRAM THE 

FIRST DAY OF CLASS. 
 

UNIFORMS OR SUITS ARE SUGGESTED. 
 

A 30 minute Presentation will be required that is vehicle or 
driving related.  This gives the student the opportunity to 

develop a presentation that may be taken back to their 
respective agency. 
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 Michigan State Police 
Precision Driving Unit 

RANGE RULES 
7426 N. Canal Road, Lansing, MI 48913 
TX: 517/322-5174, Fax: 517/322-6363 

It is imperative that the following list of rules be followed at all times to ensure the safety of all 
participants as well as the instructors.  By following these rules, a safe and efficient program 
will be presented.  A violation of any range rule shall be grounds for immediate dismissal 
from the program.  There will be no tuition refunded to a participant who has been dismissed 
from a program for violation of a range rule. 
 
1. There will be absolutely no alcoholic beverages allowed on the premises. 
 
2. There shall be no consumption of alcoholic beverages during a program, including the lunch break.  In 

addition, any alcohol consumption occurring during non-program hours shall not be evident either at the 
beginning of, nor during a training session. 

 
3. Program instructors reserve the right to administer a PBT to any participant who exhibits any indications 

of alcoholic use.  Refusal to submit to the PBT shall be grounds for immediate dismissal. 
 
4. The directions of the program instructors shall be followed at all times, under all circumstances.  There 

will be no debate as to the validity of instructions.  Should a conflict arise, the instructor’s decision shall 
be carried out and complaints registered with the coordinator at an appropriate time. 

 
5. Participants shall stay in the training area at all times unless accompanied by an instructor or at the 

express direction of an instructor. 
 
6. There will be no vehicles on the course unless accompanied by an instructor or at the express direction of 

an instructor. 
 
7. At no time shall a participant exceed a maximum designated speed without prior approval of an 

instructor. 
 
8. Emergency lights shall be activated when actively participating in a designated course. 
 
9. There shall be no pedestrian traffic in the area of the skid pad when the sprinkling system is activated.  

The system operates under extremely high pressure and could cause injury or death if someone were to 
walk in the path of a sprinkling head. 

 
10. Seatbelts, harnesses, and any other safety equipment available shall be worn at all times by all occupants 

of the patrol car. 
 
11. Helmets shall be worn at all times by all occupants within the training vehicle. 
 
12. No weapons shall be allowed on the driving range.  All handguns, knives, and any other weapons are to 

be secured in the student’s room prior to participation in any program. 
 
13. No cell phones in classroom or on track. 
 
14. Pagers will be placed on silent mode. 
 
TA-13(6/00) 
Michigan State Police 
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Training Division 

Academy Rules and Regulations 
 

ACADEMY GUESTS 
 
 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES ARE PROHIBITED ON THE TRAINING ACADEMY 

PREMISES. 
 
 SMOKING IS PROHIBITED IN THE TRAINING ACADEMY.  Smoking is only 

permitted outside – 25 feet from any entrance to the building. 
 
 Vehicles must be parked in the STUDENT PARKING LOT located east of the academy 

building. 
 
 Messages can be received for program participants by calling 517/322-1200.  A message 

will be taken and placed on the message board in the lobby.   After 5 p.m., this number is 
transferred to Operations Division.  Any emergency messages will be delivered via security 
personnel. 

 
 In case of an emergency, go to any white phone located in the hallways or cafeteria and dial 

30196 for Central Control.  
 
 Food and beverages are allowed in the classroom. 
 
 Program participants must present meal tickets prior to eating in the cafeteria; otherwise 

meals must be paid for with cash.  No cash refunds will be given. 
 
 Cafeteria hours are as follows: 
 

Breakfast 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. 
A.M. Break 9:30 to 10:30 a.m. 
Lunch 11:30 to 1:00 p.m. 
P.M. Break 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. 
Dinner 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. 
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LODGING GUESTS 

 
 DORMITORY ROOM CHECK-OUT TIME IS 8 A.M.  The janitorial staff will have 

access to all rooms for cleaning after 8 a.m. each day.  Please remove all personal 
belongings from the room by 8 a.m. on the final day of your visit.  Please do not disturb any 
fresh linen placed in the room after 8 a.m. 

 
 No animals are allowed in the Training Academy dormitory rooms. 
 
 All overnight guests are issued both a dormitory key and a desk drawer key.  Each desk 

drawer is marked either A or B to identify your drawer lock.  Use the desk drawer to secure 
your personal belongings. 

 
 Your dormitory key will unlock the academy north or east entrance doors.  Carry this key 

with you when leaving the building.  Return your keys to the front desk by 8 a.m. on your 
check-out day. 

 
 WEAPONS SHALL BE LOCKED in your desk drawer when not in your possession. 
 
 Gymnasium and weight room use are governed by rules and regulations posted outside the 

gymnasium doors.  
 
 The Michigan State Police is not responsible for the loss of personal property.  Please lock 

your dormitory room when unoccupied. 
 
 Be considerate of other academy guests by reducing noise level after 10 p.m. 
 
 
 
 

The Michigan State Police Training Division welcomes you to the Academy 
 as our guest.  We trust you share our desire for professionalism by 

complying with the aforementioned rules and regulations. 
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MICHIGAN STATE POLICE TRAINING ACADEMY 
7426 N. CANAL ROAD 

LANSING, MI 48913 
(517) 322-1200 

 
 

TO GET TO THE MICHIGAN STATE POLICE TRAINING ACADEMY: 
 
 

 From the NORTHEAST part of the state – 
Take I-69 west to I-96 east.  Get off at exit 98A 

 
 From the SOUTHEAST part of the state – 

Take I-96 west to exit 98A 
 
 From the SOUTHWEST part of the state – 

Take I-94 east to I-69 north to exit 70.  Go to 
the second traffic light and turn left (North) 
onto Canal Road 

 
 From the NORTHWEST part of the state – 

Take I-96 east to exit 98A The Academy is the seven story brick building on the 
east side of Canal Road.  

 
 
 

AREA HOTELS/MOTELS: 
 

 Comfort Inn & Suites, 9742 Woodlane Drive, Dimondale (Directly across I-96 from Drive Track) 
(517) 721-0000 

 
 Best Western Midway Motor Lodge – 7711 W. Saginaw Highway 

(517) 627-8471 
 
 Motel 6 – 7326 W. Saginaw Highway 

(517) 321-1444 
 
 Red Roof Inn, Lansing West – 7412 W. Saginaw Highway 

(517) 321-7246 
 
 Quality Suites – 901 Delta Commerce  

(517) 886-0600 
 

To get to hotels on Saginaw Highway, take I-96 
to exit 93B and go east. 

 Sheraton Lansing Hotel – 925 S. Creyts Road 
(517) 323-7100 
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