Summary of School Safety Updates

On March 28, 2019, several statutes became effective pertaining to school safety in the state of Michigan. The following information is not to be considered a comprehensive review of these requirements or statutes, but rather as a resource for school and district administrators to establish appropriate policies and procedures to address these new requirements. For further details, please refer to the full text of each statute using the links below.

District Liaison for School Safety

<u>Public Act (PA) 549 of 2018</u> requires public and nonpublic school districts to designate a liaison to serve as a representative when involvement with the school safety commission is necessary. <u>Districts **DO NOT**</u> need to notify or provide any information to the MSP unless directly requested to do so.

PA 549 of 2018 (MCL 380.1241)

(1) The board of a school district or intermediate school district, the board of directors of a public school academy, or the governing body of a nonpublic school shall designate a liaison to work with the school safety commission created under section 5 of the comprehensive school safety plan act and the <u>Office of School Safety</u> created by law. A liaison designated under this section shall be an individual who is employed by the school district, intermediate school district, public school academy, or nonpublic school or who is assigned to regularly and continuously work under contract in a school operated by the school district, intermediate school district, public school academy, or nonpublic school.

Incident Reporting

<u>PA 551 of 2018</u> requires school districts, intermediate school districts, and public school academies to report certain incidents to the Michigan State Police (MSP) within 24 hours of occurring. Information provided through the <u>online incident reporting system</u> is for statistical tracking only and does <u>NOT</u> notify first responders in the event of an emergency. Schools and districts are to follow their own policy to report emergency situations, crimes, or other incidents prior to submitting a report under this act.

PA 551 of 2018 (MCL 380.1308a)

(1) A school district, intermediate school district, or public school academy shall provide a report to the department of state police, in a <u>form</u> and manner prescribed by the department of state police, on both of the following types of incidents regarding a school operated by the school district, intermediate school district, or public school academy within 24 hours after the incident occurs:

(a) An incident involving a crime that would be required to be reported under section <u>1310a(2)</u>.

(b) An incident, if known to the school, involving the attempted commission of a crime that would be required to be reported under section 1310a(2).

(2) At least quarterly, the <u>Office of School Safety</u> created by law shall compile a report on the information received under subsection (1) and make the report available to the school safety commission created under section 5 of the comprehensive school safety plan act, the department, and any law enforcement agency upon request.

(3) A report under this section is exempt from the freedom of information act, 1976 PA 442, MCL 15.231 to 15.246.

(4) If a school district, intermediate school district, or public school academy fails to comply with subsection (1), the Department of State Police may determine that the school district,

intermediate school district, or public school academy is ineligible to receive any school safety grants from the Department of State Police for the fiscal year in which the noncompliance is discovered by the Department of State Police.

OK2SAY Hotline Emergency Contact

<u>PA 670 of 2018</u> amends PA 183 of 2013, requires every public and nonpublic school to provide the MSP at least one school official's emergency contact information biannually. The emergency contact information is kept confidential and accessed only if there is an after-hours emergency involving imminent danger to the safety or well-being of a student. Emergency contacts are to be registered through the <u>OK2SAY</u> website.

PA 670 of 2018 (MCL 752.913 (amended))

(8) At least biannually, the governing body of a school shall provide to the Department of State Police current emergency contact information for at least one school official to ensure that a school official is able to receive information under subsection (4) at all times. If a governing body provides contact information for more than one school official, the governing body shall specify the days and times that each school official is available to receive information under subsection (4).