

#### **MEDICAL AMNESTY**

To better ensure that minors at medical risk as a result of alcohol intoxication receive prompt medical attention, the state adopted a medical amnesty law to remove perceived barriers to seeking help. Minors who voluntarily present themselves, accompany other minors or initiate contact with law enforcement may be eligible for exemption from the MIP law.

# UNDER 21? IT'S ILLEGAL FOR ANYONE UNDER 21:

- >> To have alcohol in their possession at any time, regardless of whether they've consumed any of it.
- >> To possess or transport an unopened alcohol container in a motor vehicle, regardless if it is in the driver or passenger area. Both the driver and the passenger can be charged whether or not they consumed the alcohol.
- >> To use a fake I.D. to obtain alcohol.
- >> To allow anyone to use their motor vehicle after they have been drinking.

If you are under 21, you can get an MIP if you are just holding an alcoholic beverage.

Your future could be impacted by MIP citations or OWI arrests. Many employers, colleges, and military recruiters take alcohol-related offenses into consideration when hiring or accepting applicants.



#### P.O. Box 30634 Lansing, MI 48909 517-284-3332 Michigan.gov/ohsp

This material was developed through a project funded by the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

# Under 212

If you have alcohol in your possession, you can get in trouble with the law.



#### DID YOU KNOW ADULTS CAN BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR DRINKING?

Adults are legally responsible for anything that might happen to a minor who has been served alcohol in their home and may be subject to criminal prosecution and fines. If adults furnish alcohol to a minor, they may also be liable for monetary damages caused by that individual in a civil lawsuit.

- >> It is illegal to purchase alcohol for or to provide it to anyone under 21.
- >> It is illegal to allow minors to drink alcohol in your home.
- >> It is illegal to provide a fake I.D. to anyone under 21.

# Under 21? If you get caught driving with any *alcohol in your body*

#### THE FIRST TIME

- >> 30-day restricted driver's license
- >> \$125 license reinstatement fee
- >> Four points on your driving record
- >> Fines up to \$250
- >> Community service
- >> \$500 Driver Responsibility payment for two years

#### THE SECOND TIME WITHIN SEVEN YEARS

- >> 90-day suspension of your driver's license
- >> \$125 license reinstatement fee
- >> Fines up to \$500
- >> Community service
- >> \$500 Driver Responsibility payment for two years

- >> Substantial insurance rate increase or cancellation
- >> Up to 93 days in jail

If you are caught driving with a **.08 or above** blood alcohol content you may be charged with the adult crime of Operating While Intoxicated (OWI). These convictions remain on a driving record for a lifetime.

If you are caught driving with a **.17 or above** blood alcohol content, you may be charged with an adult crime that carries stiffer penalties. This conviction remains on a driving record for a lifetime.

## Under 21? If you get caught with *alcohol in your possession*— Minor in Possession (MIP)

#### THE FIRST TIME

- >> Civil infraction
- >> Fines up to \$100
- >> Substance abuse screening/assessment at your expense
- >> If you are under 18, your parents will be notified
- >> Community service
- >> No deferral possible

### THE SECOND TIME

- >> Misdemeanor
- >> Fines up to \$200
- >> Substance abuse screening/assessment at your expense
- >> If you are under 18, your parents will be notified
- >> Community service
- >> Deferral possible
- >> License shall be suspended 90 days; restriction after 30 days
- >> 30 days in jail possible upon violation of your probation or failure to pay fines

### THE THIRD TIME

- >> Misdemeanor
- >> Fines up to \$500
- >> Substance abuse screening/assessment at your expense
- >> If you are under 18, your parents will be notified
- >> Community service
- >> Deferral possible
- >> License shall be suspended 1 year; restriction after 90 days
- >> 60 days in jail possible upon violation of your probation or failure to pay fines

Your future could be impacted by MIP citations or OWI arrests. Many employers, colleges, and military recruiters take alcoholrelated offenses into consideration when hiring or accepting applicants.