
MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL 

AMATEUR RADIO OPERATOR CALL LETTER LICENSE PLATE 
Name Michigan Driver License Number 

Street Address 

City State Zip Code County 

Current License Plate Number Daytime Telephone Number 

ARO Call Letters ARO License Type 

Vehicle Year Vehicle Make Vehicle Identification Number 

Eligibility: These license plates may only be issued to a person who holds a valid Amateur Radio Operator (ARO) license 
issued by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).  Under Michigan law the only eligible ARO license 
types are:  Technician, General, Conditional, Advanced, or Extra Class.  The vehicle for which these plates are 
issued must be titled or leased in the name of the person holding the ARO license. 

Expiration: ARO license plates expire on the applicant’s birthday. 

Fees:  (Check One)  Standard Plate - $2 service fee plus regular registration fee.  A current license plate on the same
vehicle may be used as credit for the regular fee.

 Graphic Plate - $7 service fee plus regular registration fee.  A current license plate on the same vehicle
may be used as credit for the regular fee.

 Replacement Plate - $5 to replace current ARO plate and regular registration renewal fees if
applicable.

If unable to determine the registration fee, please call 1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424) 

To apply for an original Amateur Radio Operator license plate you must mail the following: 

• This completed application;
• A copy of your Amateur Radio Operator license issued by the FCC;
• Proof of Michigan no-fault insurance;
• A check or money order for the $2 service fee ($7 for graphic plate) and regular registration fee (unless you have a current

license plate on the same vehicle).
• A check or money order for the $5 replacement plate.
• Make check or money order payable to “State of Michigan”.

Mail to: Michigan Department of State 
Renewal By Mail Unit 
7064 Crowner Drive 
Lansing, MI  48980-0001 

I certify that all information is correct and I am the holder of a valid Amateur Radio Operator license issued by the Federal 
Communications Commission.  I also understand that if my FCC license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled I will surrender the 
license plate to the Secretary of State. 

Signature 

X 

Date 

www.Michigan.gov/sos 

MV-74 (11/15) Authority granted under Public Act 300 of 1949, as amended.

http://www.michigan.gov/sos
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