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Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) 
For former participants in the Personal Healthcare Fund 

 

A Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) is a tax-advantaged health savings plan funded and wholly-owned by your employer, 
and administered by the Michigan Office of Retirement Services(ORS), to help you pay for eligible healthcare expenses incurred 
after retirement. HRA rules do not allow you to contribute. Funds are deposited into a noninterest-bearing account for you when 
you terminate employment. You are not subject to income or employment taxes on either the HRA funds or on the 
reimbursement amounts of any eligible healthcare expenses received by you from the HRA. Unused funds may be carried 
forward for reimbursement in future years. To learn more, go to www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p969.pdf. 

Who’s Eligible? 
Only former participants in the Personal Healthcare Fund (PHF) who have a bona fide termination of employment are eligible for 
an HRA. ORS will determine your eligibility based on your age, service credit, and any other requirements specific to your 
retirement system. You will be notified in writing if you qualify for an HRA, and the value. 
 
Can the HRA reimburse me for the eligible healthcare expenses incurred by my dependents, too? 
Yes. Once you have terminated employment and your HRA has been funded, you, your spouse, and your dependent children 
are eligible to receive benefits from the account.  Expenses for a spouse must be incurred while still married to you. Expenses 
for a child are only allowed if the child generally qualifies as your dependent under IRC Section 152 and is age 26 or younger at 
the end of the tax year (certain exceptions apply).  

What happens to my HRA after I die? 
If there are any funds remaining in the account after you die, your surviving spouse and/or eligible dependent(s) may still use the 
HRA to pay for their eligible healthcare expenses. These benefits end when your spouse remarries or dies and when your 
dependent(s) cease to qualify as your spouse’s dependent under IRC Section 152.   
 
If you die with no eligible dependents and funds on account, your estate or representatives may submit claims for eligible 
expenses incurred by you before your death, as long as the claims are submitted no later than 180 days after your death. Any 
remaining funds are forfeited. Under no circumstances will you or your survivors have the right, currently or in future years, to 
receive cash or any taxable or nontaxable benefit other than reimbursement of eligible healthcare expenses that are incurred 
while you (or your survivors) are actively covered by the plan. Your survivor should contact the Michigan Office of Retirement 
Services (ORS) upon your death. We will ask for your social security number so we can transfer your account to your eligible 
survivor, if any, or process final claims for your estate. 

How long will my HRA last? 
Your HRA account will remain open until: 
• your funds are depleted. 
• the account has been inactive for more than 3 years. 
• you die with no surviving spouse or eligible dependents.  

Knowingly falsifying information or submitting a fraudulent HRA claim form can result in the termination of your account and the 
forfeiture of any account balance. The State of Michigan retains the right to modify or terminate the plan at any time for any 
reason, consistent with law. Any changes will be directly communicated to all account holders.  

How much reimbursement can I request? 
You can request reimbursement for the full value of the eligible expense, as long as it doesn’t exceed the balance of your 
account.  The minimum reimbursement paid will be $50 or the balance of your account, whichever is less.  You may need to 
combine multiple expenses on the same claim form to reach the minimum required for ORS to release a payment. Requests for 
reimbursements for travel expenses must be submitted on the same claim form as the service or product you traveled to receive 
or purchase. 

How do I submit a claim? 
After incurring $50 or more of eligible healthcare expenses, complete the HRA Claim Form (R1042G) from ORS’s website, 
attach appropriate proof of service and mail to ORS.  For more information, visit www.michigan.gov/orsstatedc and click on 
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Forms, or contact an ORS customer service representative via the ORS Message Board at www.michigan.gov/miaccount or 
call 517-284-4400 (Lansing area) or 800-381-5111 (outside of Lansing). 

What eligible healthcare expenses are covered? 
Eligible healthcare expenses are those that qualify for deductible expenses for medical care under IRS Code Section 213(d) 
(see partial listing below); have not or will not be reimbursed by another source; will not be itemized on your income tax return; 
and have been incurred while you are a participant in the HRA plan.  

Below is a partial list of eligible healthcare expenses. For a detailed list, see IRS Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses. 

Medical Expenses: 
Acupuncture 
Alcohol and drug treatment programs 
Ambulance services 
Arthritis treatment (as prescribed by a physician) 
Braces, crutches, and splints 
Chiropractic care 
Diabetic supplies, insulin 
Diagnostic devices 
First-aid kits 
Health care copays, deductibles, and coinsurance expenses 
Hearing aids and batteries 
Hospital services 
Laboratory fees 
Nursing home expenses 
Nursing care 
Over the Counter (OTC) medications prescribed by a 
physician. 
Oxygen and equipment 
Prescribed medicines 
Psychiatric care 
Routine physical exams 
Smoking cessation programs 
Surgery 
Transplants 
Weight loss programs (for treatment of a specific disease) 
Wheelchairs 

Dental Expenses: 
Bridges, crowns, and dentures 
Fillings 
Fluoride treatments 
Oral surgery 
Orthodontic care 
Teeth cleaning

Tooth extraction 
X-rays 

Vision Expenses: 
Contact lenses 
Eye exams 
Eye surgery (including vision correction) 
Eyeglasses, reading glasses 
Instruction, training, and equipment for the visually impaired 
 
Travel Expenses:  
Transportation primarily for, and essential to, medical care. 
$.23 per mile. 

Lodging and meals at a licensed hospital or similar institution if 
you are there for medical care.  Do not exceed $50 per person 
per night.  

Insurance Premiums: 
Insurance premiums for medical, dental, and vision coverage, 
including Medicare Parts B and D, may be reimbursed.  

Premiums that are paid for long-term care insurance are 
eligible if the contract meets the following four requirements: 
• The policy must be guaranteed renewable; 
• The policy must NOT provide a cash surrender value or 

other money; 
• The policy must require that any dividends earned are 

used to reduce future premiums; AND, 
• The policy does not pay or reimburse for expenses that 

have been paid under Medicare unless Medicare is a 
secondary payer. 

The amount of long-term care insurance premiums you can 
include is limited.  Refer to IRS Publication 502 for further 
information. 

Which expenses are not covered? 
Below is a partial list of non-qualifying expenses. For a detailed list, see IRS Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses.
 
Child day care expenses for a healthy baby 
Elective cosmetic surgery 
Funeral expenses 
Health club dues 
Household help 
Nonprescription drugs and medicines, except for insulin 
Nutritional supplements (unless prescribed for a specific  
   medical condition) 
Personal use items (toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.) 

Teeth whitening 
Weight loss programs (unless for specific disease treatment) 
Expenses for which you are fully reimbursed from a flexible  
   spending account or other tax-favored health savings plan 
Expenses that were an itemized deduction on your income  
   taxes 
HRA funds may not be used to pay for life, disability, or any 
property (auto, home, etc.) insurance premiums.

What about my privacy? The State of Michigan and the plan administrator will fully comply with all HIPAA Privacy and Security 
laws when reviewing and processing your HRA claims. Please request a copy of the State of Michigan’s Notice of HIPAA 
Privacy Practice for its group health plans. 


