
ARTICLE 35 
 

PENSION PLAN 
 
 

PART A 
 
Section 1. 
 The State will maintain the State Police Pension Plan as provided in the State 
Police Retirement Act of 1986 (P.A. 182 of 1986), as it exists on the effective date of this 
Agreement, except as provided in Section 10 and except as provided in Part B, and except 
that the State agrees not to enforce the mandatory age 56 retirement provision contained 
in Section 24(1) unless and until it is determined that such provision is not in violation of 
State or Federal law, and the Consent Judgment in the case of EEOC vs State of 
Michigan, Department of State Police [USDC-WD 9-81-756-CA(A)] is modified or 
rescinded by court order.  
 
Section 2. Revision of P.A. 182. 
 In the event that Public Act 182 of 1986 is amended during the term of this 
Agreement, and such amendment addresses a subject which is a mandatory subject of 
bargaining between the parties, this Agreement does not require that such amendment(s) 
be applied to employees or positions in the bargaining unit. 
 
Section 3. Insurances. 
 Bargaining unit members who have retired on or after the effective date of this 
Agreement under Public Act 182 of 1986 (except current Section 30) or their beneficiary 
and dependents, shall be entitled to enroll in Group Dental and/or Vision Care Plan 
authorized for active employees by the Michigan Civil Service Commission and the 
Department of Management and Budget.  90% of the applicable premiums payable by the 
retirant (or the retirant's beneficiary and enrolled dependents) for such coverage shall be 
paid by the State. 
 
 Bargaining unit members who have retired on or after the effective date of this 
Agreement under Public Act 182 of 1986 (except current Section 30), or their beneficiaries 
and dependents, shall continue to be entitled to enroll in the Group Health Care Plan 
authorized for active employees by the Michigan Civil Service Commission and the 
Department of Management and Budget.  95% of the applicable premiums payable by the 
retirant (or the retirant's beneficiary and enrolled dependents) for such coverage shall be 
paid by the State.   
  
 Claims for services provided prior to enrollment shall not be payable under this 
Agreement. 
 
Section 4. Pension Benefit. 
 Consistent with Public Act 182 of 1986, any pension which becomes payable on 
account of the attainment of 25 years of service credit, duty-incurred disability or duty-



incurred death of a bargaining unit member on or after October 1, 1986 shall be equal to 
60% of the member's final average compensation; any pension which becomes payable 
on account of the nonduty-incurred death or disability of a bargaining unit member on or 
after October 1, 1986 shall be calculated on the basis of the applicable years of service 
credit multiplied by 2.4.    
  
Section 5. Deferred Retirement. 
 A deferred pension shall continue to be calculated on the basis of years of service 
credit (not to exceed 25 years) times 2, as provided in Public Act 182 of 1986. 
 
Section 6. Final Average Compensation. 
 Whenever the term "average annual salary" is applied to members of this 
bargaining unit, in accordance with past practice and Public Act 182 of 1986, this term 
shall include the following: 
 

a. Regular salary paid for the last two years of service (including but not limited 
to that salary which is deferred pursuant to the state deferred compensation 
program); 

 
b. Overtime, shift differential, and shift differential overtime paid for the last two 

years of service; 
 
c. Workers’ Compensation benefits paid for the last two years of service. 
 
d. The following gross pay adjustments affecting the last two years of service: 

 
 Administrative Leave Reallocation 
 Annual Leave (including 
 Call Back retroactive 
 Compensatory Time classification 
 Civil Rights Adjustment actions) 
 Emergency Response Retroactive General 
 Compensation Increase 
 Fair Labor Standards Shift Differential 
 Act Adjustment Shift Differential 
 Hazard Pay Overtime 
 Jury Duty Step Increase 
 Military Time & Attendance 
 On-Call Adjustment 
 Overtime Working Out of 
 Personal Sick Leave Class (under 
 (except for payment provisions of 
 for accumulated but Collective 
 unused sick leave at Bargaining 
 separation) Contract) 
   



e. Up to a maximum of 240 hours of accumulated annual leave, paid at the 
time of retirement separation; 

 
f. Deferred hours (Plans B of FY 1980-81 and FY 1981-82) that are paid at the 

time of retirement separation; 
 
g. Longevity pay (two full years); 
 
h. Bomb squad paid for the last two years of service; 
 
i. On-call pay paid for the last two years of service. 

 
Section 7. Adjusting Service Time. 
 For purposes of computing average annual salary pursuant to these same statutory 
provisions, the term "last two years of service for which the member was paid" shall be 
calculated based on the payments made to the employee, for the compensation elements 
specified in Section 6 above during the 24 calendar month period immediately preceding 
retirement.  If the employee did not receive full compensation in any of the 24 months 
immediately preceding retirement, an amount of time equal to the lost time shall be 
included, so that Final Average Compensation is based on 24 complete months of 
earnings.  Adjustments, if necessary, shall be made using the time immediately prior to the 
final 24 months of service. 
  
Section 8. Procedure for Handling of Disability and Death Claims. 
 The parties adopt and incorporate the following procedures for handling 
applications for disability and death allowances submitted by or on behalf of bargaining 
unit members under the State Police Retirement Act of 1986 (the Act), MCL 38.1601, et 
seq, and this Collective Bargaining Agreement.  The parties agree that these procedures 
are intended to be applied in a manner that will allow the expeditious processing of claims 
that are clear and undisputed, while providing an efficient process for gathering information 
and acting on applications where there are factual or legal issues that must be resolved by 
the Board. 
 

a. Disability.  A member may request a duty- or non-duty disability retirement 
allowance by filing an application with the Office of Retirement Service 
(ORS), which acts on behalf of the State Police Retirement Board (the 
Board).  The application shall be on a form developed by the ORS and shall 
identify all medical or psychological conditions in support of the application. 

 
(1) The Director of the Department of State Police may submit an 

application on behalf of a member if the Director believes that a 
question regarding the existence or extent of a disability exists, and 
that the member may be entitled to a duty- or non-duty retirement 
allowance.  In this event, the ORS shall provide the affected member 
with a copy of the application and the member will be considered an 
applicant for purposes of these procedures, with the same rights and 



responsibilities as a member who voluntarily submits an application 
for a disability retirement allowance.  Any requests for 
accommodation by an applicant under the Americans with Disabilities 
Act (ADA) or the Persons with Disabilities Act shall be made to the 
Department of State Police, and not to the ORS under these 
procedures. 

 
(2) Upon receipt of an application for a disability retirement allowance, 

the ORS shall appoint a physician, acting as an Independent Medical 
Advisor (IMA).  The IMA will review the applicant’s medical records 
and other relevant information to determine if the applicant meets the 
criteria for a State Police disability retirement.  The IMA may request 
additional information or testing to assist in making this determination.  
If requested by the IMA, the ORS will schedule a medical 
examination of the applicant and the applicant shall cooperate by 
attending the examination and/or reporting for the requested test(s). 

 
(3) If the IMA determines that the disability and its extent meet the criteria 

for a State Police disability retirement, the Board authorizes the ORS 
to do either of the following: 

 
(a) Waive the application review by a Medical Review Panel and 

approve the non-duty disability application; or 
 

(b) Waive the application review by the Medical Review Panel and 
present the duty-incurred disability application to the Board to 
determine whether the disability was duty-incurred. 

 
(4) If the IMA determines that the disability and its extent are not 

sufficiently documented and indicates that a bona fide disagreement 
as to the existence or extent of the disability may exist, the ORS shall 
arrange a Medical Review Panel. 

 
(a) The Medical Review Panel shall consist of the IMA, a 

physician designated by the Director of the Department of 
Community Health, and a physician selected by the applicant.  
If the applicant fails to provide the name of his or her selected 
physician within 30 days after the notice of the Medical Review 
Panel, the application will proceed based upon the information 
that is available to the remainder of the Panel. 

 
(b) Either the applicant or the Director of the Department of State 

Police may submit additional information to the Medical 
Review Panel that is relevant to the existence, extent, or 
relationship to duty of the disability.  The information shall be 
provided to the ORS within 30 days of the notice of the 



Medical Review Panel.  The ORS shall be responsible for 
providing the information to each member of the Medical 
Review Panel. 

 
(c) Any member of the Medical Review Panel may waive an in-

person examination of the applicant if he or she believes that 
the medical evidence, test results, and any other information 
that has been submitted is sufficient to formulate an opinion 
regarding the existence of a disability or its extent. 

 
(d) After the Panel has reviewed all medical evidence, test results, 

and any other information that has been submitted, and after 
the applicant has been examined (if deemed appropriate), the 
Medical Review Panel shall determine, based solely on the 
medical evidence submitted by the parties and any 
examination conducted, whether or not a disability exists and 
whether or not its extent meets the criteria for a State Police 
duty- or non-duty disability retirement. 

 
(e) Each member of the Medical Review Panel shall complete a 

medical advisor statement concerning the disability and its 
extent. 

 
(f) If a member seeks a duty-incurred disability retirement 

allowance, and the relationship to duty depends upon the 
interpretation of medical facts, the Medical Review Panel may 
render an advisory opinion on this issue; the advisory opinion, 
however, shall not be binding on the Board or the applicant. 

 
(g) After a Medical Review Panel has considered an application 

for a disability retirement, ORS shall promptly forward to the 
applicant, the applicant’s representative, and the Director of 
the Department of State Police, the following information: 

 
(1) A copy of the findings of the Medical Review Panel on 

disability and its extent; and 
 

(2) A copy of the Medical Review Panel’s advisory 
opinion(s), if any, on the issue of the disability’s relation 
to duty. 

 
(5) When a question of relationship to duty arises in a disability case, and 

it cannot be resolved upon the basis of the applicant’s medical 
condition and history, the ORS may, on its own, or at the request of 
the Director of the Department of State Police, conduct an 
investigation.  This does not preclude the Department of State Police 



from initiating its own investigation and submitting the results to the 
ORS, with a copy to the applicant. 

 
(6) If the ORS denies a disability retirement allowance of any kind, the 

ORS shall notify the applicant in writing of its action.  The notification 
shall inform the applicant of the right to request an evidentiary hearing 
as set forth in subsection c. 

 
(7) If the ORS denies a duty disability retirement allowance, but 

determines that the criteria for a non-duty disability allowance have 
been met, the ORS shall notify the applicant in writing of its action.  
The notification will inform the applicant of the right to request an 
evidentiary hearing as set forth in subsection c. 

 
(8) If the ORS denies a duty disability retirement allowance, but 

determines that the criteria for a non-duty disability allowance have 
been met, the applicant may make a written request to the ORS that 
it process the non-duty disability retirement and pay that allowance 
during the pendency of a final decision by the Board on the issue of 
duty relatedness.  Upon receipt of such a request, the ORS shall 
process the claim for non-duty disability benefits without prejudice to 
the applicant’s right to seek duty-incurred disability benefits, 
retroactive to the date of retirement. 

 
b. Death.  If a member dies, a surviving spouse or beneficiary may file an 

application for a death allowance.  The Director of the Department of State 
Police shall promptly notify the ORS of the member’s death so that a 
determination can be made regarding the spouse’s or dependent(s)’ 
eligibility for a duty-incurred or non-duty death allowance. 

 
(1) If ORS determines that there is no dispute that the member’s death 

meets the criteria for a non-duty death benefit, and that the member 
had the necessary time in service, the Board authorizes the ORS to 
promptly approve the application and process benefits in accordance 
with MCL 38.1627. 

 
(2) If ORS determines that there is no dispute that the member’s death 

meets the criteria for a duty-related death allowance, the ORS shall 
promptly schedule a special meeting of the Board to consider 
whether the member’s death meets the criteria for a duty-related 
death allowance. 

 
(3) If ORS denies a non-duty or duty-incurred death allowance, it shall 

notify the applicant in writing of its action.  The notification shall inform 
the applicant of the right to request an evidentiary hearing as set forth 
in subsection c. 



 
(4) If the Board denies an application for a duty-related death allowance 

without first giving the applicant notice of the right to request a 
hearing, the ORS will notify the spouse or eligible beneficiaries of the 
denial.  The notification shall inform the applicant of the right to 
request an evidentiary hearing as set forth in subsection c. 

 
(5) If the Board denies the application for a duty-incurred death 

allowance under paragraph (4) above, but determines that a non-duty 
death allowance is payable, it shall direct the ORS to process a non-
duty death allowance, without prejudice to the right of the spouse or 
beneficiary to exercise the right to a hearing under subsection c. 
below. 

 
c. Request for Hearing.  If, without first giving the applicant notice of the right 

to request a hearing, the ORS or the Board denies an application for a 
disability retirement allowance or death allowance, the ORS shall notify the 
applicant of the denial and of his or her right to request a hearing on this 
issue. 

 
(1) The notice shall inform the applicant that the request for a hearing 

must be filed in writing with the ORS within 60 days after the date the 
notice was mailed and that the request should contain all of the 
following: 

 
(a) A fair and accurate statement of the facts as the applicant 

understands them; 
 

(b) The reason(s) supporting the applicant’s claim; and 
 

(c) The reasons why the determination regarding the absence of 
a disability or the determination to deny duty- or non-duty 
death or disability benefits should be reversed. 

 
(2) Upon receipt of a timely request, the ORS shall arrange for an 

administrative hearing without undue delay. 
 

(3) The hearing, proposal for decision, and final decision and order, shall 
be conducted and administered pursuant to the contested case 
procedures of the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as 
amended, being MCL 24.271 – 24.287.  Medical reports and records 
shall be admitted into evidence by the presiding officer in lieu of 
requiring attendance at a hearing by medical personnel. 

 
(4) The applicant and the ORS shall be furnished with a copy of the 

proposal for decision issued by the presiding officer and any exhibits 



or other items of public record that will be submitted to the Board to 
be used in making its final decision. 

 
(5) The Board shall review the findings and proposal for decision 

submitted by the presiding officer, which shall not be binding on the 
Board.  The Board shall issue a final decision in the matter, which 
shall be based upon competent, material and substantial evidence in 
the whole record. 

 
(6) The final decision of the Board may be reviewed by a court as set 

forth in the Administrative Procedures Act, 1969 PA 306, as 
amended, being MCL 24.301 – 24.306. 

 
d. Except as modified by the current or a future Collective Bargaining 

Agreement, the rights of members and their retirement beneficiaries to a 
retirement allowance shall be in accordance with the provisions of the State 
Police Retirement Act of 1986 (1986 PA 182, as amended), MCL 38.1601, 
et seq, as it existed on October 1, 2005. 

 
Section 9. Post Retirement Adjustment. 
 An employee (or beneficiary if applicable) shall be entitled to receive the annual 
post retirement adjustment set forth below, if: 

 
a. The employee is eligible for a retirement allowance under Act 182 of 1986 

directly following separation from state service and has a retirement 
allowance effective date on or after October 1, 1989, or 

 
 b. The employee defers retirement under Section 30 of Act 182 of 1986 on or 

after October 1, 1989. 
 
 Each retirement allowance shall be increased each October 1 beginning with the 
later of October 1, 1990 or the first October 1 which is at least 12 months after the 
retirement allowance effective date.  The amount of the annual adjustment shall be equal 
to two percent of the initial retirement allowance and shall not exceed $500. 
 
 The annual adjustments are cumulative but are not compounded.  Once the first 
adjustment is received, the monthly benefit will increase by the same amount each 
October 1 thereafter. 
 
Section 10. Survivor Pension Payments. 

a. Any individual hired after July 1, 2006 as a new bargaining unit employee 
may elect, prior to retirement, a survivor (spouse or child less than 18 years 
of age) retirement allowance option of 100%, 75%, or 50% at actuarially 
reduced monthly payments, including duty-incurred disability and non-duty 
disability retirement. 

 



b. A member or deferred member who elects one of the survivor options and 
whose retirement allowance beneficiary dies before the retirant shall have 
his or her retirement allowance increased to the full, straight life amount. 

 
c. A retirant, who is divorced after payment of his or her retirement allowance 

begins and whose former spouse is his or her retirement allowance 
beneficiary, may change his or her survivor option to the straight life option 
only if an order of the court states that the election of a survivor option under 
paragraph (a) of this section is to be considered void by the retirement 
system.  A retirant who subsequently remarries may elect a survivor 
retirement allowance option for his or her spouse of 100%, 75%, or 50% of 
his or her actuarially reduced monthly payments, unless otherwise precluded 
by court order. 

 
d. A member who is not married at the time of retirement and who 

subsequently marries may elect a survivor retirement allowance option for 
his or her spouse of 100%, 75%, or 50% of his or her actuarially reduced 
monthly payments. 

 
e. Survivor retirement allowance payments made under paragraphs (c) and (d) 

for this section shall be based upon the retirant’s and his or her spouse’s 
ages at the time of their marriage.  The election of a retirement allowance 
beneficiary under paragraph (c) or (d) must be made within 60 days of the 
retirant’s marriage. 

 
f. If a retirant elects a survivor retirement allowance option after his or her 

retirement under paragraph (c) or (d) of this section, the retirement 
allowance beneficiary shall only be designated as such for that portion of the 
retirement allowance not subject to an eligible domestic relations order 
assigning a previous spouse a reduced benefit under MCL 38.1704(b). 

  
 
PART B. DEFERRED RETIREMENT OPTION PLAN 
 
Section 1. Eligibility and Plan Overview. 
  An employee who has 25 years or more of credited service under the State Police 
Retirement Act of 1986, as amended, or former act 1935 PA 251, or both, may elect to 
participate in the deferred retirement option plan (DROP) by executing the application 
provided by the Office of Retirement Services.  Once the application is accepted by the 
Office of Retirement Services, the employee’s participation in the DROP is irrevocable 
and he or she becomes a DROP participant.  The employee is solely responsible for 
any federal, state, or local tax due as a result of his or her participation in the DROP. 

  
Participation in the DROP does not guarantee continued employment.  Except as 

otherwise provided in this article, an employee who elects to participate in the DROP 
will remain an active employee eligible to receive any applicable wage changes and 



benefits, and will be subject to policies and procedures of the Department of State 
Police in the same manner as if he or she had not elected to participate in the DROP.  

 
For each fiscal year that begins on or after October 1, 2004, the Director of State 

Police and the Retirement Board may elect to discontinue accepting applications for the 
deferred retirement option plan. 

 
Section 2. Participation Period. 

An employee shall indicate on the application for the DROP the number of years 
that the employee wants to participate in the DROP, up to a maximum of six years.  As 
a condition for participation, the employee agrees to retire at the conclusion of his or her 
participation in the DROP. 

  
Section 3. DROP Benefit and Account. 
 A deferred retirement option plan account shall be created in the accounting 
records of the retirement system for each DROP participant.  Each deferred retirement 
option plan account shall earn interest at the rate of 3% per annum, prorated for any 
fraction of a year.  The DROP account of a DROP participant shall be credited with the 
following percentage of his or her monthly retirement allowance as calculated pursuant 
to section 24 of the State Police Retirement Act (retirement act) as if he or she had 
retired on the day prior to becoming a DROP participant: 
 

a. 100% if the employee remains in the DROP for six years. 
 
b. 90% if the employee remains in the DROP for five years but less than six 

years. 
 
c. 80% if the employee remains in the DROP for four years but less than five 

years. 
 
d. 70% if the employee remains in the DROP for three years but less than 

four years. 
 
e. 60% if the employee remains in the DROP for two years but less than 

three years. 
 
f. 50% if the employee remains in the DROP for one year but less than two 

years. 
 
g. 30% if the employee remains in the DROP for less than one year. 

 
A DROP participant shall not receive a monthly retirement allowance, as 

calculated pursuant to the Retirement Act, until termination of his or her DROP 
participation and commencement of retirement.  A DROP participant shall not have any 
claim to any funds in his or her DROP account until he or she retires at the termination 
of his or her DROP participation. 



  
Section 4. Distribution of DROP Funds. 

Upon termination of the DROP participation and commencement of retirement, the 
former DROP participant shall select one or more of the following options with regard to 
his or her DROP account: 

 
a. A total lump sum distribution. 
 
b. A partial lump sum distribution. 
 
c. A lump sum direct rollover to another qualified plan if allowed by federal 

law and subject to the procedures of the retirement system. 
 
d. Maintain the funds in the account. 

 
A former DROP participant shall remove all funds from his or her DROP account 

no later than April 1 following the later of the calendar year in which the DROP 
participant attains 70 years, six months of age or the calendar year in which the DROP 
participant is retired. 

 
Section 5. Death or Disability. 
  If a DROP participant or former DROP participant dies before removing all funds 
from his or her DROP account, the former DROP participant’s designated beneficiary 
shall receive any remaining balances.  If the former DROP participant has not named a 
beneficiary for his or her DROP account, the amount in the DROP account shall be paid 
to the beneficiary of the former DROP participant’s retirement allowance.  If the former 
DROP participant has not named a beneficiary to his or her retirement allowance, the 
balance in the former DROP participant’s account shall be paid to the former DROP 
participant’s estate. 
 
  If a DROP participant is found to be disabled under Section 29 of the retirement 
act, his or her participation in the DROP shall immediately cease and he or she shall be 
retired. 

  
Section 6. I.R.C. Compliance. 

The DROP shall be administered in compliance with Section 415 of the Internal 
Revenue Code, 26 USC 415, and regulations under that section that are applicable to a 
governmental deferred retirement option plan.  If there is a conflict between this section 
and another section of this article, this section prevails. 

 
If the department receives notification from the United States internal revenue 

service that this article or any portion of this article will cause the retirement system to 
be disqualified for tax purposes under the internal revenue code, 26 USC 1 to 1789, 
then the portion that will cause the disqualification does not apply. 

 



Section 7. Special Provisions. 
Notwithstanding any other contractual provision, the following special provisions 

apply to a DROP participant: 
 

a. At the time of acceptance to the DROP, the DROP participant shall be 
paid for his or her accrued eligible sick leave, subject to subdivision (g).  A 
DROP participant shall not accrue any further sick leave.  A DROP 
participant may use up to 240 hours of sick leave for which payment was 
not received.  No payment will be made at retirement for any unused sick 
leave. 

 
b. At the time of acceptance to the DROP, the DROP participant shall be 

paid for his or her accrued annual leave up to 240 hours, subject to 
subdivision (g).  Any accrued annual leave in excess of 240 hours may be 
used by the DROP participant. 

 
c. Excluding participation in the banked leave time program, each DROP 

participant shall receive a total of 7.7 hours of annual leave for each 80 
hours of paid service in a biweekly work period; however, the maximum 
number of annual leave hours that a DROP participant may accumulate, 
including annual leave hours remaining prior to DROP participation, is 200 
hours.  If a DROP participant is not paid for 80 hours in a biweekly work 
period, the participant shall be credited with a prorated amount of annual 
leave for that work period.  A DROP participant on an alternative work 
schedule of more than 80 hours of paid service in a biweekly work period 
shall only receive 7.7 hours of annual leave in the biweekly work period.  
At retirement, the DROP participant will only be paid for a maximum of 76 
hours of annual leave. 

 
d. DROP participants shall not be eligible for, and cannot receive, any 

longevity pay. 
 
e. As of the effective date of participation in the DROP, a participating 

employee is paid for all accrued compensatory time.  As of the effective 
date of participation in the DROP, a participating employee and the 
employee’s supervisor may agree to allow the employee to accrue up to 
48 hours of compensatory time.  A participating employee is paid for up to 
48 hours of unused compensatory time at retirement. 

 
f. DROP participants shall pay group insurance plan premiums equal to the 

amount the employee would have paid if the employee had retired on the 
day before becoming a DROP participant.   

 
g. Payments due an employee upon approval to participate in the DROP, 

such as for accrued sick leave, annual leave, compensatory time, and 
similar items, may be paid at the sole discretion of the state, at the rate of 



17% per year until the DROP participant retires, at which time any 
remaining balance shall be paid.  This provision shall not affect how an 
employee’s final average compensation is determined for purposes of 
calculating his or her retirement benefit pursuant to section 24 of the 
retirement act. 

 
h. Solely for purposes of voluntary transfer under the provisions of Article 13, 

a trooper shall be considered as having three years of time in service 
seniority, and sergeants shall be considered as having one year of time in 
rank seniority. 

 
I. DROP Participants shall be paid at the appropriate 15-year pay rate. 
 

Section 8. Additional Provision. 
 In the event command officers of the department are offered terms in DROP 
benefits relating to Section 3 and Section 7.g. above, that the Association considers 
favorable to them in the same sections, the Association upon notice and demand to the 
Office of the State Employer will be granted the same provision for all employees as are 
granted to the command officers for the duration of the current agreement. 


