

STATE OF MICHIGAN JOCELYN BENSON, SECRETARY OF STATE DEPARTMENT OF STATE LANSING

Public Act 420 of 2018 [MCL 257.258 and 257.258]

Agency: Secretary of State

Date: March 2019

Effective March 20, 2019 – Michigan Vehicle Code Amended

Primary Purpose of Act

The primary purpose of this Act is to amend the Michigan Vehicle Code to include dealer training as a requirement to obtain and renew a used vehicle dealer license and to direct dealer license late fees to the transportation administration collection fund.

Used Vehicle Original License Training Requirement

The Act provides a pre-license training requirement for all applicants, partners, and/or principal officers for used vehicle dealership original applications submitted after the effective date of March 20, 2019. The pre-license training course must be completed within 6 months prior to the application date.

In the 90-day period following the issuance of an original dealer license, the dealer shall select a designate individual and ensure that he or she completes the dealer training program.

Used Vehicle License Employee Training Requirement

The Act provides that each retail sales location have a designated employee that has completed the dealer training program and provides that the designated employee attend the continuing education training once every 24 months.

Dealer Late Renewal Fees

The Act provides that the secretary of state shall deposit the late dealer renewal fees collected in the transportation administration collection fund created.