

## Communication Impediment Designation Form

## Instructions for the driver/applicant

If you are deaf, hearing-impaired, autistic, or have another medical diagnosis that may make it difficult for you to communicate, you may request that a special communication impediment designation be placed on your Secretary of State record to notify law enforcement about your specific communication needs.

The designation is voluntary and is not printed on your driver's license, state ID, or vehicle registration. It can only be viewed by law enforcement when accessing your record in the event of a traffic stop or an emergency.

To have the designation added to your record, a physician, physician assistant, certified nurse practitioner, audiologist, speech-language pathologist, psychologist, or physical therapist **licensed to practice in Michigan must certify** the diagnosis that causes the impediment.

If you would like to have the communication impediment designation added to your record, complete Part 1 on the next page. Your Michigan-licensed medical professional must complete and sign Part 2.

There is no fee to have the designation added to your record. You may apply by mailing, faxing, or emailing your completed form to one of the addresses provided. Your application can also be processed during a visit at a Secretary of State office.

Please mail, fax, or email the completed form to:

Mail: Michigan Department of State

7064 Crowner Dr Lansing, MI 48918

**Fax**: 517-636-5865

**Email**: MDOS-SpecialServices@Michigan.gov (If emailing,

please send as an encrypted message.)

Please contact our Internal Services Section at 517-636-5872 if you have any questions about this form. To schedule an appointment at a Secretary of State office, visit our website at Michigan.gov/SOS.

BFS-250 (07/24) Page **1** of **2** 

Part 1 – To be completed	d by the applicant			
Name (first, middle, last)		Date of birth	Date of birth	
Street address		Daytime telephone number		
City	State	ZIP	Date	
Driver's license or state ID number				
Vehicle registration (Please list up to the communication impediment designation	nree license plates identifying the vehiclen.)	es you want associated	with the	
Plate 1	Plate 2	Pla	te 3	
I have selected. I understand that maki imprisonment for not more than 30 day may be removed from my record if it is during a traffic stop.  Applicant's signature  Vehicle owner's signature (Only require)	artment of State add the communication ing a false statement in completing this as, or a fine of not more than \$500, or be determined that it was fraudulently appleading the determined if applicant is not the vehicle of the determined that it was fraudulently applead to the determined that it was fraudulently a	application is a misdemoth. I also understand the lied for, or if the designation of the	eanor punishable by lat the designation ation was abused	
Name (first, middle, last)	a by the qualitying incure	Professional li		
Street address	City	State	ZIP	
Daytime telephone number	Type of practice or m	edical specialty*		
Patient's name (Please type or print)				
Type of communication impediment (fo	or example, autistic, delayed comprehen	sion, deaf/hearing impa	aired, or stuttering)	
enforcement officer.	n this form has a health condition that m	ay impede communicat		
Medical specialist's signature			Date	

\*Must be completed by a physician, physician assistant, certified nurse practitioner, audiologist, speech-language pathologist, psychologist, or physical therapist licensed to practice in Michigan.

BFS-250 (07/24) Page **2** of **2**