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Surety Bond Information 
 

Applicants for a notary public commission 

are required to obtain a $10,000 surety bond 

and file it at the office of the county clerk 
in the county where the applicant resides. 
The company from which you receive the 
surety bond must be licensed to do business 
in Michigan.  Licensed attorneys are exempt 
from filing s surety bond; however, they must 
file an oath at the office of the county clerk in 
the county where the applicant resides. 
 
Out of state applicants may be eligible for a 
Michigan notary public commission if they 
are required to perform notarial acts as 
defined in 2003 PA 238, as amended, MCL 
55.265 (5)(d)(i) and demonstrates their 
principal place of business is in Michigan.  
 
A link to licensed surety bond companies in 
Michigan is available at: 
www.Michigan.gov/DIFS.  The cost of 
surety bonds varies — generally between 
$50 and $100.   

 
A surety bond protects the public from a 
notaries public misconduct or negligence. A 
surety bond does not protect the notary 
public. “Liability” or “errors and omissions” 
insurance may be purchased to protect an 
individual notary. 

 
Oath of Office 

 
The oath of office is an oral or written 
statement taken at the county clerk’s office 
when you file your bond or oath (licensed 
attorneys only). For Michigan residents, this 
must be in your county of residence.  Out-

of-state applicants appear in the 
county of their principal place of 
business n Michigan.  After the oath 
is administered, the clerk will attest to 
administering the oath and filing your 
bond by completing information at the 
top of the application.  The clerk will 
return the application to you to mail to 
the Secretary of State for processing 
along with a $10.00 processing fee. 

 

 
Length of 

Appointment 
 

Notary public commissions expire not 
less than six (6) years and not more 
than seven (7) years from your next 
birthday at the time of commission 
issuance. 

 

Renewing Your Commission 
 
There is no automatic renewal process. You 
must apply for a new commission when your 
current commission expires. It is your 
responsibility to apply for a new commission 
no more than 60 days prior to the expiration 
date of your present commission.  If you are 
currently a licensed attorney in Michigan, you 
will receive a reappointment application form 
approximately 90 days prior to your 
commission expiration date. 
 

Further Information 
 
For further information about the Michigan 
notary public program, please visit our Web 
site at:  www.Michigan.gov/sos. 
 

Becoming a 
Michigan 

Notary Public 
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The Role of the 
Michigan Notary Public 

 
A notary public is an officer commissioned by 
the Secretary of State to serve as an unbiased 
and impartial witness. The most common 
function of the notary is to prevent fraud by 
attesting to the identity of a person signing a 
document. Notarization on a document 
certifies that the person whose signature is 
entered on the document appeared before the 
notary public, established his or her identity, 
and personally signed the document. 

 
Notary Responsibilities 

 
Every citizen appointed as a notary public has a 
duty to learn and understand the notary laws. 
Michigan notaries pubic are required to 
conform to the Michigan Notary Public Act 
(2003 PA 238), as amended.  The current law, 
with the latest amendments effective March 12, 
2019, is available at the Michigan Legislature’s 

Website, www.legislature.mi.gov. 

 
Qualifications 

 
To become commissioned as a Michigan notary 
public you must: 

 
• Be at least 18 years old; 

• Be a Michigan resident or maintain a 
place of business in Michigan; 

• Be a U.S. citizen or possess proof of 
legal presence; 

• Be  able  to  read  and  write  in  the 
English language; 

 

• Be a resident in the county in which you 
request appointment (or maintain a 
principal place of business if you are an 
out-of-state applicant); 

• Be free of any felony convictions, 
misdemeanor convictions, or violations, as 
specified by law; 

• Have filed with the appropriate county 
clerk a $10,000 surety bond and taken the 
oath of office as prescribed by the State 
Constitution (licensed attorneys in 
Michigan are not required to file a surety 
bond); 

• Sign a declaration that all the information 
on your application is correct, that you 
have read and understand the laws, and 
that you will perform all notarial acts 
faithfully; and 

• Not be imprisoned in any state, county or 
federal correctional facility. 

 
How to Apply 

 
1. Complete an Application for Michigan 

Notary Public Commission.  This form is 
available from the Michigan Department 
of State Web site, www.Michigan.gov/sos, 
or from the county clerk.  It is important 
that you print and sign the application 
exactly as your name will appear on the 
documents you notarize. 

 
2. Obtain and file a $10,000 surety bond with 

the county clerk (bonds are available 
through insurance agencies or bonding 
companies). 

 

The nonrefundable fee for this filing at the 
county level is $10.00 (with the exception 
of charter counties with a population of 
2,000,000 or more, where the fee may be 
higher). 

 
At the time of filing, the county clerk will 
also administer the oath of office, and 
verify that you have completed all the 
requirements. 

 
3. Forward your completed application (along 

with a $10.00 nonrefundable application 
processing fee) to the following address: 

 
Michigan Department of State 

Office of the Great Seal 
7064 Crowner Drive 

Lansing, MI 48918 
 

Send a check or money order payable to 
the “State of Michigan.” Do not send cash. 

 
4. If approved, your notary commission 

certificate (a blue, wallet-sized card) will be 
mailed directly to your residence address as 
indicated on the application form. 

 
 

Contact Us 
 

Michigan Department of State 
Office of the Great Seal 

Walk-in:  Richard H. Austin Building 
First Floor, Lansing, MI 

Mail:  7064 Crowner Drive 
Lansing, MI 48918 

Phone:  (888) 767-6424 
Ask for Office of the Great Seal 

Facsimile:  (517) 241-1820 
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