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This packet will provide you with the information needed to apply for a Driver Education Instructor Original Certificate with a Truck classification.
Additional information can be found at: Michigan.gov/DriverEd. To apply, you must complete and submit either by mail or online the following
requirements:

5/2019

KEY Cﬂ Required document if applying by mail. Required document if applying through CARS e-Services.

MAIL Michigan Department of State e Driver Education Section ® 430 W. Allegan St. 31 Floor e Lansing, MI 43918

ONLINE It's FAST, EASY, and SECURE! Apply through CARS, e-Services TODAY!

INSTRUCTOR ORIGINAL CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

Be at least 21 years of age.

Submit a $45.00 NON-REFUNDABLE original application processing fee.

In order to provide Behind-the-Wheel instruction involving the actual operation of a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) by a Commercial
Learner’s Permit holder on a range or a public road, you MUST hold a Commercial Driver License of the same (or higher) class and with all
endorsements necessary to operate the CMV for which training is to be provided.

0 DES-NO1 Instructor Original Application. Do not submit page one of this packet.

(@]

DES-NO3 Instructor e-Services Certification. Document in lieu of DES-NO1.

DES-N05 Medical Examination Report OR BFS-103 (10/17) MDOS Commercial Driver License Certification. MUST BE
CERTIFIED NOT OLDER THAN 90 DAYS FROM THE DATE THIS DEPARTMENT RECEIVES YOUR APPLICATION.

B
(@]

B
(@]

RI-030 Live Scan Fingerprint. Required every 4 years. You must submit this form.

If you DO NOT hold a Michigan Driver’s License, you must submit a copy of your out of state driver’s license in addition to a
verified copy of your driving record. MUST SUBMIT BY MAIL EVEN IF APPLYING THROUGH CARS E-SERVICE.

B
(@]

DRIVING RECORD REQUIREMENTS

Refer to the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [PA 384 of 2006] included in the Driver Education Provider Manual for all requirements.

Possesses a valid driver license that has been in continuous effect for not less than 5 years immediately preceding the application.

Has not received a conviction for which 4 or more points were assessed under MCL 257.320a within the 5 years preceding the date the
application was submitted.

Has not had 3 or more driver license denials, suspensions, or revocations, or any combination, imposed by the Secretary of State for the
failure to appear in court (FAC) or a failure to comply with a court judgment (FCJ) within the 2 years preceding application.

Has not received a conviction or finding of responsibility for a traffic violation in connection with 2 or more motor vehicle accidents within the 2
years preceding application.

Has not accumulated 6 or more points under MCL 257.320 within the 2 years preceding application.

Has not received a conviction for transportation or possession of open alcohol container in vehicle within the 2 years preceding application.

Has not received a conviction for a person less than 21 years of age with any bodily alcohol content within the 2 years preceding application.

Has not received a conviction for careless or negligent driving resulting in a civil infraction within the 2 years preceding application.

CRIMINAL HISTORY REQUIREMENTS

\Og|oo|lo|o|o|olf NNOolgolojool o |ooN

Refer to the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [PA 384 of 2006] included in the Driver Education Provider Manual for all requirements.

Criminal sexual conduct, assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct, or an attempt to commit criminal sexual conduct, in any degree
under MCL 750.520b to 750.520g.

A felony involving a criminal assault or battery on an individual.

A crime involving felonious assault on a child, child abuse in the first degree, cruelty, torture, or indecent exposure involving a child.

A felony involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of a controlled substance or possession with intent to manufacture, distribute, or
dispense a controlled substance.

A felony conviction involving fraud as an element of the crime.
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INSTRUCTOR ORIGINAL APPLICATION Michigan Department of State

DES-NO1 52019
e Michigan Department of State e Driver Education Section e 430 W. Allegan St. e Lansing, Ml 48918 I
Clear Form
PART A — CLASSIFICATION (S) Check all that apply. I;

Instruction that is provided to a person 18-years of age or older in the operation of a motor vehicle, other than a commercial

Adult | [ Conditional | " chicle.

O Reapply Previous Instructor Number | N

Driver training instruction provided through a segment 1 or segment 2 driver education course that allows a person 17-years of

Teen | O Conditional age or less to apply for a level 1 or level 2 graduated driver license.

O Reapply Previous Instructor Number | N
Truck | O Original Instruction that is provided to operate a commercial motor vehicle.
O Reapply Previous Instructor Number | N
CDL: Group Endorsement(s) Restriction(s)
TOTAL DUE = $45.00 (Check or money order made payable to the “State of Michigan”)
PART B — APPLICANT INFORMATION | prefer to be addressed as:  []Miss [ Mrs. L1 wr.
First Name Middle Name Last Name Suffix

Home Address (Street, City, State, Zip Code, and County)

Mailing Address (If different from above home address) (Street, City, State, Zip Code, and County)

Date of Birth Driver License Number and State of Licensure Phone Number Email Address

PART C - REQUIRED STATEMENT

Has the applicant ever applied for a driver education instructor certificate in Michigan or any other state? O vYes O No
If YES, was the certificate: In Good Standing [ Denied 1 Suspended 1 Revoked [J

PART D — STIPULATION

The applicant agrees that legal process affecting the applicant, served on the secretary of state against the applicant or the applicant’s successor in interest for a violation of
this act, a rule promulgated under this act, or an order issued under this act, has the same effect as if personally served on the applicant. This appointment remains in force
as long as the applicant has any outstanding liability within this state under this act (2006 PA 384).

Printed Name of Applicant Signature of Applicant Date Signed

PART E - CERTIFICATION

Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement may be grounds for denial of this application, or suspension or revocation of the certificate issued.

= |, hereby grant the licensing authority in any state or jurisdiction permission, to release information concerning any previous certification (license) applications,
certification (license) history, and disciplinary actions or sanctions to the Department of State.

= | hereby certify that | do not have a pending criminal matter or an outstanding arrest, warrant, or conviction since submitting a request for my criminal history check
under Section 29.

= | authorize the Department of State to receive and review my criminal history obtained from the Michigan State Police and the FBI. | understand that the cost of the
criminal history check is my responsibility.

= | hereby certify that if | have a driver license issued by a state other than Michigan, | agree to submit a certified copy of my driving record to the Department of State
every 60 days.

= | hereby affirm that | understand the Professional Development requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State for an instructor and will complete an approved
course during the two years between the date the original certification was issued and the expiration date, and then each two-year renewal cycle thereafter.

= | hereby affirm that if | am applying for an Instructor Conditional Certificate, | WILL NOT participate in a practicum (student teach) before | receive my Instructor
Conditional Certificate.

= With knowledge of the penalties for false statements under, but not limited to, Section 69 of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [MCL 256.689, PA 384 of
2006], | hereby certify that the statements and information contained in this application are true to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Printed Name of Applicant Signature of Applicant Date Signed
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na Michigan Department of State e Driver Education Section e 430 W. Allegan St. e Lansing, Ml 48918

Michigan Department of State
DES-N02 11/2019

INSTRUCTIONS

The applicant (Student) is responsible to ensure all applicable items are completed by the IPP Agency, IPP Course Lead Instructor, Cooperating Driver Education Provider,
and the Cooperating Driver Education Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel (BTW) Instructor. Once completed, you MUST verify all information for accuracy before signing and

submitting to this department.

PART A - IPP COURSE COMPLETION

With knowledge of the penalties for false statements under, but not limited to, the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (PA 384 of 2006) [MCL 256.689], we
each certify that the information contained within PART A is true and that the student named in PART C successfully completed the IPP Program Courses in
accordance with Section 23 [MCL 256.643] of Public Act 384 of 2006.

1A - Course One - Driver Task Start Date End Date Total Hours Printed Name of IPP Agency
Analysis

Printed Name of IPP Agency Owner Signature of IPP Agency Owner Date Signed
Printed Name of Lead IPP Instructor Instructor Certificate # | Signature of Lead IPP Instructor Date Signed

2A - Course Two - Developing Start Date End Date Total Hours Printed Name of IPP Agency
Classroom & Program Knowledge

Printed Name of IPP Agency Owner Signature of IPP Agency Owner Date Signed
Printed Name of Lead IPP Instructor Instructor Certificate # | Signature of Lead IPP Instructor Date Signed

3A - Course Three - Developing Start Date
Vehicle Operation Skills

End Date Total Hours

Printed Name of IPP Agency

Printed Name of IPP Agency Owner

Signature of IPP Agency Owner

Date Signed

Printed Name of Lead IPP Instructor

Instructor Certificate # | Signature of Lead IPP Instructor

Date Signed

PART B - PROJECTED PRACTICUM COURSE

With knowledge of the penalties for false statements under, but not limited to, the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (PA 384 of 2006) [MCL 256.689],
we each certify that the information contained within PART B is true and that the student named in PART C will be completing the IPP Practicum Course in
accordance with Section 23 [MCL 256.643] of Public Act 384 of 2006.

1B - Course Four - Practicum Projected Start Date  Projected End Date  Total Hours Printed Name of IPP Agency

Printed Name of IPP Agency Owner Signature of IPP Agency Owner Date Signed

Printed Name of Lead IPP Instructor Instructor Certificate # | Signature of Lead IPP Instructor Date Signed

2B - Cooperating Provider Name of Cooperating Provider Provider Certificate #
P

Printed Name of Cooperating Provider’s Authorized Official Signature of Cooperating Provider's Authorized Official Date Signed

3B - Cooperating Instructor | Instruction Type(s) — May select both. [ Classroom [ Behind-the-Wheel Instructor Certificate #

Printed Name of Cooperating Instructor Signature of Cooperating Instructor Date Signed

4B - Cooperating Instructor | Instruction Type(s) — May select both. [ Classroom [ Behind-the-Wheel Instructor Certificate #

Printed Name of Cooperating Instructor Signature of Cooperating Instructor Date Signed

PART C - IPP STUDENT’S CERTIFICATION

With knowledge of the penalties for false statements under, but not limited to, Section 69 of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [MCL 256.689, PA
384 of 2006], | hereby certify that the statements and information contained in this application are true to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Printed Name of IPP Student

Signature of IPP Student

Date Signed
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e Michigan Department of State e Driver Education Section e 430 W. Allegan St. e Lansing, MI 48918 W

This document is to be used ONLY if you are applying through CARS e-Services. DO NOT submit if applying through mail.

PART A — APPLICATION TYPE Indicate what type of application you are applying for through CARS e-Services.
- Teen / Adult . . . .
[ Conditional Classification(s) When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-NO1 Instructor Original Application.
Any When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-NO1 .
L1 Reapply Classification(s) Instructor Original Application. Previous Instructor Number N
Any When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-NO7
[ Renewal Classification(s) Instructor Renewal Application. Instructor Number N
[ Original Truck Classification | When prompted, upload this form in lieu of DES-NO1 Instructor Original Application.
CDL Certification: Group Endorsement(s) Restriction(s)
PART B — APPLICANT / INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION
First Name of Applicant / Instructor Middle Last Suffix

PART C — STIPULATION

The applicant agrees that legal process affecting the applicant, served on the secretary of state against the applicant or the applicant’s successor in interest
for a violation of this act, a rule promulgated under this act, or an order issued under this act, has the same effect as if personally served on the applicant.
This appointment remains in force as long as the applicant has any outstanding liability within this state under this act (2006 PA 384).

Signature of Applicant / Instructor Date Signed

PART D — CERTIFICATION

Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement may be grounds for denial of this application, or suspension or revocation of the certificate issued.

= | hereby grant the licensing authority in any state or jurisdiction permission to release information concerning any previous certification (license)
applications, certification (license) history, and disciplinary actions or sanctions to the Department of State.

= | hereby certify that | do not have a pending criminal matter or an outstanding arrest, warrant, or conviction since submitting a request for my criminal
history check under section 29.

= | authorize the Department of State to receive and review my criminal history obtained from the Michigan State Police and the FBI. | understand that
the cost of the criminal history check is my responsibility.

= | hereby certify that if | have a driver license issued by a state other than Michigan, | agree to submit a certified copy of my driving record to the
Department of State every 60 days.

= | hereby affirm that | understand the Professional Development requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State for an instructor and will complete an
approved course during the two years between the date the original certification was issued and the expiration date, and then each two-year renewal
cycle thereafter.

= With knowledge of the penalties for false statements under, but not limited to, Section 69 of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [MCL
256.689, PA 384 of 2006], | hereby certify that the statements and information contained in this application are true to the best of my knowledge and
belief.

= | hereby affirm that if | am applying for an Instructor Conditional Certificate, | WILL NOT participate in a practicum (student teach) before | receive my
Instructor Conditional Certificate.

Signature of Applicant / Instructor Date Signed
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Instructor DES-N05 8/2019
Michigan Department of State e Driver Education Section e 430 W. Allegan St. e Lansing, Ml 43918

Clear Form
;,«?\ e e coten MEDICAL EXAMINATION REPORT Micmgaan—-—-—I
g Y

PART A — RELEASE OF INFORMATION Application for: [ Driver Education Instructor [ Driving Skills Examiner
Name of Applicant (Last, First, Middle) Instructor’s Certificate Number Date of Birth
Street Address City State Zip Code

| hereby authorize and request that information regarding my medical condition be released to the Michigan Department of State and understand that the information provided may
be used to request an assessment of my driving privilege.

Signature of Applicant Date Signed

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PHYSICIAN

The Michigan Department of State requests your professional assistance to determine the physical and mental condition of the above patient. Your response to these

questions and any other pertinent information will help the MDOS assess the patient’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle.

Confidential information may be mailed directly to the MDOS at the address shown above.

1. DEPIA MCL 256.637 (3)(j) Submits a certified medical examination report that is not older than 90 days and that is prepared by a physician, a physician’s assistant, or a certified nurse
practitioner licensed to practice in this state or in the applicant’s state of residence. The report shall include a statement by the person that certified the report that the applicant is medically
qualified to operate a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle.

PART B — HEALTH QUESTIONS YES

1. Does patient have difficulty recognizing the colors of red, green, and amber used in traffic signal lights and devices?

Is patient’s side (peripheral) vision less than 70° for either eye?

2
3. Does patient have an acuity impairment in either eye that is not correctable to visual acuity of 20/40 or better?
4

Does patient: a. Have a missing foot, leg, hand, finger or arm?

b. Have any impairment of a foot, leg, hand, finger or arm or any other limitation?

5. Has patient had a heart attack, angina, coronary insufficiency, thrombosis, stroke, other heart problem, or cardiovascular disease?

a. If"yes”, has patient had labored breathing, fainting, collapse, congestive heart failure, or other symptoms in the last two (2) years?

6. Has patient been diagnosed with a respiratory condition, such as emphysema, chronic asthma, or tuberculosis?

a. If"yes”, is patient’s respiratory condition likely to interfere with patient’s ability to drive a motor vehicle safely?

7. Has patient been diagnosed with high blood pressure of 140/90 or higher?

8. Has patient ever been diagnosed with rheumatic, arthritic, orthopedic, muscular, neuromuscular, or vascular disease?

a. If"yes”, is the condition likely to interfere with patient's ability to drive a motor vehicle safely?

9. Has patient been diagnosed with epilepsy or any other condition that may cause lapse of consciousness or loss of control?

a. If"yes", has there been a lapse of consciousness or loss of control in the last two (2) years?

10. Does patient use a controlled substance, amphetamine, narcotic, or any other habit-forming drug or a history of alcoholism?

11. Has patient been diagnosed with any mental, nervous, organic or functional disease, or psychiatric disorder?

Oo0oOo0Ooooooooooooono
OoooOooOoooooooooonoonos

a. If"yes”, is the condition likely to interfere with patient's ability to drive a motor vehicle safely?

PART C — MEDICAL EXAMINER’S CERTIFICATION To be completed by authorized physician.

= | hereby certify that | am a physician, physician’s assistant, or a certified nurse practitioner licensed to practice in this state or in the applicant’s state of residence and
affirm that | have examined the applicant for any and all physical impairments or conditions that would preclude them from operating a motor vehicle and to train others to
operate a motor vehicle in accordance to MCL 256.637 (3)(j) and that the patient:

Has no physical impairment or condition that would preclude them from operating a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle in accordance to MCL
256.637 (3)(j).

[0 Has a physical impairment or condition that would preclude or limit them from operating a motor vehicle and to train others to operate a motor vehicle [MCL 256.637
R)i)-
0  Preclude the applicant from: TRAINING OTHERS TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE (NO Behind-the-Wheel Instruction.).

0  Limit the applicant to: TRAIN OTHERS TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE ONLY DURING THE DAYTIME HOURS.

Medical Examiner's Name Office Phone #
Office Address License Number
Medical Examiner's Signature Date Medical Examination Report Completed

Page 5 of 7



RI-030 (01/2019) I Clear Form I AUTHORITY: MCL 28.162, MCL 28.214, MCL 28.248, & MCL 28.273
Michigan State Police COMPLIANCE: Voluntary. However, failure to complete this form will

Page 1 of 2 result in denial of request.

LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINT BACKGROUND CHECK REQUEST

Purpose: To conduct a civil fingerprint-based background check for employment, to volunteer, or for licensing purposes as authorized by law.
Instructions: See page two.

I. Authorizing Information

1. Fingerprint Reason Code | 2. Requestor/Agency ID | 3. Agency Name 4. Individual ID (MNU-OA)
LDE 3720E Department of State
Il. Applicant Information: Type or clearly print answers in all fields before going to be fingerprinted.
la. Last Name 1b. First Name 1c. Middle Initial 1d. Suffix
2. Any Alternative Names, Last Names, or Aliases 3. Social Security Number (Optional)

DO NOT SUBMITT SSN
4. Place of Birth (State or Country) 5. Date of Birth | 6. Phone Number 7. Driver's License / State ID Number 8. Issuing State
9. Home Address 10. City 11. State 12. ZIP Code
13. Sex 14. Race 15. Height 16. Weight 17. Eye Color 18. Hair Color

Ill. Live Scan Information

1. Date Printed 2. Picture ID Type Presented 3. Transaction Control Number (TCN) 4. Live Scan Operator*

* When an individual ID is provided, please enter the ID into the Miscellaneous Number (MNU) field on the Live Scan device. Select OA - Originating
Agency Identifier and then enter the unique identifier in the Identification Code field.

IV. Privacy Act Statement

Authority: Acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information by the Federal Bureau of Investigation
(FBI) is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include
Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your
fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on
fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing,
investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in
the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint
repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints
may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated
information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed
without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the
Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine Uses include, but are
not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment,
contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement
agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

V. Procedure to Obtain a Change, Correction, or Update of Identification Records

If, after reviewing his/her identification record, the subject thereof believes that it is incorrect or incomplete in any respect and wishes
changes, corrections, or updating of the alleged deficiency; he/she should make application directly to the agency which contributed
the questioned information. The subject of a record may also direct his/her challenge as to the accuracy or completeness of any
entry on his/her record to the FBI, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, ATTN: SCU, Mod. D2, 1000 Custer Hollow
Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306. The FBI will then forward the challenge to the agency which submitted the data requesting that agency
to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon the receipt of an official communication directly from the agency which contributed the
original information, the FBI CJIS Division will make any changes necessary in accordance with the information supplied by that
agency. (28 CFR § 16.34)

VI. Consent

| understand that my personal information and biometric data being submitted by Live Scan, will be used to search against
identification records from both the Michigan State Police (MSP) and the FBI for the purpose listed above. | hereby authorize the
release of my personal information for such purposes and release of any records found to the authorized requesting agency listed
above.

Signature: Date:
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RI-030 (01/2019)
Michigan State Police
Page 2 of 2

INSTRUCTIONS

Section I:
Authorizing Information:
This section is to be completed by the agency authorized to request civil fingerprint-based background checks.

1. Fingerprint Code:
The fingerprint code identifies the authorizing purpose in law allowing the agency to request the civil fingerprint-based
background check. For example, School Employment (SE), Child Protection Volunteer (CPV), Health Care employment
(HC).

2. Requesting Agency Identification (ID):
The requesting agency ID is assigned to your agency by the MSP. No request for fingerprinting can be completed without an
agency ID. Please ensure the correct fingerprinting reason code and agency ldentification is used. The MSP will charge for
second requests due to incorrect codes.

3. Agency Name:
The agency name is the legal name of the authorized agency. For schools specifically, the agency name is the name
recognized by the Michigan Department of Education.

4. Individual ID (MNU-OA)
The Individual ID is a unique identifier specific to the individual requested to submit fingerprints. An ID such as a state
issued licensing number, a Personnel Identification Code (PIC) number, or other similar uniquely issued identifier/number.

Section I

Applicant Information:

This section can be completed by the authorized agency, the individual, or as a joint effort by both. Section Il specifically pertains
to the demographic information needed in order to obtain the biometric data of the applicant and is a unique identifier specific to
the applicant.

Section Il
Live Scan Information:

This section is required to be completed by the Live Scan vendor operator and must be completed at the time of fingerprinting.
After fingerprinting, the applicant shall return this signed and completed document to the requesting agency. The Live Scan
operator must return a completed copy of the form to the applicant.
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