Bureau of Regulatory Services

Driver Education Bulletin

Revised November 2009

www.Michigan.gov/sos

May 2009 Volume 5; Issue 1

> Michigan Department of State

Terri Lynn Land Secretary of State

In this issue

Page 2

Provider Manual

Professional development for instructors

Changes to your certification

Correspondence

Summer correspondence - public schools

Page 3

Eligibility for Segment 2

Classroom locations

Student birth certificates and SSNs

Medical examination reports - instructors

Accomplishments and goals

Page 4

Web-based testing

Driver education resource materials

Call for volunteers

When contacting the Department of State

Renewal applications – providers and instructors

As indicated in the October 2008 bulletin, provider and instructor certificate renewal applications will be mailed to the address on record approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date. It is important to realize that if you do not submit your renewal application by the expiration date, you must cease providing instruction until the application is processed and the certificate is issued.

If you fail to submit your renewal application within 30 days after your certificate expiration date, the law requires an ORIGINAL certification application, along with all new forms, including a new criminal background report. Adult (automobile) instructors would also be required to complete instructor preparation courses as part of the original application process, unless they have been completed previously.

Occasionally, a renewal application cannot be processed because additional information or forms are needed. If you or your instructors are contacted regarding a problem with an application, please submit the requested information or forms immediately. You should watch to make sure you receive your certificate. If you do not receive it within two weeks, contact the Licensing Unit at (517) 241-0137.

PROVIDERS – be sure to monitor your instructors to ensure they keep their certifications active. Providing instruction without being properly certified is a violation of the law and is subject to disciplinary action, including fines of \$100 a day.

E-mail addresses

The department continually seeks ways to facilitate and streamline communications. The Driver Education Section (DES) has e-mail addresses for most providers and many instructors. This bulletin was sent by e-mail to all providers and instructors for whom we have e-mail addresses. Paper copies were mailed only to providers who have not provided an e-mail address. Future bulletins will be sent by e-mail only; therefore, if you do not have e-mail, you will need to check the Department of State's Web site often to find new bulletins and other important information. If you obtain or change an e-mail address, please contact us at **DriverEd@Michigan.gov** so we can update our records.

If any of your instructors did not receive this bulletin by e-mail, please advise them to contact DES to provide or change their e-mail address.

Our telephone number is (517) 241-6850 – Our e-mail address is *DriverEd@Michigan.gov* Questions? Contact DES!

Provider Manual

The Driver Education Provider Manual has been revised as of March 2009 and is now posted on the department's Web site. Please discard the October 2006 manual as it is now outdated. Many changes have been made in the manual, including the addition of new forms and revisions to existing forms. Please bookmark the manual so you can quickly access it. If you want a paper copy of the manual, you may print it. As manual updates are made, they will be identified in a subsection titled "Driver Education Provider Manual Updates" located directly below the manual on the Web site.

Professional development for instructors

The instructor certificate renewal application requires instructors to certify that they have met the professional development requirements. Have you participated in one of the APPROVED options as posted on the department's Web site? Submitting an application without having completed professional development is a violation of the law, and subject to disciplinary action. Professional development is required during each two-year certification cycle. Approved professional development options are always posted on the Web site in the Driver Education – Instructor section.

Changes to your certification – providers and instructors

If any changes occur to your organization or certification, you must contact the Licensing Unit (either by email at **Licensing@Michigan.gov** or telephone at 517/241-0137) immediately. This includes changes to:

Provider:

- ✓ Address
- ✓ Contact Information
- ✓ Coordinator or Designated Representative
- ✓ Organizational Identity (i.e., corporation, sole proprietor)

Instructor:

- ✓ Name (i.e., marriage)
- ✓ Driver License Number
- ✓ Address
- ✓ Contact Information

Use the *Driver Education Provider Certificate – Change of Partner, Officer, Director, Designated Representative or Coordinator* (DES-026) and *Driver Education Provider Certificate Change of Name and/or Change of Address* (DES-027) when appropriate. Forms are available on the department's Web site. Instructors should contact the Licensing Unit at the number above to report the address change. It is not sufficient to make an address change at the Secretary of State branch office.

Correspondence

All correspondence (mail, driver education material orders, etc.) is sent to the person (instructor, owner or designated representative) and address provided on your application. No exceptions are possible. If changes are made, you must notify the department using the *Change of Partner, Officer, Director, Designated Representative or Coordinator* (DES-026) or *Driver Education Provider Certificate Change of Name and/or Change of Address* (DES-027).

Summer correspondence – public school providers

Correspondence is addressed to the individual identified as the driver education coordinator or designated representative. If that person is not available during the summer, who will be responsible for the mail? Please ensure that correspondence pertaining to the driver education program is always handled in a timely manner.

Eligibility for Segment 2

While reviewing Program Completion Data forms, it has come to our attention that some students are being allowed to attend Segment 2 without having held a valid Level 1 License for at least three continuous months. It is mandatory for providers to ensure that students are eligible to take driver education. Noncompliance will result in disciplinary action.

Classroom locations

A provider desiring to add a classroom location must submit a properly completed *Classroom Approval/Fire Marshal Verification* form (DES-024). When approved, the classroom will be added to the Web site, at which time you may start using it. If you stop using a classroom, please contact the Licensing Unit (see Page 2 of this bulletin for contact information) so that it may be removed from the department's Web site.

Student birth certificates and Social Security numbers

It has come to our attention that some providers require parents to provide copies of birth certificates and, in rare instances, students' Social Security cards. Providers are required to verify a student's eligibility (age), which is usually done by viewing the student's birth certificate. However, the law does not require the provider to retain a copy of the birth certificate.

In addition, there is no reference in the law regarding driver education students and Social Security numbers. It is expected that instructors will review the identification requirements for obtaining a driver's license with students during Segment 1 classes, but personal information should not be shared.

Medical examination reports – instructors

If you are an instructor **and** a third party examiner, your medical examination report can be used to meet the requirements for both positions. If you are an examiner, and have recently submitted a medical examination report

with your original or renewal instructor certificate application, e-mail the Third Party Testing Section at **ThirdPartyTesting@Michigan.gov** so your examiner record can be updated.

Accomplishments and goals

What has been accomplished over the past year and what goals does DES have for the upcoming year?

Accomplishments:

- Segment 1 and Segment 2 tests were created, piloted, and are now accessed through the Solutions Thru Software Web site.
- Four workshops were held in the fall of 2008 for new providers and staff.
- Staff conducted on-site inspections of all 53 approved (teen program) ranges.
- The Provider Manual was revised and posted on the department's Web site.

Goals:

- Continually identify new professional development options, including online opportunities.
- Conduct a second review of the Segment 1 and Segment 2 knowledge tests.
- Explore options for electronic reporting of student information.

Web-based testing – teen programs

Questions that teen providers should continually be asking themselves:

- 1. Are the tests that are being administered to our driver education classes printed no more than four months ago?
- 2. Are there at least two tests being administered to each class, equally distributed to students in the class?
- 3. If a student is required to retake a test, is the retake different than the original test attempted?
- 4. Are individuals (including instructors and/or office staff) who access the Web site and generate and print tests authorized to do so; are they using their own UserIDs and passwords, and are their computers registered to our school?
- 5. Are we keeping accurate records of students' tests, including the unique identifier numbers of the tests the students are taking?
- 6. Are we reporting the test unique identifier numbers on the Program Completion Data forms that are submitted to the department?

If you answered "NO" to any of the above questions, you may be in violation of the law and/or are not following prescribed procedures. Please correct any problems to reduce the likelihood of disciplinary action.

<u>Reminder</u>: Please keep your Web-based Knowledge Testing Manual handy for registering your computer. We have received numerous phone calls from people that have lost their computer's registration. To get back to the main registration page, open Internet Explorer, click on "Tools," then click on "Internet Options." Under "Temporary Internet Files," click on "Delete Cookies," then "OK." Re-enter the original registration Web address.

Driver education resource materials

It is advantageous to continually look for new and innovative driver education materials which can enhance the instruction you provide and help your instructors stay current with best practices. Some DVDs, videos and printed materials may best be used during Segment 1, which provides for two hours of "instructor discretion" time.

So, what have you found lately? Is it something that will benefit other providers or instructors? What

about students and parents? We would like to include a section on our Web site that provides a list of current driver education resources and links that will assist with the delivery and support of driver education in Michigan.

If you have resource information you would like to contribute, please forward it to **DriverEd@Michigan.gov**. Please take into account copyright laws.

Call for volunteers (teen providers)

Now that the Segment 1 and Segment 2 tests have been in use for almost a year, it is time to find providers who would be willing to administer randomly generated tests to re-evaluate the validity and difficulty levels of the test questions. The tests will be provided by the department.

If you are interested, please e-mail the Driver Education Section at **DriverEd@Michigan.gov.**

When contacting the Department of State

DES welcomes your e-mails and telephone calls regarding questions you may have. Please identify yourself and the provider with whom you are associated. Our e-mail address is **DriverEd@Michigan.gov** and our telephone

number is (517) 241-6850.