Bureau of Regulatory Services

Driver Education Bulletin

www.Michigan.gov/sos

September 2010 Volume 6; Issue 1

Michigan Department of State

Terri Lynn Land Secretary of State

In this issue

Page 1

Renewal applications

Driving skills test

ID requirements for Level 2 application

Page 2

Knowledge testing for teen programs

Ordering materials

Recent legislation

Page 3

Coordinated programs

Office records

Teen driver education program checklist

Page 4

Teen driver education program checklist (continued)

Renewal applications

The lead article in the last two bulletins addressed renewal applications for providers and instructors. A provider or instructor who fails to renew within 30 days after their certificate expires must submit an ORIGINAL certification application, along with all new forms, including a new criminal background check. For a provider, renewing in a timely manner could be as simple as signing the application and paying a fee (if applicable). Each provider and instructor should check his or her certificate expiration date, and be sure to renew timely. If your certificate has expired and you are providing instruction, you are in violation of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (PA 384 of 2006).

Driving skills test

When an applicant passes a driving skills test, he or she is issued a Driver Skills Test Certificate. As a reminder, on Nov. 1, 2009, the expiration date of the certificate was changed from one year to 60 days (or 60 days after a

teen's 16th birthday). Instructors should inform their Segment 2 students, indicating that they need to apply for their Level 2 license within 60 days after passing the driving skills test (or within 60 days after their 16th birthday).

ID requirements for Level 2 application

As outlined in the *What Every Driver Must Know* and *Michigan's Graduated Driver Licensing: A Guide for Parents* publications, when applying for a Level 2 license, a student needs to present proof of legal presence (which most often will be his or her birth certificate). Also, if the student applied for and obtained his or her Level 1 license prior to January 22, 2008, the teen will need to present all of the ID requirements as outlined on the SOS-428 identification requirements document when applying for a Level 2 license. The SOS-428 is available on the department's Web site.

Our telephone number is (517) 241-6850 Our e-mail address is *DriverEd@Michigan.gov* Questions? Contact DES!

Knowledge testing for teen programs

DES receives numerous calls from individuals who are having problems accessing the Web-based knowledge tests.

Teen programs have the Michigan Manual, the Quick Reference Guide and the Web-Based Knowledge Testing Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs). All of the documents were created to assist users when accessing the knowledge test system. The FAQs are part of Section 4 of the Driver Education Provider Manual, which is on the department's Web site. Please share these documents with any instructor or staff member who has authorized access to the Web-based knowledge system for your school to assist them in problem-solving.

If you or your staff still have problems with accessing the system, it would be helpful if you had all three of the above documents handy and are at your computer when you call the Driver Education Section for assistance.

Also, please ensure that the computers being used to generate tests are registered to your school. When authorized users first log in, your school's name should appear on the right side of the screen. If not, the user should refer to the Quick Reference Guide for instructions on how to delete "cookies" and re-register the computer.

Ordering materials

When ordering materials (i.e., *What Every Driver Must Know*, *Michigan's Graduated Driver License: A Guide for Parents*, *Driving Skills Test Study Guide*, Segment 1 and 2 certificates, etc.), please order no more than a three- or four-month

supply at one time. Publications and documents are regularly updated. To prevent having to discard excess materials, and to keep the department from having to stock copies which may not be needed, please keep your inventory to a minimum.

Recent legislation

Public Act 10 of 2010

This law requires the operator of a motor vehicle involved in a crash to move the vehicle to the shoulder, unless serious impairment or death has resulted from the crash, if it can be done safely and the vehicle is capable of being operated normally. For the full text of the Act, go to **www.legislature.mi.gov** and search for MCL 257.618a.

This is good information to review with your students, including adult and truck driver education students.

Public Act 16 of 2010

This law places certain requirements on driver education providers offering Segment 2 instruction to provide instructional materials on organ donation and to explain the right to make an anatomical gift in the event of death. For the full text of the Act, go to **www.legislature.mi.gov** and search for MCL 256.659. This act revises Section 39(c) of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (DEPIA).

The Secretary of State will work with the Gift of Life organization to determine what instructional materials will be provided and in what manner. We will notify you when more information is available.

Public Act 60 of 2010

Effective July 1, 2010, the "texting ban" law made it illegal to type, read, or send electronic messages while driving in Michigan. Information regarding the new texting ban law, including a copy of the Act, was recently e-mailed to providers and instructors.

The Office of Highway Safety Planning produced a public service announcement, which can be found at: http://www.youtube.com/ohsp. Please share information on the new law with your driver education students.

Coordinated programs

The Secretary of State may approve a coordinated Segment 1 driver education course for special needs students. Under Section 49 of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (DEPIA, MCL 256.669), a coordinated Segment 1 driver education course is a course provided by two or more certified driver education providers using auxiliary aids and services as defined in the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

If two driver education providers enter into an agreement to offer a coordinated Segment 1 class to a special needs student, DES must approve the program PRIOR to instruction beginning. For further information regarding coordinated programs and what documentation must be submitted for prior approval of the program, please review the above section of DEPIA and Sections 6 and 7 of the Driver Education Provider Manual.

Office records

Section 51 of DEPIA requires that "a driver education provider shall maintain information, a record, a report, or other documents required under the act at its established office location, and that the provider shall make these available for inspection at reasonable times." The following records must be retained for a minimum of four years:

- A copy of a signed student contract for each student.
- Classroom record keeping form verifying the hours of instruction as indicated in the student contract.
- Homework, quizzes, etc., if part of grading criteria.
- Record of fees charged (including tuition).
- Behind-the-wheel record keeping form, verifying the hours of instruction as indicated in the student contract.
- *Teen programs only--*Verification of observation time.
- *Teen programs only--*An accounting of all Segment 1 and Segment 2 certificates of completion issued with issue date.
- *Teen programs only--*The current inventory of Segment 1 and Segment 2 certificates on-site and available for review.
- Teen programs only--ALL copies of the knowledge test the student took (including failed attempts).

In addition, a provider should be able to produce a copy of each instructor's valid, unexpired certificate. A provider must monitor instructors' certifications to ensure they are eligible to provide instruction.

Teen driver education program checklist

If you are offering a Segment 1 or Segment 2 class, each task identified below must be completed. Further information is available in the Provider Manual on the department's Web site, **www.Michigan.gov/sos**.

PROGRAM REQUEST FORM

At least 10 days prior to the start of a class, a Program Request form (DES-101) must be submitted.

- 1. The form must be completely filled out and signed by the owner, designated representative, or coordinator.
- 2. The class must be assigned a unique program number, different from any other program being offered during the current calendar year.
- 3. Each day classroom instruction is offered must be listed.
- 4. Segment 1 class must meet a minimum of three weeks. Class may not exceed two hours per day.
- 5. Segment 2 class must meet a minimum of three days. Class may not exceed two hours per day.

Problems frequently observed when reviewing Program Request forms:

- 1. A Program Request form is not submitted for a particular class, or the form was submitted less than 10 days prior to the starting date of the class.
- 2. Information contained on the form is illegible.

Continued on Page 4

Teen driver education program checklist (Continued from Page 3)

- 3. More than one class is listed on a particular form.
- 4. Multiple instructors are listed for classroom instruction. Although this is not a violation, if any of the instructors listed do not offer instruction during that class, a revised Program Request form must be submitted with the instructor removed.
- 5. The program number is identical to another class being offered (whether on the same day or even a different Segment). Program numbers MUST BE UNIQUE FOR EACH INDIVIDUAL CLASS.
- 6. An instructor listed is not recognized as being employed by your organization. An Instructor Employment form (DES-022) must be submitted.
- 7. An instructor listed on the form is not certified. The instructor may not teach until certified.

Program Request forms should be mailed in time to reach DES at least 10 days prior to the start of the class. If it is close to 10 days prior to the start of the class, the form may be faxed to DES at (517) 373-0964.

If you need to change any information on a form that was previously submitted (i.e., instructors, class dates or times, etc.), please complete a new Program Request form, include the same program number, write "REVISED" on the form, and submit immediately.

PROGRAM COMPLETION DATA FORM

No more than 10 days after a program is completed, a Program Completion Data form (DES-102) must be submitted to DES. For a Segment 1 class, this could be up to four weeks after the last class day (assuming it took the full three weeks after the last class session to complete the driving instruction, as allowed by law).

- 1. The form must be filled out in its entirety.
- 2. The program number must be IDENTICAL to the program number assigned to the class as submitted on the Program Request form.
- 3. Only list students who have successfully completed the course.
- 4. Students should be listed in alphabetical order (by last name), and certificates should be issued in sequential order.
- 5. If you need to change any information on a form that was previously submitted (i.e., student information), please copy the original form and indicate the corrected information, write "REVISED" on the form, and submit immediately.

Problems frequently observed when reviewing Program Completion Data forms:

- 1. A Program Completion Data form is not submitted for the class, or the form was submitted more than 10 days after the end of the program.
- 2. Information contained on the form is illegible.
- 3. Information is not complete (i.e., missing prefix for certificate numbers, middle name not recorded, etc.)
- 4. The program number does not match the program number listed on the Program Request form.
- 5. The unique identifier numbers assigned by the Web-based testing system are not listed.
- 6. Tests were printed more than four months prior to being administered (based on tests being given on day 10 or later).
- 7. A record check indicates the student was ineligible to take the class:
 - a. Segment 1: Student had not attained the minimum age of 14 years, 8 months.
 - b. Segment 2: Student had not held a Level 1 license for at least three months (or had never obtained a Level 1 license).
- 8. More than the maximum of 36 students was reported as having attended the class. Each Program Completion Data form must ONLY report students who attended that specific program listed on the corresponding Program Request form.

If you have questions regarding the information in this article, consult the Driver Education Provider Manual online at **www.Michigan.gov/sos** or contact the Driver Education Section as indicated on Page 1 of this bulletin.