== Driver Education Michigan Department of State
Drve PROVIDER RENEWAL CHECKLIST 1St
KEY: A = Adult Classification ® T = Teen Classification ® TR = Truck Classification
Document must be submitted with application if applicable

This document will provide you with the information needed to apply for a Driver Education Provider Certificate with Adult, Teen, and/or Truck
classification(s). A provider may not provide instruction (classroom or behind-the-wheel) without a valid provider certificate in good standing.
To apply, the applicant must complete and submit the following requirements:

It's FAST, EASY, and SECURE! Renew through CARS, e-Services and receive the following advantages:
v FAST Processing Time! Receive your Provider Renewal Approval letter within FIVE business days!
v’ EASY to Complete! Complete your renewal within 20 minutes or less!

v’ SECURE Log in! Advanced security features to create a user ID and password using MILogin which also can be used to access your
provider account in addition to other state government services in Michigan!

NOTE: Above processing time applies to applications that are received with all documents and information required.

A | T | TR | REQUIREMENTS v
v | v/ | V' | Have avalid provider certification in good standing, that has not been expired for more than 30 days. ]
v | vV |V DES-P07 Provider Renewal Application. []
n  DES-P02 Provider Signature Certification (If renewing through CARS e-Services, use this document in lieu of
iV DES-P07 Provider Certification Application). O
v IV |V Vehicle Insurance ACORD Certificate of Liability. ]
n  RI-030 Live Scan Fingerprint (ALL owners, partners, officers and designated representatives must
\/ vV complete and submit this form along with your renewal application.) [
v Adult BTW Contract. ]
v Adult Segment 1 Contract. (Must be submitted if you have a teen classification in addition to adult.). ]
v Adult Segment 2 Contract (Must be submitted if you have a teen classification in addition to adult.). ]
v Teen Segment 1 Contract. ]
v Teen Segment 2 Contract. ]
v Truck Contract (Must include BTW and classroom if offered.). ]
vV | v Submit a $225.00 NON-REFUNDABLE renewal processing fee for a provider with an Adult and/or Teen n
classifications (EXEMPT: Educational institution or governmental agency).
v Submit a $360.00 NON-REFUNDABLE renewal processing fee for a provider with a Truck classification ]
(EXEMPT: Educational institution or governmental agency).
v If applicable, submit an additional $75.00 NON-REFUNDABLE renewal processing fee for a multiple vehicle ]
driving facility (range) for each approved range. (No provider business type is exempt from this fee).
A T TR | DRIVING RECORD REQUIREMENTS /

All owners, partners, principal officers and designated representatives for a provider must possess a driving record that is consistent with
requirements established in the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act [Act PA 384 of 2006]. Some of the requirements include the
following (Refer to the Driver Education Provider Manual for all requirements.):

vV I vV IV Possesses a valid driver license that has been in continuous effect for not less than 5 years
immediately preceding the application.

Has not received a conviction for which 4 or more points were assessed under MCL 257.320a within the 5
years preceding the date the application was submitted; OR

Has not had 3 or more driver license denials, suspensions, or revocations, or any combination, imposed by the

within the 2 years preceding application.

Has not received a conviction or finding of responsibility for a traffic violation in connection with 2 or more motor
vehicle accidents within the 2 years preceding application.

I A

vV IV Vv
v IV |V Secretary of State for the failure to appear in court (FAC) or a failure to comply with a court judgment (FCJ)
vV IV Vv
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v' | v | v | Has not accumulated 6 or more points under MCL 257.320 within the 2 years preceding application. ]

vV I vV Has not received a conviction for transportation or possession of open alcohol container in vehicle within the 2 n

years preceding application.

vV I vV IV Has not received a conviction for a person less than 21 years of age with any bodily alcohol content within the ]

2 years preceding application.

vV I vV Has not received a conviction for careless or negligent driving resulting in a civil infraction within the 2 years ]

preceding application.

A T TR | CRIMINAL HISTORY REQUIREMENTS \/
The Secretary of State shall automatically deny an original or renewal application for a driver education provider, and shall automatically
revoke a provider certificate without the necessity for notice and an opportunity for a hearing, if a criminal history check for any owner,
partner, principal officer or designated representative indicates a conviction of a violation or attempted violation of any of the following:

VI vV Criminal sexual conduct, assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct, or an attempt to commit criminal ]

sexual conduct, in any degree under MCL 750.520b to 750.520g.
A felony involving a criminal assault or battery on an individual. ]

VI vV A crime involving felonious assault on a child, child abuse in the first degree, cruelty, torture, or indecent ]

exposure involving a child.

VI vV A felony involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of a controlled substance or possession with ]

intent to manufacture, distribute, or dispense a controlled substance.

v v |V |A felony conviction involving fraud as an element of the crime. ]

A denial or revocation imposed under this section shall continue for not less than 10 years from the date of the

viIiviv conviction. [




