The Bureau of Regulatory Services

Driver Education Bulletin

www.Michigan.gov/sos

May 2007 Volume 3; Issue 1

> Michigan Department of State

Terri Lynn Land Secretary of State

In this issue

Page 2

Major changes to teen driver ed

Communicating with the Driver Education Section

Instructor Employment Form

Page 3

Range instruction

Electronic fingerprinting

Proof of identity

Page 4

Program integrity

SOS-360 Driving Skills Test Study Guide

Department of State Web site

Driver Education Provider Manual

Certificate applications

As of June 1, 2007, if a certificate application has not been received under the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (PA 384 of 2006), a driver education provider will not be authorized to conduct instruction and must cease operating. To help reduce delays, it is imperative that applications are mailed well in advance of this date. Please visit the Department of State's Web site (www.Michigan.gov/sos) for more information.

By law, providers are required to make sure that all instructors are properly certified. Those instructors who are currently teaching under the previous law may continue to teach for their current employer(s) without a lapse of eligibility if their application is received by June 1.

Business Application Modernization (BAM)

In 2003 the Secretary of State embarked on "BAM" – a multi-year project to modernize the department's business procedures and supporting technical infrastructure. The benefits include greater customer convenience and department responsiveness (24/7 self-service stations, single customer record); enhanced data quality (real time updates); and an updated technical environment (flexibility and cost-effectiveness).

Teen driver education providers will benefit starting in early October 2007. Currently, students are issued a Certificate of Completion after successfully completing a Segment 2 class and must visit a branch office to apply for a Level 2 license. With BAM, students will visit the branch office after completing Segment 1 to obtain a GDL license. They will have their photo taken and be provided with a paper GDL Level 1 license. When their hard-card with photo arrives, the level will not be indicated on the license – however it will be reflected on our system for department and law enforcement purposes.

After the student successfully completes Segment 2, driver education providers will submit this information electronically through a secured Web site. (Under BAM, providers will no longer need to maintain a Segment 2 Certificate of Completion inventory. Further, BAM will also eliminate the need for students to visit a branch office to apply for a Level 2 license.)

The student must then take a road test via a third-party testing organization; the third-party testing organization will submit passing road test results electronically. A letter will automatically be generated to the student confirming the issuance of the Level 2 license. The student will continue to use the hard-card GDL license originally issued; the correct license level will be noted on system.

Major changes to teen driver education

Following are the major changes to Segment 1 and Segment 2 teen driver education instruction under the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (Public Act 384 of 2006):

Segment 1

- Students must complete a minimum of 4 hours of classroom instruction prior to starting behind-thewheel (BTW) instruction.
- Students must complete a minimum of 3 hours of BTW instruction prior to the last classroom session.
- Students must have completed all of the BTW instruction no later than 3 weeks after the last classroom session.
- A maximum of 2 hours of range instruction may be substituted for 2 hours of BTW instruction.
- Students must complete 4 hours of observation time as a passenger in a driver education vehicle.
- Coordinated driver education programs (for special needs students) must receive prior written approval from the Department of State.

Segment 2

• Students must have held a valid Level 1 license for not less than 3 continuous months before enrollment in a Segment 2 class.

If you charge a fee, you <u>must</u> have a contract with every student (or his/her parent, if a minor). The information above should be included on each contract. Additional required contract language may be found on the Department of State's Web site, **www.Michigan.gov/sos**.

Communicating with the Driver Education Section

The Driver Education Section would like your e-mail address to better serve you. E-mail is being used to update providers on any number of issues (i.e., notification of current research findings, news and information, conducting surveys, etc.). In the future, most regular communications will be sent by e-mail for your convenience. If you have a new e-mail address, or change a current one, please notify us at *DriverEd@Michigan.gov*.

Instructor Employment Form

A driver education provider is required to submit the DES-022 Driver Education Instructor Employment Form PRIOR to using an instructor. This form will be used to verify an instructor's eligibility and to notify the Department of State of the instructor's employment. This information will also be used to establish an online eligibility verification system.

Once the verification system is created, the provider will verify an instructor's eligibility online, but will still need to submit the employment form as notification of employment. Failure to do so is a violation of the Act and may result in sanctions. A provider must also obtain a copy of each instructor's certificate and keep it on file.

Submit your certificate applications! The deadline is June 1!

Range instruction

Reminders to those providers offering teen instruction and using a multiple vehicle driving facility (range):

- Each range site must receive written approval from the Department of State prior to use.
- Range time can be substituted for up to 2 of the required 6 hours of on-street instruction.
- All providers must pay the range certification fee. There is no exemption for educational institutions and governmental agencies.
- Information relating to range use (application, guidelines, etc.) is available on the Driver Education Web site,
 www.Michigan.gov/sos (see "Department of State Web site" on the back of this issue).

Electronic fingerprinting services

Identix Identification Services (IIS) has merged with Integrated Biometric Technology (IBT), an L-1 Identity Solutions Company. The DES-025 Live Scan Fingerprint Request form has been updated and is available on the Driver Education Web site.

Providing proof of identity

A driver education provider offering teen instruction must verify that a student is 14 years and 8 months or older by the first day of a Segment 1 class. It is highly recommended that verification be presented in the form of a primary group document (see below).

Individuals who are under 18 and are applying for a Graduated Driver Licensing Level 1 License must present at least one item from the Primary Group identification documents (below) at the Secretary of State branch office. They must also provide their Social Security number.

Primary Group documents must show the applicant's full name and date of birth. Expired documents may be accepted if they are authentic and still represent the applicant.

- 1. A *certified* full-size or wallet-size birth certificate, *issued by a U.S. (including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) or Canadian governmental unit.* The document must have a raised seal or be a true copy. HOSPITAL BIRTH CERTIFICATES ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE.
- 2. A photo U.S. military identification card.
- 3. A photo U.S. military dependent identification card (DD-1173 or DD-1173-1).
- 4. An *out-of-state or Canadian* identification card with a photo.
- 5. An out-of-state or Canadian passport.
- 6. If born in a foreign country, the following may be used:
 - a. Resident Alien Card/Permanent Resident Card (INS Form I-551), or
 - b. Certificate of U.S. Naturalization (N-550 or N-570), or
 - c. Certificate of U.S. Citizenship (N-560 or N-561), or
 - d. Employment Authorization Document (INS Form I-688B or I-766), or
 - e. Passport with a translation of the passport into English.

Be sure to convey this information to your students. Hospital birth certificates, photocopies or facsimiles WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

Program integrity

It is expected that all driver education providers will maintain high standards of instruction and conform to the law. This includes:

- Submitting complete and accurate reports to the Department of State, including Year-End Report, Program Request and Program Completion Data forms, Instructor Employment Form, etc.
- Maintaining complete and accurate records in accordance with the law and having them available for review by department staff.
- Ensuring all instructors are certified and employment status is reported to the department.
- Reporting all classroom locations to the department for approval.
- Admitting only eligible students for training.
- Treating customers (including students and parents) with respect and in a professional manner.

Monitoring and oversight, including review of reports, student surveys, and on-site inspections will continue. Sanctions may range from a notice of violation, a "Hold" placed on the provider's ability to order materials (including certificates of completion), an informal conference, probation, administrative fines, suspension, and, ultimately, revocation of certification.

SOS-360 Driving Skills Test Study Guide

The SOS-360, formerly known as the Road Skills Test Study Guide, has a new name. This publication is now known as the Driving Skills Test Study Guide. It more accurately reflects the basic control skills and onroad skills testing which are included in the driving test taken by applicants through third-party testing organizations.

Driver Education Provider Manual

Watch your mailbox! Many providers attended the workshops on the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act held around the state last fall, where they received the new Driver Education Provider Manual. Those who did not attend the workshops will soon receive a CD of the manual by mail.

Department of State Web site

Please make use of the Department of State's Web site. Go to www.Michigan.gov/sos. Click (on the left) on "Driver License and State ID," then on "Driver Education." The site includes information for parents and students, as well as all of the forms you may need to operate your program. The Driver Education Provider Manual, newsletters, applications, etc., are all available. Professional development requirements for instructors will soon be added to the site.

BAM Continued from Page 1

Although providers will still need to submit the DES-101 Program Request forms for Segment 2 classes, the DES-102 Program Completion Data form for Segment 2 classes will no longer need to be submitted. Another future benefit is the elimination of duplicate certificates for students who lose their certificates. Additional information on this issue will be sent to providers and will be available on the Driver Education Web site later this summer.

Our telephone number is (517) 241-6850 -Our e-mail address is DriverEd@Michigan.gov

Questions? Contact DES!