Chapter 1

Licensing of Vehicle Dealers

Section 1-1 Dealer Licensing Requirements

1-1.1 Authorization. Section 248 of the *Michigan Vehicle Code* (MCL 257.248) provides any person, partnership, or corporation engaging in business as a vehicle dealer of any type in this state must be licensed by the Michigan Department of State (MDOS). The Business Licensing Section of MDOS oversees this licensing activity. Other auto-related businesses, such as motor vehicle repair facilities and automotive mechanics, are also required to be registered and/or licensed by the MDOS.

MDOS licenses ten classifications of dealers, including: new vehicle dealers, used vehicle dealers; vehicle brokers, wholesalers and various types of distressed vehicle dealers. Applicants must complete form AR-0032, *Original Vehicle Dealer License Application*, to apply for a dealer license.

- **1-1.2 License Expiration.** Dealer licenses expire December 31 each year and must be renewed prior to expiration. The late renewal period is open for 30 days after the expiration date and includes an additional late fee that is 50% of the license renewal fee. Paper renewals will no longer be accepted. All dealer licenses must be renewed through e-Services and multi-year renewals are encouraged.
- **1-1.3 Un-renewed License.** You are required to apply for a new license if you allow your license to lapse for more than 30 days [MCL 257.248(8)(h)]. Dealers who have not renewed their licenses cannot operate. Secretary of State offices will not accept transactions from dealers whose licenses have expired.
- **1-1.4 Trailers.** A dealer license is required for the sale of trailers weighing over 2,500 pounds. A dealer license is also required for the sale of all trailers or campers requiring a certificate of title (e.g., trailer coaches or pick-up campers).
- **1-1.5 Renewals.** The Secretary of State shall not renew a dealer's license if the Licensee has not bought or sold more than 5 vehicles during the 12 months preceding the dealer's renewal application.

Section 1-2

Established Place of Business

1-2.1 Authorization. By law, every dealer must have and maintain an established place of business. This requirement is outlined in Sections 14 and 248 of the *Michigan Vehicle Code* (MCL 257.14 and MCL 257.248). The location shown on each dealer's license is the dealer's official "established place of business." Any proposed changes in the dealership location must be applied for on form AR-0068, *Vehicle Dealer License Application Change of Name and/or Change of Address*, or through your e-Services account. You must wait for approval prior to implementing any changes.

1-2.2a Established Place of Business Requirements for New and Used Vehicle Dealers.

Following are the requirements for licensing of new and used vehicle dealers:

- a) The premises must contain a permanently enclosed building or structure either owned, leased, or rented by a dealer, which is not a residence, tent, temporary stand, or any temporary quarters;
- b) The building or structure is required to be continuously occupied in good faith for the purpose of selling, buying, trading, leasing, or otherwise dealing in motor vehicles;
- c) All books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business of a Class A or Class B dealer must be maintained in the building or structure during your established business hours on file with the Secretary of State or following approval from the Department at a secondary location owned by the dealer that is located within a 15-mile radius. All requests for a secondary location must be submitted through the dealer e-Services account;
- d) A building or structure housing an office of at least 150 square feet in size, equipped with standard office furniture, working utilities, a working restroom, and a working telephone listed in the name of the business on the dealer's license;
- e) Land space of no less than 1,300 square feet to accommodate the display of a minimum of 10 vehicles of the kind and type the dealer is licensed to sell and an additional 650 square feet for customer parking. The display and customer parking areas must be adequately surfaced and well-lit during business hours;
- f) An exterior sign displaying the name of the dealership permanently affixed to the building or land with letters clearly visible from the roadway identifying the premises;
- g) Conspicuous posting of the dealer's regular hours of operation. The posted hours must be not less than 30 hours per week. Fifteen of the 30 hours per week must be between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday;

- h) The premises must contain a registered repair facility on site for the repair and servicing of motor vehicles of a type sold at the established place of business, unless the dealer has entered into a written servicing agreement with a registered repair facility at a location not to exceed a distance of 10 miles from the established place of business. If repairs are conducted pursuant to a servicing agreement, the servicing agreement must be conspicuously posted in the office;
- i) The premises meet all applicable zoning and municipal requirements.

For specific information on established place of business and other dealer requirements, you may contact the Business Licensing Section at (888) 767-6424 (1-888-SOS-MICH), <u>Licensing@michigan.gov</u>, or check the Secretary of State Web site at <u>www.Michigan.gov/sos</u> under Automotive Related Businesses.

1-2.2b Established Place of Business Requirements for Wholesale Vehicle Dealers.

An established place of business for a wholesaler, is the place occupied continuously and must satisfy all of the following requirements:

- a) The premises must contain a permanently enclosed building or structure either owned, leased, or rented by a wholesaler, which is not a commercial mailbox, tent, temporary stand, or other temporary quarters. Beginning January 1, 2024, all wholesalers established place of business must be in a permanently enclosed building or structure, must be heated and electrified, must be no less than 8 feet by 8 feet with a door, have no fewer than 4 rigid walls, equipped with standard office furniture, working utilities, a working restroom, and a working telephone listed in the name of the business on the dealer's license.
- b) All books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business of the wholesaler must be maintained in the building or structure or following approval from the Department at a secondary location owned by the dealer that is located within a 15-mile radius. All requests for a secondary location must be submitted through the dealer e-Services account;
- c) Conspicuous posting of the dealer's regular hours of operation. The posted hours must be not less than 15 hours per week between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.;
- d) The premises must not be used for the display of vehicles. However, the premises may be used for the storage of vehicles purchased by the wholesaler prior to sale to a licensed vehicle dealer;
- e) An exterior sign displaying the name of the dealership permanently affixed to the building or land with letters clearly visible from the roadway identifying the premises;

- f) The premises meet all applicable zoning and municipal requirements;
- g) If a wholesaler receives its initial license on or after January 1, 2023, the premises must not be located within 200 feet of an established place of business for another licensed wholesaler.
- **1-2.3 Requirements for All Other Vehicle Dealers.** All places of business for all dealer license classifications, must meet the following requirements:
 - a) The premises must contain a permanently enclosed building or structure either owned, leased, or rented by a dealer, which is not a commercial mailbox, tent, temporary stand, or other temporary quarters. Beginning January 1, 2024, all vehicle dealers established place of business must be in a permanently enclosed building or structure must be heated and electrified, must be no less than 8 feet by 8 feet with a door, have no fewer than 4 rigid walls, equipped with standard office furniture, working utilities, a working restroom, and a working telephone listed in the name of the business on the dealer's license.
 - b) All books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business of the vehicle dealer must be maintained in the building or structure or following approval from the Department at a secondary location owned by the dealer that is located within a 15-mile radius. All requests for a secondary location must be submitted through the dealer e-Services account;
 - c) Conspicuous posting of the dealer's regular hours of operation. The posted hours must be not less than fifteen hours per week for not less than 48 weeks per year. Five of the 15 hours per week must be between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday;
 - d) An exterior sign displaying the name of the dealership permanently affixed to the building or land with letters clearly visible from the roadway identifying the premises;
 - e) The premises meet all applicable zoning and municipal requirements.
- **1-2.4 Two Dealers at One Location.** The Michigan Vehicle Code [MCL 257.14 *et seq.*] defines an "established place of business" as the place occupied either continuously or on a regular basis by a dealer where books and records are kept during established business hours on file with the Secretary of State and a large share of the dealer's business is transacted. The address or location listed on your dealer application or change of address application cannot be the same as the established place of business or location of another licensed dealer.

By statute, the proposed address or location can only be the established place of business of one licensed vehicle dealer. If two dealers are in close proximity, there must be a clear separation between the vehicle dealership businesses. his includes separate addresses, inventories, office spaces, customer parking, restrooms, etc.

NOTE: Businesses cannot share or pool resources to meet established place of business requirements. Each business must separately meet the requirements. The Business Licensing Section will evaluate each original dealer license application submission where it appears more than one dealer is occupying a location on a case-by-case basis.

- **1-2.5** Additional Locations in Same County. A dealer license authorizes the dealer to conduct business at a principal place of business in a particular county. Additional locations in the same county can be licensed as supplemental locations, at no additional fee, if the same activities will be conducted. If the types of activity differ, a separate dealer license may be required.
- **1-2.6 Another County.** A separate dealer license is required if a dealer sells at retail in another county or establishes a place of business in another county.

Section 1-3

Workers' Compensation Insurance

1-3.1 Requirements. Used vehicle parts dealers (Class C) and automotive recyclers (Class R) must maintain workers' compensation insurance for employees classified as automobile dismantlers, or else have an insurance exemption from the Office of Financial and Insurance Services, (517) 248-8922. Foreign salvage vehicle dealers (Class H) must maintain workers' compensation insurance as required by their home states.

Other classes of dealers may be required to carry workers' compensation insurance, but proof of such insurance is not required with the application for Class A, B, D, E, F, G, or W dealers (unless also licensed as a Class C or R dealer). Contact the Worker's Compensation Agency if you have questions at (888) 396-5041 for more information.

Section 1-4

Business Hours

- **1-4.1 Requirements.** Dealers must maintain and post regular business hours and must advise the Business Licensing Section of those hours to be kept on record.
- **1-4.2 Business Hours Requirement.** At a minimum, new and used vehicle dealers (Class A and Class B) must not be less than 30 hours per week for not less than 48 weeks per year. Fifteen of the 30 hours per week must be 8:00am and 5:00pm, Monday through Friday. The dealer may change its posted hours of operation to be less than 30 hours per week for not more than 4 weeks per year if the dealer notifies the department less than 7 days prior to the change (see section 1-4.4).

All other vehicle dealer classifications must have posted hours not less than 15 hours per week for not less than 48 weeks per year. Five of the 15 hours per week must be between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Dealers are required to adhere to the business hours filed with the Secretary of State and make records available for inspection to the Secretary of State and law enforcement during reasonable business hours.

- **1-4.3 Change in Business Hours.** Dealers must notify the Business Licensing Section of any changes through their eServices account.
- **1-4.4 Temporary Reduction in Required Business Hours.** For up to 4 weeks per calendar year (January 1st through December 31st) Class A and Class B dealers may change its posted hours of operation to be less than 30 hours per week if the dealer notifies the department not less than 7 days prior to the change. Dealers must make the notification in one week increments for scheduled closure times by submitting the change through their dealer eServices account.

The Department will waive the 7-day notification requirement for good cause including medical emergency or other extenuating circumstances. It will be incumbent on the dealer to provide evidence of the extenuating services upon request of the Department.

1-4.5 Sunday Sales. MCL **435.251.** The Secretary of State may deny the application for a license as a dealer, may refuse to issue a dealer license, or may suspend or revoke a license already issued if it finds the applicant or licensee has engaged in the business of buying, selling, trading, or exchanging new, used, or secondhand motor vehicles or has offered to buy, sell, trade, or exchange, or participate in the negotiation thereof, or attempted to buy, sell, trade, or exchange any motor vehicle or interest in any motor vehicle or any written instrument pertaining to a motor vehicle on a Sunday. Sunday sales are permitted in counties having population of fewer than 130,000 inhabitants according to the latest federal decennial census.

Section 1-5

Surety Bond

- **1-5.1 Requirements.** All Class A, B, and D dealers are required to maintain a vehicle dealer surety bond in the amount of \$25,000 following the first renewal after January 23, 2023, or if the current \$10,000 bond is cancelled/rescinded. These bonds are used to reimburse purchasers, sellers, financing agencies, and government agencies for monetary loss caused by any tax deficiency, fraud, cheating, or misrepresentation in the conduct of the dealer's vehicle business.
- **1-5.2 License Termination.** If a surety bond company cancels a dealer's surety bond, the dealer's license will be summarily suspended on the effective date of the bond cancellation. Dealers whose bonds are canceled, or who have no bond on file with the MDOS must immediately cease operations and cannot sell vehicles, process RD-108s, or otherwise conduct business.
- **1-5.3 Authority.** Michigan law (MCL 257.248) requires the issuing surety company to notify MDOS in advance of any bond cancellation. The Business Licensing Section at MDOS notifies the dealer by mail of the cancellation. A notice is mailed advising the dealer the license will be summarily suspended effective on the cancellation date. Secretary of State offices and other interested businesses are then notified the license has been summarily suspended.

Section 1-6

Fleet Insurance

1-6.1 Requirements. New, used, and wholesale vehicle dealers (Class A, B, and W) are required

to maintain a minimum of 20/40/10 fleet-type Michigan no-fault vehicle insurance. Proof of insurance provided to the Department must be on an ACORD 25 form (contact your insurance agent) and must indicate coverage for either "all-owned vehicles" or "any vehicle." A copy of the proof of insurance **must** be maintained in each vehicle that leaves the lot, including test drives.

Section 1-7

Dealership Changes

- **1-7.1 Requirements.** Changes in ownership, officers, location, business hours, type of business, franchise status, and dealer classifications are examples of changes that require notification and approval by the Michigan Department of State.
- **1-7.2 Application.** Dealers must complete and submit an original application for a license (form AR-0032) or (form AR-0068) *Vehicle Dealer License Application Change of Name and/or Change of Address*, to request a change or notify Business Licensing Section through their eServices account.

Section 1-8

Change of Address or Change of Business Name

- **1-8.1 Postal Changes.** If a dealer's business address is changed by the Post Office but the dealership has not moved, the dealer must submit a copy of the postal notice to the Business Licensing Section.
- **1-8.2 Change of Address.** When a dealer anticipates a move to a new location, the dealer must complete form AR-0068, *Vehicle Dealer License Application Change of Name and/or Change of Address* or submit the change through their eServices account. Change of address riders for the surety bond and fleet insurance are required. Sole proprietorships and partnerships must provide a copy of the assumed name filing in the new county. Dealers must include municipal and zoning approvals for the new location. Approval of the application and an inspection must occur prior to the move.
- **1-8.3** Change of Name. When a dealership changes its name, the dealer must complete form AR-0068, *Vehicle Dealer License Application Change of Name and/or Change of Address* or notify Business Licensing through their e-Services account. Change of name riders for the surety bond and fleet insurance are required from the dealer.

Section 1-9

Change of Ownership

1-9.1 Requirements. Each owner, partner, and principal officer of a business entity must be included on the original dealer license application. All changes in the ownership of a dealership must be reported to the Business Licensing Section through their e-Services account. The Dealer Corporate Officer Change Application can be found online at

<u>www.michigan.gov/sos/resources/forms</u>. This form is also needed in the event of death of an owner/officer.

- **1-9.2 Corporations.** Deleting an officer's name from a dealer license requires *written* notification. The dealership must submit to the Business Licensing Section either of the following:
 - a) A written statement, signed by the person whose name is being removed from the license, requesting the removal; or,

A certification signed by a corporate officer authorized to act on behalf of the corporation requesting the person's name be removed from the dealer license.

To add an officer's name to the license, the applicant needs to complete form AR-0069, *Dealer Corporate Officer Change Application*, and submit their fingerprints using the Live Scan process. The name can be added to the license only after the Michigan Department of State has conducted an investigation of the applicant's background.

- **1-9.3 Partnerships.** Written notification to the Business Licensing Section is required whenever names are added to or deleted from a dealer license. A new dealer license is required in certain cases.
 - a) Adding a Name. To add a partner to the license, dealers must complete form AR-0069, Dealer Corporate Officer Change Application, and submit their fingerprints using the Live Scan process or through their e-Services account. Riders for the surety bond are required. The name may be added only after the Michigan Department of State has conducted an investigation of the applicant's background.
 - b) **Deleting a Name.** To delete a partner's name from the license, the dealer must submit a statement, signed by the person, whose name is being removed from the license, requesting the removal, or a certification signed by another partner. A rider for the surety bond is required or through their e-Services account.
- **1-9.4 Limited Liability Companies.** Written notification to the Business Licensing Section is required when a managing member is added or deleted from a dealer license.
 - a) Adding a Name. Adding a member's name to the license requires the dealer to complete form AR-0069, *Dealer Corporate Officer Change Application*, submit their fingerprints using the Live Scan process or through their e-Services account. The name may be added to the license only after the Michigan Department of State has conducted an investigation of the applicant's background.
 - b) **Deleting a Name.** Deleting a member's name from the license requires a statement, signed by the person, whose name is being removed from the license, requesting the removal, or a certification signed by another managing member or

through their e-Services account.

1-9.5 Individual Ownership. When a sole owner incorporates a dealership or transfers ownership to another person or entity, a new dealer license application is needed. An individual owner can add or delete a spouse by amending the current license. A copy of the new assumed name filed with the county must be submitted to the Michigan Department of State. A rider for the surety bond is required. The dealer license number will not change in this case.

Section 1-10

Additional Sales Locations

1-10.1 Supplemental Locations. A supplemental location is an approved place of business located within the same county as the dealer's primary established place of business and is in addition to the primary business location. The business activities at a supplemental location must be the same as those conducted at the primary location. Records for the supplemental location must be kept at that location unless prior approval has been granted by MDOS. The dealer must maintain a record of this approval at the supplemental location.

To apply for a supplemental location license, the dealer completes form AR-0066, *Vehicle Dealer Supplemental Location License Application*, available on the Secretary of State website, at www.Michigan.gov/sos. A dealer may have as many supplemental locations as desired, but each location must qualify and be licensed by the MDOS. There is no fee to add a supplemental location.

1-10.2 Temporary Sales Locations. A dealer may hold a temporary sale at a location away from the established place of business, but only within the county of licensure. This may include a "tent sale," an auto show, or a similar event during which vehicles may be displayed or sold for a specified length of time. Form AR-0066, *Vehicle Dealer Supplemental Location License Application*, is required. Dealer may also submit the request through their e-Services account. A *Michigan Vehicle Dealer Closeout Statement (Temporary Location)* form is also needed. The Close-Out Statement will be used to cancel the supplemental license once the temporary sale is over. Approval for temporary sales cannot be given without a Closeout Statement.

<u>Restriction</u>: No temporary sales locations are permitted outside the dealer's county of licensure. Additionally, if a dealer is not allowed Sunday Sales in their county, the dealer may not conduct a Temporary Sale on a Sunday.

NOTE: Dealer plates are not issued for temporary sales locations.

- **1-10.3 Temporary Sales Locations RV Dealers.** Licensed RV dealers are not required to obtain a supplemental license to deal in motor homes, trailer coaches, trailers, or pickup campers at a recreational vehicle show if <u>all</u> of the following apply:
 - a) The dealer is licensed as a new or used vehicle dealer (Class A or B); and,
 - b) The duration of the recreational vehicle show is not more than 14 days; and,

c) Not less than 14 days before the beginning date of the recreational vehicle show, the show producer submits a Recreational Vehicle Show application form through e-Services. The producer will receive an email with the approval.

Section 1-11

Going Out of Business

1-11.1 Requirements. When closing a dealership, including a supplemental location, a dealer must complete a *Vehicle Dealer Closeout Statement*. The dealer must return the wall license, and dealer plates to any Secretary of State office or they can be mailed to the Business Licensing Section.

1-11.2 Vehicles in Inventory. Dealers who do not dispose of inventory before going out of business may be left with inventory that cannot be transferred without a dealer license. The Business Regulation Section can assist in liquidating a dealer's inventory, either at auction or wholesaling to another licensed vehicle dealer. Please contact the Business Regulation Section for further instruction at (517) 335-1799. There is a rebuttable presumption anyone who sells five or more vehicles in a 12-month period without a dealer license is operating as an unlicensed dealer and administrative fines may be assessed.

Any vehicles owned at the time of closing must be titled in the dealership owner's name and sales tax paid, according to the fair market value of each vehicle. When closing only a supplemental location, vehicles left in inventory can be transferred either to the main location or to another supplemental location.

1-11.3 Unprocessed Deals. Please ensure all unprocessed deals are submitted to the branch for processing prior to submitting the closeout statement.

Section 1-12

Designated Branches

1-12.1 Dealer Selection for Designated Branch Offices Form. All new and used vehicle dealers are required to designate up to three Secretary of State branch offices where transactions will be submitted.

CVR dealers should designate other SOS branches for processing RD-108 transactions not permissible to process under the CVR program standards.

NOTE: A vehicle dealer may only change SOS branch office designations <u>one time each calendar year</u> through their e-Services account unless special circumstances are present (e.g., branch closure, dealer change of address, etc.). This includes designated branch changes at renewal time. Special requests will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.

A Dealer Selection for Designated Branch Offices form can be accessed on the Department's website. Use the search to locate the "Designated Branch Form."

Please refer to Appendix B of the Michigan Dealer Manual where you will find a list of branch offices by city indicating the branch number. You can access the dealer manual at: www.michigan.gov/dealermanual

1-12.2 EFT. Dealers who use electronic funds transfer (EFT) must use the same three branch offices selected to process EFT transactions.

Dealers interested in using EFT must sign up through their e-Services account. Questions regarding your EFT account can be directed to (517) 335-0436.

Section 1-13

Dealer Classifications

1-13.1 Requirements. The Secretary of State classifies and differentiates vehicle dealers according to the type of business activities performed. A dealer cannot lawfully engage in activities of a particular classification unless the dealer is licensed in that classification. An applicant may apply for a dealer license in 1 or more classifications. Not all classifications are "compatible" and applications with multiple vehicle dealer classifications will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

NOTE: A dealer license number begins with a letter. The letter represents the dealer's "primary" (first in the alphabet) class. Additional classes are referred to as "alternate classes." This means if you are licensed in Classes "A," "B," and "C," your dealer license number will begin with an "A" (for example, your number may be A009999) and your alternate class codes will be "B" and "C." The license <u>number</u> alone may not show all license classes a dealer has, but the wall license will show all class information by describing all authorized activities.

The following descriptions indicate typical activities specific to each dealer classification.

1-13.2 Class A (New Vehicle Dealer). A licensed new vehicle dealer buys and sells new vehicles under a franchise agreement or contract with the manufacturer of the new vehicle.

Note: A Class A new vehicle dealer license is compatible with Class B, C, E and R licenses.

As a general rule, Michigan law prohibits manufacturers, importers, and distributors from selling a motor vehicle directly to a retail customer, other than through franchised dealers. If more specific information is required, please refer to MCL 445.1574.

NOTE: The Department shall not renew vehicle dealers who have not bought or sold less than 5 vehicles during the 12 months preceding the dealer renewal.

1-13.3 Class B (Used Vehicle Dealer). A Class B used vehicle dealer buys and sells used vehicles.

Note: A Class B license is compatible with Class A, C, E and R class licenses.

NOTE: The Department shall not renew vehicle dealers who have not bought or sold less than 5 vehicles during the 12 months preceding the dealer renewal.

1-13.4 Class C (**Used Vehicle Parts Dealer**). A Class C dealer buys or otherwise acquires late model major component parts (see Chapter 5) for resale, either at wholesale or at retail. A Class C dealer can acquire whole vehicles to dismantle them for the resale of their parts, selling the remains as scrap. Class C and Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealers (Class H) and Automotive Recyclers (Class R) are the only classes which can buy late model distressed vehicles (salvage or scrap vehicles) or late model major component parts through Michigan auctions, brokers, or salvage pools. Insurance companies may sell directly to Scrap Metal Processors (Class F).

Note: A Class C dealer can be represented at an auction broker or salvage pool only by its licensed Salvage Vehicle Agent (see Section 1-13.11).

- a) **Authorization.** A Class C license is compatible with Class A, B, E, F or W licenses.
- b) **Selling Whole Vehicles.** A Class C dealer may sell a whole vehicle as follows:
 - 1) The vehicle is sold to a Scrap Metal Processor (Class F);
 - 2) The Class C dealer applies for a scrap title and sells the vehicle by assigning the scrap title to another Class C dealer, or to a Class H or Class R dealer.
 - 3) If the scrap title to the vehicle has been assigned to the Class C dealer in the first assignment space of the scrap title, the vehicle may be sold to and the title reassigned only to a Class F Dealer.

NOTE: The word "scrapped" or "junked" must be written on the face of the title and the title mailed to:

Michigan Department of State Document Services Division Conversion Unit 7064 Crowner Drive Lansing, Michigan 48918.

4) The Class C dealer is also licensed as a Class B Used Vehicle Dealer or a Class W Wholesaler under the same dealer license number.

NOTE: A Class C/W may only sell whole distressed vehicles to other license dealers. A class B/C may sell distressed vehicles to the public.

1-13.5 Class D (Broker). A broker is a dealer who, for compensation, brings a buyer and seller

together, negotiates the terms of a transaction, or displays a vehicle offered for sale. In the broker's role regarding the sale, purchase, lease or exchange of vehicles or salvageable parts, the broker does not take ownership of the vehicle or salvageable part. A person who conducts a vehicle auction is a type of broker and requires a Class D license.

- a) **Authorization.** The Class D license is compatible only with a Class G license.
- b) **Prohibited Practices.** A broker cannot acquire ownership of vehicles or their major component parts.
- c) **Restrictions.** Brokers have restrictions in selling late model distressed vehicles. A broker, salvage pool or auction may sell, transfer, or release a late model distressed vehicle, salvage vehicle, scrap vehicle, or salvageable part only to:
 - 1) The vehicle's former owner; or,
 - 2) A licensed Salvage Vehicle Agent representing a Used Vehicle Parts Dealer (Class C), a Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer (Class H), or an Automotive Recycler (Class R).
- **1-13.6 Class E (Distressed Vehicle Transporter).** A Class E dealer may buy, transport, and sell vehicles only to a (Class C) Used Vehicle Parts Dealer; (Class F) Scrap Metal Processor; or (Class R) Automotive Recycler.
 - a) **Authorization.** A Class E license is compatible with Class A, B, C, F, R and W licenses.
 - b) **Restriction.** Class E dealers CANNOT sell parts or dismantle vehicles. Transporters may only remove gas tanks, batteries, radiators, tires, and wheels to sell as scrap or to make the vehicle acceptable to the scrap metal processor.
- **1-13.7 Class F (Vehicle Scrap Metal Processor).** A Class F dealer processes vehicles into scrap metal by shredding, shearing, fragmenting, baling, or similar means. Crushing is not considered a scrap metal process since it is not the final step before re-melting.
 - a) **Authorization.** A Class F license is compatible with Class C, E, or R licenses.
 - b) **Exception.** A scrap metal processor who acquires vehicles exclusively from licensed dealers is not required to be licensed but must keep certain records and make them available for inspection by Michigan Department of State representatives and law enforcement officers.
- **1-13.8 Class G (Vehicle Salvage Pool).** A Class G dealer stores and displays damaged or distressed vehicles for insurance companies and cannot have an assigned title or any other ownership interest in the vehicle.

- a) **Authorization.** A Class G license is compatible only with a Class D license.
- b) **Restrictions.** Salvage pools cannot sell vehicles to repair facilities. The salvage pool, like auctions and brokers, can only sell, transfer or release late model distressed vehicles, salvage or scrap vehicles, and late model major component parts to one of the following:
 - 1) The vehicle's former owner; or,
 - 2) A licensed Salvage Vehicle Agent representing a Used Vehicle Parts Dealer (Class C), a Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer (Class H), or an Automotive Recycler (Class R).

1-13.9 Class H (Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer). A Class H dealer is licensed in another state and is engaged in this state in the business of purchasing, selling, or otherwise dealing on a wholesale basis in salvageable parts or late model distressed vehicles. This dealer buys or otherwise acquires late model major component parts (see Chapter 5) for resale, either at wholesale or at retail. The dealer may also acquire whole vehicles to dismantle for the resale of parts, selling the remainder as scrap.

The Used Vehicle Parts Dealer (Class C) and the Automotive Recycler (Class R) licenses, are the only other dealer classifications possessing the authority to buy late model distressed vehicles (salvage or scrap vehicles) or late model major component parts from auctions, brokers, or salvage pools in Michigan.

- a) **Authorization.** A Class H license is not compatible with any other Michigan vehicle dealer license. The foreign salvage vehicle dealer must also be licensed in their home state as a salvage dealer in vehicles or parts.
- b) **Restrictions.** A Class H dealer can only buy or sell late model distressed vehicles or late model major component parts at Michigan auctions, brokers, or salvage pools when represented by its licensed Salvage Vehicle Agent. A salvage vehicle agent license is not necessary when dealing at other dealerships in Michigan, provided the activity is wholesale only.
- 1-13.10 Class R (Automotive Recycler). This dealer buys or otherwise acquires late model major component parts for resale, either at wholesale or at retail as their primary business. This dealer may acquire whole vehicles to dismantle them for the resale of their parts, selling the remains as scrap. They may periodically sell whole salvage vehicles at retail. In addition to the Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer (Class H) and the Used Vehicle Parts Dealer (Class C), this is the only other dealer classification possessing the authority to buy late model distressed vehicles (salvage or scrap) or late model major component parts through auctions, brokers, or salvage pools in Michigan. Insurance companies may sell directly to Scrap Metal Processors (Class F). MCL 257.217c(ii) states "...The insurance company shall not sell the vehicle without first receiving a salvage or scrap certificate of title, which shall be assigned to the buyer..."

Note: A Class R dealer can be represented at an auction, broker, or salvage pool only by its licensed Salvage Vehicle Agent (see Section 1-13.11).

- a) **Authorization.** A Class R license is compatible with Class A, B, E, F and W licenses.
- b) **Selling Whole Vehicles.** A Class R dealer can sell a whole vehicle only as follows:
 - 1) The vehicle is sold to a Scrap Metal Processor (Class F);
 - 2) The Class R dealer applies for a scrap title and sells the unit by assigning the scrap title to another Class R dealer, or to a Class C or Class H dealer. If the scrap title has been assigned to the Class R dealer in the first assignment space of the scrap title, the vehicle may be sold and the title reassigned only to a Class F Dealer.

The word "scrapped" or "junked" must be written the face of the title and the title mailed to:

Michigan Department of State Document Services Division Conversion Unit 7064 Crowner Drive Lansing, Michigan 48918.

Under no circumstances will the scrap title be given to the purchaser;

- 3) The Class R dealer is also licensed as a Class B Used Vehicle Dealer.
- **1-13.11 Salvage Vehicle Agent License.** Michigan law requires any person in the business of buying, selling, or dealing in late model distressed vehicles (including salvage and scrap vehicles) or salvageable parts through an auction, broker, or salvage pool to be licensed as a Class C, H, or R dealer and be represented by a licensed Salvage Vehicle Agent.
 - a) **Authorization.** To qualify for a license as a Salvage Vehicle Agent, a person must be the Owner or an employee of one of the following dealers:
 - 1) A Used Vehicle Parts Dealer (Class C); or,
 - 2) A Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer (Class H); or,
 - 3) An Automotive Recycler (Class R).

Note: A Class C, H or R dealership cannot have more than two licensed salvage vehicle agents at one time.

- b) **Notification Approval.** The dealer submits form AR-0188, Original Salvage Agent License Application or through their e-Services account. Upon approval, the agent will receive an authorization letter with instructions on how to obtain a photo identification card. The agent must prominently display the card when attending salvage pools or auctions where vehicles with salvage or scrap titles are being sold.
- c) Agent Changes. If any of the agent's information changes or the agent loses his or her photo identification card, the dealer must submit form AR-0191, Salvage Vehicle Agent Application for Corrected or Duplicate License or through the dealer's e-Services account. If the dealer hires a new salvage agent, the dealer submits an original application for a salvage vehicle agent license and surrenders the license of the old agent.
- **1-13.12** Class W (Wholesaler Vehicle License). Wholesalers engage in the business of buying and selling used vehicles from and to licensed used vehicle dealers only. Wholesalers cannot buy, sell or otherwise deal in vehicles to a person other than a licensed vehicle dealer. All of the following requirements apply to a wholesaler:
 - a) Authorization. A Class W license is compatible with Class C, E or R licenses.
 - b) **Restrictions.** Wholesalers cannot advertise vehicles for sale on the internet or any classified listing unless the advertisement clearly discloses the wholesaler's license classification and clearly states any purchaser must be a licensed vehicle dealer.

NOTE: Wholesalers must buy or sell not less than 24 vehicles in this state each year to retain possession of a wholesaler license.

Section 1-14

Dealer Plates

- **1-14.1 Authorization.** Michigan law permits the use of dealer plates for specific purposes and prohibits other uses. Every Class A and Class B dealer must purchase at least two dealer plates. Dealer plates are optional for wholesale dealers (Class W) and are limited to one in the first year of business.
- **1-14.2 Proper Use.** Employees, servants, or agents of a dealer may operate a vehicle owned by a dealer for any purpose except as a service vehicle. This group of permissive users includes the dealer, full-time and part-time employees, and authorized agents. There is no time limit on the use of a vehicle with a dealer plate operated by these persons. The *Michigan Vehicle Code* provides for the proper use of dealer plates on vehicles, including but not limited to:
 - a) Dealer-owned vehicles being driven to and from repair facilities, storage lots, and other locations where vehicles are being held prior to sale;

- b) Dealer-owned vehicles being moved to locations where they may be bought or sold;
- c) Dealer-owned vehicles driven by a prospective customer of a dealership for testing of demonstration purposes for up to 72 hours;
- d) A person who has purchased a vehicle from a dealership may operate the vehicle with a dealer plate for up to 72 hours after taking delivery of the vehicle; and
- e) Dealer-owned vehicles driven by employees, servants, or agents of the dealership to transport monies and documents (related to the sale of vehicles) to banks and Secretary of States offices.

Dealers may assist law enforcement agencies by providing certain documents to persons operating vehicles with dealer plates:

DEALER-OWNED VEHICLES

Ownership

<u>New Vehicles</u>: A copy of the manufacturer's certificate of origin or a copy of that portion of the invoice showing the dealer's identification and the vehicle identification number of the vehicle being driven.

<u>Dealer Trades:</u> A copy of the RD-108 that shows both dealers' names and addresses.

Used Vehicles: A copy of the front and back of the assigned certificate of title.

Authorization

A form clearly identifying the dealership that authorizes the operator to use the vehicle. If the operator is a prospective customer, then a statement that the vehicle is being operated for demonstration purposes including the date and time that the prospective customer took possession of the vehicle. The form should include the dealership's telephone number.

Insurance

A copy of the certificate of fleet insurance for any or all owned vehicles.

CUSTOMER PURCHASE OF VEHICLE

Ownership

A properly completed signed and dated copy of the RD-108 showing the new owner's name and address.

Insurance

A certificate of no-fault insurance for the vehicle.

- **1-14.3 Improper Use.** Section 244 of the *Michigan Vehicle Code* (MCL 257.244) prohibits the use of dealer plates in the following circumstances:
 - a) On vehicles not owned by the dealership, except a vehicle sold to a customer not more than 72 hours after taking delivery;
 - b) On vehicles used as service vehicles or wreckers. Service vehicles include courtesy cars, loaners, daily rentals, leased vehicles, vehicles used for obtaining or delivering parts, and vehicles used to provide roadside service or tow disabled vehicles;
 - c) On vehicles owned by the dealership when operated by a person who is not the dealer, the dealer's employee or agent, or a prospective purchaser; and
 - d) On vehicles titled as scrap or salvage, unless the salvage-titled vehicle has been inspected and recertified by a specially trained police officer.

NOTE: Service vehicles must be titled and registered to the dealership.

- **1-14.4 Sanctions.** The following are penalties for improper use of dealer plates:
 - a) Administrative Action. The Michigan Department of State may take administrative action against the dealer's license; limit the dealer's plate allotment, or both.
 - b) **Tax Consequences.** Under Michigan's sales and use tax laws, use tax is due whenever a vehicle is removed from inventory and is operated for reasons other than testing or demonstration. Such vehicles are titled in the name of the dealership. Use tax accompanies the dealer's regular tax return, unless sales tax is paid at the time of titling.
 - c) Civil or Criminal Consequences. The courts may hold dealers liable for associated civil or criminal violations. It is ultimately the courts' decision whether or not citations are justified in cases of improper dealer plate use.
- **1-14.5 Dealer Plate Frames.** License plate frames cannot block or partially block registration information imprinted on the dealer plate.
- **1-14.6 Loss of Plate.** Lost or stolen dealer plates must be reported to law enforcement and a police report is required to be submitted to the Business Licensing Section to obtain replacements. This is to protect the dealer from any unauthorized use of the missing plate(s). There is a replacement fee of \$5.00 per plate. The Additional/Replacement Dealer Plates Application is available at www.michigan.gov/sos/resources/forms, or plates can be requested

through your e-Services account.

1-14.7 Tracking Dealer Plates. Dealers are reminded to be aware of where their dealer plates are being used throughout the dealership and to periodically audit dealer plates to ensure none have been lost or stolen. Lost or stolen plates can be replaced by completing form AR-0036, *Application for Additional/Replacement Dealer Plates*, or through their e-Services account.

1-14.8 Returning Expired or Cancelled Dealer Plates. If a dealer chooses to not renew or cancel a dealer plate, the dealer must return the unrenewed or cancelled plate to the Business Licensing Section. The dealer can do this by shipping the plate(s) to the following address:

MDOS/Business Licensing Section Richard H. Austin Building 430 W. Allegan – 4th Floor Lansing, MI 48918* (Please use 48933 if shipping via UPS or Fed Ex)

The dealer can also arrange to drop the plates off at a local branch. Please contact the Business Licensing Section to make arrangements at licensing@michigan.gov or (888) 767-6424, option 7. The dealer must contact the Business Licensing Section prior to taking the plates to the branch office.

NOTE: Failure to return plates to the Business Licensing Section can lead to the unauthorized use of dealer plates. Any misuse of an unrenewed/cancelled dealer plate will be the responsibility of the owner/officers of the dealership. This includes any tickets or fines that are accrued.

NOTE: Dealerships that close out are also responsible for returning all dealer plates to the Business Licensing Section.

Section 1-15

Repair Facility Service

- **1-15.1 Repair Facility Agreement.** Class A and Class B dealers are required to have a registered repair facility on site for the repair and servicing of motor vehicles of a type sold at the established place of business, unless the dealer has entered into a written servicing agreement with a registered repair facility at a location not to exceed a distance of 10 miles from the established place of business. Dealers may either:
 - a) Register as a repair facility by submitting form AR-0012, Motor Vehicle Repair Facility Registration Application, or have a current repair facility registration; or,
 - b) Enter into a servicing agreement with a registered repair facility at a location not to exceed a distance of 10 miles from the established place of business. The agreement must contain the repair facility's Michigan registration number and be signed by the owner of the repair facility.

NOTE: A sample agreement form is enclosed with form AR-0032, Original Vehicle Dealer License Application. If repairs are conducted pursuant to a servicing agreement, the servicing agreement shall be conspicuously posted in the office.

ORIGINAL VEHICLE DEALER APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS CHART

ALL CLASSES NEED THE FOLLOWING: Original application License Fee Assumed Name and/or Corporate Filing Fingerprints

Class Code	Copy of Franchise or Affidavit	Repair Facility Registration or Service Agreement	Municipality Approval	Zoning Approval	Fleet Insurance Certificate	Dealer Plates	License Fee	Workers Compensation Insurance	\$25,000 Surety Bond	Pre-License Inspection
CLASS A	V	$\sqrt{}$	V	$\sqrt{}$	V	Minimum 2	\$160	N/A	$\sqrt{}$	V
CLASS B	N/A	V	~	V	V	Minimum 2	\$160	N/A	V	√
CLASS C	N/A	Required only if parts installed	V	V	N/A	N/A	\$160	V	N/A	V
CLASS D	N/A	N/A	V	V	N/A	N/A	\$160	N/A	V	V
CLASS E	N/A	N/A	V	V	N/A	N/A	\$160	N/A	N/A	V
CLASS F	N/A	N/A	V	$\sqrt{}$	N/A	N/A	\$160	N/A	N/A	√
CLASS G	N/A	N/A	V	V	N/A	N/A	\$160	N/A	N/A	V
CLASS H	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$160	$\sqrt{}$	N/A	N/A
CLASS R	N/A	Required only if parts installed	V	V	N/A	N/A	\$160	$\sqrt{}$	N/A	V
CLASS W	N/A	N/A	V	V	Only if dealer plates are requested	Available	\$160	N/A	N/A	V