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Filing Requirements: Office of State Representative
-- 2020 Election Cycle --

Michigan Election Law governs the ballot access procedures for candidates seeking the office of
State Representative. As these procedures are subject to change by the State Legislature,
candidates for State Representative interested in participating in Michigan’s August 4, 2020
primary election or November 3, 2020 general election are encouraged to consult our website,
Michigan.gov/Elections, for updates.

UNIFORM GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

Certain requirements of Michigan Election Law are applicable to all candidates seeking the
office of State Representative regardless of political party affiliation.

OFFICE QUALIFICATIONS: To be eligible for the office of State Representative a person must
be a citizen of the United States, at least 21 years of age and a registered and qualified elector
of the district he or she wishes to represent by the filing deadline. Art. IV, Sec. 7, of State
Constitution; MCL 168.161.

AFFIDAVIT OF IDENTITY REQUIRED: Except for write-in candidates, all candidates for State
Representative must submit an Affidavit of Identity in duplicate (one copy & one original or two
originals) when filing for office. Affidavit of Identity forms can be obtained through any county
clerk’s office or from the Bureau of Elections (Bureau). The Affidavit of Identity form is also
available on the Bureau’s website under “Information for Candidates.” MCL 168.558.
Candidates who fail to comply with the Affidavit of Identity filing requirement are ineligible to
appear on the ballot.

FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE: State and local candidates are required to comply with the
financial disclosure requirements provided under Michigan’s Campaign Finance Act, P.A. 388 of
1976.

An individual becomes a candidate under the Michigan Campaign Finance Act as soon as he or
she:
o Files an affidavit, fee or nominating petition OR
o Is certified as the nominee of his or her political party OR
¢ Receives a contribution (includes contributions from the candidate’s own personal
funds), makes an expenditure, or authorizes someone else to do so on his or her behalf
OR
e Isthe subject of a recall vote OR

e Was elected to an elective office and can seek re-election.
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Once any of the conditions above has been met, a candidate has:
e 10 days to form a Candidate Committee
e 10 additional days to file the Statement of Organization online
e Example: On May 1% an individual pays for copies of petitions to be made;
formation date can be no later than May 10" and the Statement of Organization is
due in the appropriate filing official’s office on or before May 20"

Michigan Election Law requires any candidate filing an Affidavit of Identity to state on the form
that at the date the affidavit was executed, all statements, reports, late filing fees and fines
required of the candidate or any Candidate Committee organized to support the candidate’s
election under Michigan’s Campaign Finance Act have been filed or paid. Candidates that
have any outstanding notices of Failure to File or outstanding late filing fees with any
filing official in the State are ineligible to appear on the ballot. MCL 168.558.

MAJOR PARTY CANDIDATES

Michigan’s August 4, 2020 primary is limited to eligible candidates who affiliate with the
Democratic Party or the Republican Party. (Based on the number of votes received by the
candidate whose name appeared nearest the top of the party’s column on the November 6,
2018 general election ballot. That candidate must have received at least 5% of the total number
of votes cast for the office of Secretary of State; computes to 209,202 votes. See MCL
168.532.)

FILING DEADLINE: A candidate seeking the Democratic Party or Republican Party nomination
to the office of State Representative must file an Affidavit of Identity in duplicate (one copy &
one original or two originals) and a partisan hominating petition or filing fee no later than 4:00
p.m. on April 21, 2020.

WITHDRAWAL: The deadline to withdraw a candidate filing for party nomination is 4:00 p.m.
on April 24, 2020. The withdrawal must be in writing and must be filed with the appropriate
filing official. See page 4 for the appropriate filing official.

PETITION REQUIREMENTS: All petitions used by candidates must be in the form required
under Michigan Election Law. Petition forms can be obtained through any county clerk’s office
or may be purchased from commercial suppliers that produce election materials. Petition form
samples can be obtained through the Bureau.

Candidates seeking the Democratic Party or Republication Party nomination must use the
Countywide Partisan Nominating Petition. A minimum of 200 valid signatures must be
submitted to qualify for placement on the ballot. Up to 400 signatures can be filed to cover the
minimum signature requirement. A $100.00 filing fee may be submitted in lieu of a petition.
MCL 168.133; 544f.

Candidates with sufficient petitions will appear on the August 4, 2020 primary ballot; the winning
nominees will appear on the November 3, 2020 general election ballot.




MINOR PARTY CANDIDATES

In addition to the Democratic and Republican parties, other political parties are qualified? to
appear on Michigan’s November 3, 2020 general election ballot. (Based on the greatest
number of votes received by any candidate whose name appeared in the party’'s column on the
November 6, 2018 general election ballot. Candidate had to have received at least 1% of the
total number of votes cast for the winning candidate for the office of Secretary of State;
computes to 22,133 votes. See MCL 168.685.

CONVENTION DEADLINE: A candidate seeking the office of State Representative as a minor
party candidate must receive homination to the office at the party’s nominating convention. The
party’s convention must be held no later than August 4, 2020. The minor party must have ballot
status in Michigan. MCL 168.686a.

Within one business day after the conclusion of the nominating convention, party officials must
submit a Certificate of Nomination to document the individual’'s nomination to the office, an
Affidavit of Identity completed by the candidate in duplicate (one copy & one original or two
originals) and a Certificate of Acceptance (completed by the candidate). The Affidavit of Identity
filing requirement is explained in greater detail above. The Certificate of Acceptance form is
available on the Bureau’s website.

Such candidates will appear on the November 3, 2020 general election ballot.

WITHDRAWAL : Candidates nominated and certified via convention shall not be permitted to
withdraw. MCL 168.686a.

CANDIDATES WITHOUT POLITICAL PARTY AFFILIATION

Candidates seeking the office of State Representative may do so without political party
affiliation. These candidates are only eligible to appear on the November 3, 2020 general
election ballot and will be listed as “No Party Affiliation.”

FILING DEADLINES: A candidate without political party affiliation seeking the office of State
Representative must file an Affidavit of Identity and a qualifying petition no later than 4:00 p.m.
on July 16, 2020. MCL 168.590c; 544f.

WITHDRAWAL: The deadline for withdrawing a no party affiliation candidate filing is 4:00 p.m.
on July 20, 2020. The withdrawal must be in writing and must be filed with the appropriate
filing official. See page 4 for the appropriate filing official.

PETITION REQUIREMENTS: All petitions used by candidates must be in the form required
under Michigan Election Law. Petition forms can be obtained through any county clerk’s office
or may also be purchased from commercial suppliers that produce election materials. Petition
form samples can be obtained through the Michigan Department of State’s Bureau of Elections.

Candidates seeking to be on the November general election ballot without party affiliation must
use the Countywide Qualifying Petition form. A minimum of 600 valid signatures must be

1 The minor political parties currently qualified to appear on the November 2020 General
Election ballot are: Libertarian, U.S. Taxpayers, Green, Natural Law, and Working Class patrties.
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submitted to qualify for placement on the ballot. Up to 1,200 signatures can be filed to cover the
minimum signature requirement. A filing fee option is not available. MCL 168.590c; 544f.

All signatures submitted must have been collected within the preceding 180-day period;
signatures which are dated more than 180 days prior to the date the petition is filed are invalid.
MCL 168.590b(3).

Candidates with sufficient petitions will appear on the November 3, 2020 general election ballot.

WRITE-IN CANDIDATES

FILING REQUIREMENTS FOR WRITE-IN CANDIDATES: A candidate seeking election to the
office of State Representative with write-in votes must file a Declaration of Intent with the
appropriate filing official no later than 4:00 p.m. on July 24, 2020 to be eligible in the August 4,
2020 primary and 4:00 p.m. on October 23, 2020 for the November 3, 2020 general election.
MCL 168.737a.

The Declaration of Intent form is available on the Bureau's website: Michigan.gov/Elections.

FILING OFFICIAL

A candidate seeking the office of State Representative in a multi-county district must file with the
following office:

Michigan Department of State
Bureau of Elections

Richard H. Austin Building — 1° Floor
430 West Allegan

Lansing, Michigan 48918

Phone: (517) 335-3234

Fax:  (517) 335-3235

Email: Elections@Michigan.gov

The multi-county State House Districts are listed below:

17 32 51 58 59 63 65 66 70 72
78 83 84 85 86 87 93 97 98 99
100 101 102 103 105 106 107 108 109 110

A candidate seeking the office of State Representative in a district not listed above (single-
county districts) must file with the local county clerk.
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

If you have questions regarding the information presented here, please contact this office. Answers
to your questions will also be found in the Michigan election law, which may be viewed at
legislature.mi.gov.

Michigan Department of State

Bureau of Elections

PO Box 20126

Lansing, Michigan 48901-0726

Phone: (517) 335-3234 or (800) 292-5973
Fax: (517) 335-3235

Email: Elections@Michigan.gov

Web: Michigan.gov/Elections
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