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MEMORANDUM 

 

 

DATE:  March 17, 2016 

 

TO:  Motorcycle Training Public Sponsors 

 

FROM: Michigan Motorcycle Rider Safety Training Program 

  Driver Programs Division 

 

SUBJECT: Public Act 22 of 2016 – Course Fee Increase 

 

Public Act 22 of 2016 amends the Michigan Vehicle Code (MCL 257.811a) by increasing the 

motorcycle safety program fee that public sponsors may charge to “not more than $50,” effective 

May 23, 2016. While the new law does not require public sponsors to raise their course fee, the 

Michigan Motorcycle Rider Safety Training Program strongly recommends that you incorporate 

the $50 fee into your program’s fee structure at your earliest, reasonable opportunity after the 

effective date. Grant amendments to properly document the fee change will need to be 

completed and submitted to the Department prior to May 23, 2016. Additionally, separate lines 

will be provided in the 2016 year-end report for grantees to report the different income rates.  

 

Because the student fee has not been raised since 1983, this increase is a modest one considering 

the educational benefits provided to students by the program. We anticipate that all public 

organizations will take advantage of this opportunity no later than the beginning of the 2017 

training season. 

 

If you have any questions, please contact the Michigan Motorcycle Rider Safety Training 

Program at motorcycling@michigan.gov or (517) 241-6850. 
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