

STATE OF MICHIGAN JOCELYN BENSON, SECRETARY OF STATE DEPARTMENT OF STATE LANSING

Vehicle Sales Tax Trade-in Credit – Frequently Asked Questions

October 18, 2023

1. How is the amount of sales tax credit determined for a trade-in on the purchase of a motor vehicle?

Effective January 1, 2019, the trade-in credit towards sales tax for vehicles delivered on or after January 1 is the price agreed to by the dealer and purchaser for the trade-in vehicle not to exceed \$5,000. This amount will increase by an additional \$1,000 on January 1st of each year. This process will continue until the trade-in credit exceeds \$14,000 (i.e., 2029). At that time, purchasers will receive sales tax credit for the full amount (100%) of the trade-in vehicle towards their purchase of a vehicle as defined by the Michigan Vehicle Code. See Revenue Administrative Bulletin 2022-17 for further details.

2. How is the amount of sales tax credit determined for a trade-in on the purchase of a recreational vehicle?

Effective January 1, 2018, the trade-in credit equals the full agreed-upon value of a recreational vehicle (RV) used toward the purchase of an RV purchased from a dealer. To qualify for a sales tax credit, a recreational vehicle must be traded-in towards the purchase of another recreational vehicle as defined by the Michigan Vehicle Code. Those include, but are not limited to a trailer coach, a fifth wheel, a pop-up camper, and a motorhome. Like watercraft, owners receive 100% sales tax trade-in credit towards the purchase of another recreational vehicle. See Revenue Administrative Bulletin 2022-17 for further details.

3. How do I reach Treasury for assistance with sales tax and trade-in questions?

Vehicle dealers with trade-in questions may contact Treasury's Technical Services Section at 517-636-4230, option 3 or via email at Treas-SUWTech@michigan.gov.

4. Can my customer receive a credit of sales tax when they trade-in a vehicle towards the lease of a vehicle?

No, the lease of a vehicle is subject to Michigan use tax, not sales tax. The sales tax statutes for trade-in's does not extend to leased vehicle transactions.

5. Has the amount of trade-in entered on line 10 of the RD-108 changed?

No, there are no changes to line 10. This amount does not change and the full amount the dealer accepts for the trade-in is still entered on line 10 of the RD-108.

6. Can a motorcycle, moped, snowmobile, or off-road vehicle be taken as an eligible trade-in on a vehicle purchase?

Yes, any vehicle meeting the Michigan Vehicle Code definition of a motor vehicle is eligible for the trade-in credit.

7. Can a utility trailer be taken as an eligible trade-in on a vehicle purchase?

No. A utility trailer does not meet the Michigan Vehicle Code definition of a motor vehicle and is not eligible for the trade-in credit.

8. Can valuables such as jewelry, coins, or other tangible items be taken as an eligible trade-in on a vehicle purchase?

No. The sales tax trade-in laws only provide a credit towards sales tax on eligible motor vehicles when the customer is purchasing a motor vehicle.

9. Can an electric bicycle, electric carriage, or a mobile home be taken as an eligible trade-in on a vehicle purchase?

No. These items do not meet the Michigan Vehicle Code definition of a motor vehicle.

10. Can anything other than a recreational vehicle qualify as an eligible trade-in on the purchase of a recreational vehicle?

No. Only recreational vehicles as defined by the Michigan Vehicle Code may be used as an eligible trade-in for credit towards sales tax due.

11. Can watercraft be taken as an eligible trade-in on a vehicle purchase?

No. Watercraft may only be traded towards the purchase of another watercraft. In this situation, the purchaser will receive 100% credit towards their purchase, just like recreational vehicles.

12. Can a vehicle not owned by the purchaser be used as an eligible trade-in on a purchase of a vehicle?

Yes. The trade-in credit applies when a vehicle dealer accepts a trade-in on a vehicle the purchaser does not own. The dealer must receive the trade-in on a properly assigned title from the owner of the trade-in vehicle.

13. Can more than one vehicle be used as a trade-in credit on the purchase of a vehicle?

No. Only one vehicle can be used toward the trade-in credit. If two or more vehicles are traded in, the customer will only receive credit for one of the vehicles for sales tax purposes.

14. Can the trade-in credit be applied when the purchaser is a non-resident?

This will be determined by calculating two outcomes for sales tax. The first will be based on Michigan's sales tax rate and trade-in laws. The second will be based on the purchaser's home state sales tax rate and trade-in laws. The Michigan dealer will collect the lesser of the two sales tax calculations. Please see form 485 for further details.