INITIATION OF LEGISLATION

A petition to initiate legislation to amend 2008 PA 295, as amended by 2016 PA 342, by amending sections 11, 28, 39, and 45, and by adding section 212, to increase the renewable energy standard for electric providers to 30% by 2030, with the renewable energy
standard increasing incrementally, starting with 18% by 2022, 21% by 2024, 24% by 2026, 27% by 2028 and 30% by 2030; define renewable energy as solar, wind, biomass, hydropower, and municipal solid waste or landfill gas, and not pet coke, hazardous waste,
scrap tires, or coal waste; and allow an electric provider to recover the cost of compliance, but the amount an electric provider can charge shall not exceed an average of $2 per month per residential customer. If not enacted by the Michigan Legislature in accordance

with the Michigan Constitution of 1963, the proposal is to be voted on at the November 6, 2018 general election.

FOR THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED LEGISLATION SEE THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS PETITION.

We, the undersigned qualified and registered electors, residents in the county of , State of Michigan, respectively petition for initiation of legislation.

WARNING—A person who knowingly signs this petition more than once, signs a name other than his or her own, signs when not a qualified and registered elector, or sets
opposite his or her signature on a petition, a date other than the actual date the signature was affixed, is violating the provisions of the Michigan election law.

TOWNSHIP OF []

INDICATE CITY OR TOWNSHIP DATE OF SIGNING
IN WHICH REGISTERED TO VOTE SIGNATURE PRINTED NAME STREET ADDRESS OR RURAL ROUTE ZIP CODE MO DAY YEAR

CITY OF [ 1,
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 2,
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 3.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 4,
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 5.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 6.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 7
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 8.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 0.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 10.

CERTIFICATE OF CIRCULATOR

The undersigned circulator of the above petition asserts that he or she is 18 years of age or older and a United States citizen; that each signature
on the petition was signed in his or her presence; that he or she has neither caused nor permitted a person to sign the petition more than once
and has no knowledge of a person signing the petition more than once; and that, to his or her best knowledge and belief, each signature is the
genuine signature of the person purporting to sign the petition, the person signing the petition was at the time of signing a registered elector of
the city or township indicated preceding the signature, and the elector was qualified to sign the petition.

D If the circulator is not a resident of Michigan, the circulator shall make a cross or check mark in the box provided, otherwise each signature
on this petition sheet is invalid and the signatures will not be counted by a filing official. By making a cross or check mark in the box provided, the
undersigned circulator asserts that he or she is not a resident of Michigan and agrees to accept the jurisdiction of this state for the purpose of
any legal proceeding or hearing that concerns a petition sheet executed by the circulator and agrees that legal process served on the secretary
of state or a designated agent of the secretary of state has the same effect as if personally served on the circulator.

WARNING—A circulator knowingly making a false statement in the above certificate, a
person not a circulator who signs as a circulator, or a person who signs a nhame other

- - - - - -

ot il comilloc st At |11 1/ emomsesy
Paid for with regulated funds by Clean Energy, Healthy Michigan, P.0. Box 71746, Madison Heights, MI 48071. MIO00001

CIRCULATOR—Do not sign or date certificate until after circulating petition.
/ /

Signature of Circulator Date

Printed Name of Circulator

Complete Residence Address (Street and Number or Rural Route) Do not enter a post office box

City or Township, State, Zip Code

County of Registration, if Registered to Vote, of a Circulator Who is not a Resident of Michigan



INITIATION OF LEGISLATION

An initiation of legislation to increase the renewable energy standard to 18% by 2022, 21% by 2024, 24% by 2026, 27% by 2028 and 30% by 2030; define renewable energy as
solar, wind, biomass, hydropower, and municipal solid waste or landfill gas, but not pet coke, hazardous waste, scrap tires, or coal waste; allow an electric provider to recover the cost
of compliance through a uniform charge per unit of electricity to all customers but limit this cost to no more than an average of $2.00 per month for the electric provider’s residential
customers, by amending 2008 PA 295, as amended by 2016 PA 342, entitled, as amended by 2016 PA 342, “An act to require certain providers of electric service to establish and recover
costs for renewable energy programs; to require certain providers of electric or natural gas service to establish energy waste reduction programs; to authorize the use of certain energy
systems to meet the requirements of those programs; to provide for the approval of energy waste reduction service companies; to reduce energy waste by state agencies and the public;
to create a wind energy resource zone board and provide for its power and duties; to authorize the creation and implementation of wind energy resource zones; to provide for expedited
transmission line siting certificates; to provide for customer generation and net metering programs and the responsibilities of certain providers of electric service and customers with
respect to customer generation and net metering; to provide for fees; to prescribe the powers and duties of certain state agencies and officials; to require the promulgation of rules and the
issuance of orders; to authorize the establishment of residential energy improvement programs by providers of electric or natural gas service; and to provide for civil sanctions, remedies,
and penalties,” by amending sections 11, 28, 39, and 45 (MCL 460.1011, MCL 460.1028, MCL 460.1039, and MCL 460.1045), and by adding section 212.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

Sec. 11. As used in this act:

(a) “Renewable energy” means electricity or steam generated using a renewable energy
system.

(b) “Renewable energy contract” means a contract to acquire renewable energy and the
associated renewable energy credits from 1 or more renewable energy systems.

(c) “Renewable energy credit” means a credit granted under a certification and tracking
program established under section 41, which represents generated renewable energy.

(d) “Renewable energy credit portfolio” means the sum of the renewable energy credits
achieved by a provider for a particular year.

(e) “Renewable energy credit standard” means a minimum renewable energy credit portfolio
required under section 28 or former section 27.

(f) “Renewable energy plan” or “plan” means a plan approved under section 22 or former

section 21 or 23 or found to comply with this act under former section 25, with any

amendments adopted under this act.

“Renewable energy resource” means a resource that naturally replenishes over a

human, not a geological, time frame and that is uitimatety derived from solar power

ENERGY, wind pewer ENERGY, BIOMASS, HYDROPOWER, AND

=

(g

MUNICIPAL SOLID ’WASTE OR LANDFILL GAS. Renewable energy resource
does not include petroleum, nuclear, natural gas, PET COKE, HAZARDOUS WASTE,

SCRAP TIRES COAL WASTE or coal A—renewable—energyfeeeurefreeme%fmﬁrﬂie

ENERGY CREDITS REQUIRED TO BE ACHIEVED BY AN ik
PROVIDER FOR A PARTICULAR YEAR* renew ergy—capac |

section 28 orfermereeeﬂen—}'l
(i) “Renewable energy system” means a facility, electricity ge
electricity generation systems that use 1 or more renewable ene
electricity or steam. Renewable energy system does not include &
(i) A hydroelectric pumped storage facility.
(ii) A hydroelectric facility that uses a dam cg
the dam is a repair or replacement of a
an upgrade of a dam in existence on
efficiency.
(iii) An incinerator unless the incinerator is a municipal sg
defined in section 11504 of the natural resources,
1994 PA 451, MCL 324.11504.
(j) “Revenue recovery mechanism” means the mechanism for recovery of incremental costs
of compliance provided for under section 22.

waste incinerator as
nmental protection act,

Sec. 28. (1) An electric provider shall achieve a renewable energy STANDARD eredit

portfotio as follows:
(a) In2016 through 2018, arenewabte-energy-eredit portfotio-thatconsistsof at least the

same number of renewable energy credits as were required under former section 27.

(b) In2019 and 2020, arenewableenergycredit portfotioof at least 12.5%, as calculated

under subsection (2).
(c) In 2021, arenewableenergyereditportfotio-of at least 15%, as calculated under
subsection (2).
(D) IN 2022 AND 2023, AT LEAST 18% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
2).
(E) IN2024 AND 2025,AT LEAST 21% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
2).
(F) IN2026 AND 2027, AT LEAST 24% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
2).
(G) IN 2028 AND 2029, AT LEAST 27% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
(2).
(H) IN2030 AND EACH YEAR THEREAFTER, AT LEAST 30% AS CALCULATED
UNDER SUBSECTION (2).
(2) An electric provider’s renewable energy ereditportfolio STANDARD shall be calculated
as follows:
(a) Determine the number of renewable energy credits used to comply with this subpart
during the applicable year.
(b) Divide by 1 of the following at the option of the electric provider as specified in its
renewable energy plan:
(i) The number of weather normalized megawatt hours of electricity sold by the
electric provider during the previous year to retail customers in this state.
(ii) The average number of megawatt hours of electricity sold by the electric
provider annually during the previous 3 years to retail customers in this state.
(c) Multiply the quotient under subdivision (b) by 100.
) Subjectto-subseetion(5);eEach electric provider shall meet the renewable energy credit
standards with renewable energy credits obtained by 1 or more of the following means:
(a) Generating electricity from renewable energy systems for sale to retail customers.
(b) Purchasing or otherwise acquiring renewable energy credits with or without the
associated renewable energy FROM A RENEWABLE ENERGY SYSTEM WHOSE
CAPACITY MAY BE USED TO SATISFY THE CAPACITY OBLIGATION OF
A MICHIGAN ELECTRICITY PROVIDER PURSUANT TO SECTION 6W OF
2016 PA 341, MCL 460.6W.

(4) For an electric provider whose rates are regulated by the commission, the electric provider
shall submit a contract entered into for the purposes of subsection (3) to the commission
for review and approval. If the commission approves the contract, it shall be considered
consistent wrth the electrrc provrder S renewable energy plan :Fheeomﬂﬂseroneha’r%net

5) An electrlc pr0v1der may substltute energy waste reductron credits for renewable
energy credits otherwise required to meet the renewable energy credit standards if
the substitution is approved by the commission. Under this subsection, energy waste
reduction credits shall not be used by a provider to meet more than 10% of the renewable
energy credit standard. One renewable energy credit shall be awarded per 1 energy waste
reduction credit.

Sec.39. (1) Except as otherwise provided in section 35(1), 1 renewable energy credit shall
be granted to the owner of a renewable energy system for each megawatt hour of electricity
generated from the renewable energy system, subject to all of the following:

(a) If a renewable energy system uses both a renewable energy resource and a
nonrenewable energy resource to generate electricity or steam, the number of
renewable energy credits granted shall be based on the percentage of the electricity
or steam, or both, generated from the renewable energy resource.

(b) A renewable energy credit shall not be granted for renewable energy the renewable
attributes of which are used by an electric provider in a commission-approved
voluntary renewable energy program.

(2) The following additiopdrenewable energy credits, to be known as Michigan incentive
renewable energy cigs, shall be granted under the following circumstances:

(a) 2 renewablcgd€roy credats for each megawatt hour of electricity from solar power
generatedg@® a rene’ ® energy system that was approved in a renewable energy
plan beforc\{@acfiadVe date ofdle 2016 amendatory act that amended this section.

b enewable oy-credit 4 a gawatt-hour-ofetec ated-tromra

1/ 10 renewable energy credlt for each megawatt hour of electrrclty generated
from a renewable energy system constructed using equipment made in this state
as determined by the commission. The additional credit under this subdivision
is available for the first 3 years after the renewable energy system first produces
electricity on a commercial basis.

f€)(C) 1/10 renewable energy credit for each megawatt hour of electricity from a
renewable energy system constructed using a workforce composed of residents
of this state as determined by the commission. The additional credit under this
subdivision is available for the first 3 years after the renewable energy system first
produces electricity on a commercial basis.

(3) A renewable energy credit expires at the earliest of the following times:
(a) When used by an electrlc provrder to comply w1th 1t§ renewable energy standard.

t)(B) Five years after the end of the month in which the renewable energy credit was
generated.

Sec. 45. (1) For an electric provider whose rates are regulated by the commission, the
commission shall determine the appropriate charges for the electric provider’s tariffs that
permit recovery of the incremental cost of compliance subject to the retail rate impact limits
set forth in subsection (2).

(2) BEGINNING NOT LATER THAN ONE YEAR AFTER THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF
THIS AMENDATORY ACT, AAn electric provider shall recover the incremental cost of
compliance with the renewable energy standards THROUGH A UNIFORM CHARGE
PER UNIT OF ELECTRICITY TO ALL CUSTOMERS, ADJUSTED FOR LINE
LOSSES. An electric provider shall not comply with the renewable energy standards
to the extent that, as determined by the commission, recovery of the incremental cost
of compliance will have aN AVERAGE retail rate impact that exceeds $2.00 PER
MONTH FOR THE ELECTRIC PROVIDER'S RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMERS. any-of

(3) The retail rate impact limits of subsection (2) apply only to the incremental costs of
compliance and do not apply to costs approved for recovery by the commission other
than as provided in this act.

(4) The incremental cost of compliance shall be calculated for a 26-year period
beginning with approval of the renewable energy plan OR THE APPROVAL OF ANY
SUBSEQUENT AMENDMENT and shall be recovered on a levelized basis THROUGH
2045.

SEC. 212. SHOULD ANY PART OF THIS ACT BE DECLARED INVALID, OR THE
APPLICATION THEREOF TO ANY PERSON, THING OR CIRCUMSTANCE BE HELD
INVALID, SUCH INVALIDITY SHALL NOT AFFECT THE REMAINING PROVISIONS
OR APPLICATION OF THIS ACT WHICH CAN BE GIVEN EFFECT WITHOUT THE
INVALID PROVISION OR APPLICATION, AND TO THIS END THE PROVISIONS
OF THIS ACT ARE DECLARED TO BE SEVERABLE. THIS SECTION SHALL BE
CONSTRUED BROADLY TO PRESERVE AND EFFECTUATE THE DECLARED
PURPOSE OF THIS ACT.

Enacting section 1. Until December 31, 2025 this amendatory act may be amended or
repealed by three-fourths of the members elected to and serving in each house of the
legislature. Effective January 1, 2026 this amendatory act may be amended or repealed by a
majority of the members elected to and serving in each house of the legislature.



INITIATION OF LEGISLATION

A petition to initiate legislation to amend 2008 PA 295, as amended by 2016 PA 342, by amending sections 11, 28, 39, and 45, and by adding section 212, to increase the renewable energy standard for electric providers to 30% by 2030, with the renewable energy
standard increasing incrementally, starting with 18% by 2022, 21% by 2024, 24% by 2026, 27% by 2028 and 30% by 2030; define renewable energy as solar, wind, biomass, hydropower, and municipal solid waste or landfill gas, and not pet coke, hazardous waste,
scrap tires, or coal waste; and allow an electric provider to recover the cost of compliance, but the amount an electric provider can charge shall not exceed an average of $2 per month per residential customer. If not enacted by the Michigan Legislature in accordance

with the Michigan Constitution of 1963, the proposal is to be voted on at the November 6, 2018 general election.

FOR THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED LEGISLATION SEE THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS PETITION.

We, the undersigned qualified and registered electors, residents in the county of , State of Michigan, respectively petition for initiation of legislation.

WARNING—A person who knowingly signs this petition more than once, signs a name other than his or her own, signs when not a qualified and registered elector, or sets
opposite his or her signature on a petition, a date other than the actual date the signature was affixed, is violating the provisions of the Michigan election law.

TOWNSHIP OF []

INDICATE CITY OR TOWNSHIP DATE OF SIGNING
IN WHICH REGISTERED TO VOTE SIGNATURE PRINTED NAME STREET ADDRESS OR RURAL ROUTE ZIP CODE MO DAY YEAR

CITY OF [ 1,
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 2,
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 3.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 4,
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 5.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 6.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 7
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 8.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 0.
TOWNSHIP OF []

CITY OF [ 10.

CERTIFICATE OF CIRCULATOR

The undersigned circulator of the above petition asserts that he or she is 18 years of age or older and a United States citizen; that each signature
on the petition was signed in his or her presence; that he or she has neither caused nor permitted a person to sign the petition more than once
and has no knowledge of a person signing the petition more than once; and that, to his or her best knowledge and belief, each signature is the
genuine signature of the person purporting to sign the petition, the person signing the petition was at the time of signing a registered elector of
the city or township indicated preceding the signature, and the elector was qualified to sign the petition.

D If the circulator is not a resident of Michigan, the circulator shall make a cross or check mark in the box provided, otherwise each signature
on this petition sheet is invalid and the signatures will not be counted by a filing official. By making a cross or check mark in the box provided, the
undersigned circulator asserts that he or she is not a resident of Michigan and agrees to accept the jurisdiction of this state for the purpose of
any legal proceeding or hearing that concerns a petition sheet executed by the circulator and agrees that legal process served on the secretary
of state or a designated agent of the secretary of state has the same effect as if personally served on the circulator.

WARNING—A circulator knowingly making a false statement in the above certificate, a
person not a circulator who signs as a circulator, or a person who signs a nhame other
rer i mosae s oy s w73 v v |NNAN wnoocoz
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Paid for with regulated funds by Clean Energy, Healthy Michigan, P.0. Box 71746, Madison Heights, MI 48071. 00002

CIRCULATOR—Do not sign or date certificate until after circulating petition.
/ /

Signature of Circulator Date

Printed Name of Circulator

Complete Residence Address (Street and Number or Rural Route) Do not enter a post office box

City or Township, State, Zip Code

County of Registration, if Registered to Vote, of a Circulator Who is not a Resident of Michigan



INITIATION OF LEGISLATION

An initiation of legislation to increase the renewable energy standard to 18% by 2022, 21% by 2024, 24% by 2026, 27% by 2028 and 30% by 2030; define renewable energy as
solar, wind, biomass, hydropower, and municipal solid waste or landfill gas, but not pet coke, hazardous waste, scrap tires, or coal waste; allow an electric provider to recover the cost
of compliance through a uniform charge per unit of electricity to all customers but limit this cost to no more than an average of $2.00 per month for the electric provider’s residential
customers, by amending 2008 PA 295, as amended by 2016 PA 342, entitled, as amended by 2016 PA 342, “An act to require certain providers of electric service to establish and recover
costs for renewable energy programs; to require certain providers of electric or natural gas service to establish energy waste reduction programs; to authorize the use of certain energy
systems to meet the requirements of those programs; to provide for the approval of energy waste reduction service companies; to reduce energy waste by state agencies and the public;
to create a wind energy resource zone board and provide for its power and duties; to authorize the creation and implementation of wind energy resource zones; to provide for expedited
transmission line siting certificates; to provide for customer generation and net metering programs and the responsibilities of certain providers of electric service and customers with
respect to customer generation and net metering; to provide for fees; to prescribe the powers and duties of certain state agencies and officials; to require the promulgation of rules and the
issuance of orders; to authorize the establishment of residential energy improvement programs by providers of electric or natural gas service; and to provide for civil sanctions, remedies,
and penalties,” by amending sections 11, 28, 39, and 45 (MCL 460.1011, MCL 460.1028, MCL 460.1039, and MCL 460.1045), and by adding section 212.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

Sec. 11. As used in this act:

(a) “Renewable energy” means electricity or steam generated using a renewable energy
system.

(b) “Renewable energy contract” means a contract to acquire renewable energy and the
associated renewable energy credits from 1 or more renewable energy systems.

(c) “Renewable energy credit” means a credit granted under a certification and tracking
program established under section 41, which represents generated renewable energy.

(d) “Renewable energy credit portfolio” means the sum of the renewable energy credits
achieved by a provider for a particular year.

(e) “Renewable energy credit standard” means a minimum renewable energy credit portfolio
required under section 28 or former section 27.

(f) “Renewable energy plan” or “plan” means a plan approved under section 22 or former

section 21 or 23 or found to comply with this act under former section 25, with any

amendments adopted under this act.

“Renewable energy resource” means a resource that naturally replenishes over a

human, not a geological, time frame and that is uitimatety derived from solar power

ENERGY, wind pewer ENERGY, BIOMASS, HYDROPOWER, AND

=

(g

MUNICIPAL SOLID ’WASTE OR LANDFILL GAS. Renewable energy resource
does not include petroleum, nuclear, natural gas, PET COKE, HAZARDOUS WASTE,

SCRAP TIRES COAL WASTE or coal A—renewable—energyfeeeurefreeme%fmﬁrﬂie

ENERGY CREDITS REQUIRED TO BE ACHIEVED BY AN ik
PROVIDER FOR A PARTICULAR YEAR* renew ergy—capac |

section 28 orfermereeeﬂen—}'l
(i) “Renewable energy system” means a facility, electricity ge
electricity generation systems that use 1 or more renewable ene
electricity or steam. Renewable energy system does not include &
(i) A hydroelectric pumped storage facility.
(ii) A hydroelectric facility that uses a dam cg
the dam is a repair or replacement of a
an upgrade of a dam in existence on
efficiency.
(iii) An incinerator unless the incinerator is a municipal sg
defined in section 11504 of the natural resources,
1994 PA 451, MCL 324.11504.
(j) “Revenue recovery mechanism” means the mechanism for recovery of incremental costs
of compliance provided for under section 22.

waste incinerator as
nmental protection act,

Sec. 28. (1) An electric provider shall achieve a renewable energy STANDARD eredit

portfotio as follows:
(a) In2016 through 2018, arenewabte-energy-eredit portfotio-thatconsistsof at least the

same number of renewable energy credits as were required under former section 27.

(b) In2019 and 2020, arenewableenergycredit portfotioof at least 12.5%, as calculated

under subsection (2).
(c) In 2021, arenewableenergyereditportfotio-of at least 15%, as calculated under
subsection (2).
(D) IN 2022 AND 2023, AT LEAST 18% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
2).
(E) IN2024 AND 2025,AT LEAST 21% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
2).
(F) IN2026 AND 2027, AT LEAST 24% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
2).
(G) IN 2028 AND 2029, AT LEAST 27% AS CALCULATED UNDER SUBSECTION
(2).
(H) IN2030 AND EACH YEAR THEREAFTER, AT LEAST 30% AS CALCULATED
UNDER SUBSECTION (2).
(2) An electric provider’s renewable energy ereditportfolio STANDARD shall be calculated
as follows:
(a) Determine the number of renewable energy credits used to comply with this subpart
during the applicable year.
(b) Divide by 1 of the following at the option of the electric provider as specified in its
renewable energy plan:
(i) The number of weather normalized megawatt hours of electricity sold by the
electric provider during the previous year to retail customers in this state.
(ii) The average number of megawatt hours of electricity sold by the electric
provider annually during the previous 3 years to retail customers in this state.
(c) Multiply the quotient under subdivision (b) by 100.
) Subjectto-subseetion(5);eEach electric provider shall meet the renewable energy credit
standards with renewable energy credits obtained by 1 or more of the following means:
(a) Generating electricity from renewable energy systems for sale to retail customers.
(b) Purchasing or otherwise acquiring renewable energy credits with or without the
associated renewable energy FROM A RENEWABLE ENERGY SYSTEM WHOSE
CAPACITY MAY BE USED TO SATISFY THE CAPACITY OBLIGATION OF
A MICHIGAN ELECTRICITY PROVIDER PURSUANT TO SECTION 6W OF
2016 PA 341, MCL 460.6W.

(4) For an electric provider whose rates are regulated by the commission, the electric provider
shall submit a contract entered into for the purposes of subsection (3) to the commission
for review and approval. If the commission approves the contract, it shall be considered
consistent wrth the electrrc provrder S renewable energy plan :Fheeomﬂﬂseroneha’r%net

5) An electrlc pr0v1der may substltute energy waste reductron credits for renewable
energy credits otherwise required to meet the renewable energy credit standards if
the substitution is approved by the commission. Under this subsection, energy waste
reduction credits shall not be used by a provider to meet more than 10% of the renewable
energy credit standard. One renewable energy credit shall be awarded per 1 energy waste
reduction credit.

Sec.39. (1) Except as otherwise provided in section 35(1), 1 renewable energy credit shall
be granted to the owner of a renewable energy system for each megawatt hour of electricity
generated from the renewable energy system, subject to all of the following:

(a) If a renewable energy system uses both a renewable energy resource and a
nonrenewable energy resource to generate electricity or steam, the number of
renewable energy credits granted shall be based on the percentage of the electricity
or steam, or both, generated from the renewable energy resource.

(b) A renewable energy credit shall not be granted for renewable energy the renewable
attributes of which are used by an electric provider in a commission-approved
voluntary renewable energy program.

(2) The following additiopdrenewable energy credits, to be known as Michigan incentive
renewable energy cigs, shall be granted under the following circumstances:

(a) 2 renewablcgd€roy credats for each megawatt hour of electricity from solar power
generatedg@® a rene’ ® energy system that was approved in a renewable energy
plan beforc\{@acfiadVe date ofdle 2016 amendatory act that amended this section.

b enewable oy-credit 4 a gawatt-hour-ofetec ated-tromra

1/ 10 renewable energy credlt for each megawatt hour of electrrclty generated
from a renewable energy system constructed using equipment made in this state
as determined by the commission. The additional credit under this subdivision
is available for the first 3 years after the renewable energy system first produces
electricity on a commercial basis.

f€)(C) 1/10 renewable energy credit for each megawatt hour of electricity from a
renewable energy system constructed using a workforce composed of residents
of this state as determined by the commission. The additional credit under this
subdivision is available for the first 3 years after the renewable energy system first
produces electricity on a commercial basis.

(3) A renewable energy credit expires at the earliest of the following times:
(a) When used by an electrlc provrder to comply w1th 1t§ renewable energy standard.

t)(B) Five years after the end of the month in which the renewable energy credit was
generated.

Sec. 45. (1) For an electric provider whose rates are regulated by the commission, the
commission shall determine the appropriate charges for the electric provider’s tariffs that
permit recovery of the incremental cost of compliance subject to the retail rate impact limits
set forth in subsection (2).

(2) BEGINNING NOT LATER THAN ONE YEAR AFTER THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF
THIS AMENDATORY ACT, AAn electric provider shall recover the incremental cost of
compliance with the renewable energy standards THROUGH A UNIFORM CHARGE
PER UNIT OF ELECTRICITY TO ALL CUSTOMERS, ADJUSTED FOR LINE
LOSSES. An electric provider shall not comply with the renewable energy standards
to the extent that, as determined by the commission, recovery of the incremental cost
of compliance will have aN AVERAGE retail rate impact that exceeds $2.00 PER
MONTH FOR THE ELECTRIC PROVIDER'S RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMERS. any-of

(3) The retail rate impact limits of subsection (2) apply only to the incremental costs of
compliance and do not apply to costs approved for recovery by the commission other
than as provided in this act.

(4) The incremental cost of compliance shall be calculated for a 26-year period
beginning with approval of the renewable energy plan OR THE APPROVAL OF ANY
SUBSEQUENT AMENDMENT and shall be recovered on a levelized basis THROUGH
2045.

SEC. 212. SHOULD ANY PART OF THIS ACT BE DECLARED INVALID, OR THE
APPLICATION THEREOF TO ANY PERSON, THING OR CIRCUMSTANCE BE HELD
INVALID, SUCH INVALIDITY SHALL NOT AFFECT THE REMAINING PROVISIONS
OR APPLICATION OF THIS ACT WHICH CAN BE GIVEN EFFECT WITHOUT THE
INVALID PROVISION OR APPLICATION, AND TO THIS END THE PROVISIONS
OF THIS ACT ARE DECLARED TO BE SEVERABLE. THIS SECTION SHALL BE
CONSTRUED BROADLY TO PRESERVE AND EFFECTUATE THE DECLARED
PURPOSE OF THIS ACT.

Enacting section 1. Until December 31, 2025 this amendatory act may be amended or
repealed by three-fourths of the members elected to and serving in each house of the
legislature. Effective January 1, 2026 this amendatory act may be amended or repealed by a
majority of the members elected to and serving in each house of the legislature.





