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DATE:  March 31, 2017 
 
TO:  Michigan Repair Facility Owners & Mechanics 
  
FROM: Michigan Department of State 

Office of Investigative Services 
 

SUBJECT: NEW REQUIREMENTS FOR REPAIR FACILITIES AND MECHANICS 
 
 
Purpose of the Act 
 
Public Act 430 of 2016 codifies Department of State Bureau of Automotive Regulation General Rules 
into Michigan Compiled Laws. It rescinds the current Rules that implement the Act [R 257.101 to 
257.173] of the Michigan Administrative Code. Many of the definitions and provisions in those Rules 
will be imported into statute when the Act becomes effective April 4, 2017.  
 
Consumer Information Sign Requirements 
 
The consumer information sign must now be changed to include the following: 
 
 Change from $20 to $50 the minimum amount that triggers a requirement for a motor vehicle repair 

facility to give a customer a written estimate before beginning repairs.  
 

The text content and formatting of the consumer information sign has changed. 
 
Requirements regarding the consumer information sign and an example can be located by accessing 
Appendix A in the Repair Facility Manual by clicking on the following link: 
 
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-49534_50301-123898--,00.html 
 
The minimum sign size (28 X 24 inches) is acceptable, providing the sign contains the required and 
updated information. 
 
Major Component Parts 
 
Airbags and seatbelts were added as structural components and are now considered major component 
parts. This means airbag and seatbelt information must be maintained on the major component parts log. 
The record for late model major component parts must contain the date of purchase or acquisition of the 
part, a description of the part, the identification number assigned to the part, and the name and address 
of the person to or from which the part was purchased, acquired, or sold. 

http://www.michigan.gov/sos
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-49534_50301-123898--,00.html


 

The requirement for recording the major component part of the front and rear bumpers will be updated 
to include front and rear bumper bars.  The recording of soft front and rear bumper covers will no longer 
be required, but bumper assemblies, bumper reinforcements and bumpers bars will still be required to be 
recorded in the major component log.  
 
Written Estimate Requirements 
 
 The minimum amount a motor vehicle repair facility may charge above the written estimate given to 

the customer who did not sign a special waiver changes.  This amounts to a change from $10 or 10 
percent (whichever is less) to $50 or 10 percent (whichever is less), before the facility must obtain 
consent for an excess charge. 
 

 The minimum amount that triggers a requirement for a motor vehicle repair facility to give a 
customer a written estimate before beginning repairs changes from $20 to $50.  

 
Parts Estimates Invoices and Written Statements 
 
When an estimate is written or a repaired vehicle is returned to a customer the written estimate, invoice 
and written statement will require detailed identification of all parts that were replaced. The 
identification must indicate which parts are new OEM, new, used, rebuilt, OEM surplus, or 
reconditioned.  Previous requirements for written estimates, invoices and written statements will 
continue to apply.  
 
Record Keeping Requirements 
 
The Act changes retention of records requirement from 5 to 3 years. The repair facility owner must 
retain copies of each instrument, form, contract, or other document used in connection with a repair 
transaction for at least 3 years after completion of the repair transaction. 
 
US Armed Forces Veterans 
 
The Act contains a reduced mechanic certification/trainee permit fee structure for US armed forces 
veterans separated from the service with an honorable discharge or under generally favorable conditions. 
Reduced fees apply to applications for renewal certification, replacement certificates and mechanic 
trainee permits. 
 
Department Publications 
 
The Repair Facility Manual, Department website information, and repair facility compliance training 
will be updated to reflect codification of the Rules and new requirements caused by the Act. Repair 
facility owners can expect updates via bulletins and e-mail broadcasts if they have provided the 
Department with valid e-mail addresses. 
 
Contact Information for Questions 
 
Questions can be directed to the Secretary of State website mailbox: 
 
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-13162-25634--,00.html 
 
Questions may also be directed to the Department of State Information Center toll-free number at (888) 
767-6424 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-13162-25634--,00.html

