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DEALER CHECKLIST (Class A & B Dealers Only)  
 
Established Place of Business Requirements.  See Dealer 
Manual, Chapter 1 for more information:

☐ Licensed location isn’t a residence or any temporary 
quarters. 

☐ All books, records and files necessary to conduct the 
business are maintained in the licensed location.  

☐ The dealership is contained within a permanently enclosed 
building or structure. 

☐ There is at least 150 square feet of office space. 
☐ There is a working restroom and working utilities within the 

building or structure.   
☐ There is a working telephone listed in the name of the 

business on the dealer’s license. 

☐ The premises must meet all applicable zoning and 
municipal requirements. 

 

☐ There is a minimum of 1,300 square feet of land space 
allocated for the display of at least 10 vehicles.   

☐ There is at least 650 square feet for customer parking that 
is adequately surfaced and well-lit during business hours. 

☐ There is an exterior sign displaying the name of the 
dealership permanently affixed to the building or land with 
letters clearly visible from a highway.    

☐ There is a repair facility on the premises, or the dealer has 
a written agreement with a local repair facility, within a 10 
mile radius, to provide repair services and has posted the 
servicing agreement at the dealership.   

☐ There are posted business hours of no less than 30 hours 
per week.   

☐ Only one dealer has established a place of business at the 
location.  

 

Dealer Plate Use.  See Dealer Manual, Chapter 1 for more information:

☐  Dealer-owned vehicles may be driven to and from repair  
        facilities, storage lots and other locations where vehicles  
        are being held prior to sale. 

☐ Dealer-owned vehicles may be moved to locations where 
they may be bought or sold. 

☐ Dealer-owned vehicles may be driven by employees, 
servants or agents of the dealership for any use related to 
the dealership’s primary business of selling vehicles, 
except as a service vehicle.   

☐ Dealer-owned vehicles may be driven by a prospective 
customer of a dealership for testing or demonstration 
purposes for up to 72 hours. 

☐ A person who has purchased a vehicle from a dealership 
may operate the vehicle with a dealer plate for up to 72 
hours after taking delivery of the vehicle.   

 

Record Keeping Requirements.  See Dealer Manual, Chapter 2 for more information:     

☐ Maintain records for each vehicle bought, sold, leased or 
exchanged by the dealer or received or accepted by the 
dealer for sale, lease or exchange. 

☐ Records must be available for inspection by law 
enforcement and Michigan Department of State 
investigative staff upon request. 

☐ Dealer records must be maintained and available for 
inspection for five years after the sale of the vehicle during 
established business hours at the licensed location. 

☐ Dealers who maintain an electronic Police Book or other 
required records must be prepared to print a paper copy of 
the records if requested by law enforcement or Michigan 
Department of State investigative staff.   

  



  Revision 08/2019 

Class A and B Dealers Specific Records Maintained, depends on the activities in which 
a dealer engages:

☐ Title or other ownership documents (TR-42, TR-52L, 
BDVR-141, TR-208, etc.). 

☐ Black-and-white copies of front and back of conforming 
titles for odometer disclosure records; both incoming 
(bought) and outgoing (sold) copies must be maintained.  

☐   Color copies are needed for titles subject to inventory 
loans. 

☐ Copies of purchase agreements. 
☐ Copies of installment sales or lease contracts. 

☐ Copies of processed RD-108s, RD-108Ls or RD-108s 
prepared for exported vehicles (see Chapter 8 for more 
information).  

☐ Police Book or washout system (see specific requirements 
below and in Chapter 2 of the Dealer Manual).   

☐ Copies of salvage disclosure statements. 

☐ Copies of Application for Original Michigan Salvage Title 
or Scrap Title (TR-12). 

☐ Copies of Salvage Vehicle Recertification Inspection forms 
(TR-13A, TR-13B). 

☐ Dealer portion of the printed BFS-4 15-day Temporary 
Registration. 

☐ Copies of Major Component Parts Record (SOS-426). 

☐ Copies of broker fee agreements and broker purchase 
agreements. 

☐ Signed copies of the Vehicle Dealer Inventory Loan 
Notices (BLRD-1). 

☐ Copies of separate odometer disclosure statements used 
only when the title is held by an inventory lender or if the 
vehicle has a rebuilt salvage title. 

☐ All documents related to the inventory loan transaction. 

☐ BFS-4 15-day Temporary Registration log (now retained in 
the dealership’s e-Services account).   

 
 

 

Police Book Entry Requirements – Hardbound, Washout or Electronic: 
 
☐ Date vehicle acquired.         ☐  Purchase number/ stock number. 

☐ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) .       ☐  Title number. 

☐ Who you purchased the vehicle from: Name, address,      ☐  Identification information, including: Make, model,  
   city, state and ZIP code (auctions are a special case).               body style, and, year.  

☐ Date vehicle sold.         ☐  Who you sold the vehicle to: Name, address, city, state,  
ZIP code. 

 
Police Book Quick Tips: 

• Vehicles must be kept in date order.  
 

• The date the vehicle is acquired is the date monetary value was exchanged and ownership changed. 
 

• If you are waiting for a title from an auction, enter any identifying information into your Police Book the day the vehicle was 
purchased, and go back to that entry after you receive the title to complete the entry. It is important not to forget this step. 
 

• Use the “Remarks” section when waiting for a title.  
 

• If a vehicle was purchased at an auction, the “Bought From“ entry in your Police Book should be the last person on the title, not 
the name of the auction.  
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