
Instructions for Completing Form 173, Report of Fuel Sales Tax Prepayment and 
Environmental Protection Regulatory Fee for Refiners, Terminal Operators and Importers
Prepayment of Sales Tax on Fuel
Licensed Suppliers, Permissive Suppliers, Tank Wagon Operators, and Bonded or Occasional Importers who import gasoline 
must prepay the cents per gallon sales tax with this form as required by the Sales Tax Act (MCL.205.56a), P.A. 167 of 1933. 

Environmental Protection Regulatory Fee
The Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, MCL 324.101 et seq. (NREPA), imposes an 
environmental protection regulatory fee (Fee) of 1 cent per gallon (.01) for each gallon of “refined petroleum” sold for 
resale or consumption in Michigan.  The NREPA defines “refined petroleum” as aviation gasoline, middle distillates, jet fuel, 
kerosene, gasoline, residual oils, and any oxygenates that have been blended with any of these.  The Fee is to be collected 
from persons who refine petroleum in Michigan for resale or consumption in Michigan and from persons who import refined 
petroleum into Michigan for resale or consumption in Michigan. 

If you refine petroleum in Michigan or import refined petroleum into Michigan for resale or consumption in Michigan, you 
must report and pay the Fee using Form 173.  Use the worksheet on the back of the attached return to determine if you have 
a credit due or if you owe the Fee.  Carry the amount to page one, column B, line 3.  If you are due a credit and you have a 
sales tax prepayment amount due, subtract the Fee credit from the amount due and pay the reduced amount.  The worksheet 
must be complete to allow processing of the return.

Return Instructions
Line 1: Refiners, pipeline terminal operators and marine terminal operators should enter the total gallons of fuel sold 
in Michigan including fuel sold or delivered to company owned stations; or

Importers who purchase or receive fuel from outside this state, on which the prepayment is not charged by the supplier, should 
enter the total gallons received or purchased if the fuel is intended for shipment into and subsequent sale within Michigan.

Line 2:  The different prepayment rates for gasoline and for diesel fuels to enter on line 2 of the return will be updated and 
published and available by the Department on a monthly basis at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

Line 3 through line 6: are explained on the return.

Filing and Payment Instructions:
A completed return and payment of the amount due must be received according to the schedule provided below. If you elect 
to pay by electronic funds transfer (EFT), an EFT payment must be initiated at least one business day prior to the due date and 
a signed and dated return must be faxed to 517-636-4356 on or before the return due date.  If you elect not to pay by EFT, a 
completed return and check payable to the “State of Michigan” should be mailed together to the address provided on the form.

Penalty and interest is due for late payment. The penalty is 5% of tax due. Penalty increases by an additional 5% per month or 
fraction thereof, after the second month, to a maximum of 25%. Interest is charged at the average prime rate, plus 1 percent. 
For more information, call 517-636-6925.

2020 Due Dates
Dates Payment Invoiced Report Due Dates Payment Invoiced Report Due
Jan. 1 - Jan. 15 ............................ Jan. 25 Jan. 16 - Jan. 31 .......................... Feb. 10
Feb. 1 - Feb. 15 .......................... Feb. 25 Feb. 16 - Feb. 28 ........................ Mar. 10
Mar. 1 - Mar. 15 ......................... Mar. 25 Mar. 16 - Mar. 31 ....................... Apr. 10
Apr. 1 - Apr. 15 .......................... Apr. 27 Apr. 16 - Apr. 30 ........................ May 11
May 1 - May 15 .......................... May 26 May 16 - May 31 ........................ June 10
June 1 - June 15 .......................... June 25 June 16 - June 30 ........................ July 10
July 1 - July 15 ........................... July 27 July 16 - July 31 ......................... Aug. 10
Aug. 1 - Aug. 15 ......................... Aug. 25 Aug. 16 - Aug. 31 ....................... Sept. 10
Sept. 1 - Sept. 15 ........................ Sept. 25 Sept. 16 - Sept. 30 ...................... Oct. 12
Oct. 1 - Oct. 15 ........................... Oct. 26 Oct. 16 - Oct. 31 ......................... Nov. 10
Nov. 1 - Nov. 15 ......................... Nov. 25 Nov. 16 - Nov. 30 ....................... Dec. 10
Dec. 1 - Dec. 15 ......................... Dec. 28 Dec. 16 - Dec. 31 ....................... Jan. 11, 2021

If you discontinue your business, a final return is due within 20 days. Please note on the return “Final Return.”



Michigan Department of Treasury
173 (Rev. 01-20) Mail to: 

Michigan Department of Treasury
Report of Fuel Sales Tax Prepayment and Environmental Protection Department 771410

Regulatory Fee for Refiners, Terminal Operators and Importers P.O. Box 77000
Detroit, MI 48277-1410

Issued under authority of Public Act 167 of 1933. Filing is mandatory
Business Name If this is your first return, enter date Account Number Date Payment Invoiced

To
Address Telephone Number Report Due Date

Complete page 2 of this form.
SALES TAX PREPAYMENT

A. Diesel Fuel B. Gasoline C. Regulatory Fee

1. Total gallons.................................................................

2. Current rates (per gallon)............................................ .01

3. Multiply gallons by rate. Enter amount due or (credit) + + = 3.

4. Penalty and interest................................................................................................................................................................................ 4. +
5. Regulatory fee credit carried forward from previous return.................................................................................................................... 5. (                                    )

6. Enter total of lines 3, 4 and 5. Pay amount due, or indicate total is Credit Forward Refund............................................. 6.

Signature Title Date

Michigan Department of Treasury
173 (Rev. 01-20) Mail to: 

Michigan Department of Treasury
Report of Fuel Sales Tax Prepayment and Environmental Protection Department 771410

Regulatory Fee for Refiners, Terminal Operators and Importers P.O. Box 77000
Detroit, MI 48277-1410

Issued under authority of Public Act 167 of 1933. Filing is mandatory
Business Name If this is your first return, enter date Account Number Date Payment Invoiced

To
Address Telephone Number Report Due Date

Complete page 2 of this form.
SALES TAX PREPAYMENT

A. Diesel Fuel B. Gasoline C. Regulatory Fee

1. Total gallons.................................................................

2. Current rates (per gallon)............................................ .01

3. Multiply gallons by rate. Enter amount due or (credit) + + = 3.

4. Penalty and interest................................................................................................................................................................................ 4. +
5. Regulatory fee credit carried forward from previous return.................................................................................................................... 5. (                                    )

6. Enter total of lines 3, 4 and 5. Pay amount due, or indicate total is Credit Forward Refund............................................. 6.

Signature Title Date

Michigan Department of Treasury
173 (Rev. 01-20) Mail to: 

Michigan Department of Treasury
Report of Fuel Sales Tax Prepayment and Environmental Protection Department 771410

Regulatory Fee for Refiners, Terminal Operators and Importers P.O. Box 77000
Detroit, MI 48277-1410

Issued under authority of Public Act 167 of 1933. Filing is mandatory
Business Name If this is your first return, enter date Account Number Date Payment Invoiced

To
Address Telephone Number Report Due Date

SALES TAX PREPAYMENT
Complete page 2 of this form.

A. Diesel Fuel B. Gasoline C. Regulatory Fee

1. Total gallons ................................................................

2. Current rates (per gallon) ........................................... .01

3. Multiply gallons by rate. Enter amount due or (credit) + + = 3.

4. Penalty and interest ............................................................................................................................................................................... 4. +
5. Regulatory fee credit carried forward from previous return ................................................................................................................... 5. (                                    )

6. Enter total of lines 3, 4 and 5. Pay amount due, or indicate total is Credit Forward Refund ............................................ 6.

Signature Title Date



Environmental Protection Regulatory Fee Worksheet
Account for all gallons transacted during the period on this worksheet

1. Total gallons imported, sold or consumed ................................................. 1.

................................... 2.
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 
2. Total gallons in line 1 upon which you paid this fee 

........................................................................................................................................... 3.
4. Gallons in line 1 sold for export or exported by you ...................................... 4.
5. Gallons in line 1 sold to exempt public utilities .............................................. 5.
6. Add lines 4 and 5 ........................................................................................................................................................ 6.
7. If line 6 is greater than line 3, subtract line 3 from line 6 ................................................................ Gallons for Credit 7.

8. If line 6 is less than line 3, subtract line 6 from line 3.
    Write the number of gallons from line 7 or 8 on page 1, column C, line 1. ...................Gallons on Which Fee is Due 8.
9. Multiply either line 7 or line 8 by .01. Enter amount due or (credit) on page 1, Column C, line 3 .............................. 9.

Environmental Protection Regulatory Fee Worksheet
Account for all gallons transacted during the period on this worksheet

1. Total gallons imported, sold or consumed ................................................. 1.

................................... 2.
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 
2. Total gallons in line 1 upon which you paid this fee 

........................................................................................................................................... 3.
4. Gallons in line 1 sold for export or exported by you ...................................... 4.
5. Gallons in line 1 sold to exempt public utilities .............................................. 5.
6. Add lines 4 and 5 ........................................................................................................................................................ 6.
7. If line 6 is greater than line 3, subtract line 3 from line 6 ................................................................ Gallons for Credit 7.

8. If line 6 is less than line 3, subtract line 6 from line 3.
    Write the number of gallons from line 7 or 8 on page 1, column C, line 1. ...................Gallons on Which Fee is Due 8.
9. Multiply either line 7 or line 8 by .01. Enter amount due or (credit) on page 1, Column C, line 3 .............................. 9.

Environmental Protection Regulatory Fee Worksheet
Account for all gallons transacted during the period on this worksheet

1. Total gallons imported, sold or consumed ................................................. 1.

................................... 2.
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 
2. Total gallons in line 1 upon which you paid this fee 

........................................................................................................................................... 3.
4. Gallons in line 1 sold for export or exported by you ...................................... 4.
5. Gallons in line 1 sold to exempt public utilities .............................................. 5.
6. Add lines 4 and 5 ........................................................................................................................................................ 6.
7. If line 6 is greater than line 3, subtract line 3 from line 6 ................................................................ Gallons for Credit 7.

8. If line 6 is less than line 3, subtract line 6 from line 3.
    Write the number of gallons from line 7 or 8 on page 1, column C, line 1. ...................Gallons on Which Fee is Due 8.
9. Multiply either line 7 or line 8 by .01. Enter amount due or (credit) on page 1, Column C, line 3............................... 9.
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