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NEW FOR 2015 
 
 
Senate Bill 100 of 2015 (PA 0079 of 2015) 

Senate Bill 100 of 2015 (PA 0079 of 2015) was signed into law June 16, 2015.  The law goes into 
effect on March 18, 2016, 90 days after the adjournment of the 2015 legislative session which 
occurred on December 18, 2015.  The bill amends the Revenue Act to delete a requirement that, 
in an appeal to the Court of Claims, a taxpayer first pay the disputed portion of a tax, including 
penalties and interest, under protest and claim a refund as part of the appeal.  The bill also allows 
a taxpayer 60 days to appeal to the Tax Tribunal. Currently, a taxpayer may appeal an assessment, 
decision, or order of the Department of Treasury to the Tax Tribunal within 35 days, or to the 
Court of Claims within 90 days, after the assessment, decision, or order. 

Supreme Court of the United States - Same-Sex Marriage   

On June 26, 2015, the Supreme Court of the United States invalidated the Michigan Constitution’s 
definition of marriage. In Obergefell et al v Hodges, the Court held that the State’s definition of 
marriage as the union of one man and one woman denied same-sex couples the benefits of 
marriage and therefore denied them the equal protection of the law under the 14th amendment of 
the United States Constitution.  As a result, Michigan now recognizes the marriages of same-sex 
spouses.    

As of the date of the Court’s decision, same-sex spouses who file Michigan income tax returns 
and who are married under the laws of the State of Michigan or under the laws of another state 
must claim either “married filing jointly” or “married filing separately” status on a Michigan 
income tax return.  If the spouses file a joint federal income tax return, they must also file a joint 
Michigan return.  If the spouses did not file a joint federal return, they may choose to file 
separately or jointly. 

Michigan income tax returns may be amended to claim “married filing jointly” if the same-sex 
spouses choose to do so, but the Department will not require amended returns.  If an amended 
return is filed, refunds will only be issued if the return is filed within 4 years of the date that the 
original return was due.   

Employer Provided Same-Sex Spousal Benefits 

Recognition of same-sex marriage will prevent the taxation of certain employee benefits for a 
same-sex spouse under the Michigan Income Tax Act.  This guidance does not apply to domestic 
partners or other relationships that do not constitute a state-sanctioned marriage. 

Prior to the recognition of same-sex marriage in Michigan, the value of the employer’s share of 
employer-provided health care coverage for a same-sex spouse was included in the employee’s 
Michigan taxable income.  In addition, pre-tax dollars used to pay the employee’s share of health 
premiums for a same-sex spouse were also added to employee’s Michigan taxable income.   
Similarly, pre-tax dollars used to fund a flexible spending account for the benefit of a same-sex 
spouse and dependents of that spouse were added to the employee’s Michigan taxable income. 



2 
 

For tax years before 2015, an employee who was married to a same-sex spouse may seek a refund 
by filing an amended Michigan income tax return to deduct the value of any same-sex spousal 
benefits that were included in Michigan taxable income during that tax year.  For taxpayers with 
same-sex spousal benefits who only had Michigan wages, the value of those benefits will be the 
difference between the amount in box 1 and box 16 of a federal W-2.  If an amended return is 
filed, it must be filed within 4 years of the date the original return was due.  The return may be 
filed claiming either “married filing jointly” or “married filing separately” status. 

City of Detroit Individual Income Tax Returns 

Treasury will administer City of Detroit individual income tax returns beginning with the 2015 
tax year returns.  Detroit returns may be e-filed as part of the transmission of the Michigan income 
tax return.  Employers required to withhold Detroit city income tax must remit withholding to the 
Department beginning with the 2017 calendar year. 

Business, Rental, and Royalty Activity Worksheet 

Treasury has made available a sample worksheet, titled Business, Rental, and Royalty Activity 
Worksheet (Worksheet) that allows taxpayers a means to identify the location of Michigan and 
non-Michigan business activity and rental activity.  The Worksheet also allows other non-business 
income to be identified as Michigan or non-Michigan.  The Worksheet is a suggested attachment 
and can be used by those who e-file or mail their return.  The Worksheet, or any similar worksheet 
that identifies the type and location of non-Michigan business activity and income, may be 
attached as a PDF file to an e-filed return using the file name “BusinessActivity.pdf.”  The 
Worksheet or similar worksheet may also be attached to any paper filed return.  The Worksheet 
is not a required attachment, however submitting the Worksheet could reduce the need for further 
correspondence to obtain information required to process the return and avoid delays.  The 
Worksheet can be obtained at www.michigan.gov/iit. 

Reminders 

e-Payments 

Individual Income Tax (IIT) filers have the option of making payments electronically using 
Treasury’s e-Payment system.  Paying electronically is easy, fast, and secure.  The available 
payment types include IIT tax payments (tax due on the Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040), 
quarterly estimated income tax payments, and individual income tax extension payments.  
Payments can be made using direct debit (e-Check) from a checking or savings account, or credit 
or debit card.  There is no fee for e-Check payments.  Credit and debit payments will be charged 
a convenience fee (2.35 percent of the total payment for credit cards and a flat fee of $3.95 for 
debit cards) which is paid directly to the payment processing vendor.  Visit www.michigan.gov/iit 
for more information. 
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Pension Benefits 

Individuals born in 1946, 1947, and 1948 who have reached age 67 may be eligible for a 
subtraction of $20,000 for single filers, or $40,000 for joint filers against all income, rather than 
solely against pension and retirement income.  (See “Pension and Retirement Benefits” section 
for additional information and limitations.) 

Individuals who reach age 62 in 2015 (born in 1953) who receive pension benefits from 
employment with governmental agencies not covered by the  Social Security Act, may be eligible 
for up to a $15,000 pension subtraction or up to $30,000 if both spouses on a jointly filed return 
received pension benefits from an “uncovered” governmental agency. 

 
 

 SUMMARY OF CHANGES FOR 2015 
 

*Exception: Taxpayers who have reached age 62 and received benefits from Social 
Security exempt employment may be eligible for a pension deduction. See Pension and 
Retirement Benefits

Tax Rate 4.25% 
Personal Exemption $4,000
Special Exemption for Seniors $0
Special Exemption for Disabled $2,600
Child Care Deduction $0
Qualified Disabled Veteran Deduction $400
Pension Deduction 

Single Filer 
Born before 1946: private pension limit $49,811
Born in 1946 through 1948: Standard deduction against all income $20,000
Born in 1949 through 1952 $20,000
Born after 1952, pension not deductible* $0

Jointly Filed 
Born before 1946: private pension limit $99,623

Born in 1946 through 1948: Standard deduction against all income $40,000
Born in1949 through 1952 $40,000
Born after 1952, pension not deductible* $0

Senior Interest, Dividend, and Capital Gains
Single Filer (not available for senior born after 1945) $11,104
Jointly Filed (not available for senior born after 1945) $22,207
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SUMMARY OF CHANGES FOR PRIOR YEARS 

2011 2012 2012 2014 
 

Tax Rate 4.35% 4.33% 4.25% 4.25%
Personal Exemption $3,700 $3,763  $3,950 $4,000 
Special Exemption $2,400 $2,400  $2,500 $2,500 
Child Care Deduction $600 0  0 0 
Qualified Disabled Veteran Deduction $300 $300 $300 $400 
Pension Deduction     
     Single Filer $45,842    

Born before 1946: private pension limit  $47,309 $48,302 $49,027 
Born after 1945 and are age 67 or older:     
   Standard deduction against all income  $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 
Born 1946 through 1952 and age 66 or less  $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 

Born after 1952, pension not deductible  0 0 0 
     Jointly Filed $91,684    

Born before 1946: private pension limit  $94,618 $96,605 $98,054 
Born after 1945 and are age 67 or older:     
   Standard deduction against all income   $40,000 $40,000 
Born 1946 through 1952 and age 66 or less  $40,000 $40,000 $40,000 
Born after 1952, pension not deductible  0 0 0 

Senior Interest, Dividend, and Capital Gains     
Single Filer $10,218    
Single Filer  

(not available for senior born after 1945) 
 $10,545 $10,767 $10,929 

Jointly Filed $20,437    
Jointly Filed  

(not available for senior born after 1945) 
 $21,091 $21,534 $21,857 
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TAX YEAR 2015 UPDATES 

e-Payments: 
Individual income tax filers now have the option of making payments electronically using the 
Michigan Department of Treasury’s e-Payment system.  

The available payment types include: 

 Individual income tax payment (tax due on the MI-1040) 
 Quarterly estimated income tax payments 
 Individual income tax extension payments 

 

Payments can be made using: 

 Direct debit (e-Check) from a checking or savings account. There is no fee for e-Check 
payments. 

 Credit card. These payments will be charged a convenience fee of 2.35% of the total 
payment.  

 Debit card. These payments will be charged a convenience fee of $3.95.  
 

Please note the new IIT e-Payments system should not be used to make payments when the 
taxpayer has received an assessment or assessment number from Treasury’s Office of 
Collections. In that case, the payment needs to be made using the Collections e-Services 
payment program. This will ensure timely and accurate posting of the payment.  

Reminders:   

 All pages of all forms must be completed and filed to be considered a complete return. 
 Amended Returns:  

o Must use form MI-1040X-12 for 2012 and future year amended returns 
o Must use form MI-1040X for 2011 and prior year amended returns 
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HIGHLIGHTS OF THE 2015 TAX FORM CHANGES 

MI-1040 Michigan Individual Income Tax Changes: 

 Line 9b – Special exemption allowance increased to $2,600. 

Schedule 1 Additions and Subtractions Changes:  

Additions – No changes. 

Subtractions – Two lines have been updated: 

 Line 24 – Michigan Standard Deduction. Individuals born during the period January, 1946 
through January 1, 1949, and reached the age of 67 on or before December 31, 2015, may 
be eligible for a subtraction of $20,000 for single filers or $40,000 for joint filers against all 
income, rather than solely against pension and retirement income. Reminder: If filers do 
qualify for the Michigan Standard Deduction, they do not fill out form 4884 and do not 
qualify for a dividend/interest/capital gains deduction.  

 Line 26 – Dividend/interest/capital gains deduction for taxpayers 70 years and older. 
Deduction limited to $11,104 for single or married filing separately filers and $22,207 for 
joint filers, less any deduction for retirement benefits.  

 
Schedule W 

 Reminder: Table 1 – Report military pay even if no Michigan tax was withheld. 
 Reminder: Table 2 – Report military retirement benefits and railroad retirement benefits 

even if no Michigan tax was withheld. 
 
Voluntary Contributions Schedule (Form 4642):  

 Amber Alert Fund of Michigan has been removed. 
 

Pension Schedule (Form 4884): 

Added Section D 

 Line 28 – If filer or spouse received retirement benefits from employment exempt from the 
Social Security Act during the tax year, and the older of filer or spouse was born on or after 
January 1, 1953 but before January 2, 1954, enter all qualifying retirement and pension 
benefits received, up to $15,000.  If both spouses on a joint return have retirement benefits 
from employment exempt from the Social Security Act, the maximum deduction is $30,000. 
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2015 Home Heating Credit (MI-1040CR-7) Standard Allowance – Table A 

Your Exemption 
(from line 13h) 

 Standard 
Allowance 

 Income  
Ceiling 

     
0 or 1  $454  $12,956 

2  $614  $17,528 
3  $774  $22,099 
4  $935  $26,699 
5  $1,095  $31,270 
6  $1,255  $35,842 
  + $160 for each 

exemption over 6 
 + $4,571 for each 

exemption over 6 

 

Exemptions and Maximum Income for the Alternate Credit Computation–Table B 

Your Exemptions 
(from line 13h) 

 Maximum 
Income 

   
0 or 1  $13,727 

2  $18,472 
3  $23,222 

4 or more  $24,018 
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PROBLEM 1:   

HOMEOWNER 
 
Prepare an MI-1040CR for John and Joanna Powers, ages 66 and 68 respectively. They 
have no dependents nor do they qualify for any special exemptions.  Their Social Security 
numbers (SSNs) are 111-11-1111 and 222-22-2222, respectively. They owned and lived 
in their house at 312 W. Outer Drive, Detroit, MI 48106, for the entire year. The 
property tax bills on their homestead are: 
 

SUMMER 2015  WINTER 2015 
Total Taxes $475  Total Taxes $950
Special Assessment      
Sidewalk 

+ 175                         

Total 650  Total 950
Administrative Fee + 5  Administrative Fee + 9
Total 655  Total $959
State Equalized Value 55,000   
Taxable Value $31,000   

 
Their annual income is: 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY PENSION 
 

Paid by check or direct deposit $5,850 Gross Distributions $11,700 
Medicare premiums deducted 600 Original contributions 2,300
Total Benefits for 2015 $6,450 Taxable Benefits $9,400

 
They paid $450 health insurance premiums to Aplac.  

 
Assume the same facts as shown above and compute the homestead property tax credit 
for the Powers for each of the following fact changes: 

A. Both John and Joanna are age 64. The Social Security 
payments received are due to Joanna being considered 
totally and permanently disabled. 

 
B. The Powers’ taxable benefits from their pension now 

equals $18,100. 
 

C. Joanna passed away two years ago at age 66. John is 
currently 64, unmarried, only received the Social 
Security payments, and did not pay for health insurance 
to Aplac. 

 
D. John and Joanna moved into their son’s home on July 1, 

2015 and sold their home on September 1, 2015.  The 
son would not accept any rent from them for the 
remainder of the year. 
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PROBLEM 2:   

RENTER 
 
Susan Storm is age 49 and single. Susan has three dependents and does not qualify for 
any special exemptions. Her SSN is 999-99-9999. Her only income was from wages of 
$17,850. Susan paid no health insurance premiums, as health insurance is provided by her 
employer. She rented an apartment at 360 W. 18th Street, Holland, MI 49422 and paid 
$750 per month for the entire year. Her landlord is Bill Lux at 505 Main, Zeeland, MI 
49424. Prepare her MI-1040CR. 

 
Assume the same facts as shown above and compute the Homestead Property tax credit 
for Susan for each of the following fact changes: 

 
A. Susan rented an apartment at Holland City Towers for 

$800 per month. The apartment building pays a service 
fee to the Holland City Housing Commission in lieu of 
ad valorem property taxes. 

 
B. Susan lived in a mobile home park and paid lot rent of 

$840 per month, which included $3 per month specific 
tax. Her wages have also increased to $42,250 for the 
year. 

 
C. Susan lived six months in a complex that pays ad 

valorem property taxes and she paid $800 rent per 
month.  She also lived six months in a service fee 
complex where she paid $725 per month.  Her wages are 
$17,850.
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PROBLEM 3: 

SENIOR CITIZEN WITH LARGE RENT 
 
Marjorie Stone is age 82. Her SSN is 333-33-3333. She received a $6,750 pension from 
Toys-R-4-Everyone and $800 in interest income. Her annual Social Security statement 
revealed the following: 

 
 

 
Marjorie paid Blue Cross Insurance premiums of $275 per quarter. She rented an apartment 
in the Biltmore Towers at 216 Biltmore S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 47460, paying $625 per 
month for the entire year. Prepare the MI-1040CR for Marjorie. 

Paid by check or direct deposit $ 6,700 
Medicare premiums deducted 500 
Total Benefits for 2015 $ 7,200 
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PROBLEM 4: 

VETERAN USING MI-1040CR-2 
 

John Hogan is 59 years old and not married. His SSN is 444-44-4444. John received a 
disability pension from the Army of $7,900 for the year.  John’s percent of disability is 
25 percent. John also received wages of $40,000 for the year. 

 
The Property Tax Bill on his homestead at 54 Rutgers, Kalamazoo, MI 49001, contains 
the following information: 

 
Property Taxes $ 1,100 
Taxable Value $ 21,750 

 
Solution Note:   As General Claimant, he would receive no Property Tax Credit 

(see computation below). 
 

Property Taxes $   1,100 
THR ($47,900) x .035 - 1,677 

$0 
 

Therefore, compute the credit using the MI-1040CR-2. 
 
 

A. Assume the same facts as in the example above for John 
Hogan, except that he rented his home paying $600 per 
month for the entire year.  Also, assume that the 
combined non-homestead millage rate for Kalamazoo 
city and county is 59.5 mills. 

 
 
Solution Note: To prepare a credit for a renter using the CR-2 method, the 

combined millage rate for the city and county must be obtained 
by the taxpayer or tax preparer.  This figure may be obtained 
from the Treasurer/assessor’s office or by calculating it from tax 
bills of other taxpayers. 

 
 
 

NOTE: Beginning in 2013, disabled veterans who own their home, filed a State Tax 
Commission Affidavit for Disabled Veterans Exemption, and received a property tax 
exemption are not eligible for a homestead property tax credit on the exempt property. 
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PROBLEM 5: 

FAMILY INDEPENDENCE PAYMENT (FIP) / MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

(MDHHS) RECIPIENT 
 
Joan Street is 32 years old and her minor child lives with her.   She had the following 
household income: 

 
Wages $3,200 
FIP/MDHHS  6,800

 
Total Household Resources $10,000 

 
 
Per the 2015 Friend of the Court statement, the father of Joan’s child paid $2,000 of 
child support which is included in the $6,800 reported on the FIP/MDHHS statement. 
The property taxes on Joan Street’s home in 2015 are $890 and the taxable value is 
$23,350. Joan’s SSN is 666-66-6666 and her address is 1452 Dawson, Port Huron, MI 
48322. Prepare Joan’s MI-1040CR. 
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PROBLEM 6:   

HOME HEATING CREDIT 
 
Arthur and Millie Watson are ages 83 and 81, respectively. Arthur is deaf (cannot 
communicate through the spoken word) and Millie is blind (vision of 20/200 or less with 
corrective lenses in the better eye). They have no children or other dependents. 

 
Their income is as follows: 

 
• Social Security after the Medicare deduction is $680 per month. 
• Pension from Ajax Manufacturing is $5,750 for the year. 

 
The present heating statements from Consumers Energy for the 12-consecutive-month 
period of November 1, 2014 through October 31, 2015, is $1,970. They own their home 
and heat it with gas. Prepare a Home Heating Credit for the Watsons. 

 
Their SSNs are 888-88-8888 and 777-77-7777, and they reside in their home at 3607 
Weaver, Royal Oak, MI 48237. 

 
A. Compute the heating credit for the Watson’s if they 

moved on January 15, 2015 to 660 W. Foster, Ferndale, 
MI 48221, where heat is now included in their rent. 
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PROBLEM 7: 

MICHIGAN INCOME TAX RETURN WITH TIERED PENSION 

EXAMPLES 
 

Donald and Sandra Earle are ages 70 and 65 respectively. Their SSNs are 000-00-0000 
and 112-12-1212 and they reside at 200 River, Saginaw, MI 48000. They furnish 75 
percent of the support for Donald’s mother who has very little income of her own. 

 
Their income for the year is from the 
following: 

 
Donald’s Wages $ 25,500 
City of Highland Park 

Pension $ 12,850
Bank Interest 750

 
 

 

  
 
In addition, they want to donate $10 to the Children of Veterans Tuition Grant Program and 
$15 to the United Way Fund. 
 
Prepare a Michigan Income Tax Return based on the above information. 
 
Assume the same facts as shown above and complete a Michigan Income Tax Return for each 
of the following fact changes: 
 

A. Donald is 67 in 2015, they have no dependents. 
 

B. Donald and Sandra were both born in 1952. Sandra is 
blind and they have no dependents. 

 
C. Donald is single, 66 and deaf. He received a $100 

2014 city income tax refund which was included in 
his 2015 AGI, his pension is now $21,000, and he has 
no dependents. 

 
D. Donald is single, born in 1953, and fully supports 

his mother. He did not make voluntary contributions 
on his Michigan return. 

 

 
2015 W-2 Information 

Gross 
Wages 

Fed 
W/H 

State 
W/H 
 

55-2222222 Barker Products $25,500 $775 $625 
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PROBLEM 8: 

MICHIGAN INCOME TAX RETURN WITH INTEREST, 

DIVIDEND, AND CAPITAL GAIN SUBTRACTION 

 
George Burns is age 75 (b o r n in 1940) and his SSN is 555-55-5555. He lives at 
456 Fire Lane, Grand Rapids, MI 49505. His filing status is single. 

 
His income for the year is the following: 

 
Wages – Walmark (38-9999998) $5,800 
Interest from U.S. savings bonds 1,700 
Bank interest 1,500 
Dividend Income 8,500 
Social Security (non-taxable) 2,700 

 
Michigan Withholding $   260 

 
George rents his homestead in Grand Rapids and pays $750 per month.  
His landlord is Gibson Management in Kalamazoo, MI 49001. Prepare his 2015 
Michigan income tax return. 

 
Assume the same facts as shown above, with the exceptions listed in each scenario below, 
and complete a Michigan income tax return for each of the following fact changes: 
 

A. George has a roommate, they are both contracted to 
pay rent. Rent for the house is $900 monthly.  His 
dividend income increased to $9,700.  

 
B. George is age 66 (born in 1949) and pays $350 a month 

for rent. 
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PROBLEM 9:  

MICHIGAN INCOME TAX RETURN WITH PART-YEAR 

RESIDENTS 
 
Norman and Patty Duke moved to Michigan from Pennsylvania on June 1, 2015, and 
they reside at 41692 Brunswick Lane, Beverly Hills, MI 48112.  They are ages 51 (born in 
1964) and 44 (born in 1971) respectively, and their SSNs are 300-30-0300 and 
299-29-2929. The Dukes have three children ages 9, 13, and 15.  Their income for 2015 is 
as follows: 

 
Norm:             Wages: 
 Ajax, Inc. 

(Pennsylvania wages $65,000 
earned while a PA resident) 
(Michigan wages $20,000) 

$85,000 

 

Michigan withholding 785 
 

Interest received ($175 in Michigan) 500 
Lottery winnings (MI) $2,750

 

Patty: 
 

Not employed 
 

 
The Dukes sold their home in Pennsylvania on September 30, 2015 for a gain of $5,000. 
The gain is not included in AGI. 
The taxable value of their Michigan home is $85,000 and the taxes levied were $2,500. 
The school district code is 63010 and the number of days as Michigan residents is 214. 
 
Prepare the Dukes Michigan income tax return. 
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PROBLEM 10:  

MICHIGAN INCOME TAX RETURN 

PENSION EXAMPLES  
 
Thomas and Mary Garcia are married, filing joint. Thomas is 66 and Mary 63. Both retired in 
2013. She retired under provisions of a 401K retirement plan, which includes only contributions 
mandated by the plan to elicit an employer match. Thomas receives monthly payments from 
his State of Michigan pension. They did not itemize their federal tax return in 2015. Thomas 
also received nontaxable Social Security benefits.  

They have the following income for the year:  
  401K Distributions   $14,050 

State of MI Pension     13,500 
Social Security (non-taxable)     2,900 

 Bank Interest   $     650 
 
First, prepare a Michigan Income Tax Return based on the above information. 
 
Next, use the facts above but apply the situations listed below: 
 

A. Assume Thomas’ pension is from railroad retirement 
benefits. 

 
B. Assume Thomas’ pension is $10,000 from the Michigan 

National Guard and Mary’s 401K distributions for the 
year are $41,500. 

 
C. Mary’s 401K plan did not mandate that any contributions 

be made.  The plan also did not set a retirement age. 
 

D. Thomas was born in 1945. He rolled over his public 
pension into an IRA account in 2010. No other deposits 
have been made to the account besides the rollover. 
Thomas received $13,500 in distributions for the year 
from his IRA. 

 
E. Thomas is a retired firefighter who did not have Social 

Security withheld from his wages. 
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2015 Taxpayer Assistance Manual Supplement Answers 
 

PROBLEM 1 
 

The portion of property taxes that the Powers are able to claim on their MI-1040CR is 
$1,439.  Special assessments are excluded from this amount.  The administration fee 
may be claimed as long as it is 1% or less of the tax bill for that period. 

 
The Powers’ Total Household Resources (THR) is $14,800.  This includes $9,400 of 
their pension distribution, which is their gross distribution less their original 
contributions.  Also included is $5,850 of their Social Security benefits, Medicare 
premiums paid through Social Security should not be included in this amount.  The 
Powers are allowed to deduct the health insurance premium of $450 that they paid to 
Aplac on line 31 of the form. 

 
The Powers are entitled to a $921 homestead property tax credit. 

 
Calculation 

 
Summer Tax    $481 
Winter Tax       959 
Total Property Taxes          $1,440 

 
$14,800 THR x 3.5% = $518 taxes not eligible to claim 
$1,439 total property tax – $518 = $921 property tax credit 

 
Since the Powers are age 65 or older and their THR is below $21,000 they are not 
subject to the senior credit reduction rates and are entitled to 100% of the credit. 

 
Problem 1A 

 
Since the Powers are both under the age of 65 Joanna still qualifies to use the 
exemption for totally and permanently disabled. Their credit would now be calculated 
on line 39 of the MI-1040CR and not subject to any reduction rates.   Their credit 
amount would remain the same at $921. 

 
Problem 1B 

 
Since the Powers’ taxable benefits from their pension increased, their THR increased 
to $23,500 and led to a reduced rate for the senior reduction.  The amount of the credit 
they could claim decreased from 100% to 88% due to the senior credit reduction rates 
(refer to page 51 of the Taxpayer Assistance Manual).  The Powers would now receive 
$542 for their property tax credit. 
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Problem 1C 
 

Joanna was considered a “Senior Citizen” when she passed away. As long as John 
remains unmarried, he is also considered a “Senior Citizen”.  A claimant or spouse 
who is 65 or older or is a paraplegic, quadriplegic, hemiplegic, blind, deaf or is totally 
and permanently disabled, and their THR is $6,000 or less is allowed to use a lower 
percentage when calculating the amount of property taxes that are not refundable 
(refer to page 53 of the Taxpayer Assistance Manual).  In this case, John’s income is 
between $5,001 and $6,000; therefore, he would multiply his THR by 3% instead of 
3.5%.  Also, since his THR is below $21,000, he is entitled to 100% of the credit or 
the max of $1,200 and not subject to the senior credit reduction rate.  This results in 
John receiving the maximum credit allowed on the MI-1040CR ($1,200). 

 
Problem 1D 

 
The Powers were part-year homeowners; therefore, their property taxes must be 
prorated. Part 3 of the MI-1040CR must be completed to indicate what portion of 
property taxes the two are able to claim for the time that they lived at their home. The 
date that they moved in with their son, July 1st, should be used to calculate their 
portion of the property taxes eligible to be claimed.  The September 1st date is not 
allowed since they did not occupy the home for two months prior to the sale date.  
They occupied their home for 181 days. The amount of taxes that are eligible to be 
claimed and entered on line 10 is $720.  The Powers would receive a credit of $202. 
 
Calculation 
  
181 days occupied / 365 = 50% 
$1,449 property taxes x 50% = $720 
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PROBLEM 2 
 

Susan paid rent for 12 months at the same apartment.  Her wages were not enough to 
result in additional phase-out limits; as such, the credit she receives on her MI-
1040CR is $705. 
 
Calculation 
 
$9000 annual rent x 20% = $1,800 
$17,850 THR x 3.5% = 625 
$1,800 property taxes included in rent – 625 = 1,175 
$1,175 x 60% (general claimant) = $705 property tax credit 

 
Problem 2A 

 
Since Susan lived in service fee housing for 12 months she may claim 10% of her 
paid rent for property taxes.  This is calculated in Part 5 of the MI-1040CR.  The 
property taxes eligible to be claimed in this situation ($960) are entered on line 10 of 
the MI-1040CR; do not enter amounts on line 11 or 12 in this circumstance.  This 
results in Susan receiving a credit of $201. 
 
Rent: $800 per month x 12 mos. = $9,600 
$9,600 x 10% = $960 
$17,850 THR x 3.5% = $625 
$960 – 625 = $335 
$335 x 60% (general claimant) = $201 property tax credit 
 

Problem 2B 
 

Susan lived in a mobile home park for 12 months; as such, she pays a $3 per month 
specific property tax that is included in her lot rent.  If Susan’s lot had a shed and she 
was paying a property tax on that building she would also be able to claim any 
property taxes levied on the shed on her MI-1040CR. 

 
For Part 4, line 52, column E, the $36 (12 months x $3) has been subtracted from the 
total rent and instead included on line 10 (property taxes on a shed would also be 
included here).  Susan’s rent is calculated in Part 4, line 52 at $10,044 (($840 lot rent 
x 12 = $10,080) – $36 property taxes) and included on line 11 of the MI-1040CR. 

 
In addition, Susan’s wages increased, subjecting her to the THR phase-out rates.  In 
this case, Susan was only able to claim 80% of her credit, entered on line 43.  This 
means that Susan would be receiving a $272 credit. 

  
Mobile home specific tax = $3 x 12 months = $36 property taxes, line 10   
Rent: $840 x 12 months = $10,080 – $36 taxes = $10,044 x 20% = 2,009 
Total Rent & Tax: $36 tax + $2,009 rent = $2,045  
THR: $42,250 x 3.5% = $1,479 
$2,045 – 1,479 = $566 



 

20 

$566 x 60% (general claimant) = $340  
$340 x 80% (phase-out) = $272 final property tax credit 

 
Problem 2C 

 
For 6 months Susan lived in a facility that pays ad valorem property taxes.  This 
homestead is accounted for in Part 4 of the MI-1040CR.  The total rent paid at this 
location is $4,800 ($800/month x 6 months).  This amount should be entered on line 
11. 

 
For the remainder of the year (6 months) Susan lived in housing that pays service 
fees in lieu of ad valorem property tax.  This homestead is accounted for in Part 5 of 
the MI-1040CR.  The portion of the property taxes that Susan can claim for this 
facility is $435 (($725/month x 6 months) x 10%) and should be entered on line 10. 

 
The total amount of property taxes Susan is eligible to claim on line 13 is $1,395. 
Susan would receive a credit of $462. 
 
Calculation 
 
Property Tax: $725 rent per month x 6 months = $4,350, line 55  
$4,350 x 10% = $435 allowed (service fee housing), line 10  
Rent: $800 per month x 6 months = $4,800 
$4,800 x 20% = $960 rent allowed 
Total property tax in rent: $435 + 960 = $1,395 line 13 
THR: $17,850 x 3.5% = $625 
$1,395 – 625 = $770 
$770 x 60% (general claimant) = $462 final property tax credit 
 

 
 

 
  



 

21 

PROBLEM 3 
 

A claimant may be eligible for the Senior Citizen – Alternate Method for Renter 
calculation if they are over 65 and rent their home.  Worksheet 4 in the MI-1040 
instruction booklet should be completed to determine if this method or the regular 
method for calculating the Homestead Property Tax credit is more beneficial to the 
claimant(s). 

 
Marjorie’s credit computes as follows: 

 
Regular Method Alternate Method 

 
Rent/year $7,500 Rent/year $7,500 

X    0.2       
$1,500       

THR $13,150 THR $13,150 
X 3.5% X 0.035 X 40% X  0.4 

 
Amount Not Refundable -   460 Amount Not Refundable - 5,260 

 
Regular Method Credit $ 1,040 Alternate Method Credit $ 2,240* 

 
THR Calculation:  $   800   Interest 
 6,750   Pension 

 6,700    Social Security 
  (1,100)  Health insurance premium ($275 x 4 quarters) 
                                                $13,150   THR 

 
*Using the Alternate Method (see Worksheet 4 in the instruction booklet) allows 
for a $1,200 maximum credit, this should be entered on line 44. 

 
(Another example of this calculation can be found on page 71 of the Taxpayer 
Assistance Manual.) 
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PROBLEM 4 
 

John is allowed a $53 credit after phase-out reductions are applied.  Keep in mind 
that the percent of disability (determined by the Veteran Administration) is needed 
in order to determine the Taxable Value Allowance (TVA) found in Table 2 in the 
MI-1040CR-2 instruction booklet.  After looking at the table and taking into account 
John’s percent of disability, it is found that he will have a $3,500 taxable value 
allowance.  Also, since John’s THR is $47,900 his credit amount is reduced to 30%. 

 
Calculation 

 
$3,500 TVA (from Table 2) / $21,750 TV = 16% refundable 
$1,100 property taxes x 16% = $176  
$176 x 30% phase-out percentage = $53 final property tax credit 

 
Note:  If John received a Disabled Veterans Exemption on his home, the exempt property 
would not be eligible to claim when computing the homestead property tax credit. 

 
 
Problem 4A 

 
Veterans who rent must complete Part 2 of the MI-1040CR-2 to compute their taxable 
value.  John’s taxable value allowance (TVA) remained the same, but his taxable 
value of his homestead changed to $24,202 ($7,200 annual rent x 20% = $1,440 / 
.0595).  His percent of tax relief is also reduced to 14% ($3,500 TVA/ $24,202). John 
is allowed a $61 credit after phase-out reductions are applied ($1,440 x 14% = $202 
x 30% = $61). 
 
(Another example of this calculation can be found on page 73 of the Taxpayer 
Assistance Manual.) 
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PROBLEM 5 
 

Joan received FIP/MDHHS benefits in 2015.  She must prorate her credit to reflect 
the ratio of income from other sources to total household resources.  Use the MI-
1040CR Worksheet 3 in the instruction booklet when computing the proration.   Joan 
would receive a total credit of $168 for 2015. 

 
Calculation 

 
Any child support included with FIP/MDHHS income should be separately reported 
as child support on MI-1040CR, line 22. 
 
$6,800 FIP/MDHHS statement – $2,000 child support = $4,800 FIP/MDHHS income 
 
$10,000 x 3.5% = $350  
$890 property tax - $350 = $540 
$540 x 60% (general claimant) = $324  
 
$10,000 THR – $4,800 FIP/MDHHS = $5,200 non FIP/MDHHS income 
$5,200 / $10,000 THR = 52% 
$324 x 52% FIP/MDHHS proration = $168 property tax credit 
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PROBLEM 6 
 

Arthur and Millie’s THR is $13,910.  They are allowed four exemptions on their MI-
1040CR-7, two are personal exemptions and two are for Arthur’s deafness and 
Millie’s blindness.  With four exemptions, the Watsons’ standard allowance from 
Table A, page 19 is $935 and should be entered on line 35 of the MI-1040CR-7.  It 
is  important  to  take note  of the  income  ceilings  for  each  Standard  allowance  
and Alternative credit when preparing the MI-1040CR-7.  The Watsons’ THR does 
not exceed the income ceiling for either the Standard credit ($26,699) or the 
Alternative credit method ($24,018).   Since their income is below the income ceiling, 
their claim is for twelve months, and their heat is not included in their rent, they 
qualify to use either method.  Both methods should be computed when claimant(s) 
qualify to take either credit and the larger amount should be used for the credit.   In 
this case, the Watsons would receive a larger credit by using the standard credit 
amount (line 37), which computes to $448, instead of the alternative credit amount 
(line 42), which computes to $308. The standard credit amount of $448 will give 
Arthur and Millie a larger credit. Please note, the credit amount for both methods is 
further reduced by the percentage of federal home heating assistance funds available 
for this year. Therefore, the credit is subject to further proration.  

 
 
Problem 6A 

 
In this scenario, Arthur and Millie moved into a new homestead where their heating 
costs are included in their rent.   Box 7 should be checked to indicate that their heating 
costs are included in their rent.  Since the Watsons’ heat was included in their rent, 
they are no longer eligible to use the Alternate credit method when calculating their 
credit on the MI-1040CR-7.  The Watsons’ standard allowance and THR remained 
the same, but now they must complete line 38 and reduce their computed standard 
credit by 50 percent.  The Watsons’ standard credit amount computes to $224. Please 
note, this amount is further reduced by the percentage of the federal home heating 
assistance funds available for this year. Therefore, the credit is subject to further 
proration.  
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PROBLEM 7 
 

The couple’s AGI is $39,100, which includes wages ($25,500), pension ($12,850), 
and bank interest ($750). The Earles should claim three standard exemptions. Since 
Donald’s mother does not provide more than 50% of her own support, she is 
considered their dependent. 

 
The  Earles  do  not  have  any  additions  from  Schedule  1,  but  they  do  have 
subtractions totaling $13,600, which are entered on the MI-1040, line 13.  The 
subtractions are determined as follows: 
 

(1) Since one or more of the Earles were born before 1946, the Michigan 
Pension Schedule Form 4884 should be completed.  The questions in 
“Which Section of Form 4884 Should I Complete?” in the MI-1040 
instruction booklet (page 16) are used to determine which section on page 2 
of Form 4884 should be completed.  After answering the questions, it was 
determined that the Earles should complete section A of Form 4884.  The 
$12,850 amount from Section A, line 15 is entered on Schedule 1, line 25 
 

(2) Due to one of the Earles being born before 1946, they are eligible to take a 
$750 Dividend/Interest/Capital gains deduction.  This is entered on Schedule 
1, line 26. 

 
The Earles had $625 state withholding from their wages from Barker Products; 
therefore, Schedule W should be completed to demonstrate the amount of each 
withholding.  The amount from Schedule W should be entered on the MI-1040 line 
29. 

 
The Earles have also chosen to make monetary contributions to a few programs. 
Therefore, a Michigan Voluntary Contributions Schedule Form 4642 should be 
completed with the $25 amount entered on the MI-1040, line 22.   
 
The Earles are entitled to a $26 refund in 2015. 

 
Calculation 

 
$39,100 AGI – 13,600 Schedule 1 subtraction = $25,500 income subject to tax 
$25,500 – 12,000 exemption allowance = $13,500 taxable income 
$13,500 x 4.25% = $574 tax 
$574 tax + $25 voluntary contributions = $599 total tax liability 
$599 tax liability – 625 Michigan withholding = $26 refund 

 
Problem 7A 

 
The Earles have no dependents so they are allowed two exemptions.  Donald was 
born in 1948; he is grouped into Tier 2 for retirement benefits.  When Tier 2 filers 
reach the age of 67, they become eligible for the Michigan Standard Deduction. The 
Earles can take a $40,000 standard deduction, which can be used against all income.  
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Unlike in the previous scenario when we calculated an amount on Form 4884, the 
Earles should now complete Schedule 1, line 24, and should not complete Form 4884.  
In 2015, the Michigan Standard Deduction is $20,000 for single filers and $40,000 
for married filing jointly (limited by any subtraction for military compensation and 
pension benefits and railroad or Michigan National Guard pension benefits).  The 
Earles are able to deduct all of their income ($39,100); leaving the Earles with $25 
tax liability from their voluntary contributions.  The Earles are due a refund of $600 
for 2015. 

 
Problem 7B 

 
Sandra and Donald Earle are allowed two standard exemptions and one special 
exemption for an exemption allowance of $10,600.  Their AGI remains the same at 
$39,100.  Both the Earles were born in 1952 which means that that they are in Tier 
2. Again, the questionnaire on page 16 of the MI-1040 instruction booklet should be 
completed to determine which section of Form 4884 should be completed. It is 
determined that they should complete Section C. The Earles are allowed to report 
$12,850, the deductible amount of their pension, on Schedule 1, line 25. 

 
The Earles’ tax liability exceeds their refundable credits and payments; therefore, 
they owe $65 to the State of Michigan ($665 tax + $25 voluntary contributions - $625 
withholding). 

 
Problem 7C 

 
In this scenario, the taxpayer is single and has a special exemption.  He is eligible for 
a $6,600 exemption allowance.  AGI is $47,350 (due to the inclusion of the taxable 
city income tax refund and the increase in pension). The city income tax refund was 
included in federal AGI and is allowed as a subtraction on Schedule 1, line 16. 

 
The taxpayer was born in 1949, which puts him in Tier 2.  A single taxpayer in Tier 
2 is allowed a $20,000 pension deduction.  The taxpayer received $21,000 for his 
pension in 2015; therefore, $1,000 of that pension is taxable. Again, the questionnaire 
on page 16 of the MI-1040 should be completed, after completion it is determined 
that Section C of Form 4884 should be filled out.  The amount of $20,000 from  Form  
4884  should  be  entered  on  the  Schedule  1,  line  25. The $20,100 Schedule 1 total 
is carried to the MI-1040 line 13. 

 
The taxpayer had the same withholdings and volunteer contributions as the previous 
scenarios.  The  taxpayer  had  a  higher  pension  distribution  and  $1,000  of  the 
$21,000 distributed is taxable by the State of Michigan. This increased the taxpayer’s 
total tax liability to $903 ($878 tax + $25 voluntary contributions). There were no 
taxes withheld from the pension throughout the year so the withholdings remain the 
same at $625 for the wages received.  This means that the taxpayer now owes $278 
on their MI-1040. 
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Problem 7D 
 

Donald’s AGI is $39,100 and he claims $8,000 for two exemption allowances. He is 
born in 1953, which puts him in Tier 3 in regard to his pension.  Those in Tier 3 are 
generally not allowed a pension deduction, meaning their entire pension is taxable.  
Form 4884 states that anyone born after December 31, 1952 is not entitled to a 
pension subtraction and should not complete Form 4884.**  Donald has no items to 
subtract on the Schedule 1 and the schedule is not needed. 

 
Donald’s tax liability is $1,322, resulting in a tax due of $697. Since the taxpayer is 
not entitled to a pension subtraction, he should have had income tax withheld from 
his pension benefits or he should have remitted estimated tax payments during the 
year. Anyone who can reasonably expect their annual tax amount to exceed their 
withholdings and credits by more than $500 should make estimated tax payments. 
Failure to do so may result in additional interest and penalties.  In this case, Donald 
should have made estimated tax payments to the Michigan Department of Treasury 
since his tax due exceeds $500. 
 

 
** If Donald’s pension benefits were from employment with a government agency that was 
not covered under the Social Security Act, he would be eligible to deduct up to $15,000 of his 
pension benefits.  He would complete Section D of Form 4884.   

Individuals who reach age 62 in 2015 (born in 1953) who receive pension benefits from 
employment with governmental agencies not covered by the  Social Security Act, may be 
eligible for up to a $15,000 pension subtraction or up to $30,000 if both spouses on a jointly 
filed return received pension benefits from an “uncovered” governmental agency. 

  



 

28 

PROBLEM 8 
 

George’s AGI is $17,500; which includes wages, interest from U.S. saving bonds, 
bank interest, and dividend income.  George is allowed to subtract the interest from 
U.S. savings bonds on the Schedule 1, line 10.  Since George was born in 1940 (Tier 
1), he is allowed a subtraction for his dividend, interest, and capital gain income on 
Schedule 1, line 26.  In 2015, the maximum deduction for a single person is $11,104;  
therefore,  George  is  allowed  to  subtract  all  of  his  bank  interest  and dividend 
income for a total of $10,000 on the MI-1040 line 13. 

 
George had wages and income tax was withheld from his wages.  The amount 
withheld should be entered on the Schedule W; the total of the Schedule W should be 
carried to the MI-1040 line 29. 

 
A Homestead Property Tax Credit should be completed for George.  He should 
include his wages, all interest and dividend income, and his nontaxable social 
security income in his Total Household Resources (THR), totaling $20,200.  Part 1, 
Section A of the form, should be completed since George is a senior claimant.  Part 
4 of the form should be used to report George’s rent.  His THR is below $21,000 and 
is not subject to the senior credit reduction. George would receive the full amount of 
his credit, which computes to $1,093. This amount is reported on MI-1040 line 25. 

 
On his MI-1040, George has a total tax liability of $77, a property tax credit of 
$1,093, and Michigan tax withholdings of $260.  George is eligible for a refund 
of $1,276. 
 
Calculation 

 
$17,500 AGI - $4,000 exemption allowance - $11,700 Schedule 1 subtraction = 
$1,800 taxable income. 
$1,800 x 4.25% = $77 tax 
$77 tax – $1,093 property tax credit – $260 withholding = $1,276 refund 

 
Problem 8A 

 
In this problem, George has a roommate who is also contracted to pay rent, rent was 
increased to $900 monthly, and his dividend income increased to $9,700. 

 
George’s AGI is $18,700. On the Schedule 1, George would still subtract the 
$1,700 savings bond income on line 10 and he would have a deduction on line 26 for 
dividend, interest, and capital gain income. George’s bank interest, and dividend 
income is $11,200. George is a single claimant and may only deduct a maximum of 
$11,104 for the senior dividend, interest, and capital gain deduction; therefore, $96 
($11,200 - $11,104) of the income is actually taxable.  After totaling Schedule 1, 
$12,804 ($11,104 + $1,700) is carried to the MI-1040 line 13. 
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Again, George reported $260 in withholdings on Schedule W, which is carried to the 
MI-1040 line 29. 

 
For the Homestead Property Tax Credit, George now has a roommate who is also 
contracted to pay rent. George may claim $450 a month or $5,400 for the year, not 
the entire $900 a month. With the increase in dividend income, George’s THR is 
increased to $21,400. George is now subject to the senior credit reduction rates.   
George can only claim 96% of the credit (entered on line 37). George’s property tax 
credit computes to $318 and is carried to the MI-1040 line 25. 

 
George has an increased total tax liability of $81, due to the dividend income that 
could not be deducted, a property tax credit of $318, and Michigan tax withheld of 
$260. George is entitled to a refund of $497. 

 
Problem 8B 

 
In this scenario, George’s age has changed to 66 and his rent has been reduced. 
George’s AGI is $17,500.  Due to George’s age, he is no longer allowed to take the 
deduction for dividend, interest, and capital gains income for those who are born after 
1946. This means that his $10,000 of bank interest and dividend income is completely 
taxable, but he is still able to deduct his interest from savings bonds on Schedule 1, 
line 10. The amount of $1,700 should be carried from the Schedule 1 to the MI-1040 
line 13.  
 
George reported $260 in withholdings on Schedule W, which should be carried to the 
MI-1040 line 29. 

 
George’s rent is now $350 a month for a total of $4,200 for the year.  His THR is 
$20,200 so he is not subject to the senior credit reduction rates. George is entitled to 
a $133 credit, which should be carried to the MI-1040, line 25. 
 
Since none of George’s bank interest or dividend income was deductible he has an 
increased tax liability of $502. His property tax credit is $133 and his withholding 
remained the same at $260. George has a tax due of $109. George’s credit and 
withholding were not enough to offset his total tax liability. 
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PROBLEM 9 
 

The Dukes were part-year residents; they have five standard exemptions for a total of 
$20,000 (which will be prorated later).  Their AGI is $88,250.  Included in their AGI 
is wages ($85,000), interest income ($500), and lottery winnings ($2,750). 

 
Their  AGI  must  be  divided  into  an  amount  that  was  earned  and  allocated  to 
Michigan and an amount that was earned and allocated to Pennsylvania.  The Schedule 
NR allows the taxpayer to appropriately designate income attributable to Michigan 
from income attributable to Pennsylvania. After all income has been considered, 
Michigan income totals $22,925 (Column B) and Pennsylvania income totals $65,325 
(Column C). The income attributable to Pennsylvania must be carried to Schedule 1, 
line 13 so that a subtraction can be made from AGI; from Schedule 1 the amount is 
carried to the MI-1040, line 13. 

 
Part-year residents must prorate their Michigan exemption allowance based on the 
ratio of Michigan income to total income, computed on Schedule NR. The Dukes are 
allowed an exemption allowance of $5,200 as a standard deduction since they were 
part-year residents ($22,925 / $88,250 = 26% x $20,000). This amount should be 
entered on the MI-1040, line 15. 

 
The amount of income tax withheld from Michigan earnings is reported on the 
Schedule W and carried to the MI-1040 line 29. 

 
Since the Dukes lived in Michigan for at least six months, they are eligible to claim a 
Michigan Homestead Property Tax Credit.  The property taxes must be prorated for 
the time that the Dukes owned and occupied their new home in Michigan.  Part 3 of 
the MI-1040CR should be completed.  The Dukes were Michigan residents for 214 
days and are able to claim $1,475 of the property taxes that were levied on their home 
in 2015 (214/365 = 59% x $2,500). Also, the Dukes were part-year residents so they 
must annualize their THR to determine if they are subject to phase-out reductions.  
Their THR is $27,625 consisting of $20,000 wages earned while a 
Michigan resident, the $175 interest and $5,000 capital gain received while a 
Michigan resident, and the $2,450 lottery winnings (the amount that exceeds $300). 
The gain from the sale of their home in Pennsylvania is included in THR because the 
sale and the gain occurred while the Dukes were Michigan residents. 

 
The annualized amount would compute to $43,924 (214/365 x $27,625 = $16,299 + 
$27,625).  Please note: the annualized THR of $43,924 does not appear anywhere on 
the MI-1040CR.  It is only used for reference to determine if the Dukes must reduce 
their property tax credit under the phase-out reduction rates. Because the phase-out 
reductions begin with a THR of $41,001, the Dukes are subject to phase-out reduction 
rates.  The Dukes must refer to Table B (refer to the Phase-Out Chart on page 54 of 
the Taxpayer Assistance Manual) to determine the percentage of credit for which they 
are eligible.  That percentage, 70%, is entered on the MI-1040CR line 43. The Dukes 
are eligible for a $214 property tax credit, which is carried to the MI-1040 line 25. 
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The Dukes’ total tax liability is $753, their property tax credit is $214, and their 
Michigan tax withheld is $785.  The Dukes are entitled to a $246 refund. 

 
Calculation 
 
$  88,250  AGI  
  (65,325)  Out-of-state income  
    (5,200)  Exemption allowance  
 $ 17,725  Taxable income 
    x  4.25% Tax rate 
 $      753 Tax liability 

         (214)  Property tax credit 
         (785)  Withholding 

$      246 
 

Exemption allowance 
 

22,925 Michigan income / 88,250 total income = 26% 
5 allowances x $4,000 = $20,000 x 26% = $5,200 

 
Annualized THR 

 
214 days in Michigan / 365 days = 59% 
$27,625 THR x 59% = $16,299 
$27,625 THR + $16,299 = $43,924 annualized THR 
70% phase-out reduction 
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PROBLEM 10  
 

Thomas is 66 and Mary is 63.  The couple’s AGI is $28,200, which includes the 
following: 
  

401K Distributions  14,050 
          Public Pension   13,500 

Bank interest        650 
 
The Garcias are in Tier 2 for retirement benefits, as such, their retirement benefit 
subtraction is limited to $40,000 for a joint return. Since the Garcias fall within Tier 
2, Form 4884 should be completed. Use the questions in “Which Section of Form 4884 
Should I Complete?” in the MI-1040 instruction booklet (page 16) to determine which 
section on page 2 of Form 4884 should be completed. After answering the questions, 
it was determined that the couple should complete Section C of Form 4884. The 
$27,550 amount from line 27, Section C is entered on Schedule 1, line 25.  
 
The couple is ineligible for a dividends, interest, or capital gains deduction as they 
were both born after 1945. Regardless, the Garcias do not owe any tax and are not 
entitled to a refund this tax year.  
 
Calculation: 
  
$28,200 AGI– $8,000 Exemption – $27,550 Subtractions = $0 income subject to tax 
 

Problem 10A 
 

Thomas and Mary’s AGI remains the same.  As before, Thomas and Mary are in Tier 
2. Thomas’ pension is from the railroad which is not subject to taxation in Michigan.  
Thomas’ pension of $13,500 should be subtracted from their taxable income on 
Schedule 1, line 11.   

 
Form 4884 should be completed and only Mary’s 401K distributions should be listed. 
Using the questions in “Which Section of Form 4884 Should I Complete?” in the MI-
1040 instruction booklet (page 16), to determine which section (A, B, C, or D) to 
complete, on Form 4884. After answering the questions, it was determined that 
Section C of Form 4884 should be completed.  Since Thomas has railroad retirement 
benefits, the Garcias must complete Worksheet 2 in the MI-1040 instruction book.  
This Worksheet is used to determine if the Garcias’ pension limit subtraction of 
$40,000 must be further reduced by Thomas’ railroad retirement benefits. In this 
scenario, the Garcias would still be allowed a pension subtraction limit of $40,000. 
Mary’s 401K distributions of $14,050 are less than the maximum pension deduction 
allowed; $14,050 would be entered on Form 4884, line 27 and transferred to Schedule 
1, line 25.  Once again, the Garcias do not owe any tax and are not entitled to a refund 
for the tax year. 
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Problem 10B 
 

In this scenario, the Garcias’ AGI increased to $52,150. Michigan National Guard 
and military retirement benefits are exempt from taxation in Michigan.  Thomas’ 
$10,000 Michigan National Guard pension is subtracted on Schedule 1, line 11.   
         

As in the previous scenarios, Thomas and Mary are in Tier 2 in regard to retirement 
benefit deductions. Form 4884 should be completed and only Mary’s 401K 
distributions should be listed. The questions in “Which Section of Form 4884 Should 
I Complete?” in the MI-1040 instruction booklet (page 16) should be used to 
determine which section (A, B, C, or D) to complete, on Form 4884. After answering 
the questions, it is determined that the couple should complete Section C of Form 
4884. Since Thomas has a pension from the Michigan National Guard, the Garcias 
must complete Worksheet 2 in the MI-1040 instruction book.  After completing 
Worksheet 2, it is found that the Garcias would still receive a pension deduction limit 
of $40,000.  As Mary’s distributions are $41,500, the maximum pension deduction of 
$40,000 should be entered on line 27. This total should be transferred to Schedule 1, 
line 25. The total subtractions reported on Schedule 1 are $50,000; this total should be 
transferred to line 13 of the MI-1040. The Garcias would not owe any tax nor would 
they be receiving a refund for the tax year. 

 
Problem 10C 
 

The Garcias’ AGI is $28,200. It is important to note that distributions from a 401(k) 
or 403(b) plan are qualified distributions to the extent that they are attributable to the 
employer’s contributions and employee’s contributions that were mandated by the 
plan.  An employee’s contribution required by the plan to elicit an employer match is 
considered mandated.    Amounts  distributed  from  a  401(k)  or  403(b)  plan  that  
allows  the employee to set the amount of compensation to be deferred and does not 
prescribe retirement age or years of service do not qualify as pension benefits.  
Therefore, Mary’s distributions from her 401K are not considered a qualifying pension 
eligible for subtraction from taxable income.  Mary’s 401K distributions for the year 
are not allowed as a subtraction from AGI and her 401K distributions would not be 
included on Form 4884. 
 

Thomas’ pension from the State of Michigan is a qualified pension is eligible for 
subtraction from taxable income. The Garcias had no additions for Schedule 1. Form 
4884 should be completed and only Thomas’ pension should be listed. Using the 
questions in “Which Section of Form 4884 Should I Complete?” in the MI-1040 
instruction booklet (page 16) to determine which section (A, B, C, or D) to complete, 
on Form 4884. After answering the questions, it was determined that the couple should 
complete Section C of Form 4884.  As the Garcias are in Tier 2 in this scenario, their 
maximum pension deduction is $40,000. Thomas’ pension of $13,500 is less than the 
maximum deduction and should be included on line 27 of Form 4884.  This total 
should be transferred to Schedule 1, line 25.  As there are no other subtractions, the 
total subtraction of $13,500 is transferred to the MI-1040, line 13. 
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Mary did not have taxes withheld from her 401K and the Garcias did not pay estimated 
taxes 
Calculation: 
 

$28,200  AGI 
(13,500) Subtractions 
  (8,000) Exemptions 
 $6,700  Taxable Income 
 
$6,700 Taxable income X 4.25% Tax rate = $285 Tax liability 
 
The Garcias will have a tax due of $285 for the tax year. 

 
Problem 10D 

 
Magen v Dep’t of Treasury, Mich App, Docket No. 302771 (2013) may affect the tax 
treatment of distributions from an individual retirement account (IRA) created by a 
rollover of funds from another retirement plan.  The published decision held that 
distributions from an IRA are not taxable where the entire principle in the IRA 
originally came from a tax-free (public) retirement plan, now subject to the restrictions 
for age or year of birth.   
  

As Thomas was born in 1945 and is considered to be a Tier 1 retiree with a public 
pension that is potentially exempt from Michigan tax, a “look through” for Thomas’ 
funding of the IRA is required. The original pension was from the State of Michigan, 
making it a public pension. An IRA funded with pretax dollars is a federally taxable 
pension, as is a 401K rolled into an IRA.  With consideration to Magen, Thomas’ IRA 
distributions attributed to the rollover would be characterized the same as a public 
pension and would be exempt from tax in Michigan. 
 
The Garcias would use the questions in “Which Section of Form 4884 Should I 
Complete?” in the MI-1040 instruction booklet (page 16) to determine which section 
(A, B, C, or D) to complete, on Form 4884. After answering the questions, it is 
determined that the couple would complete Section A of Form 4884.  Thomas’ IRA 
distribution of $13,500 should be entered as a public pension on Form 4884, line 9.  
Mary’s 401K distribution of $14,050 should be entered on Form 4884, line 11.  The 
total retirement and pension benefits subtraction calculates to $27,550. This total 
should be transferred to Schedule 1, line 25.  Although the Garcias are considered Tier 
1 retirees, they do not qualify for the interest, dividends, and capital gains deduction 
on the Schedule 1.  The maximum interest, dividends, and capital gains deduction 
allowed must be reduced by public and private pension and retirement benefits entered 
on Schedule 1, line 25. A subtraction of $27,550 should be carried to the MI-1040, 
line 13.  The Garcias would not have a tax due for the tax year, nor would they receive 
a refund. 
  

Include with the return documentation showing the original funding source for the 
IRA to confirm its status as a public pension. 
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Problem 10E 

 
The Garcias’ AGI is $28,200. Taxpayers born between January 1, 1946 and January 
1, 1954, who have reached the age of 62 and who receive, or whose spouse receives, 
pension or retirement benefits from employment with a governmental agency that was 
not covered by the federal Social Security Act (SSA) are entitled to a greater 
retirement/pension deduction or Michigan Standard Deduction. The maximum 
pension deduction limit or Michigan Standard Deduction is increased by $15,000 for 
each individual that receives an SSA exempt retirement or pension.  The “uncovered” 
taxpayer may deduct a maximum of $35,000 in pension income on a single return and 
a maximum of $55,000 in pension income on a joint return (a maximum of $70,000 is 
allowed on a joint return if both spouses receive pensions that were “uncovered”).   
 
Thomas’ pension as a firefighter was received from his previous employment with a 
local governmental agency that was not covered under the Social Security Act (taxes 
for social security were never deducted from his wages).  The Garcias qualify for an 
increased pension deduction limitation of $55,000 as they are filing a joint return and 
one of them had an “uncovered” pension.  When completing Schedule 1, the Garcias 
would normally complete line 23, but in this scenario they should also check box C 
(Check if SSA Exempt) to indicate that Thomas’ pension is SSA exempt. 
 
Thomas and Mary would use the questions in “Which Section of Form 4884 Should I 
Complete?” in the MI-1040 instruction booklet (page 16) to determine which section 
(A, B, C, or D) to complete, on Form 4884. After answering the questions, it is 
determined that the couple should complete Section C of Form 4884.  It is important 
to note that the instructions for Form 4884, line 27, state that if Schedule 1, line 23C 
and or 23F was completed, the individual(s) must account for the increase in their 
maximum pension deduction limit on this line. The total of Thomas and Mary’s 
pensions is $27,550, which is less than the maximum pension deduction limit of 
$55,000. Their total retirement benefits of $27,550 should be entered on Form 4884, 
line 27, and transferred to Schedule 1, line 25.  The total subtraction of $27,550 is 
transferred to the MI-1040 line 13.  The Garcias’ tax return for the year would show a 
zero tax due and a zero refund. 
 
Documentation verifying a pension is “uncovered” should be included, especially in 
situations where the additional $15,000 pension exemption is utilized. 
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STATE TEST 
 

The following pages are a test that may be used by coordinators and instructors to 
give their volunteers extra training and/or evaluate their volunteers’ readiness to 
prepare Michigan tax returns. 

 
Note:  Treasury does not require that a volunteer pass this test prior to preparing 

tax returns. For answers to this test, coordinators or instructors may contact 
the Volunteer Helpline at 1-888-860-8389, or for any technical questions, 
call (517) 636-4230.  Please select option 1 at the voice menu. 
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TOTAL HOUSEHOLD RESOURCES EXERCISE 
 

Which of the following must be included in Total Household Resources? 
Yes (Y) or No (N) 

 
 

A. Gambling winnings in another state 
B. Proceeds received from a reverse mortgage 
C. Social Security received for a minor child 
D. Gain on the sale of a residence 
E. Original contributions shown on a 1099R 
F. Workers’ compensation 
G. Chore services received 
H. Relief in kind (nongovernmental under $300) 
I. Alimony received 
J. Child support received 
K. Winnings from a casino in Michigan 
L. FIP paid to grandparents for care of grandchildren 
M.  Cancellation of debt 
N. Unemployment compensation 
O. Scholarships 
P. Food stamps (Bridge card) 
Q. Military pay 
R. Life insurance proceeds from death of a spouse 
S. Tax exempt Michigan municipal bond interest 
T. Gross income of mother-in-law who lives rent free in taxpayer’s 

home 
U. State income tax refund received 
V. Savings account withdrawals 
W.  Assistance received from daughter to pay rent or mortgage 

Which of the following may be deducted from Total Household Resources?  (Y or N) 

A. Gambling losses 
B. Medical insurance premiums paid by the taxpayer 
C. A net operating loss 
D. Roth IRA contributions 
E. Alimony paid 
F. Child support paid 
G. Contributions to an Illinois public radio station 
H. Moving expenses (out of Michigan) 
I. A net loss on the sale of a personal residence ($3,000 or less)    
J. Claim of right (deducted from AGI) 
K. Self-employment tax deduction 
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MULTIPLE CHOICE 

 
(Choose the correct answer from the following, circling the corresponding letter) 

 
1.   The maximum homestead property tax yearly refund is? 

 
A. $1,300 B. $2,000 C. $1,200 D. $1,500 

 
2.   After April 18, 2016, which is the oldest year property tax return a taxpayer 

may still file for a refund? 
 

A. 2011 B. 2013 C. 2009 D. 2012 
 

3.   How long during the year must a taxpayer be a resident of Michigan to claim 
a homestead credit? 

 
A. Full year B. 6 months C. 6 weeks D. No requirement 

 
4.   Which of the following may not be claimed on the Form MI-1040CR? 

 
A. County taxes 
B. Collection fees up to 1 percent of property taxes 
C. Property taxes from prior years 

 
5.   How  much  is  the  homestead  property tax refund  for  a  Senior  Citizen  

who  has  total household resources of $12,500 and pays annual rent of 
$5,400? (Assume the property is taxable and the rent does not include meals or 
other services). 

 
A. $385 B. $642 C. $800 D. $400 

 
6.   A single taxpayer who lives in a nursing home and still owns a vacant family 

home may claim which of the following on his or her Form MI-1040CR? 
 

A.  Nursing home taxes only 
B.   Family home taxes only 
C.   Both the taxes on the nursing home and the family home 
D.  The larger of the taxes on the nursing home or the family home 

 
7.   If a taxpayer moves into a new home on August 1, 2015, and is billed $500 for 

summer taxes on the home sold and $1,000 in winter taxes on the home 
purchased, how much of the property taxes may the taxpayer claim for credit? 
(Assume the winter taxes on the home sold were $1,500 and the summer taxes 
on the home purchased were $400.) 

 
A. $1,700 B $1,852 C. $1,748 D. $1,200 
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8.   Which of the following is not included in household income? 
 

A.  Social Security 
B.   Unemployment 
C.   Food stamps (Bridge card) 
D.  Disability income 

 
9.   In 2015, Linda Little, who was born before 1946, filed a federal return as 

a single individual. Included in her AGI was $38,000 received from the State 
of Michigan retirement plan and $15,000 received from a GM retirement plan. 
What is Linda’s total allowable pension subtraction? 

 
A. $45,120 B. $49,811 C. $53,000 D. 38,000 

 
10. Which of the following may not be subtracted on the Form MI-1040? 

 
A. U.S. Treasury Bond interest 
B. Business income earned in another state 
C. Military pay 
D. Charitable contributions 

 
11. Jim Dandy, a single individual age 76, received a pension of $8,500 from the 

city of Gladwin during the year, interest income of $2,850, and dividend income 
of $1,200. What is his Senior Citizen Interest, Dividend, and Capital Gain 
deduction? 

 
A. $4,450 B. $11,104 C. $4,050 D. $2,604 
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TEST PROBLEM 
 
Jon and Andrew Adams are brothers who live together in the house they inherited from 
their father at 31506 Greenway, Swartz Creek, Michigan  48345.  Jon’s SSN is 202- 
22-2222 and Andrew’s is 303-33-3333. Jon’s age is 83 and Andrew’s age is 85, and they 
do not qualify for any special exemptions. Their incomes are as follows: 
 

 Jon Andrew 
Social Security $4,850 $7,550 
Pension: 
     Ford Motor 
     IRA 

 2,900
 
 

5,250 
Interest and Dividends 250 1,585 

 
Assume for this exercise that the social security income was not included in their federal 
AGI. The property taxes on their house are $2,300 and the taxable value is $60,000. 
They heat with gas and were billed $1,770 for the year ending October 31, 2015. The 
heat is in Andrew’s name. 

 
Prepare the necessary Michigan tax forms for the two brothers. 


