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2016 MI-1040ES Additional Instructions and Worksheet

Nonpayment, Late Payment, or Underpayment of
Estimates

If you fail to make required estimated payments, pay
late or underpay in any quarter, Treasury may charge
penalty and interest. Penalty is 25 percent of the
tax due (minimum $25) for failing to file estimated
payments or 10 percent (minimum $10) for failing
to pay enough with your estimates or paying late.
Interest is 1 percent above the prime rate in Michigan
and is computed monthly. The rate is adjusted on
July 1 and January 1. For current interest rates, visit
www.michigan.gov/taxes for a copy of Revenue
Administrative Bulletin 2015-21.

Income Changes During the Year

If you are already paying estimates, adjust your
estimated payment on the next installment.

If you are not already paying estimates, use the
following chart to see which period the tax is due.

If the change occurs: Pay on or before:

Jan. 1 through March 31 ......... April 18,2016

April 1 through May 31 ........... June 15, 2016
June 1 through Aug. 31........... Sept. 15, 2016
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31............. Jan. 17,2017

If you do not want to adjust your fourth installment
voucher, you may file your 2016 income tax return
before February 1, 2017, instead. If you choose this
option, you do not have to file the fourth voucher
(due January 17, 2017). If you were not paying
estimates but a change occurs between September 1
and December 31 that requires you to file estimates,
you may file your 2016 MI-1040 return by
February 1, 2017, instead of filing an MI-1040ES.

Estimated Tax Payments for Farmers, Fishermen
or Seafarers

If at least two-thirds of your gross income is from

farming, fishing or seafaring, you may:

* File your first 2016 voucher on or before
January 17, 2017, and pay the entire amount of the
estimated tax due, or

* File your 2016 MI-1040 return on or before
March 1, 2017, and pay the entire tax with the
return.

If you choose the second option, you do not need to

pay estimated tax payments.

Fiscal Year Filers

Adjust all dates to correspond with your fiscal year.
The first installment payment is due on the 15th
day of the fourth month after your fiscal year ends.
(Example: If your year ends March 30, your first
payment is due July 15.)

Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes



Worksheet Instructions

You will need your 2015 Michigan and federal
income tax returns for reference (even if you have
not completed them yet).

Estimate your 2016 income. The Michigan income tax
return begins with federal adjusted gross income (AGI)
and allows for additions to and subtractions from AGI.
Refer to Additions and Subtractions (Schedule 1)
for allowable additions and subtractions. Enter your
estimated income subject to tax on line 1.

To determine your exemption allowance for
line 2, refer to your 2015 MI-1040. You may include

Reset Form

all exemptions allowed on your federal return
(U.S. Forms 1040 or 1040A4) plus any Michigan
special exemptions allowed on your Michigan return.
Enter the amount of your exemption allowance, not
the number of exemptions.

If you review the worksheet and still do not know

if you must file estimates or if you are not sure

how much to pay, call 517-636-4486. Assistance is
available using TTY through the Michigan Relay
Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711.

Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes

Estimated Tax Computation Worksheet
Keep for Your Records

1. Estimated 2016 income subject to tax (see worksheet instructions)...........ccceeeeveerveecirennnnne. 1.
2. Exemption allowance amount (see worksheet inStructions)...........cceeeeveeevieneeeieenieecreenneenne. 2.
3. Balance. Subtract line 2 from line 1.........ccccoeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiee e 3.
4. Estimated tax. Multiply line 3 by 4.25% (0.0425).....cceeiiriiririiieeeeeeeeeseee e 4.
5. All estimated Credits ......oouviiiierieeiieiieeie et 5
6. Tax you expect to be withheld from your earnings or retirement income 6.
7. Total deductions. Add in€s 5 and 6.........cccueeviiiriieiiiiiiicieee e 7.
8. Estimated tax due. Subtract line 7 from line 4...........cccoeeiiiiiiiiiinieeieee e 8.
9. Estimated payment due. Divide the amount on line 8 by 4, or by the number of

estimated vouchers to be filed (see instructions). Enter here and on each voucher............... 9.

NOTE: Apply your 2015 overpayment to your first voucher. Any unused credit must then be applied to your
second voucher and following vouchers until the entire credit is used. Do not send an estimate form unless you

are sending payment with it.
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