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Sales Tax Return for Special Events 
Issued under authority of Public Act 167 of 1933 and P.A. 122 of 1941, as amended. Filing is mandatory. 

Generally, retail sales of food, drink, auction items and other items made by an organization during a fundraising event 
are subject to Michigan sales tax. Michigan’s General Sales Tax Act (MCL 205.52(1)) provides that anyone making retail 
sales is subject to a 6 percent sales tax on gross proceeds. The act specifically includes nonprofit organizations as 
subject to the tax. However, see the Special Rules for Nonprofit Organizations on page 2 of this form. 

Generally, a sales tax license is required if an organization has more than two fundraising events in one calendar year. 
To register for a sales tax license, visit the New Business Registration page at www.michigan.gov/bustax or call 
517-636-6925. Persons currently holding a sales tax license must pay the tax with their current sales tax return and not 
with this form. Write the sales tax license number in the space provided in Part 1 of this form. If a person does not 
have a sales tax license, use this form to report and pay the sales tax due from an event.

A person/organization holding an event at which food, drink, or other property is sold must submit this return, even if no 
sales tax is due. If no tax is due, complete only Part 1 and include an explanation of why no tax is due. This return and 
payment are due 30 days after the fundraising event. Make checks payable to “State of Michigan.” 

Mail the return and payment to: 
Michigan Department of Treasury 
Discovery & Tax Enforcement Division 
PO Box 30140 
Lansing MI 48909 

Direct questions to the Discovery & Tax Enforcement Division, 517-636-4120. 

PART  1:  ORGANIZATION  INFORMATION 
Organization Name Telephone Number Nonprofit, IRS Organization Code 

Street Address City State ZIP Code 

Temporary Liquor License Number Federal Employer ID Number (If applicable) Sales Tax License Number (If applicable) 

Event Description Event Location (City) Event Date 

PART  2:  SALES  TAX  CALCULATION 

1. Gross Sales. Enter your total gross sales from this event ................................................................ 1. 

2. Enter your total sales of exempt items (prepackaged foods, cans of soda, bottled water, etc.)  ...... 2. 

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 ................................................................................................................. 3. 

4. If tax is included in gross sales from line 1, divide line 3 by 17.6667 ............................................... 4. 

5. Taxable Sales. Subtract line 4 from line 3 ........................................................................................ 5. 

6. Sales Tax Due. Multiply line 5 by 6% (0.06) Pay this amount  ......................................................... 6. 

PART 3:  CERTIFICATION 
Authorized Signature Date 

Authorized Signer’s Name Title 

See page 2 of this form for instructions. 

www.michigan.gov/bustax
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SALES TAX  GENERAL  GUIDELINES  FOR SPECIAL  EVENTS,  MAJOR CATEGORIES 
PREPARED  FOOD 

•  If purchased from a caterer or 
other preparer and sales tax is 
paid on that purchase, there is no 
further tax obligation on the food. 

•  If purchased from a caterer or 
other preparer under a resale 
exemption,* the organization  
must pay the sales tax for its 
sale of food. If sold separately, 
tax is based on the selling price. 
If included in the donation/ 
admission fee, tax is based on 
the fair market value (FMV) of the 
food sold.  

•  If prepared by members of the 
organization or donated, the 
organization must pay sales tax 
based on the FMV of the food 
sold. 

•  FMV is the price of admission 
or a donation paid to attend the 
event, or, if that amount exceeds 
the FMV, the cost to purchase and 
prepare the food.** 

ALCOHOLIC  BEVERAGES 
•  If sales tax is paid to a supplier 

and there is no separate or 
additional charge to attendees for  
alcohol at the event (such as an 
“open bar”), then no tax is due on 
the alcohol provided at the event. 

•  If there is a “cash bar” or any 
separate or additional charge for  
alcohol, sales tax is due on the 
selling price. If sales tax was paid 
to the supplier, the nonprofit may 
request a refund from that supplier 
under a resale exemption or 
from Treasury using Form 5633. 
A credit cannot be taken on a 
sales tax return (if the nonprofit is 
registered) for the tax paid to the 
supplier. 

•  If sales tax was not paid for the 
organization’s purchase of alcohol 
and the alcohol is included in 
the donation/admission fee, use 
tax is due on the organization’s 
purchase price. If the alcohol was 
donated, use its FMV. 

CONCESSIONS 
•  Food sold at concessions at 

special events and entertainment  
facilities (including, but not limited 
to, theaters, fairs, recreation 
centers, athletic events, parks and 
zoos) that is “prepared food”*** 
is taxable. This includes, for 
example, popcorn or nuts sold 
hot, sandwiches made by the 
seller, soda pop in a cup, a dish of 
ice cream with a spoon provided 
by the seller, a slice of pizza sold 
hot, or a hot dog heated by the 
seller. 

•  Food sold at such concessions 
that is not “prepared food” is 
not taxable. This includes, for 
example, fresh fruit, prepackaged 
items (e.g., candy bars, chips, 
nuts, or cans or bottles of soda 
pop) not heated by the seller 
and sold without eating utensils 
provided by the seller, and 
cookies, doughnuts or muffins 
sold without eating utensils.**** 

* The organization needs to furnish to the caterer or other supplier an exemption claim and a sales tax license number, if the 
organization has one, to qualify for a resale exemption. 
** The Michigan Department of Treasury may use any other reasonable method to determine the appropriate fair market value 
of the prepared food. 
*** “Prepared food” is defined in MCL 205.54g and further explained in Michigan Administrative Code Rule 86 (MAC R 205.136). 
**** If eating utensils are “provided by the seller,” the item is taxable. Eating utensils include knives, forks, spoons, glasses, 
cups, napkins, straws, or plates. They do not include a container or packaging used to transport food. For a seller with a 
prepared  food  sales  percentage  greater  than  75  percent,  eating  utensils  are  “provided  by  the  seller”  when  the  utensils  are  made  
available to purchasers and the utensils would not necessarily have to be handed to the customer by the seller. R 205.136. 
More information can be found at www.michigan.gov/taxes. 

Special Rules for Nonprofit Organizations 
2018 P.A. 249 exempts the first $10,000 of sales at retail made by an organization exempt from federal income tax under 
IRC 501(c)(3) or (4) or that has an exemption letter ruling from the Michigan Department of Treasury issued prior to 1998, if 
the organization has aggregate annual sales less than $25,000. 
Sales at retail at a fundraising event for the benefit of an active duty service member or veteran, made by a veterans’ 
organization exempt from federal income tax under IRC 501(c)(19), are exempt from sales tax. This exemption is limited to 
$25,000 per event. 
CAUTION: Any sales tax collected by a nonprofit organization must be remitted to Treasury (or returned to the customer) 
even if collected for exempt sales and the entity has aggregate retail sales for the calendar year fit the above criteria. 

Auctioned Items 
A sale at auction by a nonprofit is subject to sales tax based on the sales price of the property. However, a nonprofit 
organization exempt from federal income tax under IRC 501(c)(3) or (4) that paid sales tax on an item auctioned at a price in 
excess of its fair market value may seek a refund or claim a credit (reduce the tax for that item) equal to 6% of that portion 
of the sales price that exceeded the item’s fair market value. If the nonprofit collected sales tax from the purchaser, it must 
demonstrate to Treasury that it refunded the sales tax to the purchaser prior to claiming a refund or credit for the tax.  The 
nonprofit organization must also obtain and retain in its records a certification of the fair market value of the auctioned item, 
supplied by the donor. 
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