Michigan Tobacco Products Tax Return

For Untaxed Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products Purchased through October 31, 2012.

TAXPAYER INFORMATIO	N					
Name		Social Secur		ity Number		
Address		City			State	ZIP Code
TAX CALCULATION						
COLUMN A		001 11001 0				
DATE ACQUIRED	COLUMN B TOBACCO VENDOR	COLUMN C AMOUNT		COLUMN D TOBACCO TAX		
PART 1: 20-Cigarette Packs		(# of Packs)		(Multiply Column C by \$2.00)		
PART 2: 25-Cigarette Packs		(# of Packs)		(Multiply Column C by \$2.50)		
PART 3: Other Quantities of Ciga	irettes	(# of Cigarettes)		(Multiply Column C by \$0.10)		
PART 4: Other Tobacco Products (OTP)		Wholesale Price (See Instructions)		(Multiply Column C by 32%)		
TOTAL TOBACCO TAX DUE						
tobacco products obtained f	x is also due on the purchase from Internet or Mail Order pro 5% use tax due on their annua	oviders where no sale	s or use	tax was	collect	
Interest: Treasury will calcul	late any interest that may be d	ue and notify you by le	tter.			
CERTIFICATION						
I declare, under penalty of pe	erjury, that the information repo	orted is true and compl	ete to the	best of	my kno	wledge.
Signature		Date	Phone Nur	nber		

Direct questions to the Tobacco Tax Enforcement Unit at 517-636-0680. Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan Relay Service by calling 711. Make checks payable to "State of Michigan." Complete and sign this return, and mail to:

Discovery and Tax Enforcement Division Michigan Department of Treasury PO Box 30140 Lansing MI 48909

Instructions for Completing Form 4096B, Michigan Tobacco Products Tax Return

This form is provided to report and pay the applicable Michigan tobacco taxes on purchases of cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products (OTP) by Michigan residents from the Internet or Mail Order providers. OTP includes cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, loose tobacco (roll your own) and snuff. Please refer to the Consumer Warning on page 2 of these instructions.

The reporting form is separated into four parts:

- 1) The first three parts are used to report cigarettes by various packaging configurations of 20-Cigarette Packs, 25-Cigarette Packs, and Other Quantities of Cigarettes (packs that contain less than 20 cigarettes are reported per cigarette).
- 2) The fourth part is to report Other Tobacco Products.

Tax Rates: Effective July 1, 2004, through October 31, 2012:

Cigarettes are taxed at the rate of 10 cents (\$0.10) per cigarette (i.e., \$2.00 per pack of 20 cigarettes, and \$2.50 per pack of 25 cigarettes). OTP is taxed at 32% of the wholesale price. (See Note 1)

NOTE 1: Determine wholesale price for OTP by multiplying the retail price paid for the OTP (less shipping and handling) by 50%. Example: Taxpayer A pays \$20.00 (retail) for chewing tobacco. Wholesale price is \$10.00 (\$20.00 x 50%).

<u>Use Tax</u>

Michigan Use Tax is also due on tobacco products purchased from Internet or Mail Order vendors. Use tax is calculated at 6% (0.06) of the total purchase price, including shipping and handling. The use tax is to be reported on the taxpayer's annual "Individual Income Tax Return" (MI-1040).

Remittance

Make your check payable to the "State of Michigan." Forward your completed return with payment to the Discovery and Tax Enforcement Division, at the address identified on the form.

Form 4096B Line-by-Line Instructions:

Enter purchaser's name, address, city, state, ZIP code and Social Security number on the lines provided.

Part 1: 20-Cigarette Packs

Column A: Enter date of purchase.

Column B: Enter name of the tobacco vendor.

Column C: Convert cartons to packs and enter total packs. A carton of 20-Cigarette Packs contains 10 packs of cigarettes. Column D: Multiply Column C times the tax rate (\$2.00 per pack) and enter total.

Part 2: 25-Cigarette Packs

Column A: Enter date of purchase.

Column B: Enter name of the tobacco vendor.

Column C: Convert cartons to packs and enter total packs. A carton of 25-Cigarette Packs contains 10 packs of cigarettes.

Column D: Multiply Column C times the tax rate (\$2.50 per pack) and enter total.

Part 3: Other Quantities of Cigarettes

Column A: Enter date of purchase.

Column B: Enter name of the tobacco vendor.

Column C: Convert packs with less than 20 cigarettes to individual cigarettes and enter total cigarettes.

Column D: Multiply Column C times the tax rate (\$0.10 per cigarette) and enter total.

Part 4: OTP

Column A: Enter date of purchase.

Column B: Enter name of the tobacco vendor.

Column C: Multiply the retail purchase price of the OTP (less shipping and handling) by 50% (to determine the approximate wholesale price) and enter total.

Column D: Multiply Column C times the tax rate (32%) and enter total.

The taxpayer will use Form 4096B to compute the tobacco tax as outlined below. In the example, there is a brief explanation on how to complete Column C and Column D for each type of product.

DATE ACQUIRED	COLUMN B TOBACCO VENDOR	COLUMN C AMOUNT	COLUMN D TOBACCO TAX	
PART 1: 20 Cigarette Packs		(# of Packs)	(Multiply Column C by \$2.00	
3/7/2004	Company B	150 packs	\$ 300.00	
-	tons of 20-cigarette packs contains of packs by \$2.00 (150 packs x \$2.0	s 150 packs (10 packs per carton x 15 c 00 = \$300.00).	artons). To calculate the tobacco	
PART 2: 25-Cigarette Packs	\$	(# of Packs)	(Multiply Column C by \$2.50)	
3/7/2004	Company B	50 packs	\$ 125.00	
		(# of Cigarettes) 96 cigarettes	(Multiply Column C by \$0.10) \$ 9.60	
multiply the number of packs by \$2.50 (50 packs x \$2.50 = \$125.PART 3: Other Quantities of Cigarettes8/7/2004Company B		(# of Cigarettes)	(Multiply Column C by \$0.10) \$ 9.60	
multiply the number of ci	garettes by \$0.10 (96 cigarettes x 0	,	,	
PART 4: Other Tobacco Pro 3/7/2004	Company B	Wholesale Price (See Instructions) \$ 10.00	(Multiply Column C by \$0.32) \$ 3.20	
-				
		rchased for \$20.00. To calculate the te the tobacco tax, multiply the Whole		

CONSUMER WARNING: It is illegal to purchase tobacco products through the mail or over the Internet without a license issued by the State of Michigan, unless the vendor is licensed by the State of Michigan and the required tobacco tax is paid by the vendor. Further, it is illegal for a person not licensed by the State of Michigan to possess cigarettes within Michigan unless each package of cigarettes has a Michigan Cigarette Stamp on the package. This includes but is not limited to tobacco products received as a gift or purchased in states outside Michigan, in foreign countries, on United States Military Facilities, or on Native American Reservations.

The State of Michigan provides this form to assist you in the payment of a required tobacco products tax. Payment of the required tobacco products tax does not make legal the otherwise illegal possession of the tobacco products. Possession of unstamped, or otherwise illegal, tobacco products is a crime whether the tax has been paid or not. The possession of any illegal tobacco product subjects you to a penalty equal to 100 percent (500 percent after Dec. 27, 2004) of the tobacco tax due and criminal prosecution. Further, the tobacco products themselves are contraband and subject to seizure.