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446 (Rev. 12-20)

        Withholding Rate: 4.25%      Personal Exemption Amount: $4,900
2021 Michigan Income Tax Withholding Guide

method and the result of the services. 
For further clarification of the term “employee,” see the IRS 
Publication 15, Employer’s Tax Guide (Circular E).
Compensation
The term “compensation,” as used in this guide, covers all types 
of employee compensation, including salaries, wages, vacation 
allowances, bonuses, and commissions (as defined in the IRS 
Publication 15, Employer’s Tax Guide (Circular E), “Taxable 
Wages”).
Pension and Retirement Benefits
Under Michigan law, qualifying pension and retirement 
benefits include most payments that are reported on a 
1099-R for federal tax purposes and included in the retiree’s 
federal adjusted gross income. This includes defined benefit 
pensions, IRA distributions, and most payments from defined 
contribution plans. Payments received before the recipient 
could retire under the provisions of the plan or benefits 
from 401(k), 457, or 403(b) plans attributable to employee 
contributions alone are not qualifying pension and retirement 
benefits under Michigan law and are subject to withholding. 
For additional information on pension and retirement benefits, 
visit www.michigan.gov/withholding.
Which Benefits are Taxable
Pension and retirement benefits are taxed differently 
depending on the age of the recipient. For married couples 
that file a joint Michigan income tax return, age is determined 
using the age of the older spouse. Military pensions, Social 
Security benefits and railroad retirement benefits continue to 
be exempt from tax. 
Those born before 1946 may subtract all qualifying pension 
and retirement benefits received from public sources, and may 
subtract qualifying private pension and retirement benefits up 
to $53,759 if single or married filing separately, or $107,517 
if married and filing a joint return. Withholding will only be 
necessary on taxable pension payments that are not qualifying 
pension and retirement benefits (see page 1, “Pension and 
Retirement Benefits”) and qualifying private pension 
distributions that exceed the pension limits stated above for 
recipients born before 1946. 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION
Withholding Tables on the Web. Withholding rate tables 
are not provided in this publication, but are available on 
Treasury’s website www.michigan.gov/withholding. 
Who Must Withhold?
Every employer in this state required under the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) to withhold federal income tax on 
compensation of an individual must also withhold Michigan 
income tax. In addition, payers of pension and retirement 
benefits subject to Michigan income tax must withhold on 
the taxable amount. Withholding may also be required by 
eligible production companies, and casino, race meeting, 
and track licensees, which should use this guide. See MCL 
206.703 for more information on those requirements.
Who Is an Employer?
An employer is defined in IRS Publication 15, Employer’s Tax 
Guide (Circular E), as any person or organization for whom 
an individual performs any service as an employee. This 
includes any person or organization paying compensation to a 
former employee after termination of his or her employment.
Nonprofit organizations that are exempt from income tax, 
such as charitable, religious, and government organizations, 
must withhold tax from compensation paid to their 
employees.
Employers located outside Michigan who have employees 
working in Michigan must register with Treasury and 
withhold Michigan income tax from all employees working 
in Michigan. This applies to both Michigan residents and 
nonresidents (see page 4, “Reciprocal Agreements”).
Employers located in Michigan assigning a Michigan 
resident employee to work temporarily in another state must 
withhold Michigan income tax from compensation paid to 
the employee for work done in another state.
Who Is an Employee?
An employee is an individual who performs services for an 
employer who controls what will be done and how it will 
be done. It does not matter that the employer permits the 
employee considerable discretion and freedom of action, as 
long as the employer has the legal right to control both the 

INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING:
Every Michigan employer required to withhold federal income tax under the Internal Revenue Code must be registered for and withhold Michigan 
income tax. Nonprofit organizations that are exempt from income tax, such as charitable, religious and governmental organizations, must withhold 
tax from compensation paid to their employees. Employers located outside Michigan that have employees who work in Michigan must register and 
withhold Michigan income tax from all employees working in Michigan. 
Companies that pay pension and retirement benefits are required to withhold Michigan income taxes on taxable payments to retirees. In general, 
payers must withhold 4.25 percent on all distributions that are subject to Michigan income tax, unless the payer receives a withholding certificate 
from a retiree that directs otherwise. Pension and retirement benefits generally include payments made from a pension, individual retirement 
account, annuity, or profit-sharing, stock bonus or certain other deferred compensation plan. Also included are annuity payments or endowment or 
life insurance contract payments issued by a life insurance company.
Additional withholding information, including the current personal exemption amount, withholding tax rates, and income tax withholding 
tables, is available on Treasury’s website at www.michigan.gov/withholding. 
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Recipients born between January 1, 1946 through December 
31, 1952 are eligible for the Michigan standard deduction in 
lieu of a deduction for pension and retirement benefits. The 
pension withholding tables may be used to incorporate the 
benefit of the standard deduction and generate the appropriate 
withholding for recipients born in 1946-1952.
Recipients who receive pension benefits from employment 
with a governmental entity that was exempt from the federal 
Social Security Act are entitled to larger deductions. More 
information for plan administrators paying benefits from 
employment that was exempt from Social Security is available 
on the Treasury Website.
For recipients born after 1952, all pension and retirement 
benefits are generally taxable and subject to withholding.
Recipients born after 1952, who received benefits from 
employment with a governmental entity exempt under the 
Social Security Act, and who have reached age 62 may deduct 
up to $15,000 in qualifying retirement and pension benefits. 
Form 4927-SSA for those born after 1952 incorporates the 
exempt amount for withholding.
Recipients born after 1952, received retirement benefits from 
employment with a government entity exempt under the Social 
Security Act, and were retired as of January 1, 2013 are eligible 
for additional deduction limits. The first $35,000 for single 
filers or $55,000 for joint filers of all retirement benefits may be 
subtracted from Michigan taxable income. Refer to Form 4927-
SSA. 
Taxpayers born during 1953 or 1954 may choose to deduct 
either (1) the personal exemption amount and taxable Social 
Security benefits, military compensation (including retirement 
benefits), Michigan National Guard retirement benefits and 
railroad retirement benefits included in AGI, or (2) a deduction 
against all income of $20,000 if single, or $40,000 if filing a 
joint return. Taxpayers born during 1953 or 1954 can use 
Form 4924 and Form 5712 to determine the correct amount of 
withholding and/or estimated tax. To ensure the correct amount 
is paid, taxpayers may want to consult a tax advisor.
How Much to Withhold
Employer Income Tax Withholding. Determine the amount 
of tax withheld using a direct percentage computation or 
the withholding tables provided on Treasury’s website at  
www.michigan.gov/withholding. The withholding rate is 
4.25 percent of compensation after deducting the personal and 
dependency exemption allowance.
Pension and Retirement Benefits Withholding. The 
withholding rate is 4.25 percent after deducting the personal 
exemption allowance claimed on the MI W-4P. Use the 
applicable monthly withholding table from either the Pension 
Withholding Tables for those born in 1946 through 1952 or the 
Michigan Income Tax Withholding Tables (Form 446-T) to 
calculate the appropriate withholding. Pension administrators 
should follow the directions from recipients on any MI W-4P 
received. 
For recipients born during the period 1946 and 1952, the 
Pension Withholding Tables incorporate the deductions of 
$20,000 for single or married filing separately, and $40,000 
for married and filing a joint return, assuming benefits are paid 

monthly. If benefits are paid other than monthly, withholding is 
only due on the amount that exceeds the recipients’ deduction 
amount. Recipients who indicate on the MI W-4P they are 
married (withhold as single) should have withholding computed 
as if they are single. 
If you received a MI W-4P from a recipient who has checked 
box 3, determine the amount of tax withheld using the direct 
percentage computation or the Pension Withholding Tables. 
If you prefer to compute withholding directly, refer to the 
Withholding Formula that follows. 
Monthly Non-Taxable Deduction Amounts for those Born 
During the Period 1946 and 1952:
Single standard deduction........................................$1,666.67
Married standard deduction.....................................$3,333.33
Personal exemption allowance....................................$408.33
Withholding Formula. Withholding = [Pension or Retirement 
Payment subject to federal income tax – Monthly standard 
deduction – (Allowance per Exemption x Number of 
Exemptions)] x 4.25%

Example 1: A single retiree age 69 (born in 1952) receiving 
$2,200/month with 1 exemption would have the following 
withholding:
[$2,200 - $1,666.67 - ($408.33 x 1)] x 4.25% = ($2,200 - 
$1,666.67 - $408.33) x 0.0425 = $5.81
Example 2: A married retiree age 71 (born in 1950) 
receiving $4,500/month with 2 exemptions would have the 
following withholding:
[$4,500 - $3,333.33 - ($408.33 x 2)] x 4.25% = [$4,500 - 
$3,333.33 - $816.67] x 4.25% = $14.88

For further information and examples, go to Treasury’s website 
at www.michigan.gov/taxes.
In the absence of an MI W-4P, pension administrators shall do 
one of the following:

(1) Do not withhold on benefits paid to recipients born before 
1946 unless the benefits exceed private pension limits. 
(2) If the recipient was born in 1946 or after, withhold on 
all taxable pension distributions at 4.25 percent.

Other Withholding
Withholding on Nonresident Gambling and Charitable 
Gaming Winnings. Michigan withholding is required on 
all reportable winnings by nonresidents at Michigan casinos, 
racetracks, or off-track betting facilities. Reportable winnings are 
those winnings required to be reported to the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) under the IRC. To calculate Michigan withholding, 
multiply the amount of reportable winnings by 4.25 percent. 
Include the amount withheld on the recipient’s Form W-2G.
Michigan withholding is required on winnings from charitable 
gaming if federal withholding is required. Charitable gaming 
licensees required to withhold Michigan income tax will need 
to register for withholding.
Fringe Benefits. Reporting and withholding on fringe 
benefits follows federal guidelines as provided in the Federal 
Employer’s Tax Guide, Circular E. Examples of fringe benefits 
include 401(k) deferred compensation, profit sharing, and 
cafeteria benefit plans.



3

Supplemental Unemployment Benefits. Taxpayers who receive 
supplemental unemployment benefits but expect to not owe 
Michigan income tax can claim an exemption from withholding 
using form MI-W4.
Bonuses and Other Payments. Bonuses and other payments of 
employee compensation made separately from regular payroll 
payments are subject to Michigan income tax withholding. The 
withholding amount equals the payment amount multiplied 
by 4.25 percent (0.0425). Do not make any adjustment for 
exemptions.
Who Must Be Registered?
A person (including a company or other organization) must be 
registered for income tax withholding if the person:

•	 Is an employer. This may include in-state or out-of-state 
employers. See page 1, “Who is an Employer?” section. 

•	 Is under Michigan jurisdiction and is required to withhold 
Michigan tax from taxable pension and/or annuity 
payments.

•	 Is not under Michigan jurisdiction, but agrees to withhold 
Michigan tax from taxable pension and/or annuity 
payments.

How to Register
The Michigan Department of Treasury offers an online New 
Business Registration process. This process is easy, fast, 
secure and convenient. This e-Registration process is much 
faster than registering by mail. After completing the online 
application, you will receive a confirmation number of your 
electronic submission. To complete the online registration go to 
mto.treasury.michigan.gov.
If you do not have an FEIN, you must apply for one 
with the IRS on their website www.irs.gov or by phone  
1-800-829-4933. The Michigan employer identification 
number is usually the same as the FEIN assigned by the IRS. 
When acquiring a business you must register with Michigan 
and obtain a new FEIN. Do not use the FEIN assigned to the 
previous business owner.
Reporting and Paying Amounts Withheld
All taxpayers must file return(s) and remit applicable 
payment(s) according to their filing frequency established 
by Treasury. There are 3 return filing options: Michigan 
Treasury Online (MTO), use of Treasury approved 
commercial or proprietary software, or paper filing (eligible 
forms only). The preferred method of filing and paying is 
through MTO, however, printable returns are available at  
www.michigan.gov/taxes.
When completing return information using MTO, you may 
electronically complete payment of tax using ACH debit 
or by credit card for tax year 2015 and subsequent tax years. 
Return and payment information can be completed in one or 
multiple MTO sessions. You may also complete your payment 
separately by ACH Credit, or by completing a Sales, Use and 
Withholding Payment Voucher (Form 5094), when you e-file a 
return and choose to pay by paper check.
For complete filing and payment information, visit  
www.michigan.gov/taxes. Complete instructions 
for registering and paying by MTO are available at  
www.michigan.gov/mtobusiness.

Income Statements
Overview. “Income Statements” is a term used in this Guide 
to refer to various IRS information returns and Wage and Tax 
Statements. Income Statements include Forms W-2, W-2 C, 
W-2G, 1099-R, 1099-MISC, and 1099-NEC.
W-2s. Employers required by federal law to file Form W-2, 
Wage and Tax Statement, must provide a copy to the State of 
Michigan if the Form W-2 is issued to a Michigan resident 
employee, to report work performed in Michigan, or to 
report Michigan income tax withheld. For more about federal 
requirements, see www.irs.gov, including Publication 15 
(Circular E), Employer’s Tax Guide. 
Correcting W-2 Errors. If the error was due to 
underreporting withholding on the original W-2, issue a 
corrected W-2 and send a copy to Treasury. As provided in 
Mich Admin Code, R 206.33(3)(b), the employer can only 
receive a refund if the original W-2 is recovered from the 
employee. When an employee retains the original, erroneous 
W-2, the employee, not the employer, must request the refund. 
The corrected form should be clearly marked “Corrected by the 
Employer”. 
If the error was due to overreporting withholding on the 
original W-2, do not issue a corrected W-2. This type of 
correction must be handled in one of the following ways (see 
Rule 206.22):
	� 1) The employer may repay the amount withheld in error to 

the employee anytime within the same calendar year. The 
employer shall obtain a receipt from the employee and keep 
in business records. The employer may adjust their records 
and deduct the amount refunded from the tax owing on his 
next return or ask for a cash refund. 

	� 2) If the employer does not repay the employee as noted 
above, the employee may claim a credit for the amount 
withheld on their individual income tax return (Form MI-
1040). 

If an issued W-2 is lost or destroyed, provide the employee with 
a substitute copy clearly marked “Reissued by Employer”. 
If the withholding error occurs before a W-2 is issued, adjust 
a later paycheck and make the same adjustment in the next 
payment due to Treasury. 
W-2Gs. Michigan casinos, racetracks, and off-track betting 
facilities may be required to report winnings of, and 
withholding for, nonresidents of Michigan. See the associated 
information in the “Other Withholding” section for more 
information.
1099s. Persons required by the internal revenue code to issue 
certain 1099 forms (specifically, 1099-R, 1099-MISC, and 
1099-NEC) must file a copy with the State of Michigan of each 
form issued to a Michigan resident, regardless where the issuer 
is domiciled or where the resident’s work or services were 
performed. 1099 state copies must also be sent to Michigan if 
the form reports Michigan withholding. For more information 
about who is required to issue 1099s, see www.irs.gov.
Due Dates. State copies of most income statements are due 
to the Michigan Department of Treasury on or before January 
31. The exceptions to this general rule are paper filed Form 
1099-MISCs, which are due February 28, and electronically 

https://mto.treasury.michigan.gov
https://mto.treasury.michigan.gov
https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-43549-453837--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-43549-453837--,00.html
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filed Form 1099-MISCs, which are due March 31. Late filing is 
subject to penalty. Treasury does not have the authority to grant 
an extension of these due dates.
Income Statement Filing Options in Michigan
FIRE/CFSF Program. Michigan participates with the federal 
Combined Federal/State Filing (CF/SF) Program. This means 
that the IRS shares certain income statements with Michigan 
automatically, which automatically satisfies a Michigan 
taxpayer’s filing requirement with Treasury for these forms. In 
order for a taxpayer or their service provider to take advantage 
of this program, they must apply with the IRS and remit the 
income statements electronically through the IRS’ Filing 
Information Returns Electronically (FIRE) System. The IRS 
issues Publication 1220 each year, which provides guidance on 
this electronic remittance process, including accepted forms 
and formats.
Michigan Treasury Online (MTO). Taxpayers and service 
providers that need to send state copies of income statements 
directly to Treasury are encouraged to do so electronically 
using MTO. Electronic submission is required for taxpayers 
reporting 250 or more income statements; however, electronic 
submission is available to all taxpayers.
Through MTO, you can upload income statements for a 
particular business you have connected to via the Sales, Use, 
and Withholding (SUW) Tax Service by visiting the Wage 
Statement Upload page. You can also utilize the EFW2 Upload 
Guest Services option to send a copy of the Social Security 
Administration’s EFW2 file for one or multiple businesses. On 
MTO, you always receive a confirmation of your submission. 
Visit mto.treasury.michigan.gov for more information and 
guidance. 
Magnetic Media. Treasury offers Magnetic Media filing to 
all taxpayers reporting fewer than 250 income statements to 
Michigan. Magnetic Media can be sent by mail. For more 
information, refer to Transmittal for Magnetic Media Reporting 
of W-2s, W-2Gs and 1099s to the State of Michigan (Form 447).
Paper Mailing. Treasury accepts mailed state copies of 
income statements to: Michigan Department of Treasury 
Lansing, MI 48930. Do not include the SUW annual return. 

Employee Exemptions
MI-W4 Withholding Exemption Certificate
Every employer must obtain a Withholding Exemption 
Certificate (Form MI-W4) from each employee. The federal 
W-4 cannot be used in place of the MI-W4.
The exemption amount is $4,900 per year times the number 
of personal and dependency exemptions allowed under Part 
1 of the Michigan Income Tax Act. An employee may not 
claim more exemptions on the MI-W4 than can be claimed 
on the employee’s Michigan income tax return. Michigan has 
additional special exemptions that are claimed on a taxpayer’s 
Michigan income tax return, but are not claimed on an MI-W4. 
The MI-W4 enables employees to claim exemption from 
Michigan income tax withholding. Employees may claim 
exemption from withholding only if they do not anticipate a 
Michigan income tax liability for the current year because 

their employment is less than full-time and the personal and 
dependency exemptions exceed their annual compensation.
Any changes made to an MI-W4 makes the form invalid. 
Any writing on the certificate other than entries required is 
considered a change.
If you receive an invalid certificate, do not consider it to 
compute withholding. You must inform the employee who 
submitted the certificate that it is invalid and require the 
employee to submit a corrected MI-W4. If the employee does 
not comply, withhold from the employee’s total compensation 
based on zero exemptions. If a prior valid certificate is in effect, 
continue to withhold in accordance with the prior valid certificate.
Sending Certain MI-W4 Certificates
Under MCL 206.703(14), employers must submit to Treasury a 
copy of any MI-W4 received from employees who:
•	 Claim ten or more exemptions, or
•	 Claim exempt from withholding tax.
Employers must also submit MI-W4s for employees who 
change their withholding status to exempt. 
Employers should not send copies of exemption certificates 
filed by:
•	 Part-time or student employees whose expected earnings 

will be less than their exemption allowance. 
•	 Employees who claim exempt because they live in a 

reciprocal state, or
•	 Employees who claim exempt for a stated time (e.g., two pay 

periods). 
Use the official MI-W4 only; do not send copies of the federal 
W-4. Mail MI-W4s only to: New Hire Operations Center, P.O. 
Box 85010, Lansing, MI 48908-5010 
If you report your New Hire information magnetically or 
electronically, also send a paper copy of the MI-W4 for these 
employees to the New Hire Operations Center. Do not attach 
MI-W4 forms to the Sales, Use, and Withholding tax return. 
Include copies of any written statement or explanation from the 
employee supporting the claim made on the MI-W4. 
Reciprocal Agreements
Employers located in Michigan must withhold Michigan 
income tax from all compensation paid to nonresident 
employees for work done in Michigan, unless covered by a 
reciprocal agreement.
Michigan has entered into reciprocal agreements with the states 
of Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin. 
This means that a Michigan employer will not withhold Michigan 
income tax from residents of these states who work in Michigan. 
Employers in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Ohio, and 
Wisconsin will not withhold their state income tax from Michigan 
residents who work in their state. However, such employers may 
voluntarily register with Treasury to withhold Michigan income 
tax from Michigan residents who work in their states.
Certificate of Nonresidency
Treasury does not furnish nonresidency certificates. The employer 
may develop a form or obtain a letter from the employee. The 
form or letter should contain the employee’s name, legal address, 
Social Security number, and a statement signed and dated by the 
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employee that this is his or her legal address. The employer keeps 
the form as its authority not to withhold Michigan income tax.
Employer Discontinuance
If you go out of business or permanently stop being an 
employer, you must do all of the following:
•	 �As soon as possible, complete Notice of Change or 

Discontinuance (Form 163) electronically on MTO at  
mto.treasury.michigan.gov or mail the paper form, 
available at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

•	 �No later than 30 days after going out of business or ceasing 
to exist, file copies of W-2s with Treasury.

•	 �No later than 30 days after the last payment of 
compensation, give W-2s to employees.

•	 �No later than February 28 of the year following the year of 
discontinuance, file Sales, Use and Withholding Tax Annual 
Return (Form 5081) with Treasury.

Records You Must Keep
You must keep all records pertinent to this tax available for 
inspection by Treasury. The records are similar to those 
necessary for federal income tax withholding as shown in the 
IRS Publication 15, Employer’s Tax Guide (Circular E).
Records must show the amounts and dates of all compensation 
payments subject to this tax. Include employee name, address, 

Social Security number, MI-W4, occupation, and period of 
employment. Include records that show periods an employee 
was paid by the employer while absent from work due to 
sickness or personal injury. Show the amount and weekly rate 
of such payments. Keep duplicates of all returns filed.
These records must be kept at least six years after the date 
the tax to which they relate becomes due or the date the tax 
is paid, whichever is later.
Reporting Newly Hired Employees
Treasury encourages employers to take advantage of the 
online internet reporting and information available at  
wwww.mi-newhire.com. Employers using online reporting will 
have access to a secure website, receive e-mail confirmations for 
new hire submissions, be able to view reporting history online, 
and have access to the New Hire Reporting Form (Form 3281). For 
additional New Hire reporting information, call 1-800-524-9846.
Contact Treasury
Contact Treasury at Michigan Department of Treasury, P.O. 
Box 30427, Lansing, MI 48909; 517-636-6925. Assistance 
is available using TTY through the Michigan Relay Service 
by calling 711. Printed material in an alternate format can be 
requested by calling 517-636-6925.

http://mto.treasury.michigan.gov

