
CIT and the Michigan Business Tax
All business taxpayers, regardless of business type, may use 
Form 4913 to make their required estimated tax payments for 
the CIT. Follow general instructions for all business types and 
specific instructions as identified for C Corporations, Financial 
Institutions, and Insurance Companies.

NOTE: Under the rules of Public Act 39 of 2011, some taxpayers 
may continue to file Michigan Business Tax (MBT) and will 
use Form 4913 to pay their estimates. MBT filers should use the 
instructions for the 2011 MBT Quarterly Return (Form 4548) 
online at www.michigan.gov/mbt. (Select “Tax Forms.”)

Under Public Act (PA) 39 of 2011, the MBT will be repealed 
when the last certificated credit or carryforward based on that 
credit is claimed. Taxpayers may choose to continue to file 
under the MBT to keep certain certificated credits.

Form 4913 replaces the Michigan Business Tax Quarterly 
Return (Form 4548) and estimated payments will be filed using 
Form 4913 regardless of which type of annual tax return will 
be filed. Any payments applied to CIT will be credited properly 
to MBT should an MBT annual return be filed.

CIT Estimated Tax Payments 

The CIT consists of a franchise tax for financial institutions, 
a premiums tax for insurance companies, and an income tax 
for C Corporations and entities taxed as C Corporations for  
federal income tax purposes.

Taxpayers with an annual combined CIT liability reasonably 
expected to exceed $800 must make quarterly estimated tax 
payments. If the tax year was less than 12 months (e.g., the 
business was opened or closed during the year), annualize 
the tax to see if estimates must be filed. For guidance on 
annualizing, see “Filing if Tax Year Is Less Than 12 Months” 
in the CIT general instruction booklet (Form 4890).

The sum of estimated tax payments must equal at least 
85 percent of total liability and the amount of each payment 
must reasonably approximate the tax liability incurred during 
the period.

If the preceding year’s tax liability was $20,000 or less, the 
taxpayer can submit four equal installments, the sum of which 
equals the immediately preceding tax year’s CIT liability.  
(“Four equal installments” describes the minimum pace of 
payments that will satisfy this safe harbor. Payments at a more 
accelerated pace also will qualify.) If the prior tax year was 
less than 12 months, annualize the prior year’s tax liability 
for purposes of both the $20,000 ceiling and calculating 
the quarterly payments due under this method. Reliance on 
the prior year’s tax liability as a means to avoid interest and 
penalty charges is only allowed if you had business activity in 
Michigan in that prior year. In addition, if your business was 
not in existence in the preceding year, no safe harbor exists.

CIT estimated tax payments are not required for taxpayers with 
a short year of less than four calendar months.

NOTE: If the taxpayer has certificated credits AND is 
electing or has elected to file under MBT, and the preceding 
year’s tax liability under the MBT Act, including surcharge, if 
applicable, was $20,000 or less, the taxpayer can submit four 
equal installments, the sum of which equals the immediately 
preceding tax year’s tax liability.

NOTE: Insurance companies must calculate the $20,000 safe 
harbor and estimated payments based on the higher of CIT or 
retaliatory tax liability.

Special Instructions for Unitary Business 
Groups
Under the CIT statute, the term “taxpayer” can include a C 
Corporation, insurance company, financial institution, or Unitary 
Business Group (UBG). A UBG is a group of United States 
persons, other than a foreign operating entity, one of which owns 
or controls (directly or indirectly) more than 50 percent of the 
ownership interests with voting or comparable rights of the other 
United States persons and that has business activities resulting 
in a flow of value between or among persons in the group, or has 
business activities that are integrated with, are dependent upon, 
or contribute to each other. All CIT estimated tax payments for a 
UBG should be made by the Designated Member.

A CIT return is due for a standard taxpayer or UBG of standard 
taxpayers if the taxpayer’s gross receipts after intercompany 
eliminations are $350,000 or greater for the tax year (annualized 
if a short period). For information on CIT topics, see the 
Treasury Web site at www.michigan.gov/treasury. Revenue 
Administrative Bulletin (RAB) 2013-1 addresses the UBG 
Control Test and Relationship Tests.

Filing CIT Quarterly Tax Returns
A taxpayer may remit quarterly estimated payments by check 
with Form 4913 or may remit monthly or quarterly estimated 
payments electronically by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). 
When payments are made by EFT, Form 4913 is not required.

NOTE: Formerly, taxpayers could pay by check on a monthly 
or quarterly basis by remitting a check with a Combined 
Return for Michigan Tax (Form 160). Beginning January 
2015, Form 160 will be replaced. The new form will no longer 
accommodate  CIT payments. As a result, this Form 4913 is the 
only form that supports a CIT estimated payment.

Estimated returns and payments for calendar year taxpayers 
are due to Treasury by April 15, July 15, October 15, and 
January 15 of the following year. Fiscal year taxpayers should 
make returns and payments by the appropriate due date which 
is fifteen days after the end of each fiscal quarter. The sum of 
estimated payments for each quarter must always reasonably 
approximate the liability for the quarter.
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NOTE: Insurance companies must file on a calendar year basis.

NOTE: Your debit transaction will be ineligible for EFT 
if the bank account used for the electronic debit is funded or 
otherwise associated with a foreign account to the extent that 
the payment transaction would qualify as an International ACH 
Transaction (IAT) under NACHA Rules. Contact your financial 
institution for questions about the status of your account.

The estimated payment made with each quarterly return must 
be computed on the actual CIT for the quarter, or 25 percent of 
the estimated total liability if paying a CIT liability.

How Much to Pay
C Corporations and Financial Institutions. Compute 
quarterly estimated tax payments for CIT based on the tax 
liability for the period.

Insurance Companies. Compute quarterly estimated tax 
payments on the greater of the amount of tax imposed under 
MCL 206.635-643 (CIT) or MCL 500.476a (Retaliatory tax).

All Taxpayers. Penalty and interest for underpaid estimated 
tax payments will not be charged if payments are made on 
time and meet the requirements for the amount per quarter as 
stated under the heading CIT Estimated Tax Payments in these 
instructions.

NOTE: For a taxpayer that calculates and pays estimated tax 
payments for federal income tax purposes pursuant to section 
6655(e) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), that taxpayer may 
use the same methodology used to calculate the annualized 
income installment or the adjusted seasonal installment, 
whichever is used, as the basis for the federal estimated tax 
payment to calculate the estimated tax payments required each 
quarter for CIT.

Estimating Tax Liability
C Corporations
A CIT annual return is not due if a taxpayer’s apportioned 
or allocated gross receipts are less than $350,000. Similarly, 
if the taxpayer’s current year liability is $100 or less then 
the taxpayer is not required to file the annual return or pay 
the tax.

For C Corporations with apportioned or allocated gross receipts 
of $350,000 or more (annualized, if a short period), CIT is 
comprised of a 6.0 percent tax on the corporate income tax 
base. The apportionment for C Corporations is based on a sales 
factor, utilizing rules set in statute.

For most C Corporations, the corporate income tax base is that 
part of federal taxable income derived from business activity, 
with certain adjustments. Federal taxable income means 
taxable income as defined in IRC § 63, except that federal 
taxable income shall be calculated as if IRC § 168(k) and IRC § 
199 were not in effect.

Additions (to the extent deducted or excluded from federal 
taxable income) include:

•	 Interest income and dividends derived from obligations or 
securities of states other than Michigan.

•	 Taxes on or measured by net income and the tax imposed 
under CIT.

•	 Any net operating loss carryback or carryover.

•	 Royalty, interest, or other expense paid to a person related 
to the taxpayer by ownership or control for the use of 
an intangible asset if the person is not included in the 
taxpayer’s UBG.

Subtractions (to the extent included in federal taxable income) 
include:

•	 Dividends and royalties received from persons other than 
United States persons and foreign operating entities.

•	 Interest income derived from United States obligations.

•	 Income from producing oil and gas.

The tax base of a standard taxpayer whose business activities 
are subject to tax both within and outside Michigan is 
apportioned. The apportionment for C Corporations is based 
on a sales factor, utilizing rules set in statute. For guidance 
on the definition of sale or sales, see instructions for the CIT 
Annual Return (Form 4891).  For guidance on the Sourcing of 
Sales to Michigan under the CIT, see that section in the general 
instruction book, Form 4890.

After additions and subtractions and, if applicable, allocation 
or apportionment of the tax base, a taxpayer may be allowed 
a business loss deduction, if available. A business loss 
deduction is a carryforward of a business loss from the 
immediately preceding year where business loss means a 
negative business income after allocation or apportionment. A 
taxpayer may use available business loss incurred under the 
CIT after December 31, 2011. For more guidance on business 
loss, see instructions for Form 4891.

Some C Corporations may find that business income may be 
approximated using monthly profit and loss statements. To the 
extent that a C Corporation’s tax base arises from interests in 
a flow-through entity that is making withholding payments 
on behalf of the Corporation, the Corporation may choose 
to reduce its estimated payments accordingly. Ultimately, 
however, the Corporation is responsible for adequate, timely 
payments toward its corporate income tax liability. Therefore, 
if the flow-through entity fails for any reason to make the 
expected withholding payments, causing the C Corporation’s 
account to be underpaid, the Corporation may be assessed 
penalty and interest for underpaid estimates.

NOTE: Withholding payments by a flow-through entity will 
be claimed on the corporate owner’s CIT annual return for 
the Corporation’s tax year in which the flow-through entity’s 
tax year ends. Flow-through withholding is paid quarterly, but 
may only be used by the corporate owner annually, after the 
flow-through entity files its Annual Flow-Through Withholding 
Reconciliation Return (Form 4918).

Insurance Companies
Under CIT, insurance companies are subject to a 1.25 percent 
tax on gross direct premiums written on property or risk located 
or residing in Michigan with certain exclusions, including: 
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•	 Premiums on policies not taken.
•	 Returned premiums on canceled policies.
•	 Receipts on sales of annuities.
•	 Receipts on reinsurance premiums if the tax has been paid 

on the original premiums.
•	 The first $190,000,000 of disability insurance premiums 

written in Michigan, other than credit insurance and 
disability income insurance premiums, reduced by two 
dollars for each dollar by which the gross direct premiums 
from insurance carrier services, both within and without 
Michigan, exceed $280,000,000.

Credits may be claimed against the tax for amounts paid to 
the following, using the assessments from the immediately 
preceding tax year:
•	 Michigan Workers’ Compensation Placement Facility
•	 Michigan Basic Property Insurance Association 
•	 Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility
•	 Property and Casualty Guaranty Association
•	 Michigan Life and Health Guaranty Association.

In addition, credits are available for 50 percent of examination 
fees paid during the tax year, and 100 percent of the amount 
paid during the tax year pursuant to Section 352 of the 
Workers’ Disability Compensation Act of 1969, as certificated 
by the director of the Bureau of Workers’ Disability 
Compensation.

NOTE: An insurance company is not required to file an annual 
CIT return if current year liability is $100 or less.

Foreign and alien insurers may be liable for the Retaliatory Tax 
under Section 476a of the Insurance Code and must look to the 
laws of their state of incorporation (or port of entry) to make 
the appropriate calculation. Insurance companies must pay the 
greater of the CIT or the Retaliatory Tax.

Financial Institutions
In lieu of other taxes imposed by CIT, every financial 
institution with nexus in Michigan is subject to a franchise tax 
imposed on its tax base, after allocation or apportionment, at 
the rate of 0.29 percent.

NOTE: A financial institution is not required to file an annual 
CIT return if current year liability is $100 or less.

A financial institution is defined as:
•	 A bank holding company, a national bank, a state chartered 

bank, a state chartered savings bank, a federally chartered 
savings association, or a federally chartered Farm Credit 
System institution.

•	 Any entity, other than an insurance company subject to 
the tax imposed under Chapter 12 of the CIT Act, who is 
directly or indirectly owned by an entity described in the 
preceding bulleted item and is a member of the UBG.

•	 A UBG made up of the entities described above.

The tax base of a financial institution is the financial 
institution’s net capital, which is equity capital as computed in 
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, with 

certain adjustments. Capitalization of an insurance company 
subsidiary that is in excess of 125 percent of the minimum 
regulatory capitalization requirements is included in net 
capital. (The amount capitalized would be carried on the books 
of the insurance company subsidiary as an asset.) Deductions 
are allowed for the average daily book value of United States 
and State of Michigan obligations. 

Note: If a financial institution does not maintain its books 
and records in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles, net capital may be computed in accordance with the 
books and records used by the financial institution, so long as 
the method fairly reflects the financial institution’s net capital 
for purposes of CIT.

Net capital is determined by averaging the financial 
institution’s net capital as of the close of the current tax year 
with the preceding four tax years. This calculation is modified 
if a financial institution has been in existence for less than five 
tax years. The statute provides additional guidance for mergers 
and acquisitions. 

The tax base of financial institutions whose business activities 
are subject to tax both within and outside Michigan is 
apportioned by the gross business factor, utilizing rules set in 
statute. Gross business means the sum of the following:

•	 Fees, commissions, or other compensation for financial 
services.

•	 Net gains, not less than zero, from the sale of loans and 
other intangibles.

•	 Net gains, not less than zero, from trading in stocks, bonds, 
or other securities.

•	 Interest charged to customers for carrying debit balances of 
margin accounts.

•	 Interest and dividends received.
•	 Any other gross proceeds resulting from the operation as a 

financial institution.

All Taxpayers

Additional details regarding the calculation of the tax may be 
found in the forms and instructions provided on the Treasury 
Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes. The Web site contains 
information taxpayers may find helpful in determining their 
estimated tax liability. 

Using Personalized Estimate Returns
If you previously made estimated returns, Treasury will send 
you personalized estimate returns. Subsequently, Treasury 
will continue to send them to you if you make estimated tax 
payments.

•	 File the original returns and keep copies for your file. The 
personalized returns are read by an optical scanner which 
can process only these original returns.

•	 Use the personalized returns whether you fill them out 
yourself or get help from a tax preparer.

•	 Personalized returns shorten the processing time of your 
payment and reduce the chance of an error in your account. 
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•	 Do not use personalized returns if information on the return 
is incorrect and DO NOT USE OTHER TAXPAYERS’ 
RETURNS OR PHOTOCOPY THEIR FORMS. If you do, 
your payments could be applied to the wrong account. 

•	 If you use software to prepare your return, the software may 
create a personalized return for you. 

If you lose a return or have not made estimated tax payments 
before, visit www.michigan.gov/taxes to obtain a form. 

Reporting Payments
Report all CIT estimated payments, whether made by check or 
EFT, on the CIT annual return. 

NOTE: An annual return must be filed to claim a refund. 

Penalty and Interest
If the sum of the estimated tax payments is less than 85 percent 
of the annual liability, the amount of the estimated tax payment 
doesn’t equal the quarter’s liability, or the taxpayer does 
not qualify for or has not satisfied the prior year safe harbor 
provision, penalty and interest will accrue. 

Penalty is 5 percent of tax due for the first two months by 
which the payment is late. Penalty increases by an additional  
5 percent per month, or fraction thereof, after the second month 
to a maximum of 25 percent.

The interest rate is adjusted by Treasury on January 1 and July 
1 of each year to 1 percent above the adjusted prime rate. For a 
complete list of interest rates, see the RABs on the Treasury 
Web site. Go to www.michigan.gov/taxes and click on the 
“Reference” link on the left side of the page.

Filing Quarterly Tax Returns
Make your check payable to “State of Michigan” and write 
your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or the 
Michigan Treasury (TR) assigned number, the tax year, and 
“CIT Q” on the front of the check. Mail your check with the 
CIT Quarterly Return for the applicable quarter. Do NOT 
staple the check to the return. Mail the check and return to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
PO Box 30774
Lansing MI 48909-8274
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