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 Taxpayer Name

Address (Street, City, State, ZIP Code)

         

2019 Michigan Corporate Income Tax Quarterly Return

Complete voucher at the bottom of this page, cut on the dotted line, and mail to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
PO Box 30774
Lansing MI 48909-8274



CIT and the Michigan Business Tax
All business taxpayers, regardless of business type, may use 
Form 4913 to make their required estimated tax payments for 
the CIT. Follow general instructions for all business types and 
specific instructions as identified for C Corporations, Financial 
Institutions, and Insurance Companies.

NOTE: Under Public Act 39 of 2011, some taxpayers may 
elect to continue to file Michigan Business Tax (MBT). MBT 
taxpayers should use Form 4913 to pay their estimates. MBT 
filers should use the instructions for current year MBT forms to 
assist in computing the estimated payments required. 

NOTE for standard MBT taxpayers with a fiscal tax year: 
The MBT surcharge is no longer levied on standard taxpayers, 
effective January 1, 2017. Fiscal filers will prorate the 
surcharge on their annual return, using the number of months 
in the taxpayer’s tax year before January 2017 to the number 
of total months in the taxpayer’s tax year. This proration 
should be considered when computing estimated payments. 
The surcharge that applies to financial institutions remains 
unchanged.

CIT Estimated Tax Payments 
The CIT consists of a franchise tax for financial institutions, 
a premiums tax for insurance companies, and an income tax 
for C Corporations and entities taxed as C Corporations for  
federal income tax purposes.

Taxpayers with an annual combined CIT liability reasonably 
expected to exceed $800 must make quarterly estimated tax 
payments. Each payment must approximate the taxpayer’s tax 
liability for the quarter or 25 percent of the estimated annual 
liability. Second, third, and fourth quarter payments should 
include any necessary adjustments for overpayments or 
underpayments in a previous quarter.

If the tax year was less than 12 months (e.g., the business was 
opened or closed during the year), annualize the tax to see if 
estimates must be filed. For guidance on annualizing, see 
“Filing if Tax Year Is Less Than 12 Months” in the CIT general 
instruction booklet (Form 4890).

To avoid interest and penalty for underpayment of estimates, 
the sum of all estimated payments must be at least 85 percent 
of the annual liability and each quarterly payment must 
reasonably approximate the liability incurred in the quarter.

Instructions for Form 4913 
2019 Michigan Corporate Income Tax (CIT) Quarterly Return 

If the preceding year’s tax liability was $20,000 or less, the 
taxpayer can submit four equal, timely installments, the sum of 
which equals the immediately preceding tax year’s CIT liability. 
(“Four equal, timely installments” describes the minimum 
pace of payments that will satisfy this safe harbor. Payments at 
a more accelerated pace also will qualify.) If the prior tax year 
was less than 12 months, annualize the prior year’s tax liability 
for purposes of both the $20,000 ceiling and calculating the 
quarterly payments due under this method. For guidance on 
annualizing, see “Filing if Tax Year Is Less Than 12 Months” in 
the CIT general instruction booklet (Form 4890). Reliance on the 
prior year’s tax liability as a means to avoid interest and penalty 
charges is only allowed if the taxpayer had business activity in 
Michigan in that prior year. In addition, if the business was not 
in existence in the preceding year, no safe harbor exists.

CIT estimated tax payments are not required for taxpayers with 
a short year of less than four calendar months.

NOTE: If the taxpayer has certificated credits AND is 
electing or has elected to file under MBT, and the preceding 
year’s tax liability under the MBT Act, including surcharge, if 
applicable, was $20,000 or less, the taxpayer can submit four 
equal installments, the sum of which equals the immediately 
preceding tax year’s tax liability.

NOTE: Insurance companies must calculate the $20,000 safe 
harbor and estimated payments based on the higher of CIT or 
retaliatory tax liability.

Instructions for Unitary Business Groups
Under the Income Tax Act, the term “taxpayer” includes a 
C Corporation, insurance company, financial institution, or 
Unitary Business Group (UBG). A UBG is a group of United 
States persons that are corporations, insurance companies, or 
financial institutions, other than a foreign operating entity, that 
satisfies the following criteria:

• One of the persons owns or controls, directly or indirectly, 
more than 50 percent of the ownership interest with voting 
rights (or rights comparable to voting rights) of the other 
members; AND 

• The UBG has operations which result in a flow of value 
between the members in the UBG or has operations that are 
integrated with, are dependent upon, or contribute to each 
other. Flow of value is determined by reviewing the totality of 
facts and circumstances of business activities and operations. 
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ONLINE PAYMENT OPTION
A taxpayer may remit quarterly estimated payments by check with Form 4913 or may remit monthly or quarterly estimated 
payments electronically by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). When payments are made by EFT, Form 4913 is not required. 
Treasury now accepts payments by credit card, debit card and electronic check. In order to make EFT payments, visit Michigan 
Treasury Online (MTO) at https://mto.treasury.michigan.gov, log in or create a user profile, and follow fast pay instructions to 
make your payment.
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A UBG may alternatively be determined by making an stated under the heading CIT Estimated Tax Payments in these 
Affiliated Group Election. See the Corporate Income Tax instructions.
Annual Return (Form 4891) for more information. NOTE: For a taxpayer that calculates and pays estimated tax 
All CIT estimated tax payments for a UBG should be made by payments for federal income tax purposes pursuant to section 
the Designated Member. 6655(e) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), that taxpayer may 

use the same methodology used to calculate the annualized 
A CIT return is due for a standard taxpayer or UBG of standard income installment or the adjusted seasonal installment, 
taxpayers if the taxpayer’s gross receipts after intercompany whichever is used, as the basis for the federal estimated tax 
eliminations are $350,000 or greater for the tax year payment to calculate the estimated tax payments required each 
(annualized if a short period). For information on CIT topics, quarter for CIT.
see the Treasury Web site at www.michigan.gov/treasury. 
Revenue Administrative Bulletin (RAB) 2013-1 addresses the Estimating Tax Liability
UBG Control Test and Relationship Tests. For guidance on 
annualizing, see “Filing if Tax Year Is Less Than 12 Months” C Corporations
in the CIT general instruction booklet (Form 4890) A CIT annual return is not due if a taxpayer’s apportioned or 

allocated gross receipts are less than $350,000. Similarly, if 
Filing CIT Quarterly Tax Returns the taxpayer’s current year liability is $100 or less, then the 

taxpayer is not required to file the annual return or pay the tax.A taxpayer may remit quarterly estimated payments by check 
with Form 4913 or may remit monthly or quarterly estimated For C Corporations with apportioned or allocated gross receipts 
payments electronically by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). of $350,000 or more (annualized, if a short period), CIT is 
When payments are made by EFT, Form 4913 is not required. comprised of a 6.0 percent tax on the corporate income tax 
Treasury now accepts payments by credit card, debit card base. For guidance on annualizing, see “Filing if Tax Year Is 
and electronic check. In order to make EFT payments, visit Less Than 12 Months” in the CIT general instruction booklet 
Michigan Treasury Online (MTO) at https://mto.treasury. (Form 4890). Apportionment for C Corporations is based on 
michigan.gov, log in or create a user profile, and follow fast sales factor, utilizing rules set in statute.
pay instructions to make your payment. The corporate income tax base means a taxpayer’s business 
Estimated returns and payments for calendar year taxpayers income subject to additions and subtractions. Business income 
are due by April 15, July 15, October 15, and January 15 of is defined as federal taxable income. For a tax-exempt taxpayer, 
the following year. Fiscal year taxpayers should make returns business income means only that part of federal taxable income 
and payments by the appropriate due date which is fifteen derived from unrelated business activity. Federal taxable 
days after the end of each fiscal quarter. The sum of estimated income means taxable income as defined in IRC § 63, except 
payments for each quarter must always reasonably approximate that federal taxable income shall be calculated as if IRC § 
the liability for the quarter. 168(k) and IRC §199 were not in effect.

NOTE: Insurance companies must file on a calendar year basis. Additions (to the extent deducted or excluded from federal 
taxable income) include:

NOTE: A debit transaction will be ineligible for EFT if 
the bank account used for the electronic debit is funded or • Interest income and dividends derived from obligations or 
otherwise associated with a foreign account to the extent that securities of states other than Michigan.
the payment transaction would qualify as an International • Taxes on or measured by net income and the tax imposed 
ACH Transaction (IAT) under NACHA Rules. Contact the under CIT.
taxpayer’s financial institution for questions about the account • Any net operating loss carryback or carryover.
status. • Royalty, interest, or other expense paid to a person related 
The estimated payment made with each quarterly return must to the taxpayer by ownership or control for the use of 
be computed on the actual CIT for the quarter, or 25 percent of an intangible asset if the person is not included in the 
the estimated total liability if paying a CIT liability. taxpayer’s UBG.

• Expenses from the production of oil and gas, and/or 
How Much to Pay minerals, to the extent related income is subject to Michigan 

severance tax.C Corporations and Financial Institutions. Compute 
quarterly estimated tax payments for CIT based on the tax Subtractions (to the extent included in federal taxable income) 
liability for the period. include:

Insurance Companies. Compute quarterly estimated tax • Dividends and royalties received from persons other than 
payments on the greater of the amount of tax imposed under United States persons and foreign operating entities.
MCL 206.635-643 (CIT) or MCL 500.476a (Retaliatory tax). • Interest income derived from United States obligations, 
All Taxpayers. Penalty and interest for underpaid estimated including dividend gross up.
tax payments will not be charged if payments are made on • Income from producing oil and gas and/or minerals, to the 
time and meet the requirements for the amount per quarter as extent subject to Michigan severance tax.
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The tax base of a standard taxpayer whose business activities In addition, credits are available for 50 percent of examination 
are subject to tax both within and outside Michigan is fees paid during the tax year, and 100 percent of the 
apportioned. Apportionment for C Corporations is based on amount paid during the tax year pursuant to Section 352 
sales factor, utilizing rules set in statute. For guidance on the of the Worker’s Disability Compensation Act of 1969, as 
definition of sale or sales, see instructions for the CIT Annual certificated by the director of the Bureau of Worker Disability 
Return (Form 4891).  For guidance on the Sourcing of Sales Compensation.
to Michigan under the CIT, see that section in the general NOTE: An insurance company is not required to file an annual 
instruction book, Form 4890. CIT return if current year liability is $100 or less.
After additions and subtractions and, if applicable, allocation Foreign and alien insurers may be liable for the Retaliatory Tax 
or apportionment of the tax base, a taxpayer may be allowed a under Section 476a of the Insurance Code and must look to the 
business loss deduction, if available. A business loss deduction laws of their state of incorporation (or port of entry) to make 
is a carryforward of a business loss from the immediately the appropriate calculation. Insurance companies must pay the 
preceding year where business loss means a negative business greater of the CIT or the Retaliatory Tax.
income taxable amount after allocation or apportionment. A 
taxpayer may use available business loss incurred under the Financial Institutions
CIT after December 31, 2011. For more guidance on business In lieu of other taxes imposed by CIT, every financial 
loss, see instructions for Form 4891. institution with nexus in Michigan is subject to a franchise tax 

imposed on its tax base, after allocation or apportionment, at 
Some C Corporations may find that business income may be the rate of 0.29 percent.
approximated using monthly profit and loss statements.

NOTE: A financial institution is not required to file an annual 
NOTE: Under Public Act 158 of 2016, flow-through CIT return if current year liability is $100 or less.
withholding is repealed effective for FTEs with tax years 
beginning after June 30, 2016.  If a CIT taxpayer has A financial institution is defined as:
business income attributable to a distributive share of income • A bank holding company, a national bank, a state chartered 
of an FTE whose tax year begins after June 30, 2016, the CIT bank, a state chartered savings bank, a federally chartered 
taxpayer will not have withholding from that FTE to claim on savings association, or a federally chartered Farm Credit 
its annual return. The CIT taxpayer should consider this when System institution.
determining its quarterly estimated payments. • Any entity, other than an insurance company subject to the 

tax imposed under Chapter 12 of the Income Tax Act, who Insurance Companies
is directly or indirectly owned by an entity described in the 

Under CIT, insurance companies are subject to a 1.25 percent preceding bulleted item and is a member of the UBG.
tax on gross direct premiums written on property or risk located • A UBG made up of the entities described above.or residing in Michigan with certain exclusions, including: 

The tax base of a financial institution is the financial 
• Premiums on policies not taken. institution’s net capital, which is equity capital as computed in 
• Returned premiums on canceled policies. accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, with 

certain adjustments. Capitalization of an insurance company 
• Receipts on sales of annuities. subsidiary that is in excess of 125 percent of the minimum 
• Receipts on reinsurance premiums if the tax has been paid regulatory capitalization requirements is included in net 

on the original premiums. capital. (The amount capitalized would be carried on the books 
of the insurance company subsidiary as an asset.) Deductions 

• The first $190,000,000 of disability insurance premiums are allowed for the average daily book value of United States 
written in Michigan, other than credit insurance and and State of Michigan obligations. 
disability income insurance premiums, reduced by two 
dollars for each dollar by which the gross direct premiums NOTE: If a financial institution does not maintain its books 
from insurance carrier services, both within and without and records in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
Michigan, exceed $280,000,000. principles, net capital may be computed in accordance with the 

books and records used by the financial institution, so long as 
Credits may be claimed against the tax for amounts paid to the method fairly reflects the financial institution’s net capital 
the following, using the assessments from the immediately for purposes of CIT.
preceding tax year:

Net capital is determined by averaging the financial 
• Michigan Workers’ Compensation Placement Facility institution’s net capital as of the close of the current tax year 
• Michigan Basic Property Insurance Association with the preceding four tax years. This calculation is modified 

if a financial institution has been in existence for less than five 
• Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility tax years. The statute provides additional guidance for mergers 
• Property and Casualty Guaranty Association and acquisitions. 

• Michigan Life and Health Guaranty Association. The tax base of financial institutions whose business activities 
are subject to tax both within and outside Michigan is 
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apportioned by the gross business factor, utilizing rules set in Reporting Payments
statute. Gross business means the sum of the following:

Report all CIT estimated payments, whether made by check or 
• Fees, commissions, or other compensation for financial EFT, on the CIT annual return. (If filing a Michigan Business 

services. Tax return, report all estimated payments on the MBT annual 
• Net gains, not less than zero, from the sale of loans and return.)

other intangibles.
NOTE: An annual return must be filed to claim a refund. • Net gains, not less than zero, from trading in stocks, bonds, 

or other securities. Penalty and Interest
• Interest charged to customers for carrying debit balances of 

margin accounts. If the sum of the estimated tax payments is less than 85 percent 
of the annual liability, the amount of the estimated tax payment • Interest and dividends received.
doesn’t equal the quarter’s liability, or the taxpayer does 

• Any other gross proceeds resulting from the operation as a not qualify for or has not satisfied the prior year safe harbor 
financial institution. provision, penalty and interest will accrue. 

All Taxpayers Penalty is 5 percent of tax due for the first two months by 
which the payment is late. Penalty increases by an additional  Additional details regarding the calculation of the tax may be 
5 percent per month, or fraction thereof, after the second month found in the forms and instructions provided on the Treasury 
to a maximum of 25 percent.Web site at www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes. The Web site 

contains information taxpayers may find helpful in determining The interest rate is adjusted by Treasury on January 1 and July 
their estimated tax liability. 1 of each year to 1 percent above the adjusted prime rate. For a 

complete list of interest rates, see the Revenue Administrative 
Using Personalized Estimate Returns Bulletins on the Treasury Web site, www.michigan.gov/

treasury.Taxpayers that made estimated returns for the prior tax year on 
personalized returns provided by Treasury will again receive Filing Quarterly Tax Returns
personalized estimate returns from Treasury.

Make a check payable to “State of Michigan” and write the • File the original return and retain a copy. taxpayer’s Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 
• Use the personalized returns whether you fill them out or the Michigan Treasury (TR) assigned number, the tax year, 

yourself or get help from a tax preparer. and “CIT Q” on the front of the check. (Taxpayers expecting 
• The use of a personalized return shortens the processing to file an MBT annual return should still write “CIT Q” on the 

time and reduces the chance of an error in posting the check.) Mail the check with the CIT Quarterly Return for the 
payment to the incorrect account. applicable quarter. Do NOT staple the check to the return. Mail 

the check and return to:• Do not use personalized returns if information on the return 
is incorrect and DO NOT USE OTHER TAXPAYERS’ Michigan Department of Treasury
RETURNS OR PHOTOCOPY THEIR FORMS. Doing so PO Box 30774

Lansing MI 48909-8274could result in the payment posting to the wrong account.
• If using software to prepare the return, a personalized return 

may be created by the software with which to submit the 
payment. 

If you lose a return or have not made estimated tax payments 
before, visit  www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes to obtain a 
form. 
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