Michigan Department of Treasury
4930 (Rev. 01-17)

Quarterly Worksheet for Health Insurance Claims Assessment (HICA)

Reset Form

IMPORTANT: This worksheet is your file copy and is subject to audit. You must keep this worksheet in your records for a period of four

(4) years after the HICA annual return due date. DO NOT SEND the worksheet to Treasury.

Name Account Number (FEIN, ME or TR Number) Assessment/File Period

I:I Qtr 1 I:I Qtr 2 I:I Qtr 3 I::I Qtr 4

Return Year

See line-by-line instructions for further information. Report all amounts in whole dollars.
Organization Type

1. D a. Third Party Administrator D b. Carrier D c. Carrier with a suspension or exemption under MCL 500.3717 as of January 1, 2012.

Health Insurance Claims Assessment

2. Gross paid claims during the current assessment period for dates of service on or after January 1, 2012.... 2. 00
Paid Claims and Related Exclusions Not Subject to Assessment
NOTE: For each exclusion listed in lines 3 through 13, enter amounts:
e ONLY TO THE EXTENT INCLUDED IN LINE 2; AND
e ONLY TO THE EXTENT SUCH AMOUNT IS NOT INCLUDED IN ANOTHER LINE IN THIS SECTION. SEE INSTRUCTIONS FOR DETAILS.
3. AlIOWADIE MECOVEIIES.......c..ecveeeeeeeeeeee et anes 3. 00
4. Claims-related EXPENSES ........cc.cviuiiuieriitiieeeteete ettt ettt eae s 4. 00
5. Certain payments made to a qualifying provider under an incentive
COMPENSALION AGIEEMENT.........c.iiiuiieieieiteiiesieiete ettt ese st sseneas 5. 00
6. Certain claims paid under certain accident, long-term care, or property and
CASUAILY COVEIAGE. ... c.eeuieuieiieeicteieeee ettt sae e eneeneseeneenean 6. 00
7. Claims paid for services rendered to a nonresident of Michigan........................ 7. 00
g. Claims paid for services rendered outside of Michigan to a person who is a
resident Of MIChIGaN .........ccooiiiiiieiete e 8. 00
9. Claims paid for services rendered to a person covered under a health benefit
plan for federal EMPIOYEES .......ccciueieiiiieiesieee e 9. 00
10. Claims paid under certain federal health benefit programs and high-risk
POOIS. ettt ettt ettt ettt ettt ettt ettt ettt ettt et et et eaeereareareas 10. 00
11.  Certain health reimbursements to individuals authorized under federal law. ..... 1. 00
12. Health and medical services costs paid by an individual for cost-sharing
TEQUITEIMEINES. ... evteieteeeeeeeete et ee e ettt et e te st et eseeseesesse e eseeseesesseseeneeneaneaneasennens 12. 00
13. Claims paid in excess of $1,000,000 per individual, or $10,000,000 per
individual if you checked liN@ 1€ .............cecveiieiieiecceceee e 13. 00
14. Total Allowable Exclusions: Add lines 3 through 13..........cccoovvieeeiecicnenen. 14, 00
15. Net Health Insurance Claims Paid Subject to Assessment: Subtract line 14 from line 2...........c............. 15. 00
16. Total Assessment for File Period. See instructions. Calculate below and enter the total of lines 16a, 16b
ANA T6C ON TINE 1B ... ettt b ettt e et e e bt e e e e et saneeebee e
16a. Claims from line 15 subject to 1% rate x 1% (0.01) = 16a. 00
16b. Claims from line 15 subjectto 0.75%rate___ x0.75% (0.0075) = 16b. 00
16¢. Claims from line 15 subject to 0.1% rate x 0.1% (0.001) = 16¢. 00
16d. Add lines 16a, 16b and 16c. Enter the total in box 16d. This is the total assessment amount for the file
[o1= o e RSO RSRSSORRRR 16d. 00
17. Underpayment from prior @SSESSMENt PEMIOUS. ........c.eveviiiueriieetiieieeetesesieseeetessseese e tessesese s e e sesesseseseesens 17. 00
18. Overpayment from prior @SSESSMENt PEIIOUS. ...........ccverieiereiteeteeteeteeeteete et e et e e e e e et et e e seeseeressesseseseaseas 18. 00
19. Net assessment for the current period: (line 16d + line 17) - (line 18). Note, if the net assessment amount
is $0.00 or results in a credit (negative) amount, see instructions, and do not complete lines 20 and 21.....  19. 00
20. If the assessment levied under the HICA Act is paid late, enter penalty and interest ............ccocooereiiiiennns 20. 00
21. Total Amount Due. Add lines 19 and 20. Payments must be made by Electronic Funds Transfer......... 21. 00




Instructions for Completing Form 4930,
Quarterly Worksheet for Health Insurance Claims Assessment (HICA)

IMPORTANT: This worksheet is your file copy and is subject
to audit. You must keep this worksheet in your records for
a period of four (4) years after the HICA annual return due
date. DO NOT SEND the worksheet to Treasury. Record
your name, account number, assessment/file period and
return year at the top of the form.

Lines not listed are explained on the form.

Note: Report all amounts in whole dollars. Round down
amounts of 49 cents or less. Round up amounts of 50
cents or more. Payments should be submitted using
whole dollar amounts.

Organization Type

Line 1. Check the box indicating your organization type.
If your company is both a third party administrator and a
carrier, please select either box. For definitions of “carrier”
and “third party administrator,” see MCL 550.1732. Note
that the definition of “carrier” includes an employer or
employee organization that establishes or maintains a
group health plan. Entities that self-insure for health care
are therefore included in the definition of “carrier.”

Health Insurance Claims Assessment

Line 2. Enter gross paid claims during the current
assessment period for dates of service on or after January
1, 2012 for actual payments, net of recoveries, made to a
health and medical services provider or reimbursed to an
individual by a carrier, third party administrator, self-insured
entity, or excess loss or stop loss carrier.

Paid Claims and Related Exclusions Not Subject to
Assessment

NOTE: For each exclusion listed in lines 3 through 13,
enter amounts:

* ONLY TO THE EXTENT INCLUDED IN LINE 2; AND

* ONLY TO THE EXTENT SUCH AMOUNT IS NOT
INCLUDED IN ANOTHER LINE IN THIS SECTION.

Line 3. Enter the amount of allowable recoveries.
“Recoveries” includes any amounts received by the payer
that are applied against a claim (and that actually affect the
amount of actual payment made to the provider).

Line 4. Enter the amount of cost containment expenses
including, but not limited to, payments for utilization
review, care or case management, disease management,
medication review management, risk assessment, and
similar administrative services intended to reduce the
claims paid for health and medical services rendered to
covered individuals by attempting to ensure that needed
services are delivered in the most efficacious manner
possible or by helping those covered individuals maintain
or improve their health. Claims-related expenses also
includes general administrative expenses, payments
made to or by an organized group of health and medical
service providers in accordance with managed care risk
arrangements or network access agreements, which
payments are unrelated to the provision of services to
specific covered individuals.

Line 5. Enter any payments made to a qualifying provider
under an incentive compensation arrangement if the
payments are not reflected in the processing of claims
submitted for services rendered to specific covered
individuals.

Line 6. Enter payments for specified accident, accident-
only coverage, credit, disability income, long-term care,
health-related claims under automobile insurance,
homeowners insurance, farm owners, commercial multi-
peril, and worker’s compensation, or coverage issued as a
supplement to liability insurance.

Lines 7 and 8. For purposes of the HICA, a Michigan
“resident” is an individual who is domiciled in the State
of Michigan on the date that the service in question
is performed. “Domicile” means the place where an
individual has his or her fixed, permanent and principal
home to which he or she returns or intends to return. An
individual’s domicile in one place continues until a different
domicile is established. A rebuttable presumption shall
exist that an individual's home address, as maintained in
the ordinary business records of a carrier or third party
administrator, indicates the domicile of that individual under
this definition. Example: An individual who is domiciled
in Michigan, but attends college in another state, is a
Michigan resident for purposes of the HICA Act. If that
individual obtains health services in Michigan while home
between semesters, a “paid claim” for the performance of
those services will be subject to the assessment under the
HICA Act.

Line 9. Enter the proportionate share of claims paid for
services rendered to a person covered under a health
benefit plan for federal employees.

Line 10. Enter any payments made under a federal
employee health benefit program, Medicare, Medicare
Advantage, Medicare Part D, Tricare, by the United
States Veterans Administration, and for high-risk pools
established pursuant to the Patient Protection and
Affordable Care Act (Public Law 111-148), and the Health
Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 (Public Law
111-152).

Line 11. Enter any reimbursements to individuals under a
flexible spending arrangement (26 USC 106 (c)(2)), health
savings account (26 USC 223), Archer MSA (26 USC 220),
Medicare Advantage MSA (26 USC 138), or other health
reimbursement arrangement authorized under federal law.

Line 12. Enter any health and medical services costs paid
by an individual for cost-sharing requirements, including
deductibles, coinsurance, or co-pays.

Line 13. The assessment shall not exceed $10,000 per
insured individual or covered life annually. Enter claims
paid in excess of $1,000,000 per individual, or $10,000,000
per individual if you checked line 1c.

Line 16. This is your total assessment for the file period.
Quarterly payments are due April 30, July 30, October 30
and January 30, and must be made by Electronic Funds
Transfer (EFT). In order to be registered to make payments



by EFT, you must complete and submit Form 4926,
Electronic Funds Transfer Application — Health Insurance
Claims Assessment to Treasury. Allow at least four weeks
for processing your EFT application. If no assessment is
owed for the period, you may submit a $0.00 (zero) EFT
transmission to complete the filing information for the
quarter, but a $0.00 transmission is not required.

Line 16a. For claims with dates of service from January 1,
2012 through June 30, 2014, and January 1, 2017 through
June 30, 2020, the assessment rate is 1% (0.01).

Line 16b. For claims with dates of service from July 1,
2014 through December 31, 2016, the assessment rate is
0.75% (0.0075).

Line 16c. If you are a carrier with a suspension or
exemption under MCL 500.3717 as of January 1, 2012, and
have checked box 1c, the assessment rate for all claims is
0.1% (0.001).

Line 16d. Enter the total of lines 16a, 16b, 16c. This is the
total assessment amount for the file period.

Line 17. If an adjustment is needed for an underpayment
of the assessment paid for a prior quarter within the same
calendar year, enter that amount here. The annual return
filed for the calendar year should reflect all adjustments
made during the year. Please refer to the annual return
instructions for more information on how to make prior year
adjustments.

Line 18. If an adjustment is needed for an overpayment
of the assessment paid for a prior quarter within the same
calendar year, enter that amount here. The annual return
filed for the calendar year should reflect all adjustments
made during the year. Please refer to the annual return
instructions for more information on how to make prior year
adjustments.

Line 19. If the assessment amount entered on line 19 is
$0.00, or results in a credit (negative) amount, you may
submit a $0.00 EFT transmission to complete the filing
information for the quarter, but a $0.00 transmission is not
required. Credits should be carried forward to assessment
periods within the same calendar year. A credit on the
fourth quarter worksheet should be included in the
annual return reconciliation process, and a refund can be
requested if appropriate. Do not carry the credit forward to
the following calendar year.

Line 20. You will owe penalty and interest for late payment
of the assessment if you pay after the due date.

If you have an assessment due on line 16d, the penalty is
as follows:

* 5 percent of the assessment due (line 16d) if the late
payment is received within two months of the due date.

» 5 percent of the assessment due for each subsequent
month, or part thereof, the assessment is not paid.

* Maximum penalty is 25 percent of the assessment due.

» Interest is due at the rate of 1 percent above the prime
interest rate from the day the assessment is due until it
is paid. The interest rate will be adjusted January 1 and
July 1. Interest does not calculate on penalty amounts.

* A penalty and interest calculator is available on
Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

Line 21. This is your total amount due under the HICA Act
for the file period, including any applicable penalty and
interest. Payments must be made by EFT.

Additional information about the HICA Act (P.A.
142 of 2011) is available on Treasury’s Web site at
www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes


www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes
www.michigan.gov/taxes
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