Michigan Department of Treasury
5089 (Rev. 05-15)

2016 Concessionaire’s Sales Tax Return and Payment

Issued under Public Act 167 of 1933 and Public Act 122 of 1941, both as amended. Filing is mandatory.

Reset Form

Seller’s Full Name Social Security Number

Sales Tax License Number (if applicable) Temporary Liquor License Number (if applicable) Federal Employer ID Number

Address Telephone Number

City State ZIP/Postal Code Country Code
Event Location/City Date of Event (MM-DD-YYYY)

As a vendor operating in Michigan, you are responsible for collecting and paying Michigan sales, use and withholding taxes. You must
remit sales tax on all sales of tangible personal property from an event at a Michigan location to an end user (“retail sales”) at the rate of
6 percent. You must also remit use tax on all goods taken from inventory or purchased exempt from Michigan sales tax and used in your
business unless you paid sales tax of at least 6 percent to another state. For example, prizes given for games of skill or chance.

You must also remit income tax withholding for wages paid to anyone working for you while you are in Michigan.

Complete each line below as instructed. For assistance, call 517-636-6925. Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan Relay

Center by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711.

1. Gross sales. Enter the total amount of sales of tangible personal property including cash and

CRAIGE SAIES ...ttt ettt et h e e e b et et et e e et e e e e e e
2. If you included tax in gross sales (line 1), divide by 17.6667 .........c.cccouiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeee e
3. Taxable sales. Subtract [iNe 2 from lINE 1 ........ccuiiiiiiii e s
4. Sales tax due. Multiply [iN€ 3 BY 6% (0.06).......ccueiiiiiiiieiiiiei e
5. Use tax due. Enter 6% (0.06) of all purchases made for your own use or consumption on which

you did not previously Pay 6% SAIES taX........c.iiuiiiiiiiiii e
6. Enter total amount of all wages paid t0 €MPIOYEES .........cc.eiiiiiiiiiiiieiie e
7. Income tax withholding due. Enter total withholding dUe............oooiiiiiiiiiii e

8. Penalty and interest due. Enter amounts due for late payment of taX..........ccooieiiiiiiiiiiiiii i

9. PAY THIS AMOUNT. Add liNe€s 4,5, 7 @Nd 8.........cocuiiiiiiiiiiii i s

TAXPAYER CERTIFICATION: / declare under penalty of perjury that this return is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of Seller or Official Representative (must be Owner, Officer, Member, Manager, Printed Name
or Partner)
Title Date

Return is due upon request or three (3) business days following the event. If this form and payment are not mailed to the Michigan

Department of Treasury by the due date, an estimated tax assessment may be issued against you.

Make Check payable to “STATE OF MICHIGAN” and write “Sales Tax” in the memo area of the check or money order.

Send your return and payment due to: Michigan Department of Treasury, P.O. Box 30324, Lansing, Ml 48909-7824

+ 0000 2016 78 01 27 4



Instructions for 20716 Concessionaire’s Sales
Tax Return and Payment (Form 5089)

Do not file this if the vending business entity for which you
are filing is currently registered in the State of Michigan for
the collection and remittance of sales and/or withholding
taxes.

NOTE: If you will make retail sales at more than two events
in Michigan per year, you should register for sales and/
or withholding taxes. See Registration for Michigan Taxes
(Form 518).

Sales Tax Collection

Retailers are required to remit a 6% sales tax on their taxable
retail sales to the State of Michigan. A retailer must calculate
the amount of sales tax to collect by using the following
rounding formula.

To determine the amount of tax to remit, compute the tax to
the third decimal place and round up to a whole cent when
the third decimal place is greater than four, or down to a
whole cent when the third decimal point is four or less.

How to Compute Withholding
Withholding Formula:

[Compensation — (allowance per exemption X number of
exemptions)] x Calendar Year’s Withholding Rate.

Refer to www.michigan.gov/taxes to retrieve the latest
withholding tables.

How to Compute Penalty and Interest

If your return is not filed or tax is not paid within three days
of your event, you must include penalty and interest with
your payment. Penalty is 5% of the tax due and increases
by an additional 5% per month or fraction thereof, after the
second month, to a maximum of 25%. Interest is charged
daily using the average prime rate, plus 1 percent.

Refer to www.michigan.gov/taxes for current interest rate
information or help in calculating late payment fees.

Instructions to Complete Form 5089

Lines not listed are explained on the form.

Line 1: Enter your total Michigan sales including your cash
and charge sales.

Line 5: Enter 6% (0.06) on items used for your own use or
consumption in which you did not previously pay 6% (0.06)
sales tax.

Line 6: Enter gross Michigan wages paid.

Line 7: Refer to Treasury’s Web site for information on the
income tax withholding rate.

Line 8: See “How to Compute Penalty and Interest” above.
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