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Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/bustax for assistance with:

•	 Existing Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) account questions.
•	 �Specific account questions (credits, assessments, penalty waivers, etc.).
•	 Technical questions (taxability of items, law changes, etc.).

•	 Checking the status of your sales, use and withholding tax transactions.

Assistance is also available by calling (517) 636-6925. Listen to all options on the automated 
phone system before making a selection. Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan 
Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711. Printed material in an alternate format may be 
requested by calling (517) 636-6925.

NOTE: Flow-Through Withholding must now be reported on a Michigan Flow-Through Withholding 
Quarterly Return (Form 4917) and a Michigan Flow-Through Withholding Reconciliation Return 
(Form 4918). Both forms are available at www.michigan.gov/taxes.
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General Information
Important Information
New Registration Online Services. Beginning in the Spring 
of 2014, Treasury will provide enhancements to online services 
for business tax filers. The first of these enhancements will 
allow online management of account profile information such 
as business address changes, the ability to add, change or delete 
Authorized Representatives for your business, and the ability to 
update Corporate Officer information. 
Sales, Use and Withholding (SUW) e-filing. New online 
services for SUW tax filers will begin in calendar year 2015. 
Treasury will offer free electronic filing of SUW returns 
through its own secure site, which will include a simple and 
safe electronic payment option. Visit Treasury’s Web site for 
updates as new services become available. 
Discontinuance of SUW Return Mailings. To promote 
efficient, easy, and accurate processing, the SUW return e-file 
option will be available January 1, 2015. This free e-file option 
will be a fast and secure method for submitting your monthly, 
quarterly, and/or annual returns and payments. Therefore, 
beginning with the January 2015 return period, Treasury will 
not mail pre-identified returns. We encourage you to choose 
our e-file option when available; however, a printable form will 
still be available on Treasury’s Web site.

Filing by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). Using EFT to 
submit your sales, use, and withholding tax payments eliminates 
the requirement to file monthly or quarterly paper returns. The 
filing of the Annual Return for Sales, Use and Withholding 
Taxes (Form 165) is still required. The EFT Debit Application 
(Form 2248) or EFT Credit Application (Form 2328) must be 
completed and signed by an officer giving his or her title and 
returned to Treasury. 
Accelerated Tax Payments. Filers who paid more than 
$480,000 in withholding tax in the preceding calendar year 
must pay according to their federal schedule and must pay 
withholding taxes by EFT. 
Filers who paid more than $720,000 in sales or use tax in 
the preceding calendar year must pay their sales and use 
taxes on an accelerated schedule. Accelerated tax payments 
must be remitted by EFT. Additional forms and information 
about EFT and Accelerated Tax payments can be found at 
www.michigan.gov/biztaxpayments.
Debit transactions will be ineligible for EFT if the account 
used for the electronic debit is funded or otherwise associated 
with a foreign financial institution account to the extent that 
the payment transaction would qualify as an International ACH 
Transaction (IAT) under NACHA Rules. Contact your financial 

Filing Requirements: You are required to file each return, even if no tax is due. Your filing 
frequency is determined by the Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury).

Filing Frequency Due Date Combined 
Return 

(Form 160)

Discount 
Voucher 

(Form 161)

EFT: ACH Debit 
or Credit

(No form required)

Annual 
Return 

(Form 165)
Annual Filer Only: Total tax 
liability of less than $750 for a 
calendar year (Jan-Dec).

February 28 (after tax 
year end) a

Quarterly Filer: Total tax liability 
of $750 - $3,600 for a calendar year 
(Jan-Dec).

20th of the month 
following quarter’s end a a

Monthly Filer: Total tax liability 
greater than $3,600 for a calendar year 
(Jan-Dec). Seasonal filers: see page 7.

20th of the following 
month a a a

Electronic Funds Transfer 
(EFT): Available to all taxpayers 
- transmissions are required on a 
monthly basis.

20th of the following 
month

a a
Accelerated Sales and Use Tax 
EFT: Required if Sales or Use Tax 
liability was at least $720,000 in the 
preceding calendar year.

Monthly Transmissions:

•	 1st payment 20th of 
the month
•	 2nd payment last day 
of the month
•	 3rd payment 20th of 
the subsequent month

a a

Accelerated Withholding Tax 
EFT: Required if Withholding 
Tax liability averaged $40,000 or 
more per month in the preceding 
calendar year.

Paid according to 
federal schedule

a a
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institution for questions about the status of your account. 
Contact Treasury’s EFT Unit at (517) 636-6925 for alternate 
payment methods. 
NOTE: As passed, Public Act 458 of 2012 changed the 
sales and use tax filing requirements beginning January 1, 
2014. These changes include a reduction in the number of 
prepayments required each month, as well as, a change to the 
prepayment calculation. However, please be advised that House 
Bill 4920 of 2013 was recently introduced and this legislation 
would delay these filing changes until January 1, 2015. At this 
time, the Department anticipates the passage of House Bill 
4920. Visit Treasury’s Web site for filing requirement updates.
Sales Tax Computation. To determine the tax, retailers must 
compute the tax to the third decimal place and round up to a 
whole cent when the third decimal place is greater than four or 
down to a whole cent when the third decimal place is four or 
less.
Filers Who Pay Once a Year. Filers with no deductions should 
use the simplified instructions on page 8. 
Changes to an Existing Registration for Michigan Taxes. To 
make changes to an existing Treasury registration for taxes such 
as an address change, add or delete a location, or name change, 
you must notify Treasury’s Registration Section using the 
Notice of Change or Discontinuance (Form 163) or in writing. 
Changes made at the Post Office or other State agencies do not 
update Treasury records. Do not write changes on the annual 
return.
Pre-Identified Returns and Vouchers. The Combined 
Return for Michigan Taxes (Form 160) and Discount Voucher 
for Sales and Use Taxes (Form 161) sent to you contain 
specific information about your account that is processed by 
electronically scanning the document. Do not change, copy, 
or use forms from another business. If you lose your booklet 
of materials, contact Treasury to have a new booklet mailed to 
you. IMPORTANT: To ensure your payment is credited to 
your account, use ONLY your pre-identified returns. Use the 
correct pre-identified form for the period for which you are 
filing.
Magnetic Media/W-2 Reporting. The State only accepts 
magnetic Wage and Tax Statements (Form W-2) reporting in 
the format published by the Social Security Administration. 
Filing and format instructions are provided on Transmittal for 
Magnetic Media Reporting of W-2s, W-2Gs, and 1099s to the 
State of Michigan (Form 447).
Retail Sales to Federally Recognized Indian Tribes or Their 
Qualifying Members. The State has set up special sales and 
use tax protocols for certain situations involving federally 
recognized Indian tribes and their qualifying members. For 
additional details, visit www.michigan.gov/taxes for Native 
American information. 
Sales Tax, Use Tax, and Withholding Tax Reporting 
Requirements. If a taxpayer inserts a “zero” on (or leaves 
blank) any line on a form for reporting Sales Tax, Use Tax, 
or Withholding Tax, the taxpayer is certifying that no tax is 
owed for that tax type. If it is determined that tax is owed, the 
taxpayer will be liable for the deficiency as well as penalty and 
interest.

Registering and Filing Returns
Businesses that make retail sales or hire employees must 
register their business and file periodic returns to pay the 
sales, use, and withholding taxes due. Treasury sets a monthly, 
quarterly, or annual filing frequency based on your tax liability. 
Appropriate forms will be provided to you. Visit www.
michigan.gov/business for additional information.
Your filing frequency may change over time. When it does, 
Treasury will notify you and send you the necessary materials. 
If you file only once annually and your accumulated sales, use, 
and withholding taxes become $750 or more, you must notify 
Treasury immediately. We will change your filing status and 
provide you with the appropriate tax materials.
E-Registration for Business Taxes. If you already have a 
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) and wish to 
register for business taxes, you may submit your registration 
information online. By completing your application online, your 
business can:
•	 Receive its Sales Tax License within seven days.
•	 Add taxes or licenses to its registration.
You cannot use your Social Security number as your FEIN. 
Registration information and a link to the joint Unemployment 
Insurance Agency/Treasury e-Registration site can be found at 
www.michigan.gov/business.

Sales Tax
You must register to pay sales tax if you make retail sales of 
goods in Michigan even if the items you sell are not taxable.
501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) Nonprofit Organizations. If you make 
sales at retail, you must register for a sales tax license even if 
the items you sell are not taxable. If your gross sales during the 
year are less than $5,000, you do not need to collect or pay sales 
tax. However, if you collect sales tax, you must remit it even if 
your aggregate sales for the year are less than $5,000.
For example, if you expect your gross sales to be $6,500 and 
collect sales tax, but your actual gross sales were only $4,000, 
you must pay the sales tax collected to Treasury. See the 
worksheet instructions for line 5i on page 11.
If you don’t collect sales tax on your sales, but your sales 
are $5,000 or more, you are liable for the tax on all sales. To 
calculate the sales tax due, divide your gross sales by 17.6667 
and enter the result on your worksheet, line 5j (see worksheet 
instructions, page 11). See Revenue Administrative Bulletin 
(RAB) 1995-3 on Treasury’s Web site or contact Customer 
Service at (517) 636-6925.

 Use Tax on Sales and Rentals
You must register and pay use tax if you: 
•	 Are doing business in Michigan but do not have a retail 
location in Michigan;

•	 Voluntarily collect use tax from your customers;
•	 Sell telecommunications services;
•	 Rent hotel and motel rooms or other accommodations; or
•	 Lease tangible personal property to Michigan customers from 
a Michigan or an out-of-state location.
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Use Tax on Purchases
Almost every business has a use tax liability. You must pay use 
tax on your purchases if you:
•	 Buy goods from out-of-state, unlicensed vendors, unless a 
valid exemption can be claimed;

•	 Buy inventory exempt from tax for resale on which no tax is 
due, then remove items from that inventory for personal or 
business use; or

•	 Use the items you buy for resale as gifts for friends and 
family or for other personal uses.

Income Tax Withholding
You must register and pay income tax withholding if you:
•	 Pay wages to an employee; or
•	 �Withhold income tax amounts from other kinds of payments 

(e.g., lottery winnings, insurance payments, retirement 
income, etc.); or

•	 �Pay pension, annuity, or other retirement benefits that will be 
subject to income tax.

If you are self-employed and expect your annual tax due to be 
more than $500, you must report and pay income tax quarterly 
using Michigan Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher 
(MI-1040ES). Otherwise, you may pay your income tax on 
Michigan Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040).
For complete withholding information, see 2014 Michigan 
Income Tax Withholding Guide (Form 446).

Flow-Through Withholding
All flow-through withholding tax collected must be reported 

and paid using the Michigan Flow-Through Withholding 
Quarterly Return (Form 4917), and annually reconciled on the 
Michigan Annual Flow-Through Withholding Reconciliation 
Return (Form 4918). No flow-through withholding should be 
reported on, or paid with, Forms 160 & 165. 
The individual flow-through withholding rate is 4.25 percent. 
You must register and pay individual flow-through withholding 
if you:
•	 �Are a flow-through entity, S-corporation, partnership, limited 

partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability 
corporation with taxable income available for distribution 
to nonresident members, non-resident shareholders, or non-
resident partners. Refer to Treasury’s Web site listed below 
for more information.

•	 �Are a flow-through entity and one or more of the entity’s 
members is a nonresident flow-through entity. The flow-
through entity in Michigan shall withhold Michigan income 
tax from any such nonresident flow-through entity on behalf 
of all of the nonresident members.

The corporate flow-through withholding rate is 6 percent. You 
must register and pay corporate flow-through withholding if 
you:
• �Are a flow-through entity, S-corporation, partnership, limited 
partnership, limited liability partnership, or limited liability 
corporation with greater than $200,000 business income 
available for distribution to a corporate owner or another flow-
through entity.

Additional information, form access, and updates on the tax 
changes for 2014 are available at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

What Form to File and Filing Instructions
With this booklet you received the following pre-identified 
forms with your business name and account number: 
•	 �Annual return
•	 �Notice of change in your business status
•	 �Monthly (or quarterly) returns
•	 �Discount vouchers (for sales and use tax filers only) 
Some forms may not apply to you.
To prepare your return accurately, complete your worksheet 
before attempting to complete your return. Each item on the 
return corresponds to a line number on the worksheet. 
Enter your amounts carefully and completely in the boxes 
provided. Do not write any messages, credit amounts, or 
symbols (+, -, ( ) ) on the returns or vouchers; returns are 
processed by automated equipment. Instead, use Form 163 or 
write to Treasury.
Use Form 160 if you are paying all the taxes due at one time 
either on the 12th or the 20th. If you are paying only part of 
your tax, use Form 161. Form 161 is a payment form only and 
does not replace the return. A return is still required even if no 
tax is due. 
Complete the form and carefully detach it. Make sure you 
are sending the form for the correct filing period. Make 
your check payable to the “State of Michigan” and write 
“SUW” and your account number on your check. Do not fold 
your check or the form. Mail the form and check to the address 

printed on the bottom of your return or voucher. 

Combined Return for Michigan Taxes (Form 160)
Monthly and quarterly filers not registered to pay by EFT must 
use this return. (Annual filers and EFT filers do not use this 
return.) You are required to file even if no tax is due. 
The return and payment are due on or before the 20th of the 
month following the tax period (month or quarter). If the 20th 
falls on a holiday or weekend, the due date is the first business 
day following the weekend or holiday.
Corporate Income Tax (CIT) Estimates. If paying quarterly, 
CIT estimates are due on the 15th of the month following the 
end of the quarter. If filing CIT monthly using Form 160 or 
paying by EFT, monthly payments may be filed on the 20th day 
of the month. For example, a calendar year taxpayer may file 
monthly CIT estimates using Form 160 on February 20, March 
20, and April 20 rather than a single quarterly payment on 
April 15 provided the combined estimates for those months are 
calculated using the instructions provided. 
Filing Instructions
When you file the paper return, complete only one form and 
write a single check for the total sales, use, withholding taxes, 
and CIT due using the following instructions:
Sales Tax. Enter amount from worksheet line 10B.
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Sales Tax Discount. Enter amount from worksheet line 11B. 
Be sure to include any discount you may have taken if you filed 
a voucher by the 12th.
Use Tax (sales/rentals). Enter amount from worksheet line 
10A.
Use Tax Discount. Enter amount from worksheet line 11A. Be 
sure to include any discount you may have taken if you filed a 
voucher by the 12th.
Use Tax (purchases). Enter amount from worksheet line 14b.
Michigan Withholding. Enter amount from worksheet line 16.
CIT Estimates. Enter amount from the worksheet line 19 that 
you are paying with this return.
Voucher Payment. Enter amount of tax paid early from the 
total payment line of Form 161. This is not a credit or subtotal 
line. Only enter an amount here if you filed by the 12th.
Penalty and Interest. Enter amount from worksheet line 18.
Total Payment. Enter the amount of your check.
For further instruction on completing and mailing Form 160, 
see page 5.

Discount Voucher for Sales and Use Taxes (Form 
161)
Form 161 is only used by filers who pay part of their tax early 
to obtain a discount. If you pay all your tax early, use Form 160. 
If you use Form 161 to make an early payment, you must still 
file Form 160, even if your balance due is zero.
Do not use Form 161 if you are a monthly filer who owes less 
than $1,200 for that filing period in sales or use tax, a quarterly 
filer, or a taxpayer who files once a year.
When the tax rate increased from 4 percent to 6 percent, the 
law required all of the 2 percent increase to go to the School 
Aid fund. The additional 2 percent is not discounted. Therefore, 

discounts are calculated using 2/3 (0.6667) of the sales and/or 
use tax collected at the 6 percent tax rate.
Filing Instructions
•	 �On the first line (tax amount you are paying early), enter the 

amount of each tax (sales or use) you are paying early.
•	 �If you are paying all your tax (even by the 12th), use the 

monthly/quarterly return (Form 160).
•	 �On the second line, enter the amount of discount for each tax 

type that you computed using chart 2 on page 12.
•	 �On the third line, subtract the discount from the amount due 

and enter the result.

Notice of Change or Discontinuance (Form 163)
Use Form 163 to notify Treasury of any change(s) in your 
account. You must report:
•	 Change in mailing address.
•	 Change in legal business address.
•	 �Change in account number. For Federal ID (FEIN) change, 		

attach IRS verification.
•	 Discontinuance of business.
•	 Sale of all or part of a business.
•	 Sale of a business but operating another business.
•	 �Change of ownership (e.g., adding a partner or  

incorporating).
•	 Addition or deletion of a tax type (to add a tax, you must be 	
	 registered with the State of Michigan).
•	 Change in seasonally active months.

Annual Return for Sales, Use and Withholding 
Taxes (Form 165)
All sales tax, use tax, and income tax withholding filers must 
file Form 165 each year, even if no tax is due. Form 165 is the 
only return required from businesses that file once a year. For 
taxpayers who submit monthly or quarterly returns, Form 165 
balances the tax due for the year with the monthly or quarterly 
payments made during the year. Do not use Form 165 instead 
of your monthly or quarterly return. Form 165 and payment are 
due February 28. No extensions are granted for filing Form 165.
See Annual Return addresses on page 16. 

If You Don’t Have Monthly/Quarterly Returns
Not having returns does not relieve your obligation to 
pay timely. Pre-identified returns have been mailed for 
your account and should be used when available. If a pre-
identified return is not available, Form 160 is available 
at www.michigan.gov/taxes. Instructions and a mailing 
address will be provided once the form is accessed online. If 
Internet access is unavailable, send your payment with a letter 
including your name, address, telephone number, account 
number, return period, and amount of each tax and payment 
involved. See Combined Return addresses on page 16.
If you do not have pre-identified returns, you should include a 
written request with your mailing, or contact the Registration 
Unit at (517) 636-6925 for a set of pre-identified returns to be 
mailed to you.

Completing and mailing your Combined Return (Form 160):
1.	 �Enter tax due figures when completing Form 160. Gross 

sales figures are reported on the annual return only.
2.	 �Figures entered on Form 160 must correspond to the 

description provided for that tax line.
3.	 �Subtotal amounts must not be entered on Form 160.
4.	 �Account information changes must not be requested on 

Form 160. File Form 163 to request account changes.
5.	 �A Form 160 must be submitted for each filing period 

required according to your filing status. This includes 
return periods that have zero due or no activity.

6.	 �Payment for the CIT estimate must be enclosed with 
Form 160 if reporting your CIT estimate on that form.  

7.	 �All discounts must be calculated and reported correctly.
8.	 �Appropriate pre-identified return is used for the filing 

period indicated on that return.
9.	 �Negative/credit figures must not be entered on the return.
10.	�Enclose payment with return if an amount is due.
11.	�Your account number must be written on your check.
12.	�Do not report or pay your Michigan Flow-Through 

Withholding on Form 160.



6

Late or Insufficient Payment
Returns filed late or without payment of tax due are subject to 
penalty and interest. Instructions for line 18 on the monthly or 
quarterly worksheet explain how to figure penalty and interest 
on those returns. Form 165 instructions for line 26 explain 
how to figure penalty and interest. Additional penalties may be 
charged for failing to meet statutory requirements.
If your return is not filed, Treasury will estimate your tax and 
bill you. Also, late filing of a return may result in an immediate 
assessment and legal action may be taken to collect unpaid 
taxes, penalty, and interest. 
Legal action may include filing liens on real and personal 
property, levying on bank accounts or receivables, seizure 
and sale of assets, and cancellation of your sales tax license. 
Business owners and corporate officers may be held personally 
responsible for unpaid taxes.
Accelerated, monthly, and quarterly taxpayers who fail to file 
Form 165 are subject to a penalty of $10 per day from the due 
date until the return is filed. Maximum penalty is $400.

Sales Tax License
Sales tax licenses are renewed annually unless discontinued 
by the taxpayer or by Treasury. The sales tax license is non-
transferable.
You may not use the sales tax license to purchase goods and 
supplies for your own use. See page 3 for use tax information.
Sales tax licensees who buy goods for resale must furnish 
their suppliers with a completed Michigan Sales and Use Tax 
Certificate of Exemption (Form 3372) containing their sales tax 
license number or provide the same information to the seller in 
another format.

Taxpayer’s Account Number
If you had an FEIN when you registered, your Michigan 
taxpayer account number is your FEIN. If you did not have 
an FEIN when you registered, you were assigned a Treasury 
(TR) number. The TR number is temporary, you must notify 
Treasury when you get your FEIN. 
You may have an FEIN and also have been assigned an ME 
number(s) by Treasury. Keep your active tax accounts accurate 
by filing separate returns for each account number.

Amended Monthly/Quarterly Returns
NOTE: Form 160 is used to amend periods in the current year. 
Use Form 165 to amend previous years. Fillable Forms 160 and 
165 are available at www.michigan.gov/businesstax.
If an amendment for the current year results in additional tax 
due, complete a blank return with the corrected figures, write 
“amended return” on the top of the form, and send your return 
and payment to the address listed on the form. Provide a written 
explanation for the amendment, include your account number 
and filing period, and mail to the Treasury Correspondence 
address located on page 16.
If the amendment results in a credit within the current year, 
do not change the figures on the return for the period being 
amended. Carry the credit forward on your worksheet and 
reduce the tax due on the monthly/quarterly return. Continue 

until you have an amount due and enter and pay the amount on 
the next monthly/quarterly return filed. 
Do not enter a negative amount on Form 160, as the scanning 
equipment reads all entries as tax due. See monthly or quarterly 
worksheet instructions for line 21. If the amendment results in a 
credit carried forward to the next year, use Form 165. Treasury 
will notify you when your credit is available.

Amended Annual Returns
NOTE: Form 165 is used to amend a previous year’s return. 
Form 160 is used to amend periods in the current year. Forms 
160 and 165 are available at www.michigan.gov/businesstax.
To amend Form 165 for a previous year, complete the return 
with the corrected figures. Check the “Amended Return” box on 
page 1 and indicate the date amended. On page 2 of Form 165, 
write an explanation for the amendment. 
If the amendment results in additional tax due, send your 
amended annual return and payment to: See Amended Annual 
Returns on page 16.

Correcting W-2 Errors
If the error was for more withholding than was on the original 
W-2, issue a corrected W-2 and send a copy to Treasury. As 
provided in Rule 206.33(3)(b), the employer can only receive 
a refund if the original W-2 is recovered from the employee. 
When an employee retains the original, erroneous W-2, the 
employee, not the employer, must request the refund. The 
corrected form should be clearly marked “Corrected by 
Employer.”
If the error was for less withholding than was on the original 
W-2, do not issue a corrected W-2. This type of correction must 
be handled in one of the following ways (1979 AC, R 206.22):

1) The employer may repay the amount withheld in error to 
the employee anytime within the same calendar year. The 
employer shall obtain a receipt from the employee and keep 
in his records. The employer may adjust his records and 
deduct the amount refunded from the tax owing on his next 
return, or ask for a cash refund.
2) If the employer does not repay the employee as noted 
above, the employee may claim a credit for the amount 
withheld on their individual income tax return (Form MI-
1040).

If an issued W-2 is lost or destroyed, give the employee a 
substitute copy clearly marked “Reissued by Employer.”
Note: If the withholding error occurs before a W-2 is issued, 
adjust a later paycheck and make the same adjustment in the 
next payment due to Treasury.

Gasoline Retailers and Wholesalers
Complete Form 160 or 161 first; then carry forward your 
payment figure to a Fuel Retailer Supplemental Report (Form 
2189) or to Fuel Supplier and Wholesale Distributor Prepaid 
Sales Tax Report (Form 429), and complete. 
Attach your supplemental report to your return. Write your 
business name and account number on all supplemental reports 
to ensure proper credit for prepaid sales tax on fuel.
The credit will reduce the amount of tax you will pay with your 
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monthly or quarterly tax returns. If you have a start-up loan 
from December 1983, you may apply any credit above your tax 
due or you may complete a Refund Request for Prepaid Sales 
Tax on Gasoline (Form 3891). When preparing Form 165, 
include the fuel retailer and wholesaler prepayments on line 
13b.

Seasonal Taxpayers
Seasonal businesses must file a Combined Return (Form 
160) monthly for each of the seasonally active months shown  
on your returns, even if no tax is due. If you have sales or  
pay wages during the months your business is normally  
closed, download Form 160 (Combined Return) at  
michigan.gov/taxes, and submit it for the appropriate month(s).

Returns Due After Selling or Quitting Business
All taxpayers must submit a final monthly or quarterly return 
within 15 days after the date of selling or quitting business. 
Your final annual return is due by February 28. Contact the Tax 
Clearance Unit at (517) 636-5260 to confirm all debts have been 
satisfied.

Instructions and Worksheets
This booklet includes instructions and worksheets to calculate 
your tax due and prepare returns for sales, use, and withholding 
taxes. Most taxpayers collect and pay tax at the 6 percent rate 
and don’t need a worksheet with a 4 percent column. Taxpayers 
who still collect at the 4 percent rate will receive a different set 
of worksheets and an annual return with both the 4 percent and 
6 percent columns. If you don’t receive the worksheets and need 
them, contact Customer Service at (517) 636-6925.
Keep the completed worksheets for your records and for 
possible audit. Do not file your worksheet in place of filing a 
monthly, quarterly, or annual return. Filing the wrong form 
delays crediting information and payments to your account.

General Instructions – Annual Return (Form 165) 
Filing Requirements
You must file Form 165 if you are registered for sales tax, 
use tax, or income tax withholding in the State of Michigan. 
Monthly and quarterly filers must file Form 165 on a calendar-
year basis (not your fiscal year). 
Taxpayers who had multiple active account numbers (TR, 

ME, and/or FEIN) in a tax year are required to file separate 
annual returns for each account number assigned. Identify the 
registered tax types for each account number and include only 
those tax figures on the corresponding annual return. If you 
have an outside payroll or accounting agency, coordinate this 
filing responsibility with them.
If during the year your accumulated sales, use, and withholding 
taxes become $750 or more, you must notify Treasury to change 
your filing status and provide you with the appropriate tax 
returns.
Form 165 must be signed and dated by the taxpayer. The 
taxpayer must also include their title. This may be the owner, 
officer, member, manager, or partner. No other person may sign 
for the taxpayer in the taxpayer’s signature box. 

W-2 Wage and Tax Statements
You must furnish W-2 statements to your employees by January 
31. Refer to “Correcting W-2 Errors” on page 6 for amending 
W-2 statements. 
Employers with Michigan employees must report W-2 
information to Michigan on or before February 28 by enclosing 
W-2 forms with Form 165.
Payers reporting Michigan withholding on a 1099-R must also 
enclose those 1099-R forms with Form 165. See page 16 for 
Annual Return (Form 165) and W-2 mailing information. 
A form 1099-MISC must be filed for miscellaneous income for 
services performed in the State of Michigan, regardless of the 
state of residence of the payee, whether there was withholding 
or not. Taxpayers not registered for withholding should file 
correspondence with the business account number and mail to:

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Lansing, MI 48930

If you have 250 or more Michigan employees, you must report 
using magnetic media. If you have fewer than 250 employees, 
you may report using magnetic media or using the State copy of 
the federal W-2. See Form 447 for information about magnetic 
media reporting. Address your magnetic media to:

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Business Taxes Division 
Magnetic Media Unit - SUW 
Lansing, MI 48930

ANNUAL RETURN (Form 165): Line-by-Line Instructions
Lines not listed are explained on the form.

IMPORTANT: This is a return for Sales Tax, Use Tax, 
and Withholding Tax. If the taxpayer inserts a “zero” on (or 
leaves blank) any line for reporting Sales Tax, Use Tax, or 
Withholding Tax, the taxpayer is certifying that no tax is 
owed for that tax type. If it is determined that tax is owed, the 
taxpayer will be liable for the deficiency as well as penalty and 
interest.
Note: If you pay only income tax withholding or file annually 
and do not have deductions, use the simplified instructions on 
page 8.

Sales and Use Tax
Lines 1 through 9: Monthly and quarterly filers, in each 

column add the entries from all your worksheets for the year 
and enter the totals on the corresponding line on Form 165. 
Taxpayers who file annually, follow the line-by-line instructions 
for the monthly and quarterly worksheet, beginning on page 11.
Line 11: Monthly and quarterly filers, enter the total discounts 
allowed for the year in each column. Total the amounts from the 
monthly or quarterly worksheet line 11 in each column. Include 
discounts from Form 2189 and Vehicle Dealer Supplemental 
Report (Form 92).
Taxpayers filing annually receive a discount if the return is filed 
timely. The discount applies only to 2/3 (0.6667) of the sales 
and/or use tax collected at the 6 percent tax rate. Use Chart 1 on 
page 8 to figure your discount. 
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If you opened for business late in the year or ended your 
business early in the year, the $6 per month discount is allowed 
only for the months you were in business. No discount is 
allowed if the return is filed after February 28.
Line 13: Enter the total amount of each tax paid after discounts 
during the report year. Include the amount from your fuel 
retailer or fuel supplier and wholesale reports. Do not include 
any penalties or interest paid. This amount should be the total 
of all payments for the year from your monthly/quarterly 
worksheet, line 12.

Use Tax on Purchases or Inventory Withdrawal
Line 14: Enter purchases which were taxable. Multiply by 0.06 
and enter the tax due on line 14b.
Line 15: Enter the use tax on purchases or inventory 
withdrawal paid during the year. This amount should be the 
total of all payments for the year from your monthly/quarterly 
worksheet line 14b.

Income Tax Withholding
Line 16: Enter your gross Michigan payroll and other taxable 
compensation for the year.
Line 17: Enter the number of W-2 statements, 1099-MISCs, 
1099-Rs, plus other 1099s with Michigan withholding you are 
submitting for the year.
Line 18: Enter the total Michigan income tax withheld for the 
year as shown on the W-2 and 1099-MISC statements.
Line 19: Enter the total Michigan income tax withheld that 
was paid on your monthly or quarterly returns. This should be 
the total of line 16 on all your worksheets for the year. (Do not 
include penalty and interest.)

Summary
Line 22: If line 21 (tax paid) is greater than line 20 (tax due), 
enter the difference (overpayment) here.
Line 23: Enter the amount of the overpayment you want 
applied to your monthly or quarterly return. Treasury will notify 
you when your credit is available. 
Line 24: Enter the amount of overpayment from line 22 you 
want refunded to you. Refunds will not be made in amounts of 
less than $1.
Line 25: If line 21 (tax paid) is less than line 20 (tax due), enter 
the additional tax due. Pay any amount of $1 or more with this 
return.
Line 26: If your return is late, compute the penalty and interest 
due. If no tax is due on line 25, the penalty is $10 per day to a 
maximum of $400.
If you have a tax due on line 25, the penalty is as follows: 
•	 5 percent of the tax due (line 25) if the late payment is 
received within two months of the due date. 

•	 5 percent of the tax due for each subsequent month, or part 
thereof, the tax is not paid. 

•	 Maximum penalty is 25 percent of tax due. 
•	 Interest is due at the rate of 1 percent above the prime interest 
rate from the day the tax is due until it is paid. The prime rate 
will be adjusted January 1 and July 1. 

•	 A penalty and interest calculator is available on Treasury’s 
Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

Line 27: Amount due with this return. Add lines 25 and 26. 
Make check payable to the “State of Michigan.” Write your 
account number and “SUW” on your check. Do not pay if the 
amount due is less than $1. 

ANNUAL RETURN (Form 165) – Simplified 
Instructions for Annual Filers With No 
Deductions
If you file annually (no quarterly or monthly payments) and 
have no allowable deductions, use the instructions below to 
complete Form 165 faster. If you are not registered for sales or 
use tax, skip to step 9.
Step 1:	 Complete lines 1 through 4.
Step 2:	 Carry amount from line 4 to line 6.
Step 3:	 Multiply the amount on line 4 by the tax rate (6 
percent) and enter the result on line 8.
Step 4:	 Enter on line 9 any amount you collected in excess of 
line 8. For example, if you entered $40 on line 8 but actually 
collected $50, enter $10 on line 9.
Step 5:	 Add lines 8 and 9 and enter on line 10.
Step 6:	 Line 11 is your discount amount. You are eligible for 
a discount if you pay the tax due by February 28. The discount 
applies only to 2/3 (0.6667) of the sales and/or use tax collected 
at the 6 percent tax rate. Use Chart 1 to figure your discount and 
enter it on line 11.
If you were only open part of the year, multiply the number of 
months you were open by $6. Compare that against the discount 
amount you figured in Chart 1. Enter the smaller of these two 
numbers on your worksheet, line 11.
Step 7:	 Unless you paid tax during the year, line 13 should be 
zero.
Step 8:	 If you bought any goods during the year from an out-
of-state vendor and did not pay sales tax on them or if you took 
items from inventory for personal or business use, complete 
lines 14 and 15. See page 3 for more details about the use tax.
Step 9:	 If you have employees, complete lines 16 through 19. 
If you have no employees, enter zero on line 19.
Step 10:	Summary. Complete lines 20 and 21. 
Enter the difference on line 25. If paying late, enter any penalty 
or interest due on line 26 and total your amount due on line 27.
Make your check payable to the “State of Michigan.” Write 
your account number and “SUW” on your check. If you are 
filing Form 165 with any other remittance form, send a separate 
check for each form. See page 16 for Annual Return mailing 
information. Retain a copy for your records.

Chart 1 - If your tax due is $108 or more, enter $72 on 
worksheet, line 11. If your tax due is less than $108, figure 
your discount below.

Amount of tax due............................ $
x 0.6667

Discount Amount = $
Enter on worksheet, line 11.



Sales and Use Tax

Use Tax on Items Purchased for Business or Personal Use *

Withholding Tax

Summary

Gross sales (including sales by out-of-state vendors subject to use tax).......
Rentals of tangible property and accommodations........................................
Telecommunications services.........................................................................
Add lines 1, 2, and 3 ......................................................................................

Resale............................................................................................................
Industrial processing or agricultural producing...............................................
Interstate commerce.......................................................................................
Exempt services.............................................................................................
Sales on which tax was paid to Secretary of State........................................
Food for human/home consumption...............................................................
Bad debts.......................................................................................................
Michigan motor fuel or diesel fuel tax.............................................................
Other. Identify: ____________________________.......................................
Tax included in gross sales (line 1)................................................................
Total allowable deductions. Add lines 5a - 5j..................................................
Taxable balance. Subtract line 5k from line 4.................................................
Tax Rate.........................................................................................................
Gross tax due. Multiply line 6 by line 7...........................................................
Tax collected in excess of line 8.....................................................................
Add lines 8 and 9............................................................................................
TOTAL discount allowed (see instructions)...............................................
Total tax due. Subtract line 11 from line 10.....................................................
Tax payments in current year (after discounts)..............................................

Enter your taxable purchases.........................................................
Tax payments made in the current year..............................................................................................................

Gross Michigan payroll, pension, and other taxable compensation for the year.................................................
Number of W-2, and 1099 forms enclosed ........................................
Total Michigan income tax withheld per W-2 and 1099 forms.............................................................................
Total Michigan income tax withholding paid during current tax year...................................................................

Total sales, use and withholding taxes due. Add lines 12A, 12B, 14b and 18.....................................................
Total sales, use and withholding taxes paid. Add lines 13A, 13B, 15 and 19......................................................
If line 21 is greater than line 20, enter overpayment .........................
Amount of line 22 to be credited forward on your account.
We will notify you when your credit is verified and available..............
Amount of line 22 to be refunded to you............................................
If line 21 is less than line 20, enter balance due.................................................................................................
If this return is filed late, enter penalty and interest. (See instructions.)..............................................................
TOTAL PAYMENT DUE. Add lines 25 and 26. Make check payable to "State of Michigan."...........................

Michigan Department of Treasury
165 (Rev. 07-13)

Taxpayer's Business Name Account Number

Return Year Date Due

1.
2.
3.
4.

5a.
b.
c.
d.
e.
f.
g.
h.
i.
j.

k.
6.
7.
8.
9.

10.
11.
12.
13.

1.
2.
3.
4.

5a.
b.
c.
d.
e.
f.
g.
h.
i.
j.

k.
6.
7.
8.
9.

10.
11.
12.
13.

A. Use Tax: Sales & Rentals B.  Sales Tax

6% 6%















































File this return by February 28. Do not use this form to replace a monthly or quarterly return.

Annual Return for Sales, Use and Withholding Taxes
Issued under authority of Public Act 167 of 1933.

x .06 =

x .06 x .06

14a.
.

17.

22.

23.
24.

1.
2.
3.
4.

a.
b.
c.
d.
e.
f.
g.
h.
i.
j.

k.
6.
7.
8.
9.

10.
11.
12.
13.

14.
15.

16.
17.
18.
19.

20.
21.
22.
23.

24.
25.
26.
27.

Amended Return
Amendment Date

Check box if this is an 
amended return.

* Use Tax on Items Purchased for Business or Personal Use:  Use lines 14 and 15 to report purchases made for use in your business or 
for items removed from your inventory for personal or business use. Do not repeat the amounts from Column A, lines 1 - 4 here.

 5. ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS

14b.
15.

16.

18.
19.

20.
21.

25.
26.
27.



Individual
Husband - Wife
General Partnership
Limited Partnership

Type of Business Ownership (check one only)

Non-Michigan Corporation
Subchapter S

Trust or Estate (Fiduciary)
Joint Stock Club or Investment Company
Social Club or Fraternal Organization
Other (Explain)

Mailing Instructions:
If sending an amended annual return, check the amended return box on page 1 of this return, and refer to 
page 6 of the SUW Instruction Book (Form 78) for amended return mailing addresses and other instructions. 

If enclosing payment with your annual return, mail to:
Michigan Department of Treasury	
Department 78172
P.O. Box 78000
Detroit, MI  48278-0172

If requesting a credit to your account (amount on line 23) or a refund (amount on line 24), mail to:
Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30779
Lansing, MI 48909

If no payment is enclosed with your annual return, mail to:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI 48930

Signature (you are required to complete all information requested below)

Form 165, Page 2

www.michigan.gov/bustax is a secure Web site designed specifically to protect your tax information. Use this Web 
site to check the status of your Sales, Use, and Withholding transactions and ask specific questions about your account.

I declare under penalty of perjury that this return is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Date

By checking this box, I authorize Treasury to discuss my return with the designated preparer.

I declare under penalty of perjury that this return 
is based on all information of which I have any 
knowledge.

Signature of Taxpayer's Offical Representative (must be an Owner, Officer, Member, Manager, or Partner)

Taxpayer's FEIN or Social Security Number

Offical Representative's Title (Owner/Officer/Member/Manager/Partner) (Required)

Designated Preparer's Signature, Address, Telephone 
and ID Number

Telephone Number

Taxpayer's Business Name Account Number

Enter the reason for amending return. Include your account number on each page being submitted. (Required)

Partnership S Corporation

Print Offical Representative's Name

C Corporation Disregarded EntityIndividual
Limited Liability Company Taxed As:

Michigan Corporation
Subchapter S
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Monthly and Quarterly Worksheets (Form 3862):  
Line-by-Line Instructions

Begin on line 15 if filing withholding only. Columns not 
referenced on specific lines indicate they are not applicable. See 
instructions on page 7 if you file annually.
Line 1, Gross Sales: Any costs incurred before ownership of 
the property is transferred to the buyer (including shipping, 
handling, and delivery charges) are not considered services and 
are subject to tax.
Column A, Use Tax on Sales and Rentals: This line is for 
out-of-state retailers who do not have retail stores in Michigan. 
Enter total sales of tangible personal property including cash, 
credit, and installment transactions.
Column B, Sales Tax: Enter total of all sales of tangible 
personal property including cash, credit, and installment 
transactions.
Line 2, Rentals, Column A: Lessors of tangible personal 
property who pay use tax on rental receipts must enter rental 
income. Also enter total hotel and motel room rentals including 
assessments imposed under the Convention and Tourism 
Act, the Convention Facility Development Act, the Regional 
Tourism Marketing Act, or the Community Convention 
or Tourism Marketing Act. See Line 5i for instructions on 
deducting the assessments from rentals.
Line 3, Telecommunications Services, Column A: Enter 
gross income from telecommunications services.
Allowable Deductions: Use lines 5a - 5j to deduct nontaxable 
sales you made from gross sales. Deductions taken for tax 
exempt sales must be substantiated in your records. For lines 5a 
and 5b, as well as items 3 through 5 under line 5i instructions, 
you must obtain a completed copy of Form 3372, or the same 
information in another format, from the purchaser. 
Line 5a, Resale: Enter sales which will be resold to others.
Line 5b, Industrial Processing/Agricultural Producing: The 
property sold must be for direct use in producing a product 
for eventual sale AT RETAIL OR TO BE AFFIXED TO 
AND MADE A STRUCTURAL PART OF REAL ESTATE 
LOCATED IN ANOTHER STATE.
Line 5c, Interstate Commerce: Enter sales made in interstate 
commerce. To claim such a deduction, the property or service 
must be delivered by you to the out-of-state purchaser. Property 
transported out of state by the purchaser does not qualify 
under interstate commerce. You must keep documentation of 
shipment out-of-state to support this deduction.
Line 5d, Exempt Services: Enter charges for nontaxable 
services billed separately, such as repair or maintenance, if 
these charges were included in gross receipts on line 1. Any 
costs incurred before the property is transferred to the buyer 
(including shipping, handling, and delivery charges) are not 
considered services and are subject to tax.
Line 5e, Tax Paid to the Secretary of State, Column B: Enter 
sales by licensed vehicle dealers (not including tax) of vehicles 
and mobile homes on which you paid sales tax to the Secretary 
of State.
 

Line 5f, Food for Human/Home Consumption: Enter total 
of retail sales of grocery-type food, excluding tobacco and 
alcoholic beverages. Prepared food is subject to tax.
Line 5g, Bad Debts: You may deduct the amount of bad 
debts from your proceeds if the debts are charged off as 
uncollectible on your books and records at the time the debts 
become worthless and you have deducted the debts on your 
return for a period during which the bad debts are written off as 
uncollectible. The debt must also be eligible to be deducted for 
federal income tax purposes. Effective October 1, 2009, a bad 
debt deduction may be claimed by a third-party lender provided 
the retailer who reported the tax and the lender financing the 
sale executed and maintained a written election designating 
which party may claim the deduction. Certain additional 
conditions must be met. See MCL 205.54i and MCL 205.99a. 
Line 5h, Michigan Motor Fuel or Diesel Fuel 
Tax, Column B: Motor fuel retailers may deduct the Michigan 
motor fuel taxes that were included in gross sales on line 1 and 
paid to the State or the distributor.
Line 5i, Other Deductions: Identify deductions not covered in 
items 5a through 5h on this line. Examples of deductions are:
•	 Assessments imposed under the Convention and Tourism 
Act, the Convention Facility Development Act, the Regional 
Tourism Marketing Act, or the Community Convention or 
Tourism Marketing Act. Hotels and motels may deduct the 
assessments included in gross sales and rentals provided use 
tax on the assessments was not charged to the customers.

•	 Credits allowed to customers for sales tax originally paid 
on merchandise voluntarily returned; provided the return 
is made within the time period for returns stated in the 
taxpayer’s refund policy or 180 days after the initial sale, 
whichever is earlier. Repossessions are not allowable 
deductions.

•	 Direct sales to the United States Government, State of 
Michigan, or its political subdivisions. Direct sales not 
for resale to certain nonprofit agencies, churches, schools, 
hospitals, and homes for the care of children and the aged, 
provided such activities are nonprofit and payment is directly 
from the funds of the exempt organization. 

•	 Sales to contractors of materials which will become part 
of a finished structure for a qualified exempt nonprofit 
hospital, qualified exempt nonprofit housing entity or church 
sanctuary. The purchaser will provide a Michigan Sales and 
Use Tax Contractor Eligibility Statement (Form 3520). See 
RAB 1999-2.

•	 Sales to companies that claim direct payment of use tax to 
the State of Michigan. Such companies must have a sales tax 
license or use tax registration, and have a letter from Treasury 
specifically granting direct payment authority. 

•	 Qualified nonprofit organizations may take a deduction of 
their sales if total sales are less than $5,000 and they did not 
collect sales tax from their customers. If total sales are $5,000 
or more, the entire amount of sales is subject to tax. For 
qualifications, see RAB 1995-3.
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Line 5j. Tax included in gross sales. 
Column A: Does not apply. 
Column B: Complete this line only if you have tax included in 
your gross sales. Subtract the sum of lines 5a through 5i from 
the gross sales in each column. Divide the result by 17.6667 and 
enter on line 5j.
Line 5k, Total Deductions: Enter total of lines 5a through 5j. 
Line 6: Subtract line 5k from line 4 to determine the sales 
subject to tax.
Line 8: Multiply the amount on line 6 by 6 percent (0.06) and 
enter on line 8.
Line 9: If you collected more tax than the amount on line 8, 
enter the difference on line 9. 
Line 10, Total Tax Due: Add lines 8 and 9 and enter total. If 
line 10 is zero or you are not paying by the 20th, skip line 11 
(discounts). Enter the amount from column B on the sales tax 
line on your return. Enter the amount from column A on the use 
tax (sales/rentals) line on your return.
Line 11: Use Chart 2 below to figure your discount (discounts 
are not allowed on late payments). Enter the amount from 
your worksheet on the discount line of Form 161 or on the 
appropriate line for sales or use tax discount on Form 165. Enter 
separate amounts for use tax and sales tax.
The maximum discount for payments made between the 12th 
and the 20th is $15,000 per tax. If you paid part of your tax 
on or before the 12th, the total combined discount allowed is 
$20,000 per tax. If you were open for business for only part of a 
month or quarter and you take the minimum discount, multiply 
the discount by the number of days you were open, then divide 
the result by the number of days in the period (30 or 90).
Use Tax on Items Purchased for Business or Personal Use.
Line 14a: Enter taxable purchases.
Line 14b: Multiply line 14a by 0.06 and enter the tax due on 
line 14b.
Line 15: Enter gross Michigan payroll for the month or quarter.

Line 16: Enter income tax withheld here and on the 
withholding line on Form 165.
Summary
Line 17: Add lines 13, 14b, and 16 and enter the total.
Line 18: Penalty and interest are charged for late payment of 
tax. The penalty is 5 percent of the tax due if the late payment 
is received within the first two months of the due date. For each 
subsequent month, or part thereof, the penalty increases by an 
additional 5 percent of the tax due. The maximum penalty is 25 
percent. 
Interest is charged daily at a rate of 1 percent above the prime 
rate. The interest rate is adjusted on January 1 and July 1.
Example: If the payment or return was due February 20 but is 
not received until June 7, calculate the penalty as follows:

2/21 to 4/20 (2 months) = 5%
4/21 to 5/20 (1 month) = 5%
5/21 to 6/7 (partial month) = 5%
Total penalty = 15% 

In addition, add interest at 1 percent above the prime rate as 
computed on the total tax due shown on line 17. A penalty and 
interest calculator is available on Treasury’s Web site.
Line 19, Corporate Income Tax Estimate: See  
www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes for filing instructions.
Line 20: Add lines 17, 18, and 19 and enter total.
DO NOT ENTER CREDIT FIGURES ON THE RETURN. 
Using credit figures on the return may result in a tax 
assessment. Carry credits forward on your worksheet instead.
Line 21: Enter any credits for your account here.
Line 22: Subtract line 21 from line 20. This is the amount of 
tax due. Enter this amount on Form 160 and make your check 
payable for this amount. 
IMPORTANT: Reduce each of the taxes reported on Form 160 
to reflect the amount of the credit. If the amount on worksheet 
line 22 is less than zero, enter zero on Form 160. Do not put 
amounts on any other line. Carry the rest of the credit forward 
to the worksheet for the next filing period.

LINE 11, FIGURING YOUR DISCOUNT: You can receive a discount by filing your sales or use (on sales and rentals) taxes early or timely. Any 
portion of taxes paid by the 12th of the month are discounted 3/4 of 1 percent. Taxes paid between the 12th and the 20th (including the 20th) are 
discounted 1/2 of 1 percent. Discounts apply only to 2/3 (0.6667) of the sales and/or use tax collected at the 6 percent tax rate. Review the instructions 
below to see if you need to do any calculation. If you do, use Chart 2 to figure your discount. Complete the chart once for use tax and once for sales tax.
Monthly Filers: If your tax is less than $9, complete Chart 2. If paying by the 12th and your tax is $9 to $1,200, enter $6 on the worksheet, line 11. 
If greater than $1,200, complete Chart 2. If paying by the 20th and your tax is $9 to $1,800, enter $6 on the worksheet, line 11. If more than $1,800, 
complete Chart 2.
Quarterly Filers: If your tax is less than $27, complete Chart 2. If paying by the 12th and your tax is $27 to $3,600, enter $18 on the worksheet, line 11. 
If your tax is more than $3,600, complete Chart 2. If paying by the 20th and your tax is $27 to $5,400, enter $18 on the worksheet, line 11. If your tax is 
more than $5,400, complete Chart 2.

CHART 2
Paying by the 12th (Maximum Discount: $20,000) Paying by the 20th (Maximum Discount: $15,000)

Amount you are paying early............ Amount you are paying timely...................
x 0.6667 x 0.6667

STOP. See below. *...................... STOP. See below. *.....................................
x 0.0075 x 0.005

Discount Amount. Enter on worksheet, line 11 Discount amount. Enter on worksheet, line 11...........
* If you pay your tax monthly and this amount is $6 or less, enter this amount on your worksheet, line 11. If you pay your tax quarterly and this amount is $18 
or less, enter this amount on your worksheet, line 11. All others, finish the chart.



DO NOT SEND

Michigan Department of Treasury
3862 (Rev. 09-13)

Monthly or Quarterly Sales and Use Tax Worksheet
Account Number Return Period

Sales and Use Tax
A. Use Tax on Sales 

and Rentals
B. Sales Tax

1. Gross sales (including sales by out-of-state vendors subject to use tax)........ 1.

2. Rentals of tangible property and/or accommodations..................................... 2.

3. Telecommunications services.......................................................................... 3.

4. Add lines 1, 2 and 3......................................................................................... 4.

5. Allowable Deductions
a. Resale............................................................................................................. 5a.

b. Industrial processing or agricultural producing................................................ b.

c. Interstate commerce........................................................................................ c.

d. Exempt services.............................................................................................. d.

e. Sales on which tax was paid to Secretary of State......................................... e.

f. Food for human/home consumption................................................................ f.

g. Bad debts........................................................................................................ g.

h. Michigan motor fuel or diesel fuel tax.............................................................. h.

i. Other. Identify: i.

j. Tax included in gross sales (line 1)................................................................. j.

k. Total allowable deductions. Add lines 5a - 5j................................................... k.

6. Taxable balance. Subtract line 5k from line 4.................................................. 6.

7. Tax rate............................................................................................................ 7. x .06 x .06

8. Tax due by rate. Multiply line 6 by line 7.......................................................... 8.

9. Tax collected in excess of line 8...................................................................... 9.

10. Add lines 8 and 9............................................................................................. 10.

11. Total discount allowed (see charts in instructions).......................................... 11.

12. Total tax due. Subtract line 11 from line 10...................................................... 12.

13. Add line 12, Columns A and B.......................................................................................................................... 13.
Use Tax on Items Purchased for Business or Personal Use *

14. Enter your taxable purchases............................................... 14a. x .06 = 14b.
Withholding Tax

15. Gross Michigan payroll, pension, and other taxable compensation for the period.......................................... 15.

16. Michigan Income Tax withheld....................................................................................................................... 16.
Summary

17. Payment due. Add lines 13, 14b and 16........................................................................................................... 17.

18. If filing late, enter penalty and interest (see instructions)................................................................................. 18.

19. Corporate Income Tax estimate (see instructions)........................................................................................... 19.

20. TOTAL TAX FOR PERIOD. Add lines 17, 18 and 19....................................................................................... 20.

21. Enter any credit on your account for previous overpayments.......................................................................... 21.

22. TOTAL PAYMENT DUE. Subtract line 21 from line 20. Enter here and on the return..................................... 22.

IMPORTANT:  This worksheet is your file copy and may be subject to audit.  DO NOT SEND. Record your account 
number and your return period in the upper left corner. Keep this worksheet for your records. To check the status of your 
Sales, Use and Withholding transactions and ask questions about your account on-line, visit the Treasury Web site at  
www.michigan.gov/businesstax.
Use Tax on Items Purchased for Business or Personal Use:  Use line 14 to report purchases made for use in your  
business or for items removed from your inventory for personal or business use. Do not repeat the amounts from Column A, 
lines 1 - 4 here.



DO NOT SEND

Michigan Department of Treasury
3862 (Rev. 09-13)

Monthly or Quarterly Sales and Use Tax Worksheet
Account Number Return Period

Sales and Use Tax
A. Use Tax on Sales 

and Rentals
B. Sales Tax

1. Gross sales (including sales by out-of-state vendors subject to use tax)........ 1.

2. Rentals of tangible property and/or accommodations..................................... 2.

3. Telecommunications services.......................................................................... 3.

4. Add lines 1, 2 and 3......................................................................................... 4.

5. Allowable Deductions
a. Resale............................................................................................................. 5a.

b. Industrial processing or agricultural producing................................................ b.

c. Interstate commerce........................................................................................ c.

d. Exempt services.............................................................................................. d.

e. Sales on which tax was paid to Secretary of State......................................... e.

f. Food for human/home consumption................................................................ f.

g. Bad debts........................................................................................................ g.

h. Michigan motor fuel or diesel fuel tax.............................................................. h.

i. Other. Identify: i.

j. Tax included in gross sales (line 1)................................................................. j.

k. Total allowable deductions. Add lines 5a - 5j................................................... k.

6. Taxable balance. Subtract line 5k from line 4.................................................. 6.

7. Tax rate............................................................................................................ 7. x .06 x .06

8. Tax due by rate. Multiply line 6 by line 7.......................................................... 8.

9. Tax collected in excess of line 8...................................................................... 9.

10. Add lines 8 and 9............................................................................................. 10.

11. Total discount allowed (see charts in instructions).......................................... 11.

12. Total tax due. Subtract line 11 from line 10...................................................... 12.

13. Add line 12, Columns A and B.......................................................................................................................... 13.
Use Tax on Items Purchased for Business or Personal Use *

14. Enter your taxable purchases............................................... 14a. x .06 = 14b.
Withholding Tax

15. Gross Michigan payroll, pension, and other taxable compensation for the period.......................................... 15.

16. Michigan Income Tax withheld....................................................................................................................... 16.
Summary

17. Payment due. Add lines 13, 14b and 16........................................................................................................... 17.

18. If filing late, enter penalty and interest (see instructions)................................................................................. 18.

19. Corporate Income Tax estimate (see instructions)........................................................................................... 19.

20. TOTAL TAX FOR PERIOD. Add lines 17, 18 and 19....................................................................................... 20.

21. Enter any credit on your account for previous overpayments.......................................................................... 21.

22. TOTAL PAYMENT DUE. Subtract line 21 from line 20. Enter here and on the return..................................... 22.

IMPORTANT:  This worksheet is your file copy and may be subject to audit.  DO NOT SEND. Record your account 
number and your return period in the upper left corner. Keep this worksheet for your records. To check the status of your 
Sales, Use and Withholding transactions and ask questions about your account on-line, visit the Treasury Web site at  
www.michigan.gov/businesstax.
Use Tax on Items Purchased for Business or Personal Use:  Use line 14 to report purchases made for use in your  
business or for items removed from your inventory for personal or business use. Do not repeat the amounts from Column A, 
lines 1 - 4 here.
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Other Helpful Information
Corporate Income Tax Estimates
On January 1, 2012 legislation for the Corporate Income Tax 
(CIT) was enacted. Visit www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes for 
additional information, forms, and filing requirements. 

Successor Liability
If you sell your business, your successor must hold enough of 
the purchase money to satisfy the amount of sales, use, and 
withholding tax that may be due until you produce a receipt for 
payment of the tax from Treasury or a certificate from Treasury 
stating no tax is due. If the successor fails to withhold sufficient 
funds, he or she may be held liable for unpaid taxes.

Officer Liability
Officers, members, managers, or partners of a corporation, 
limited liability company, limited liability partnership, 
partnership, or limited partnership who have responsibility 
for filing returns or making payments are personally liable for 
failure to file or for unpaid taxes, penalty, and interest under 
Public Act 169 of 1982.

Revenue Administrative Bulletins (RAB)
An RAB is a directive issued by Treasury. Its purpose is 
to promote uniform application of tax laws throughout the 
State and provide information and guidance to taxpayers. An 
RAB states the official position of Treasury, has the status of 
precedent in the disposition of cases unless and until revoked 
or modified, and may be relied on by taxpayers in situations 
where the facts, circumstances, and issues presented are 
substantially similar to those set forth in the RAB. A taxpayer 
must consider the effects of subsequent legislation, regulations, 
court decisions, and RABs when relying on an RAB. See RAB 
1989-34 for more information. To access a copy of a particular 
RAB, go to www.michigan.gov/treasury.

Unclaimed Property Reporting for Businesses 
and Government Entities
Michigan’s Uniform Unclaimed Property Act, Public Act 29 of 
1995, as amended, requires businesses and government entities 
to report and remit to the Michigan Department of Treasury 
abandoned and unclaimed property belonging to owners whose 
last known address is in Michigan. In addition, every business 
or government entity that is incorporated in Michigan must 
report to the Treasury abandoned property belonging to owners 
where there is no known address.
Most businesses have unclaimed property resulting from normal 
operations. Any asset, tangible or intangible, belonging to a 
third party that remains unclaimed for a specified period of 
time is considered unclaimed property. For example, uncashed 
payroll checks must be turned over to the State after one year; 
most other property types, such as vendor checks and accounts 
receivables credit balances, must be turned over after three 
years. Government entities must turn over unclaimed property 
after one year.
Due Date. The due date for the unclaimed property annual 
report is July 1, 2014 for property reaching its dormancy period 
as of March 31, 2014.

Dormancy Period. The dormancy period for most property 
types is three years. A detailed listing of property types along 
with the corresponding dormancy periods can be found at www.
michigan.gov/unclaimedproperty.
Report Unclaimed Property to Avoid Penalties. Review your 
records to determine if you are holding unclaimed property. 
Property remitted voluntarily will not be subject to the 25 
percent penalty outlined in the law; however, interest will be 
charged. If you are selected for an audit, you will be subject 
to the penalty and interest charges outlined in the law. State-
initiated audits will cover the last ten years, as authorized in the 
Uniform Unclaimed Property Act.
Noncompliance With Unclaimed Property Reporting 
Requirements. Section 31(2) of the Uniform Unclaimed 
Property Act gives the State Treasurer the authority to conduct 
unclaimed property examinations (audits) if there is reason 
to believe that an entity is a holder that has failed to report or 
has underreported unclaimed property. As a result of the audit, 
penalty and interest may be assessed as follows:
Interest at one percentage point above the adjusted prime rate 
per annum per month on the property or value of the property 
from the date the property should have been paid or delivered, 
and/or 
Penalty at 25 percent of the value of the property that should 
have been paid or delivered, and/or 
Penalty at $100 for each day the report is withheld or the duty is 
not performed but not more than $5,000.
Reporting Manual and Free Software. The Manual 
for Reporting Unclaimed Property, including forms 
and instructions, is available at www.michigan.gov/
unclaimedproperty. Also available on Treasury’s Web site is 
the Holder Reporting System (HRS), a free software package 
for creating unclaimed property reports in an electronic format 
for submission to Treasury. 
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Mailing Information
Annual Return (Form 165) & W2
If enclosing payment with your Annual Return, mail to:

	 Michigan Department of Treasury	
	 Department 78172
	 P.O. Box 78000
	 Detroit, MI 48278-0172
If requesting a Credit to your account (amount on line 23) 
or a Refund (amount on line 24), mail to:

	 Michigan Department of Treasury
	 P.O. Box 30779
	 Lansing, MI 48909
All other Annual Returns without payment, mail to:

	 Michigan Department of Treasury
	 Lansing, MI 48930

Amended Annual Returns
If the amendment results in additional tax due, send your 
amended annual return and payment to:
	 Michigan Department of Treasury 
	 Department 78172 
	 P.O. Box 78000 
	 Detroit, MI 48278-0172
If no payment is included with the amended annual return, send 
the return to:
	 Michigan Department of Treasury 
	 Business Taxes Division 
	 P.O. Box 30427 
	 Lansing, MI 48909

Combined Returns (Form 160)
If you are including payment, mail to:
	 Michigan Department of Treasury 
	 Department 77003 
	 Detroit, MI 48277-0003
If you are not including payment, mail to:
	 Michigan Department of Treasury 
	 Lansing, MI 48930

Correspondence
Send correspondence to:

	 Michigan Department of Treasury
	 Business Taxes Division
	 P.O. Box 30427
	 Lansing, Michigan 48909
Write your account number on all checks and correspondence. 
Returns should be sent to the address on the return.


