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for Extension of Time to File Michigan
Tax Returns, and the amount of your
1998 overpayment applied to this
year’s tax (from 1998 MI-1040, line
36). See special note after line 37
instructions.
Line 37: Tax Due. If line 36 is less
than line 31, enter the difference. This
is the tax you owe with your return. If
you owe penalty and interest for late
filing, enter these amounts on the
appropriate lines.

See page 8 "Penalty and Interest Added
for Filing or Paying Late" for penalty
and interest rates. Add penalty and
interest to your tax due and enter the
total on line 37. If you owe more than
$500 and are required to make
estimated payments, see special note
below. If the balance due is less than
$1, no payment is required, but you
must still file your return. See "Pay"
address on page 2 of your MI-1040
form.

Special note for people required to
file estimates. You may owe penalty
and interest for underpayment, late
payment or for failing to pay estimates.
Use the Underpayment of Estimated
Income Tax (form MI-2210) to
compute penalty and interest. If you do
not file an MI-2210, Treasury will
compute your penalty and interest and
send you a bill.  If you annualize your
income, you must complete and attach
an MI-2210.  If you file form MI-2210,
check the box on line 37a and enter the
penalty and interest amounts on the
lines provided.

Line 38:  Your Refund. This includes
any tax you overpaid and any credits
due you. The state does not refund
amounts less than $1. Mail your return
to the “Refund or Credit” address on
page 2 of your MI-1040 form.

Direct Deposit. Instead of
receiving a check, you may request
deposit of your refund directly into
your account at a financial institution.
Complete the Direct Deposit of Refund
(form 3174) on page 27 and attach it
behind your return. See "Attachments"
on page 6.

✍   SIGN YOUR RETURN

Each spouse must sign a joint return. If
the preparer is someone other than the
taxpayer, he or she must also sign the

return and enter the business name and
address. Check a box to indicate if
Treasury may discuss your return with
your preparer.

You must attach all your credit claims
and required Michigan and federal
schedules (see Table 1, page 8). If you
owe tax, enclose your payment, but do
not staple it to the return. Checks
stapled under the W-2 or to the back of
the return may not be seen and may
result in improper processing.

Signing a child’s return. If a return is
prepared for a child who is too young
to sign it, a parent or guardian should
sign the child’s name, then add “by
(your name), parent (or guardian) for
minor child.”

Line-by-Line
Instructions for

MI-1040 Schedule 1
Part-year and nonresidents, complete
Schedule NR (see page 31) before
proceeding.

Additions to Income

Line 1: Enter gross interest, dividends,
and income from obligations or
securities of states and their political
subdivisions other than Michigan. Add
this income even if it comes to you
through a partnership, S corporation,
estate or trust. You may reduce this
income by related expenses not
allowed as a deduction by Section
265(a)(1) of the IRC.

Line 2: Enter the deduction taken for
self-employment tax on your federal
return and for other taxes on or
measured by income, such as your
share of city income tax paid by
partnerships or S corporations, or your
share of the taxes paid by an estate or
trust.

Line 3: Use Michigan form MI-1040D
only if you have capital gains or losses
attributable to: 1) an election to use
Section 271 treatment for property
acquired before October 1, 1967; 2) the
sale or exchange of U.S. obligations
which cannot be taxed by Michigan; or
3) the sale or exchange of property
subject to allocation provisions.

If you reported gains on U.S. 4797 on
property acquired before October 1,

1967, adjust the gain on Michigan
form MI-4797.

Enter gains from the Michigan column
of your MI-1040D, line 17, or
MI-4797, line 18b. Instructions are
with each form.

Line 4: Enter losses from a business or
losses from property located in another
state which you own as a sole propri-
etor, a partner in a partnership or as a
shareholder in an S corporation. If your
business is taxed by both Michigan and
another state, the loss must be appor-
tioned. Attach a Schedule of Appor-
tionment (form MI-1040H).

Line 5: Enter the net loss from the
federal column of your Michigan
MI-1040D, line 18 or MI-4797,
line 18b.

Line 6: Enter the total of the following
(attach a schedule if necessary):

• Amount of net operating loss
deduction (NOL carryforward) used
to reduce AGI (see page 10).

• Net loss included in AGI from
Michigan gas and oil royalty interest
or working interest

• Refund received from a Michigan
Education Trust (MET) contract. If
you deducted the cost of a MET
contract in previous years and
received a refund from MET during
1999 because the MET contract was
terminated and the beneficiary is not
attending an institution of higher
education, then enter the smaller of:

a. the refund you received, OR

b. the amount of the original MET
contract price (including the
application and processing fees)
which you deducted in previous
years.

If you financed your MET contract
with a MET-secured loan, deducted the
cost of that contract and then defaulted
on the loan, enter the amount paid in
1999 by MET to repay the outstanding
principal portion of your defaulted
loan.

Subtractions From Income
Note: Part-year and nonresidents
subtract only the amounts included in
income attributable to Michigan
(column B of Schedule NR) on all
lines except line 11.
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Line 8: Enter income from U.S.
government obligations (Series EE
bonds, Treasury notes, etc.), including
income from U.S. government obliga-
tions received through a partnership,
S corporation or trust. This subtraction
must be reduced by interest expense on
indebtedness incurred in carrying the
obligation and by related expenses
used to arrive at AGI.

Investment companies that invest in
U.S. obligations are permitted to pass
the tax-free exemption of such hold-
ings to their shareholders. The share-
holders are treated as owners of a
proportionate share of the fund’s
assets.

If income from U.S. government
obligations exceeds $5,000, attach a
copy of your U.S. Schedule B listing
the amounts received and the issuing
agency.

Capital gains from the sale of U.S.
government obligations must be
adjusted on Michigan form MI-1040D.

Line 9: Enter compensation received
for active duty in the U.S. Armed
Forces included in AGI. Include
military retirement on line 12.

Note:  A Michigan resident who
receives compensation from the U.S.
Public Health Service may not subtract
the income as military pay.
Line 10: Enter the gains from the
federal column of your Michigan form
MI-1040D, line 17, and MI-4797, line
18b. Do not enter amounts from your
federal forms. See instructions for
MI-1040 Schedule 1, line 3.

Line 11: Income Attributable to
Another State. Nonresidents and part-
year residents, complete Schedule NR.
See instructions on page 32. Attach
federal schedules.
Business income from an activity that
is taxable by Michigan and by another
state must be apportioned. Complete
and attach form MI-1040H.
Capital gains from the sale of real
property located outside of Michigan
must be adjusted on Michigan form
MI-1040D.
Michigan residents cannot subtract
salaries and wages or other compensa-
tion earned outside Michigan.
However, you may be entitled to a tax
credit for tax imposed by governmental
units outside Michigan (see page 14).

Residents may subtract:
• Business income derived solely in

other states and included in AGI, and

• Net rents and royalties from real
property located or used in another
state.

Line 12: Qualifying retirement and
pension benefits included in your AGI
may be subtracted from income. The
amount you may subtract depends on
the source of the benefit. Qualifying
benefits include:
• Pension plans that define eligibility

for retirement and set contribution
and benefit amounts in advance

• Qualified retirement plans for the
self-employed

• Distributions from a 401(k) plan
attributable to employer contribu-
tions or attributable to employee
contributions to the extent they result
in matching contributions by the
employer

• IRA distributions received after
age 59 1/2 or described by Section
72(t)(2)(iv) of the IRC

• Benefits paid to a senior citizen (age
65 or older) from a retirement
annuity policy which are paid for life
(as opposed to a specified number of
years)

• Benefits from any of the previous
received as a surviving spouse.

You may subtract all pension benefits
included in AGI received from the
following public sources:

• The State of Michigan

• Michigan local governmental units
(e.g., Michigan counties, cities and
school districts)

• Tier 1 and 2 railroad retirements

• Federal civil service

• Military retirement from the U.S.
Armed Forces.

If all retirement and pension benefits
were received from public sources
listed above, enter the total of all
benefits on line 12.

If all retirement and pension benefits
were received from private sources,
enter the smaller of:

• The total of all private pensions
included in AGI, or

• $34,170 if you are a single filer,
$68,340 if you are married, filing
jointly.

If you received a combination of
public and private retirement and
pension benefits, follow these steps to
compute your deduction:

Step 1: Add all public retirement
benefits included in AGI.

Note: If your public retirement
benefits are greater than the amounts
indicated you are not entitled to claim
a subtraction for private pensions.

Step 2: If you are a single filer, deduct
the amount in step 1 from $34,170. If
you are married filing jointly, deduct
the amount in step 1 from $68,340.

Step 3: Add all private pensions
included in AGI.

Step 4: Determine which is smaller,
the amount computed in step 2 or the
amount computed in step 3.

Step 5: Add the amount computed in
step 1 to the amount determined in step
4 and enter the total on line 12. See
Example A on the back of Schedule 1
on page 26.

You may not subtract:

• Amounts received from a deferred
compensation plan that lets the
employee set the amount to be put
aside and does not set retirement age
or requirements for years of service.
These plans include, but are not
limited to plans under Section 457
and distributed under Section 401(k)
of the Internal Revenue Code.

• Amounts received before the
recipient could retire under the plan
provisions, including amounts paid
on separation, withdrawal or
discontinuance of the plan.

• Amounts received as early retirement
incentives, unless the incentives were
paid from a pension trust.

Line 13: Senior citizens (age 65 or
older) may subtract interest, dividends
and capital gains included in AGI. This
subtraction is limited to a maximum of
$7,620 on a single return or $15,240 on
a joint return. However, the maximum
must be reduced by the pension
subtraction. See Example B on the
back of Schedule 1 on page 26.

Line 14: Enter only the taxable portion
of Social Security benefits included on
your U.S. 1040, line 20b, or your U.S.
1040A, line 13b. Do not include your
total Social Security benefits.
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Line 15: Renaissance zone deduction.
To be eligible you must meet all the
following requirements:

• Be a permanent resident of a
renaissance zone for at least 183
days.

• Must not be delinquent for any state
or local taxes abated by the
Renaissance Zone Act.

• Must file an MI-1040 each year.

• Have gross income of not more than
$1 million.

If you were a full-year resident of a
renaissance zone you may subtract all
earned income. Unearned income such
as capital gains may have to be
prorated. If you lived in the zone at
least 183 days during 1999, you may
subtract the portion of income earned
while a resident of the zone. Complete
and attach a Schedule NR to your
MI-1040.

(See "Special Note" on the back of
Schedule NR, page 32.) For additional
information regarding qualifications
for the renaissance zone deduction 

request the
Renaissance Zone Information for
Individuals brochure (form 3292).

You may also call the Michigan Tele-
Help System (1-800-827-4000) and
listen to topic #293.

Line 16: You may subtract Michigan
state and city income tax refunds and
homestead property tax credit refunds
that were included in AGI.

Note to farmers: You may subtract (to
the extent included in AGI) the amount
that your state or city tax refund and
homestead property tax credit exceeds
the business portion of your homestead
property tax credit.

Line 17: Allowable miscellaneous
subtractions include:

• Contributions to national or Michigan
political parties or candidates. The
maximum deduction is $50 on a
single return and $100 on a joint
return.

• Benefits from a discriminatory self-
insured medical expense
reimbursement plan, to the extent
these reimbursements are included in
AGI.

• Proceeds and prizes won in State of
Michigan regulated bingo, raffle or

charity games to the extent included
in AGI.

 • Amount of salary and wage expense
that cannot be deducted on your
federal return because you are
claiming a work opportunity credit,
clinical testing (orphan drug) credit
or research credit. Attach a copy of
U.S. Work Opportunity Credit (form
5884), Credit for Increasing Research
Activities (form 6765), or Orphan
Drug Credit (form 8820) to
substantiate this subtraction.

• Losses from the disposal of property
reported in the Michigan column of
Michigan form MI-1040D, line 18, or
MI-4797, line 18b.

• Amount used to determine the credit
for elderly or totally and permanently
disabled from U.S. Schedule R, line
19, or U.S. 1040A Schedule 3,
line 19.

• Michigan net operating loss deduc-
tion. Attach MI-1045. See page 10.

• Net income included in AGI from
Michigan gas and oil royalty interest
or working interest.

• If you purchased a Michigan
Education Trust (MET) contract
during 1999, you may deduct the
total contract price (including
application and processing fees).

• If you purchased a MET payroll
deduction or monthly purchase
contract, you may deduct the amount
paid on that contract during 1999 (not
including fees for late payments or
insufficient funds).  You should
receive an annual statement from
MET specifying this amount.

• If you purchased a MET contract
between 1988 and 1990 with a MET-
secured loan and have not previously
deducted the total contract price paid,
you may deduct the principle amount
paid on the secured loan during 1999.

• Amount of taxable benefits the
purchaser received and included in
AGI during 1999 because the MET
contract was terminated to attend a
private school or out-of-state school,
or the beneficiary (student) did not
attend school. The beneficiary cannot
claim this subtraction.

You may not subtract:
• Itemized deductions from U.S.

Schedule A.
• Sick pay, disability benefits and

wage continuation benefits paid to

you by your employer or by an
insurance company under contract
with your employer.

• Unemployment benefits included in
AGI, except railroad unemployment
benefits.

• Distributions from a deferred
compensation plan received while a
resident of Michigan.

• Lottery winnings. (Exception:
installment payments from prizes
won on or before December 30,
1988 may be subtracted.)

General Information
for Homeowners

and Renters
About the Homestead

Property Tax Credit
(MI-1040CR)

Who may claim a property tax
credit
You may claim a property tax credit if
all of these apply:
• Your homestead is located in

Michigan.
• You were a Michigan resident at

least six months of 1999.
• You pay property taxes or rent on

your Michigan homestead.

You can have only one homestead at a
time, and you must be the occupant as
well as the owner or renter. Your
homestead can be a rented apartment,
or a mobile home and a lot in a mobile
home park. A vacation home or income
property is not considered your
homestead.

Your homestead is in your state of
domicile. Domicile is the place where
you have your permanent home. It is
the place you plan to return to
whenever you go away. Even if you
spend the winter in a southern state,
your domicile is still Michigan.
College students and others whose
permanent homes are not in Michigan
are not Michigan residents.  Domicile
continues until you establish a new
permanent home.

Property tax credit claims may not be
submitted on behalf of minor children.
Any public assistance benefits paid to
a minor must be included in the
household income of the parents when
computing their credits.




