
  E-file your Michigan Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim for Veterans and 
Blind People (MI-1040CR-2) with or without a Michigan Individual Income 
Tax Return (MI-1040) and get your refund faster. 

  E-filed returns are usually processed within 14 business days. Allow 14 days 
before checking the status of your e-filed return. 

  Visit the Michigan Department of Treasury Web site at www.MIfastfile.org  
for a list of e-file resources, how to find an e-file provider, and more 
information on free e-file services. 
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Homestead Property Tax Credit 
 
Claim for Veterans and Blind People
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DIRECT DEPOSIT. Your refund is deposited safely into your account at the financial institution of 
your choice and is immediately available. No more waiting in line to cash your check. See page 9. 

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY. The Michigan Department of Treasury is holding millions of dollars 
in abandoned and unclaimed property belonging to Michigan residents. In the past three years 
nearly $300 million has been returned to rightful owners.  To check if Treasury is holding funds for 
you or your family visit www.michigan.gov/unclaimedproperty. 

FILING DUE DATE:  
APRIL 18,  2017 

W  W  W.  M  I  C  H I  G  A  N  .  G  OV/  TA  X  E  S 
  
This booklet is intended as a guide to help complete your return. It does not take the place of the law. 

www.michigan.gov/unclaimedproperty
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Tax Information and Assistance
 
Tax Assistance A Note About Debts 
The Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) offers By law, any money you owe to the state and other state 
a variety of services designed to assist you, and most are agencies must be deducted from your refund or credit before 
available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. it is issued.  Debts include money you owe for past-due taxes, 

student loans, child support due the Friend of the Court, IMPORTANT: To obtain information about your account  an Internal Revenue Service (IRS) levy, money due a state using the Internet and Telephone Options listed below, agency, a court-ordered garnishment, or other court orders.  you will need the following information from your return: Taxpayers who are married filing jointly may receive an 
•		  Social Security number (SSN) of the primary filer (the Income Allocation for Non-Obligated Spouse  (Form 743) 

filer listed first on the return) after the return is filed.  Completing and filing this form may  
•		 Tax year of the return limit the portion of the refund that can be applied to a debt.  
•		  Adjusted gross income (AGI) or total household If Treasury applies all or part of your refund to any of these 

resources  debts, you will receive a letter of explanation. 
•		  Filing status (single, married filing jointly, married MDHHS/FIP Benefits Worksheet
	filing separately). 

If you received Family Independence Program (FIP) 
Internet Options assistance or other Michigan Department of Health and 
www.michigan.gov/incometax Human Services (MDHHS) benefits in 2016, you will 

need to complete the FIP/MDHHS Benefits Worksheet on        Find the following information on this Web site: 
page 8. Carry the amount from your Worksheet to line 33 on •		 Current year forms and instructions your  MI-1040CR-2. •		 Answers to many tax preparation questions 

•		 Most commonly used tax forms Completing Your Forms 
•		 Free assistance in preparing your return Review your claim and make sure it is complete.  Check for 
•		 Other tax resources. the following common errors that may delay your refund: 

Select “Check My Income Tax Information” where you can:   • 		 Illegible  writing 
•		 Check the status of your return • 		 Transposing numbers in the SSN 
•		  Check estimated payments you made during the year • 		 Entering figures on the wrong lines 
•		 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury • 		 Computation errors 
•		 Change your address • 		  Filling in the lines if they do not apply to you or if the 
		 amount is zero • Ask a specific question about your account.  

• 		 Omitting the taxable value of your homestead 
Telephone Options • 		 Omitting the school district code 517-636-4486  

• 		  Failing to report total household resources from all Automated Information Service sources, both taxable and nontaxable, on the property tax 
With Treasury’s automated phone system, you can:  credit claim 
•		 Request the status of your refund • 		  Leaving FIP blank (line 26), entering the wrong amount 
•		 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury of FIP assistance, or entering the total household resources 
• 		 Request information on estimated payments subtotal on this line 

		 • 		  Reporting two years of property taxes or special • Order current tax year forms. 
assessments 

While most questions can be answered by the Automated • 		  Filing multiple returns for the same tax year. Do not staple 
Information Service, customer service representatives are multiple year returns together 
available from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday. • 		  Filing only one page of the form (the MI-1040CR-2 is a 
Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan three-page form, all pages must be filed). 
Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711. Printed Where to Mail Your Claim
	material in an alternate format may be obtained by calling 
517-636-4486. Mail your claim to: 

 Michigan Department of Treasury
Additional Help  Lansing, MI 48956 
If you need help completing your credit form, contact your Do not mail your 2016 claim in the same envelope with a 
local senior citizen center or community service agency to claim for any other tax year or the processing of your 2016 
find out if a volunteer tax assistance program is available. claim will be delayed.  Mail your 2016 claim in a separate 

envelope.  Do not staple claims together. 
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General Information About the Homestead Property Tax Credit
 
NOTE:  If you are required to file a Michigan Individual  Taxpayers with total household resources over $50,000 
Income Tax Return (MI-1040), file your credit claim with it. are not  eligible for a credit in any category. The computed 
A Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim for Veterans and credit (line 12) is reduced by 10 percent for every $1,000 
Blind  People  (MI-1040CR-2) is included in this booklet. (or part of $1,000) that total household resources exceeds 
If you qualify based on the information below, complete $41,000. If filing a part-year return (for a deceased taxpayer 
this form and the Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim  or a part-year resident), you must annualize your income to 
(MI-1040CR).  File the form that gives you the larger credit. determine if the income limitation applies. See instructions 
Farmers should calculate the credit using the MI-1040CR. for annualizing on page 9. 
The request for your Social Security number is authorized Property Tax Credit Limits 
under United States Code (USC) Section 42. Social If you own your home, your credit is based on the 2016  
Security numbers are used by Treasury to conduct matches property taxes levied on your home, the taxable value of your 
against benefit income provided by the Social Security homestead, and the allowance for your filing category. See 
Administration and other sources to verify the accuracy of Table 2 on page 10 for your allowance. If you do not know the 
the home heating credit and property tax credit claims filed taxable value of your homestead, contact your local treasurer. 
and to deter fraudulent filings. If you rent your home, your credit depends on how much 
Who May Claim a Property Tax Credit rent you pay, the allowance for your filing category, and the 

millage rate on the rented property. The millage rate is the You may claim a property tax credit if all of these apply: 
non-homestead millage rate levied by your city or township, • 		 Your homestead is located in Michigan county, and school district. If you do not know the rate, 

• 		 You were a Michigan resident at least six months of 2016 contact your local treasurer. Your credit cannot be more 
• 		  You pay property taxes or rent on your Michigan than $1,200. 

homestead. When to File
	
You can have only one homestead  at a time, and you must be If you do not have to file a 2016  Michigan Individual Income 
the occupant as well as the owner or renter.  Your homestead Tax Return  (MI-1040), you may file your credit claim as soon 
can be a rented apartment or a mobile home on a lot in a as you know your total household resources and property 
mobile home park. A vacation home or income property is taxes levied in 2016. If you are required to file a Michigan 
not considered your homestead. income tax return, your credit claim should be attached to 
Your homestead is in your state of domicile.  Domicile is   your tax return and filed by April 18, 2017, to be considered 
the place where you have your permanent home.  It is the timely.  The deadline for claiming a refund is April 15, 2021. 
place to which you plan to return whenever you go away. Amending Your Claim 
College students and others whose permanent homes are not File a new claim form and write “Amended” across the top. If 
in Michigan are not  Michigan residents. Domicile continues applicable, attach a copy of your property tax statement(s) 
until you establish a new permanent home. Property tax and/or lease agreement. You must file within four years of 
credit claims may not be submitted on behalf of minor the date set for filing your original income tax return. 
children.  Delaying Payment of Your Property Taxes 
Who May File the MI-1040CR-2 Senior citizens, disabled persons, veterans, and surviving 
You may file an MI-1040CR-2 if you are: spouses of veterans may be able to delay paying property 

taxes. Contact your local or county treasurer for more •		 Blind and own your homestead information about delaying payment of your property taxes. 
• 		  A veteran with a service-connected disability or veteran’s Total Household Resources
	surviving  spouse 

Total household resources are the total income (taxable and •		 A surviving spouse of a veteran deceased in service nontaxable) of both spouses or of a single person maintaining 
• 		  Active military, pensioned veteran or his or her surviving a household.  They are AGI, excluding net business and farm 

spouse whose total household resources are $7,500 or less losses, net rent and royalty losses, and any carryover of a net 
•		  A surviving spouse of a non-disabled or non-pensioned operating loss, plus all income exempt or excluded from AGI. 

veteran of the Korean War, World War II, or World War I Total household resources include the following items not 
whose total household resources are $7,500 or less. listed on the form: 

If you are blind and rent your homestead, claim your credit •		 C apital gains on sales of your residence regardless of them 
on the MI-1040CR as a totally and permanently disabled being exempt from federal income tax  
person.  See page 2 if you need the MI-1040CR. •		 N ongovernmental scholarship, stipend or grant payments 

made directly to an educational institution Total Household Resource Limits
	
•		 C ompensation for damages to character or for personal 

Total household resources cannot be more than $7,500 injury or sickness 
for some military personnel.  See MI-1040CR-2, line 7, •		 An inheritance (except an inheritance from your spouse) 
for more information. If your income is over the limit for  •		 P roceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of the 
MI-1040CR-2, you may qualify for a credit using MI-1040CR. insured (except benefits from a policy on your spouse) 
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• 		 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer • 		 Penalty and interest on late payment of property tax 
•		 Minister’s housing allowance • 		 Delinquent water or sewer bills 
• 		   Forgiveness of debt, even if excluded from AGI (e.g., • 		 Property taxes on cottages or second homes 

mortgage  foreclosure) • 		 Association dues on your property 
• 		  Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical care • 		  Most special assessments for drains, sewers, and roads do 

spending  accounts not meet specific tests and may not be included. You may 
•		  Payments made on your behalf, except government include special assessments only if they are levied using a 

payments, paid directly to third parties such as an uniform millage rate, are based on taxable value, and are 
educational institution or subsidized housing project. either levied in the entire taxing jurisdiction or they are 

Total household resources do NOT include: used to provide police, fire, or advanced life support 
• 		 Net operating loss deductions taken on your federal return services and are levied township-wide, except for all or a 
•		  Payments received by participants in the foster portion of a village.  

grandparent or senior companion program NOTE: School operating taxes are generally only levied on 
• 		 Energy assistance grants the non-homestead portion of the property and may not be 
• 		   Government payments made directly to a third party (e.g., included in taxes levied when computing the property tax 

payments to a doctor, GI Bill benefits and payments from credit on any portion of the home not used as your homestead. 
a PELL grant). Home used for business.  If you use part of your home for 
NOTE:  If payment is made from money withheld from business, you can claim the property taxes on the living area 
your benefit, the payment is part of total household  of your homestead but not  the property taxes on the portion 
resources. (For example, the MDHHS may pay your rent used for your business. Attach a copy of U.S. Form 8829  to 
directly to the landlord.) your Michigan return. 

•		  Money received from a government unit to repair or Owner-occupied duplexes.  When both units are equal, improve your homestead you are limited to 50 percent of the tax on both units, after 
• 		 Surplus food or food assistance program benefits subtracting the school operating taxes from the total taxes billed. 
•		  State and city income tax refunds and homestead property 

Owner-occupied income property.  Apartment building   tax credits 
and duplex owners who live in one of the units or single-•		 Chore service payments (these payments are income to the 
family homeowners who rent a room(s) to a tenant(s) must provider of the service) 
do two calculations to figure the tax they can claim and base •		  The first $300 from gambling, bingo, lottery, awards, or their credit on the lower  amount. First, subtract 20 percent prizes of the rent collected from the tax claimed for credit. Second, 

•		  The first $300 in gifts of cash or merchandise received, or reduce the tax claimed for credit by the amount of tax 
expenses paid on your behalf (rent, taxes, utilities, food, claimed as rental expense on your U.S. Form 1040. Include a 
medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives or friends copy of the U.S. Schedule E with your Michigan return. 

•		  Amounts deducted from Social Security or Railroad 
Example: Your home has an upstairs apartment that is rented  Retirement benefits for Medicare premiums 
to a tenant for $395 per month.  Total property taxes on your • 		  Life, health, and accident insurance premiums paid by home are $2,150. Of this amount, $858 is claimed as rental your employer expense. The calculations are as follows:  

• 		 Loan proceeds 
		 Step 1: $395 x 12 = $4,740 annual rent • Inheritance from a spouse 
		 $4,740 x 0.20 = $948 taxes attributable to the apartment • Life insurance benefits from a spouse 

•		  Payments from a long-term care policy made to a nursing $2,150 total taxes - $948 = $1,202 taxes attributable to 
home or other care facility owner’s  homestead 

•  Most payments from The Step Forward Michigan program. Step 2: $2,150 total taxes - $858 taxes claimed as a business 
For more information on total household resources, visit deduction = $1,292 taxes attributable to homestead 
www.michigan.gov/taxtotalhouseholdresources Step  3:  The owner’s taxes that can be claimed for credit are 
Property Taxes Eligible for Credit $1,202, the smaller of the two computations. 

Ad valorem property taxes that were levied on your Rent Eligible for Credit 
homestead  in  2016, including administrative collection You must be under a lease or rental contract to claim rent for 
fees up to 1 percent of the taxes, can be claimed no matter credit. In most cases, 20 percent of rent paid is considered 
when you pay them. You may add to your 2016  taxes the property tax that can be claimed for credit. The following are 
amount of property  taxes billed in 2016  from a corrected exceptions:   
or supplemental tax bill.  You must deduct  from your 2016  • 		  If you rent or lease housing subject to a service charge or 
property taxes any refund of property taxes received in 2016  fees paid  instead of property taxes, you may claim a credit 
that was a result of a corrected tax bill from a previous year. based upon 10 percent of the gross rent paid. Use the 
Do not include: amount the landlord gives you and enter rent paid  on   
• 		  Delinquent property taxes (e.g.,  2015  property taxes paid in line 46 and 10 percent of rent on line 47, and follow 

2016) instructions. 
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• 		  If your housing is exempt  from property tax and no Deceased Claimant’s Credit 
service fee is paid, you are not  eligible for credit.  This The estate of a taxpayer who died in 2016  (or  2017  before  
includes university- or college-owned housing. filing a claim) may be entitled to a credit for 2016. The 

• 		  If your housing costs are subsidized, base your claim on surviving spouse, other authorized claimant, or personal 
the  amount  you pay.  Do   not  include the federal subsidy representative can claim this credit. Use the decedent’s Social 
amount. Security number and the personal representative’s address. 

• 		  If you are a mobile  home  park  resident,  claim the $3 per If the taxpayer died after December 31, 2015, enter the date 
month specific tax plus 20 percent of the balance of rent of death in the “Deceased Taxpayers” box on page 3 of the  
paid. MI-1040CR-2. 

•		  If you are a cooperative housing corporation resident The  surviving spouse may file a joint claim with the 
member, claim your share of the property taxes on the  deceased. Enter both names and Social Security numbers 
building. If you live in a cooperative where residents pay on the form, and write “DECD” after the decedent’s name. 
rent on the land under the building, you may also claim  Sign the return and write “filing as surviving spouse” in 
20 percent of that land rent. (Do not  take 20 percent of the deceased’s signature line. Enter the date of death in the 
your total monthly payment.) “Deceased Taxpayers” box on the bottom of page 3 of the  

• 		  If you are a resident of a special housing facility  (not  MI-1040CR-2. Include the decedent’s income in total 
noted above), base your claim on rent only. Do  not  include household resources. See the “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of 
other services. If you pay rent with other services and you Examples”, page 10, example A. 
are unable to determine the portion that constitutes rent If filing as a personal  representative  or  claimant  for the 
only, you may determine your portion of the property refund of a single  deceased taxpayer, you must attach a U.S. 
taxes that can be claimed for credit based on square Form  1310  or  Michigan Claim for Refund Due a Deceased 
footage, or, divide the taxes by the number of residents for Taxpayer  (MI-1310). Enter the decedent’s name in the Filer’s 
whom the home is licensed to care. This information may Name line and the representative’s or claimant’s name, 
be obtained from your housing facility. Visit  title and address in the Home Address line. Write “DECD” 
www.michigan.gov/iit  for  more  information  about  after the decedent’s  name. See the “Deceased Taxpayer 
claimants living in special housing facilities.   Chart of Examples,” page 10, examples B or C.  A claimant  

must prorate to the date of death as noted in the following Example:  You pay $750 per month for room and board. You paragraph. occupy 600 square feet of a 62,000 square foot apartment The  personal  representative  or  claimant  claiming a credit building. The landlord pays $54,000 in taxes per year. for a single deceased person or on a jointly filed credit if 
Step 1: 600/62,000 = 0.0097 both filers became deceased during the 2016  tax year must 
Step 2:  $54,000 x 0.0097 = $524 taxes you can claim for prorate taxes to the date of death.  Complete lines 36 through 

44 to prorate the property taxes or lines 45 through 56 if the credit. 
taxpayer paid rent. Annualize total household resources. Home used for business. If you use part of your apartment (See the instructions for line 33 on page 9.) Attach a copy or rented home for business, you may claim the rent on the of the tax bills or lease agreements.  If filing as a personal  living area of your homestead, but not the rent on the portion representative  or  claimant  of deceased taxpayers for a used for business. jointly  filed return, you must attach a U.S. Form 1310 or  

If You Moved in 2016 Michigan Claim for Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer  
(MI-1310).  Enter the names of the deceased persons in the Residents  who temporarily lived outside Michigan may 
Filer’s and Spouse’s Name lines and the representative’s or qualify for a credit if Michigan remained their state of 
claimant’s name, time, and address on the Home Address domicile. Personal belongings and furnishings must have 

remained in the Michigan homestead and  the  homestead  line.  See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples”, page 10, 
must  not  have been rented or sublet during the temporary examples D or E. 
absence. (See the definition of domicile on page 3.)  Married During 2016 
If you bought or sold your home or moved during 2016,  Complete lines 34 through 44 to prorate taxes for the period 
you must prorate your taxes.  Complete lines 34 through 44 to of time each spouse occupied his or her home.  Complete 
determine taxes that can be claimed for credit.  Use only the lines 45 through 56 if one spouse rented part of the year.  
taxes levied in 2016  on each Michigan homestead, then prorate Combine each spouse’s share of taxes or rent for the period 
those taxes based on the days of occupancy. Do not  include of time he or she lived in separate homesteads.  Then add the  
taxes on out-of-state property. Do not  include property taxes prorated share of taxes or rent for the time you lived together 
for property with a taxable value greater than $135,000. in your marital home.  Write “Married in 2016” and the date 

of your marriage next to line 44. This applies only to homes Part-Year Residents
	 located in Michigan and to couples who married during 2016. 
If you lived in Michigan at least six months during the year, Filing a Joint Return and Maintaining Separate 
you may be entitled to a partial credit. If you are a part-year Homesteads resident, you must include all income received as a Michigan 

Your claim must be based on the tax or rent for 12 months resident in total household resources (line 32). Complete 
Part 1, page 2 to determine the taxes eligible to be claimed on only one home. The total household resources must be the 
for credit on your Michigan homestead. See page 6 of the combined income of both you and your spouse for the entire 
MI-1040  booklet. year. 
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Married Filing Separately and Divorced or the rest of the year. Cathy earned $20,000 and Karl earned 
Separated Claimants  Schedule (Form 5049) $25,000. They lived together for 275 days. 
This form can be found at www.michigan.gov/taxes. Step  1:  Calculate the prorated total household resources for 
Submit Form 5049 with Form MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2 or  each spouse for the 275 days they lived together.  Divide each  
MI-1040CR-7 if any of the following situations apply to you: spouse’s total income by 366  days, then multiply that figure 
•		 Y ou filed as married filing separately, and you and your by  275. 

spouse maintained separate homesteads all year.  Cathy  ($20,000/366) x 275  = $15,027 
Complete only Part 3 of Form 5049. Karl  ($25,000/366) x 275  = $18,784 

•		 Y ou filed as married filing separately, and you shared a Cathy and Karl must complete Form 5049 and list income homestead with your spouse all year. earned during the period they lived together. 
•		 Y ou filed as married filing separately, and you and your 

Step 2:  Add both prorated total household resources spouse maintained separate homesteads at the end of the 
together to determine the total income for the time they year. lived together. 

Filing Separate State Returns and Maintaining 
Separate Homesteads  $15,027 + $18,784 = $33,811 

Step 3:  Divide each individual’s prorated share of total Spouses who file separate Michigan income tax returns and household resources by the total income from Step 2 to did not share a household during the tax year may each claim determine the percentage attributable to each. a credit. Each credit is based on the individual taxes or rent 
and individual total household resources for each person. Cathy  $15,027/$33,811 = 44%
	
This only applies to homes located in Michigan. They each Karl  $18,784/$33,811 = 56%
	
must complete Form 5049 and provide an explanation in  Step 4:  Calculate the prorated taxes eligible for credit for the 

Part 3. time they lived together. Divide the $1,860 by 366  days, then 

Married Filing Separately and Shared a multiply by 275 days.
	
Homestead  ($1,860/366) x 275 = $1,398 
Spouses who file separate Michigan income tax returns but Step 5:  Calculate each individual’s share of the prorated 
shared a homestead for the entire year are entitled to one taxes. Multiply the $1,398  by the percentages determined in 
property tax credit. The credit claim must be based on the Step 3. 
total household resources of both spouses during the time 

Cathy  $1,398 x 44% = $615 the homestead was shared. A spouse claiming the credit 
must complete Form 5049 and include the total household Karl  $1,398 x 56% = $783 
resources for both spouses. A spouse filing the credit Enter these amounts on line 39, column B, of  MI-1040CR-2. 
should also include the other spouse’s income on the Other Then complete lines 40 through 43. 
Nontaxable Income line of the Homestead Property Tax Cathy uses lines 36 through 43, column A, to determine her 
Credit Claim. You and your spouse may choose how you share of taxes for the remaining 91 days. Karl uses lines 45 
want to divide the credit. If each spouse claims a portion of through 55 to determine his share of rent. Each completes 
the credit, attach a copy of the claim showing each spouse’s the remaining lines of the MI-1040CR-2  according to the 
share of the credit to each income tax return. Enter only your form  instructions. 
portion of the credit on your MI-1040CR-2, line 33. 

Residents of Adult Care Homes
	
Separated or Divorced in 2016 

If you are a resident of a nursing home, adult foster care 
Figure your credit based on the taxes you paid together home or home for the aged including assisted living facilities, 
before your separation plus taxes you paid individually after file the MI-1040CR to obtain the maximum credit you are 
your separation. Complete and attach Form 5049 and attach a entitled to.  The form and instructions for filing are in the 
schedule showing your computation. For more information or 2016 MI-1040 booklet. To obtain the booklet, see  page 2. 
to help you calculate a prorated share of taxes, see Michigan  
Homestead Property Tax Credits for Separated or Divorced Single Adults Sharing a Home 
Taxpayers (Form 2105). When two or more single adults share a home, each may file 
Example:  Karl   and Cathy separated on   October 2,   2016. a credit claim if each has contracted to pay rent or owns a 
The annual taxes on the home they owned were $1,860. share of the home.  Each adult should file an individual claim 
Cathy continued to live in the home and Karl moved to an based  on his or her total household resources and prorated 
apartment on October 2 and paid $350 per month rent for share of taxes or rent paid. 

Line-by-Line Instructions for MI-1040CR-2
	
Lines not listed are explained on the form.	 Line  5:  Filing Status. Check the box to identify your filing 
Lines  1,  2,  and  3:  Enter  your name(s), address, and status. All couples who are married under the laws of the 
Social Security number(s).  If you are married filing State of Michigan, or under the laws of another state, and are 
separately, enter both Social Security numbers but do not  treated as married for federal tax purposes must claim either 
enter your spouse’s name. married filing jointly or married filing separately status on 
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the property tax credit. If you file a joint federal return, you If the total is negative, enter “0.” Include amounts from 
must file a joint property tax credit. If you filed married sources outside Michigan. Attach the above federal  
filing separately, you must include the total household schedules to your claim. 
resources of both spouses unless you filed separate federal Line  16:  Add the amounts from: 
returns and maintained separate homesteads. If you filed •		 P art I (Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate and 
your federal return as head of household or qualifying Royalties) of the U.S. Schedule E. 
widow(er), you must file the property tax credit as single. •		 P art IV (Income or Loss from Real Estate Mortgage 
Line  6: Residency. Check the box that describes your Investment Conduits (REMIC)) of the U.S. Schedule E  
Michigan residency for 2016. If you and your spouse had (rents, royalties). 
a different residency status during the year, check a box •		 P art V (Net farm rental income or (loss) from Form 4835) 
for each of you. If you checked box c, enter the dates of of the U.S. Schedule E. 
Michigan residency in 2016. 

If the total is negative, enter “0.” Include amounts from Line  7b: Enter the percent of disability as determined by the sources outside Michigan. Attach these schedules to your Veterans Administration. claim. 
Property Tax and Total Household Resources Line  17:  Enter all annuity, retirement pension, and individual 
If you bought or sold your home or if you are a part-year retirement account (IRA) benefits. This should be the taxable 
resident, go to Part 1, page 2 of the MI-1040CR-2. Renters: amount shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R. If no taxable 
go to Part 2, page 3 of the MI-1040CR-2. amount is shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R, use the amount 
Include all taxable and nontaxable income you and your required to be included in AGI. Enter “0” if all of your 
spouse received in 2016. If your family lived in Michigan distribution is from your contributions made with income 
and one spouse earned wages outside Michigan, include previously included in AGI. Include reimbursement payments 
the income earned both in and out-of-state in your total such as an increase in a pension to pay for Medicare charges. 
household resources. (See “Who May Claim a Property Tax Also include the total amount of any lump sum distribution 
Credit” and “Total Household Resources” on page 3.) including amounts reported on your U.S. Form 4972.  Do 

not Line  9:   include recoveries of after-tax contributions or amounts If you own your homestead, enter the taxable value 
rolled over into another plan (amounts rolled over into a Roth of your homestead from your 2016  property tax statement or 

assessment  notice.  If the taxable value of your homestead IRA must be included to the extent included in AGI). 
is greater than $135,000, STOP; you are not eligible for You must include any part of a distribution from a Roth 
the homestead property tax credit.  If you do not know IRA that exceeds your total contributions to the Roth 
your taxable value, contact your local treasurer.  IRA regardless of whether this amount is included in AGI. 

Assume all contributions to the Roth IRA are withdrawn If you rent your homestead, you must complete Part 2 to 
determine the taxable value of your homestead. You will first. NOTE:  Losses from Roth IRAs cannot be deducted.  
need to know the total non-homestead millage rate levied by Line  18:  Enter net capital gains and losses. This is the total 
your city or township. If you do not know the rate, contact of short-term and long-term gains, less short-term and long-
your local treasurer. term losses from your U.S. Schedule  D  (losses cannot exceed 

$3,000 if single or married filing jointly or $1,500 if married Line  10:  Read “Property Taxes Eligible for Credit” on   
filing separately). Include gains realized on the sale of your page 4 before you complete this line.
	
residence whether or not these gains are exempt from federal Line  11:  Divide your taxable value allowance by the taxable 
 income tax. value of your home to determine your percentage of tax relief 

Line  19: Enter alimony received and other taxable income. (cannot exceed 100%). See example on page 10.
	
Describe other taxable income. This includes: awards, 

Line  13:  Enter all compensation received as an employee. prizes, lottery, bingo, and other gambling winnings over 
Include strike pay, supplemental unemployment benefits $300; farmland preservation tax credits if not included in net 
(SUB pay), sick pay, or long-term disability benefits, farm income on line 15; and forgiveness of debt to the extent 
including income protection insurance, and any other included in federal AGI (e.g., mortgage foreclosure). 
amounts reported to you on Form W-2. Line  20:  Enter your Social Security, Supplemental Security 
Line  14:  Do not include business dividend and interest Income (SSI), and/or Railroad Retirement benefits. Include 
income reported as a distributable share on Form K-1. See death  benefits  and amounts received for minor children line 15 instructions. or  other  dependent  adults  who live with you. Report the 
Line  15: Add the amounts from: amount actually received for the year. Medicare premiums 
•		 U.S.  Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business). reported on your Social Security or Railroad Retirement 
•		 Part II (Ordinary Gains and Losses) of the U.S. Form 4797. statement should be deducted. 
•		 Part II (Income or Loss from Partnerships and Line  21:  Enter child support and all payments received as a 

S Corporations) and Part III (Income or Loss from Estates foster parent. NOTE:  If you received a 2016 Custodial Party 
and Trusts) of the U.S. Schedule E. End of Year Statement (FEN-851) showing child support 

•		 U.S.  Schedule F (Profit or Loss from Farming). payments paid to the Friend of the Court, enter the child 
•		 Include income items reported as a distributive share. support portion here and attach a copy of the statement. See 

line 26 instructions. 
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Line  22:  Enter all unemployment compensation received in •		 Alimony paid 
2016. •		 Jury duty pay you gave to your employer 
Line  23: • Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA) deduction Enter the value over $300 in gifts of cash or 		 
merchandise received, or expenses paid on your behalf (rent, •		 H   ealth Savings Account (HSA) deduction 
taxes, utilities, food, medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives, •		 A ny other adjustments to gross income included on your 
or friends. This includes the amount of financial support 2016 U.S. Form 1040. 
you received if you are claimed as a dependent on someone Line  30: Enter health insurance premiums, Health 
else’s return. Do not include government payments made Maintenance Organization (HMO) premiums, or other 
directly to third parties such as an educational institution or insurance premiums you paid for yourself and your family. 
subsidized housing project. Include the following premiums: 
Line  24: Enter other nontaxable income. This includes: •  Medical insurance 
•		 N ongovernmental scholarship, stipend or grant payments •  Dental insurance 

paid directly to an educational institution •  Vision insurance 
•		 C ompensation for damages to character or for personal •  Prescription drug plan 

injury or sickness •  Automobile insurance (medical care portion only). •		 Adoption subsidies 
Do not  include any insurance premiums deducted on •		 An inheritance (except an inheritance from your spouse) lines 20 or 29, amounts paid for income protection •		 P roceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of the insurance (long-term disability), long-term care insurance, insured (except benefits from a policy on your spouse) or amounts paid by an employer with pre-tax payroll 

•		 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer contributions.  You must reduce an insurance premium 
•		 Minister’s housing allowance by the federal premium tax credit received under the 
•		 F orgiveness of debt to the extent not included in federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.  Use the 2016  

AGI (e.g., mortgage foreclosure) U.S. Premium Tax Credit Form 8962  to calculate the net 
•		 R eimbursement from dependent care and/or medical care insurance premium. The annual total insurance premium 

(line 11A of U.S. Form 8962  or the sum of lines 12A spending  accounts 
through 23A of U.S. Form 8962) less the total premium •		 I f you are married filing separately include your spouse’s tax credit (line 24 of U.S. Form 8962) may be claimed. income unless you maintained separate homesteads. 
Line  32: Total  Household  Resources  is used only to Complete and attach Form 5049. 
compute your credit. Taxpayers with total household resources 

Line  25:  Enter workers’ compensation, service-connected over $50,000 are not eligible for a credit in any category. 
disability compensation and pension benefits from the 
Veterans Administration. Veterans receiving retirement Credit Proration for FIP/MDHHS Benefit Recipients 
benefits should enter the benefits on line 17. If you received FIP assistance or other MDHHS benefits in 
Line  26: Enter the total payments made to your household 2016, prorate your credit to reflect the ratio of income from 
by MDHHS and all other public assistance payments. Your other sources to your total household resources.  To prorate 
2016 Client Annual Statement  (DHS-1241) mailed by your credit, complete your MI-1040CR-2, lines 1 through 32 
MDHHS in January 2017  will show your total MDHHS first, then use the information from your MI-1040CR-2 to 
payments. Your statement(s) may include the following: complete the FIP/MDHHS Benefits Worksheet. 
Family Independence Program (FIP) assistance, State 
Disability Assistance (SDA), Refugee Assistance, Repatriate 
Assistance, and vendor payments for shelter, heat, and FIP/MDHHS Benefits Worksheet 
utilities.  NOTE:  If you received a 2016  Form  FEN-851  A.		Amount from line 26 
	
(attach a copy), subtract the amount of child support (FIP and other MDHHS benefits)
	
payments entered on line 21 from the total MDHHS 
payments and enter the difference here. B.		Amount from line 32 
	

Line  29: Enter total adjustments from your U.S. Form 1040  (Total Household Resources)
	

or U.S. Form 1040A. Describe adjustments to income. These C.		Subtract line A from line B (if 

adjustments reduce total household resources and include amount is negative, enter zero)
	
some of the following: 

D.		Divide line C by line B  
•		 Payments to IRAs, SEP, SIMPLE, or qualified plans and enter percentage here
	•		 Student loan interest deduction 
•		 M oving expenses into  or  within  Michigan can be E.		 Amount from line 12 
	

included in “Other Adjustments” to reduce total household (maximum $1,200)
	
resources. Moving expenses when moving out  of  

F. Multiply line E by line D. Michigan cannot be included in “Other Adjustments” to 
reduce total household resources. Enter here and carry amount 

•		 Deduction for self-employment tax to MI-1040CR-2, line 33 
•		 Self-employed health insurance deduction 
•		 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings 
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Your Credit the monthly rent amount. Claim the remaining balance of 

rent on line 45.Line 33: Enter the amount below that applies to you 
	

(maximum $1,200). IMPORTANT:   If you rented your Michigan homestead(s) 

		 for the entire year, complete lines 45 through 49. If you •    FIP and MDHHS recipients, enter amount from line F of 


rented your Michigan homestead(s) for part of the year, the FIP/MDHHS Benefits Worksheet above. 

complete lines 45 through 56.
	• 		    Taxpayers who have total household resources over 

$50,000 are not  eligible for a credit in any category.  The When You Have Finished
	
computed credit (line 12) is reduced by 10 percent for  Sign your return 
every $1,000 (or part of $1,000) that your total household Review your claim to make sure your name(s), Social resources exceeds $41,000.  If you are filing a part-year Security number(s), address, and all other important 
return (for a deceased taxpayer or a part-year resident), information are on the claim.  
you must annualize the total household resources to 

If the preparer is someone other than the taxpayer, he or determine if the credit reduction applies. If the annualized 
she must include the name and address of the firm he or she income is more than $41,000, use the annualized total represents and preparer tax identification or federal employer household resources to determine the percentage identification number.  Check the box to indicate if Treasury allowable in Table 1 below.  If the annualized total may discuss your return with your preparer.         household resources is $41,000 or less, no reduction is  

necessary. Then use actual  total  household  resources  Attachments 
attributable to Michigan on line 32. A surviving spouse Assemble your claim and attachments in the following order 
filing a joint claim does not  have to annualize the and staple in the upper-left corner. 
deceased spouse’s income. •	 Farmland Preservation Tax Credit  (MI-1040CR-5) 

•	  Schedule of Taxes and Allocation to Each Agreement 
TABLE 1 — 
 (Schedule  CR-5) 

HOMESTEAD PROPERTY TAX CREDIT PHASE OUT
	 •	 H omestead Property Tax Credit Claim for Veterans and 
Total Household Resources Percentage Allowed Blind People (MI-1040CR-2) 

$41,000 or less ........................... 100% (1.00)
 •	 Home Heating Credit  (MI-1040CR-7). 
$41,001 - $42,000  ........................ 90% (0.90)
 If you are also filing an MI-1040, assemble your returns and 
$42,001 - $43,000  ........................ 80% (0.80)
 attachments according to the instructions in the MI-1040 $43,001 - $44,000  ........................ 70% (0.70)
 
$44,001 - $45,000  ........................ 60% (0.60)
 booklet. See “Where to Mail Your Claim” on page 2.  Keep a 
$45,001 - $46,000  ........................ 50% (0.50)
 copy of this form and all supporting documents for six years. 
$46,001 - $47,000  ........................ 40% (0.40)
 


 
Direct Deposit 

$47,001 - $48,000  .......................  30% (0.30)
$48,001 - $49,000  .......................  20% (0.20)
 Check with your financial institution to: 
$49,001 - $50,000  ........................ 10% (0.10)
 (1) make sure it will accept Direct Deposit, 
$50,001 - above  ............................. 0% (0.00)
 

(2) obtain  the correct Routing Transit Number (RTN) and 
account number, and 

To annualize total household resources (project what it (3) if  applicable, verify that your financial institution will allow 
would have been for a full year): a joint refund to be deposited into an individual account. 
Step  1:  Divide  366  by the number of days the claimant lived Direct Deposit requests associated with a foreign bank account 
or was a Michigan resident in 2016. are classified as International ACH Transactions (IAT).  If your 
Step  2:  income tax refund Direct Deposit is forwarded or transferred Multiply the answer from step 1 by the claimant’s 

to a bank account in a foreign country your Direct Deposit total household resources (line 32). The result is the 
will be returned  to Treasury.  If this occurs, your refund will annualized total household resources. 
be converted to a check (warrant) and mailed to the address on Renters (Veterans Only) your tax return. Contact your financial institution for questions 

See “Rent Eligible for Credit” on page 4. regarding the status of your account. 
Line 45:  If you rented a Michigan homestead subject to a.  RTN.   Enter the nine-digit RTN.  The RTN is usually 
local property taxes, enter the street number and name, city, found between the symbols |: and |: on the bottom of your 
landlord’s name and address, number of months rented, check.  The first two digits must be 01 through 12 or 21 
rent paid per month, and total rent paid. Do this for each through 32.  
Michigan homestead rented during 2016  and for each time b.  Account  Number.   Enter your financial institution 
rental amounts changed. If you need more space, attach account number up to 17 characters (both numbers and 
an additional sheet. Do not  include more than 12 months’ letters).  The account number is usually found immediately 
rent. If you married in 2016, see page 5. Do not  include to the right of the RTN on the bottom of your check. Include 
amounts paid directly to the landowner on your behalf by hyphens but omit spaces and special symbols. Do  not  include 
a government agency, unless payment is made with money the check number. 
withheld from your benefit. If you pay lot rent on your c.  		Type of Account.  Check the box for checking or savings. mobile home, subtract the $3 per month property tax from 
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DECEASED TAXPAYER CHART OF EXAMPLES 
(See instructions, page 5.) 

A. Joint Filers with Surviving Spouse	 D. Joint Filers with Personal Representative 
1.  Filer’s First Name M.I.  Last Name 1.  Filer’s First Name M.I.  Last Name 

     John  A  Brown  DECD      John  A  Brown  EST OF
 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name M.I.  Last Name  If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name M.I.  Last Name 

 Jane  C  Brown   Jane  C  Brown  EST OF
 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box) 

B. Single Filer with Personal Representative    Sam W. Jones  REP  123 Main St.
1.  Filer’s First Name M.I.  Last Name 

     John  A  Brown  EST OF E. Joint Filers with Claimant 
 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name  M.I.  Last Name 1.  Filer’s First Name M.I.  Last Name 

     John  A  Brown  DECD
 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box)  If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name M.I.  Last Name 

   Sam W. Jones  REP 123 Main St.  Jane  C  Brown  DECD
 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box) 

C. Single Filer with Claimant    Sam W. Jones  CLAIMANT 123 Main St. 
1.  Filer’s First Name M.I.  Last Name 

     John  A  Brown  DECD
 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name  M.I.  Last Name 

 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box) 

   Sam W. Jones  CLAIMANT 123 Main St. 

TABLE 2 - VETERANS AND BLIND STATUS AND TAXABLE VALUE ALLOWANCE (TVA) 
 Percent of 
Filing Status  Disability  TVA  
A.  Blind (if each spouse is blind, the TVA is $7,000)  ....................................................................................................$3,500
	

B. 		 Veteran with service-connected disability (or his or her surviving spouse)  .........................  10 - 50%.................3,500
	

           60 - 80% ................4,000
	

  90 - 100% ................4,500
	

C.  Surviving spouse of veteran deceased in service .........................................................................................................4,500
	

D.  Active military, pensioned veteran, or his or her surviving spouse .............................................................................3,500
	

E.  Surviving spouse of a non-disabled or non-pensioned veteran of the Korean War, World War II, or World War I ....2,500 

CREDIT COMPUTATION EXAMPLES 

To calculate your credit, first divide the allowance from millage rate. For example, you are a pensioned veteran and 
Table 2 above by the taxable value of your homestead. The rent your home for $395 per month. Your local assessor 
result is a percentage (not to exceed 100%). Multiply this tells you the non-homestead rate for your home is 56 mills 
percentage by the property taxes levied on your homestead (0.056 or $56 for every $1,000 of taxable value). Compute 
to arrive at your credit (maximum $1,200). the credit as follows: 
Homeowner’s Example:  You are a 90 percent disabled $395 monthly rent x 12 = $4,740 yearly rent 
veteran, age 66, with total household resources of $20,000. $4,740 x 0.20 = $948 taxes attributable to rent 
Your home has a taxable value of $15,000 and the property $948 / 0.056 (non-homestead rate) = $16,929 (taxable 
tax  is $750.  As a  disabled  veteran  your  taxable  value  value) 
allowance (TVA) from Table 2 above is $4,500. Compute $3,500 TVA (from Table 2) / $16,929 (taxable value) = the credit as follows: 20.67% (0.2067) refundable 
     $4,500 TVA (from Table 2) / $15,000 $948 property taxes x 0.2067 = $196 credit 

30% refundable (0.30) 
$750 property taxes x 0.30 = $ 225 credit NOTE:  

•		 B lind people who rent their homestead do not  qualify 
Renter’s Example:  The taxable value of the rented  for the credit on the MI-1040CR-2 and should file as 
homestead is determined by multiplying your rent by  blind on the MI-1040CR. 
20 percent and dividing the result by the non-homestead •		 Contact your local assessor for the non-homestead rate. 
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School District Code List   (See MI-1040CR-2, line 4.)  
Michigan public school districts are listed alphabetically with the code numbers to the left of the names.  When more than one district has the same name, the 
city or county name in parentheses helps you choose the right district.   Residents, choose the code for the district where you lived on December 31, 2016.  
Call your local assessor or treasurer if you do not know your school district name.  Nonresidents, enter “10000” in the school district code box. 
31020  Adams Twp. 74040  Capac 63200  Farmington 34360  Ionia Twp. 
46020  Addison 25080  Carman-Ainsworth 18020  Farwell 22010  Iron Mountain 
46010  Adrian 55010  Carney-Nadeau 03050  Fennville 27020  Ironwood 
58020  Airport 79020  Caro 25100  Fenton 52180  Ishpeming 
79010  Akron-Fairgrove 73030  Carrollton 63020  Ferndale 29060  Ithaca 
24030  Alanson 59020  Carson City-Crystal 50090  Fitzgerald 38170  Jackson 05010  Alba 76070  Carsonville-Pt. Sanilac 82180  Flat Rock 58080  Jefferson  (Monroe) 13010  Albion 32030  Caseville 25010  Flint 70175  Jenison 01010  Alcona 79030  Cass City 25120  Flushing 69030  Johannesburg-Lewiston 74030  Algonac 14010  Cassopolis 40020  Forest Area 30030  Jonesville 03030  Allegan 41070  Cedar Springs 41110  Forest Hills 
82020  Allen Park 50010  Center Line 36015  Forest Park 39010  Kalamazoo 
70040  Allendale 05035  Central Lake 19070  Fowler 51045  Kaleva Norman Dickson 
29010  Alma 59125  Central Montcalm 47030  Fowlerville 40040  Kalkaska 
44020  Almont 75030  Centreville 73190  Frankenmuth 25110  Kearsley 
04010  Alpena 15050  Charlevoix 10025  Frankfort-Elberta 41140  Kelloggsville 
50040  Anchor Bay 23030  Charlotte 50100  Fraser 41145  Kenowa Hills 
81010  Ann  Arbor 31050  Chassell Twp. 73200  Freeland 41150  Kent City 
06010  Arenac Eastern 16015  Cheboygan 62040  Fremont 41160  Kentwood 
50050  Armada 81040  Chelsea 61080  Fruitport 28090  Kingsley 
07010  Arvon Twp. 73110  Chesaning Union 29050  Fulton 79080  Kingston 
29020  Ashley 54025  Chippewa Hills 39050  Galesburg-Augusta 07040  L’Anse 
13050  Athens 50080  Chippewa Valley 82050  Garden City 50140  L’Anse Creuse 
25130  Atherton 32040  Church 69020  Gaylord 78040  Laingsburg 
60010  Atlanta 18010  Clare 25070  Genesee 57020  Lake City 
06020  Au Gres-Sims 63090  Clarenceville 82290  Gibraltar 25200  Lake Fenton 
02010  AuTrain-Onota 63190  Clarkston 21025  Gladstone 31130  Lake Linden-Hubbell 
63070  Avondale 63270  Clawson 26040  Gladwin 63230  Lake Orion 

39020  Climax-Scotts 32010  Bad Axe 45010  Glen Lake 50120  Lake Shore (Macomb) 
46060  Clinton 43040  Baldwin 03440  Glenn 11030  Lakeshore (Berrien) 
50070  Clintondale 80020  Bangor (Van Buren) 80110  Gobles 13090  Lakeview (Calhoun) 
25150  Clio 80240  Bangor Twp. 41120  Godfrey-Lee 50130  Lakeview (Macomb) 
12010  Coldwater 09030  Bangor Twp. (Bay) 41020  Godwin Heights 59090  Lakeview (Montcalm) 
56030  Coleman 07020  Baraga  25050  Goodrich 25280  LakeVille 
32260  Colfax Twp. 21090  Bark River-Harris 25030  Grand Blanc 34090  Lakewood 
11330  Coloma 19100  Bath 70010  Grand Haven 63280  Lamphere 
75040  Colon 13020  Battle Creek 23060  Grand Ledge 33020  Lansing 
38040  Columbia 09010  Bay City 41010  Grand  Rapids 44010  Lapeer 
39030  Comstock 37040  Beal City 41130  Grandville 80130  Lawrence 
41080  Comstock Park 51020  Bear Lake 62050  Grant 80140  Lawton 
38080  Concord 15010  Beaver Island 42030  Grant Twp. 45020  Leland 
75050  Constantine 26010  Beaverton 38050  Grass Lake 49040  Les Cheneaux 
70120  Coopersville 58030  Bedford 59070  Greenville 33100  Leslie 
78100  Corunna 25240  Beecher 82300  Grosse Ile Twp. 81070  Lincoln 
80040  Covert 34080  Belding 82055  Grosse Pointe 82090  Lincoln Park 
20015  Crawford AuSable 05040  Bellaire 39065  Gull Lake 25250  Linden 
82230  Crestwood 23010  Bellevue 52040  Gwinn 30040  Litchfield 
76080  Croswell-Lexington 25060  Bendle 82095  Livonia 11670  Hagar Twp. 25230  Bentley 33040  Dansville 41170  Lowell 35020  Hale 11010  Benton  Harbor 25140  Davison 53040  Ludington 03100  Hamilton 10015  Benzie County Central 82030  Dearborn 82060  Hamtramck 49110  Mackinac Island 

63050  Berkley 82040  Dearborn  Heights 31010  Hancock 16070  Mackinaw City 
34140  Berlin Twp. 80050  Decatur 38100  Hanover-Horton 46090  Madison (Lenawee) 
11240  Berrien Springs 76090  Deckerville 32060  Harbor Beach 63140  Madison (Oakland) 
27010  Bessemer  08010  Delton-Kellogg 24020  Harbor Springs 05070  Mancelona 
21065  Big Bay De Noc 17050  DeTour 13070  Harper Creek 81080  Manchester 
62470  Big Jackson 82010  Detroit 82320  Harper Woods 51070  Manistee 
54010  Big Rapids 19010  DeWitt 18060  Harrison 77010  Manistique 
73170  Birch Run 81050  Dexter 64040  Hart 83060  Manton 
63010  Birmingham 31100  Dollar Bay-Tamarack City 80120  Hartford 23065  Maple Valley 
46040  Blissfield 14020  Dowagiac Union 47060  Hartland 13095  Mar Lee 
63080  Bloomfield  Hills 44050  Dryden 33060  Haslett 14050  Marcellus 
80090  Bloomingdale 58050  Dundee 08030  Hastings 67050  Marion 
49020  Bois Blanc Pines 78030  Durand 63130  Hazel Park 76140  Marlette 
15020  Boyne City 74050  East China 73210  Hemlock 52170  Marquette 
15030  Boyne Falls 50020  East Detroit 62060  Hesperia 13110  Marshall 
63180  Brandon 41090  East Grand Rapids 82070  Highland Park 03060  Martin 
11210  Brandywine 38090  East Jackson 60020  Hillman 74100  Marysville 
29040  Breckenridge 15060  East Jordan 30020  Hillsdale 33130  Mason (Ingham) 
22030  Breitung Twp. 33010  East Lansing 70020  Holland 58090  Mason (Monroe) 
73180  Bridgeport-Spaulding 34340  Easton Twp. 63210  Holly 53010  Mason County Central 
11340  Bridgman 23050  Eaton Rapids 33070  Holt 53020  Mason County Eastern 
47010  Brighton 11250  Eau Claire 61120  Holton 80150  Mattawan 
17140  Brimley 82250  Ecorse 13080  Homer 79090  Mayville 
46050  Britton Deerfield 14030  Edwardsburg 03070  Hopkins 57030  McBain 
12020  Bronson 05060  Elk Rapids 72020  Houghton Lake 82045  Melvindale-North Allen Park 
76060  Brown City 32050  Elkton-Pigeon-BayPort  Laker 31110  Houghton-Portage Twp. 74120  Memphis 
11310  Buchanan 05065  Ellsworth 47070  Howell 75060  Mendon 
28035  Buckley 31070  Elm River Twp. 46080  Hudson 55100  Menominee 
56020  Bullock Creek 49055  Engadine 70190  Hudsonville 56050  Meridian 
75020  Burr Oak 21010  Escanaba 82340  Huron 73230  Merrill 
02020  Burt Twp. 09050  Essexville-Hampton 63220  Huron Valley 83070  Mesick 
78020  Byron 67020  Evart 38120  Michigan Center 
41040  Byron Center 58070  Ida 66045  Ewen-Trout Creek 21135  Mid Peninsula 44060  Imlay City 83010  Cadillac 40060  Excelsior 56010  Midland 82080  Inkster 41050  Caledonia 81100  Milan 16050  Inland Lakes 31030  Calumet 79100  Millington 68030  Fairview 34010  Ionia 30010  Camden-Frontier 68010  Mio-AuSable 
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61060  Mona Shores 39140  Portage 46140  Tecumseh 
58010  Monroe 34110  Portland 13130  Tekonsha E-filing your return is
59045  Montabella 71060  Posen 08050  Thornapple Kellogg 
61180  Montague 23090  Potterville 75080  Three Rivers easy, fast, and secure! 
25260  Montrose 52100  Powell Twp. 28010  Traverse City 
49070  Moran Twp. 82155  Trenton 12040  Quincy 46100  Morenci 59080  Tri County 
54040  Morley  Stanwood 21060  Rapid River 63150  Troy 
78060  Morrice 61210  Ravenna 32170  Ubly 50160  Mt. Clemens 30070  Reading 13135  Union City 25040  Mt. Morris 82110  Redford Union 79145  Unionville-Sebewaing 37010  Mt. Pleasant 67060  Reed City 50210  Utica 02070  Munising 79110  Reese www.MIfastfile.org 
61010  Muskegon 61220  Reeths-Puffer 82430  Van Buren 
61020  Muskegon Heights 52110  Republic-Michigamme 50220  Van Dyke 

50180  Richmond 69040  Vanderbilt 38130  Napoleon 82120  River Rouge 38020  Vandercook Lake 52090  Negaunee 11033  River Valley 79150  Vassar 11200  New Buffalo 82400  Riverview 32650  Verona Twp. 
Treasury Offices 

50170  New Haven 63260  Rochester 59150  Vestaburg 78070  New Lothrop 41210  Rockford 39170  Vicksburg Commonly used forms are  
62070  Newaygo 71080  Rogers City 52015  N.I.C.E. (Ishpeming) 27070  Wakefield-Marenisco available at Treasury offices listed 

50190  Romeo 11300  Niles 30080  Waldron 82130  Romulus below.  Treasury office staff do not 
30050  North Adams-Jerome 64090  Walkerville 72010   Roscommon 44090  North Branch 63290  Walled Lake prepare tax returns.

50030  Roseville 55115  North Central 50230  Warren 63040  Royal Oak 22045  North Dickinson 50240  Warren Woods 17110  Rudyard 32080  North Huron 63300  Waterford DETROIT
61230  North Muskegon 73010  Saginaw City 27080  Watersmeet Twp. Cadillac Place, Suite L-380 
45040  Northport 73040  Saginaw Twp. 11320  Watervliet 
41025  Northview 81120  Saline 33215  Waverly 3060 W. Grand Blvd. 
82390  Northville 46130  Sand Creek 03040  Wayland Union 
38140  Northwest 76210  Sandusky 82160  Wayne-Westland DIMONDALE * 
22025  Norway-Vulcan 34120  Saranac 33220  Webberville 7285 Parsons Drive
75100  Nottawa 03080  Saugatuck 52160  Wells Twp. 
63100  Novi 17010  Sault Ste. Marie 63160  West Bloomfield (*NOT a mailing address) 

39160  Schoolcraft 65045  West Branch-Rose City 63250  Oak Park 64080  Shelby 36025  West Iron County 61065  Oakridge ESCANABA37060  Shepherd 70070  West Ottawa 33170  Okemos 32610  Sigel Twp. 3 (Adams) 38010  Western State Office Building, 1st Floor
23080  Olivet 32620  Sigel Twp. 4 (Eccles) 82240  Westwood 71050  Onaway 305 Ludington Street

32630  Sigel Twp. 6 (Kipper) 25210  Westwood Heights 23490  Oneida Twp. 11830  Sodus Twp. 62090  White Cloud (open 8 - 12 only)
51060  Onekama 80010  South Haven 75070  White Pigeon 46110  Onsted 50200  South Lake 17160  Whitefish Twp. 66050  Ontonagon FLINT

63240  South Lyon 58110  Whiteford 61190  Orchard View 82140  South Redford 61240  Whitehall State Office Building, 7th Floor
35010  Oscoda 63060  Southfield 81140  Whitmore Lake 03020  Otsego 125 E. Union Street

82405  Southgate 35040  Whittemore-Prescott 19120  Ovid-Elsie 41240  Sparta 33230  Williamston 32090  Owendale-Gagetown 70300  Spring Lake 81150  Willow Run GRAND RAPIDS
78110  Owosso 38150  Springport 16100  Wolverine State Office Building, 2nd Floor63110  Oxford 73240  St. Charles 82365  Woodhaven-Brownstown 
39130  Parchment 49010  g  350 Ottawa Avenue, NW - Unit 17 St. I nace 82170 Wyandotte 
80160  Paw Paw 19140  St. Johns 41026  Wyoming 
76180  Peck 11020  St. Joseph 74130  Yale STERLING HEIGHTS
24040  Pellston 29100  St. Louis 81020  Ypsilanti 41300 Dequindre Road13120  Pennfield 06050  Standish-Sterling 
64070  Pentwater 31140  Stanton Twp. 70350  Zeeland Suite 200 
78080  Perry 55120  Stephenson 
24070  Petoskey 33200  Stockbridge TRAVERSE CITY 19125  Pewamo-Westphalia 75010  Sturgis 
17090  Pickford 58100  Summerfield 701 S. Elmwood Avenue         
47080  Pinckney 02080  Superior Central 4th Floor
09090  Pinconning 45050  Suttons Bay 
67055  Pine River 73255  Swan Valley (open 8 - 12 only) 
30060  Pittsford 25180  Swartz Creek 
03010  Plainwell 48040  Tahquamenon 82100  Plymouth-Canton 35030  Tawas 63030  Pontiac 82150  Taylor 74010  Port Huron 
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