
Detach here and mail with your payment. Do not fold or staple the voucher.

2019 MICHIGAN MI-1041ES
Estimated Income Tax Voucher for Fiduciary and Composite Filers

Due Date for Calendar Year Filers

Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967, as amended.  See instructions for filing guidelines.
Filer Filer’s Full Federal Employer Identification No. (FEIN)

Fiduciary Composite

Estate/Trust and Fiduciary Name, Title and Address or 
Composite Filer Name and Address WRITE PAYMENT

AMOUNT HERE $  00

MAIL TO:
Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI 48909

Enclose check payable to “State 
of Michigan.” Write the FEIN of 
the estate, trust or composite 
filer and “2019 MI-1041ES” on 
the check. Do not fold or staple.

2019 MI-1041ES, Michigan Estimated Income Tax for Fiduciary and Composite Filers
Michigan Department of Treasury (Rev. 05-18)

•	 Estates do not have to pay estimated tax for the first two 
years.

Composite Filers
Flow-through entities (FTEs) who file a Michigan 
Composite Individual Income Tax Return (Form 
807) may have to file estimated tax vouchers and 
pay estimated tax on behalf of each participant.  
Estimated payments should only be remitted for 
those members who will participate in the composite 
filing.
Payment Due Dates
Fiduciaries and composite filers may pay in full with 
the first voucher, due April 15, 2019. Fiduciaries and 
composite filers may also pay in equal installments due 
on or before April 15, 2019, June 17, 2019, September 16, 
2019 and January 15, 2020.
Generally, all fiduciaries of trusts must report on a 
calendar year. Report the same year that is being reported 
for federal estimated payments. 
Fiscal-year returns must be adjusted so all dates 
correspond with the fiscal year. The first estimated 
payment is due on the 15th day of the fourth month after 
the fiscal year ends. 
Fiscal-year filer due dates apply regardless of the tax 
years of composite return participants. 
Where to Mail Payments
Make the check payable to “State of Michigan.” Enter 
the FEIN of the estate, trust or composite and “2019 
MI-1041ES” on the front of the check. To ensure accurate 
processing of the return, send one check for each return. 

Who Must File Estimated Tax Payments
Fiduciaries of an estate or trust (resident or nonresident), 
generally must pay estimated tax if the estate or trust 
is expected to owe more than $500 after subtracting 
withholding and credits.
Composite filers are required to pay estimated tax for each 
participant whose share of tax liability is expected to exceed 
$500 after exemptions and credits.
Fiduciary Filers
If the estate or trust owes more than $500, estimated 
payments may not have to be made if the estate or trust 
expects the 2019 withholding to be at least:
• 	 90 percent of the total tax for 2019, OR
• 	 100 percent of the total tax shown on the 2018 return, 

OR
•	 110 percent of the total 2018 tax if the estate’s or trust’s 

taxable income for 2018 is more than $150,000. To 
figure the estate or trust’s federal taxable income, see the 
instructions for line 22 of the U.S. Form 1041.

Financial institutions that act as a fiduciary for 250 or 
more trusts shall submit Michigan estimated payments 
on magnetic tape. Institutions acting as fiduciary for more 
than 49 and fewer than 250 trusts may make an irrevocable 
agreement to file magnetically. For more information, 
refer to the Transmittal for Magnetic Media Reporting  
(Form 447) at www.michigan.gov/taxes.
Exceptions: 
•	 Generally, no estimated tax is due if the estate or trust is 

due a refund or has a balance due of $500 or less.
•	 There is no estimated tax due on an estate or a trust that 	

had no tax liability for the full 12 months preceding the 
tax year.



Mail check with the MI-1041ES form for that installment. 
Do not staple the check to the form.
Send check and voucher to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI 48909

Late Payments or Underpayments
If a fiduciary or composite filer fails to make required 
estimated payments, pays late or underpays in any quarter, 
Treasury may charge penalty and interest. Penalty is 25 
percent of the tax due (minimum $25) for failing to file 
estimated payments or 10 percent (minimum $10) for failing 
to pay enough with estimates or paying late. If payment is 
late, penalty and interest must be added to the amount due. 
The interest rate is 1 percent above the prime rate and is 
computed daily. The rate is adjusted on July 1 and January 1.

1.	 Enter estimated 2019 income subject to tax (from U.S. Form 1041)...............................	 1._______________	
2.	 Tax. Multiply line 1 by 4.25% (0.0425)...........................................................................	 2._______________
3.	 Enter all estimated credits.................................................................................................	 3._______________
4.	 Estimated tax due. Subtract line 3 from line 2.................................................................	 4._______________
5.	 Estimated payment due. Divide the amount on line 4 by 4, or by the number of 
      estimated vouchers to be filed (see instructions). Enter here and on each voucher.......... 	 5._______________

NOTE:  Apply the 2018 overpayment credit to the first voucher. Any unused credit must then be applied to the second 
voucher and following vouchers, until the entire credit is used.

Worksheet Instructions for Estates and Trusts

Estimated Tax Computation Worksheet
Keep for Your Records

Estimate the estate’s or trust’s 2019 income. Use the 
2018 Michigan and U.S. fiduciary income tax returns 
for the estate or trust for reference (even if not yet 
completed). Michigan uses federal taxable income 
of the fiduciary to figure tax. See form MI-1041 
for allowable additions and subtractions. Enter the 
estimated taxable income on line 1.
After completing lines 1 and 2, finish the worksheet 
by following the instructions on each line. Refer to the 

corresponding sections in the tax instruction booklets 
for additional guidance.
After completing the worksheet, call 517-636-4486 
if additional assistance is needed to determine the 
required estimates. Assistance is available using TTY 
through the Michigan Relay Service by calling 711.

When Income Changes During the Year
If estimated payments for the estate, trust or composite filer 
have already been made, amend the estimate on the next 
installment voucher. Apply the increase or decrease equally 
over the remaining installments. To avoid amending the 
fourth installment voucher, file the 2019 income tax return 
before February 1, 2020. With this option, it is not necessary 
to file the fourth installment voucher (due January 15, 2020).
If no estimated payments have been made, use the chart 
below to see which period the tax is due.
       If the change occurs:	    Pay on or before:

Jan. 1 through March 31................. April 15, 2019
April 1 through May 31................... June 17, 2019
June 1 through Aug. 31................... Sept. 16, 2019
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31.................... Jan. 15, 2020
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