Michigan Department of Treasury (Rev. 02-14)

2014 MI-1041ES, Michigan Estimated Income Tax for Fiduciaries

Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967. See instructions for filing guidelines.

Who Must File Estimated Tax Payments

Fiduciaries of an estate or trust (resident or nonresident),
generally must pay estimated tax if the estate or trust
is expected to owe more than $500 after subtracting
withholding and credits.

If the estate or trust owes more than $500, estimated
payments may not have to be made if the estate or trust
expects the 2014 withholding to be at least:

* 90 percent of the total tax for 2014, OR

* 100 percent of the total tax shown on the 2013 return,
OR

* 110 percent of the total 2013 tax if the estate’s or trust’s
taxable income for 2013 is more than $150,000. To
figure the estate or trust’s federal taxable income, see the
instructions for line 22 of the U.S. Form 1041.

Financial institutions that act as a fiduciary for 200 or
more trusts shall submit Michigan estimated payments
on magnetic tape. Institutions acting as fiduciary for more
than 49 and fewer than 200 trusts may make an irrevocable
agreement to file magnetically.

Exceptions:

* Generally, no estimated tax is due if the estate or trust is
due a refund or has a balance due of $500 or less.

» There is no estimated tax due on an estate or a trust that
had no tax liability for the full 12 months preceding the
tax year.

» Estates do not have to pay estimated tax for the first two
years.

Payment Due Dates

Fiduciaries may pay in full with the first voucher, due
April 15, 2014. Fiduciaries may also pay in equal
installments due on or before April 15, 2014, June 16, 2014,
September 15, 2014, and January 15, 2015.

Generally, all fiduciaries of trusts must report on a calendar
year. Report the same year that you report for federal
estimated payments.

Fiscal-year returns must be adjusted so all dates correspond
with the fiscal year. The first estimate payment is due on
the 15th day of the fourth month after the fiscal year ends.

You will not receive reminder notices; save this set of
forms for all 2014 payments.

Where to Mail Payments

Make the check payable to “State of Michigan.” Write
the FEIN of the estate or trust and “2014 MI-1041ES”
on the front of the check. To ensure accurate processing of
your return, send one check for each return type. Mail your
check with the MI-1041ES form for that installment. Do not
staple the check to the form.

Send your check and voucher to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI 48909-8274

Late Payments or Underpayments

If, as a fiduciary, you fail to make required estimated
payments, pay late or underpay in any quarter, Treasury
may charge penalty and interest. Penalty is 25 percent of
the tax due (minimum $25) for failing to file estimated
payments or 10 percent (minimum $10) for failing to
pay enough with your estimates or paying late. If you
pay late, you must add penalty and interest to the amount
due. The interest rate is 1 percent above the prime rate
and is computed daily. The rate is adjusted on July 1 and
January 1.

DETACH HERE AND MAIL THE RETURN WITH YOUR PAYMENT. DO NOT FOLD OR STAPLE THE RETURN.

2014 MICHIGAN

MI-1041ES Fiduciary Voucher for Estimated Income Tax

Reset Form

Due Date for Calendar Year Filers

Name of Estate or Trust and Fiduciary Name, Title and Address

Estate or Trust Federal Employer Identification No. (FEIN)

WRITE PAYMENT
AMOUNT HERE $ 00

Make check payable to “State of
Michigan.” Enclose your check
(do not fold or staple). Write the
estate’s or trust’s FEIN and
“2014 MI-1041ES” on your check.

MAIL TO:

Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774

Lansing, Ml 48909-8274

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE



When Income Changes During the Year

If you are already making estimated payments for the
estate or trust, amend the estimate on the next installment
voucher. Apply the increase or decrease equally over the
remaining installments. If you do not want to amend the
fourth installment voucher, you may file the 2014 income
tax return before February 2, 2015, instead. If you decide
to do this, you do not have to file the fourth installment
voucher (due January 15, 2015).

If you are not already paying estimates for the estate or
trust, use the chart below to see which period the tax is due.
If a change occurs between September 1 and December 31
that requires estimated payments, you may file the 2013
annual return by February 2, 2014, instead of filing an
MI-1041ES.

If the change occurs on Pay on or before
April 1 through May 31................ June 16, 2014
June 1 through Aug. 31 ................ Sept. 15,2014
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31................. Jan. 15, 2015

You will need the 2013 Michigan and U.S. fiduciary
income tax returns for the estate or trust for reference
(even if you haven’t completed them yet).

Estimate the estate’s or trust’s 2014 income. Michigan uses
federal taxable income of the fiduciary to figure tax. See
form MI-1041 for allowable additions and subtractions.
Enter the estimated taxable income on line 1.

Once you have completed lines 1 and 2, finish the
worksheet by following the instructions on each line. If
you have questions, refer to the corresponding sections in
the tax instruction booklets.

If you review the worksheet and still do not know if
estimates are required, or if you are not sure how much
to pay, call (517) 636-4486. Assistance is available using
TTY through the Michigan Relay Service by calling
1-800-649-3777 or 711.

Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes
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