
Public Acts 121-122 of 2017 were signed into law on October 5, 2017. The Acts amend MCL 

211.7cc and MCL 211.120 of the General Property Tax Act to provide that the assessor of a local 

tax collecting unit, the Department of Treasury, or a county treasurer or equalization director can 

require a person who claimed a principal residence exemption (PRE), within 30 days of claiming 

the PRE, to file the Principal Residence Exemption Affidavit of Similar Exemption in Other States, 

Form 5565, stating that he or she had not claimed a substantially similar exemption, deduction, or 

credit in another state. Public Act 121 also prohibits a person from rescinding a substantially 

similar exemption, deduction, or credit claimed in another state in order to qualify for the Michigan 

PRE for any years denied, if the assessor of a local tax collecting unit, the Department of Treasury, 

or a county denied an existing claim for a PRE. The Act prescribes a penalty of $500 for a person 

who claimed a PRE under the Act and a substantially similar exemption, deduction, or credit in 

another state. 

  

Assessors are also advised that Public Act 121 eliminates the requirement that the local tax 

collecting unit submit to the Michigan Department of Treasury copies of all filed Principal 

Residence Exemption Affidavit, Form 2368, and Request to Rescind Principal Residence 

Exemption, Form 2602; instead these forms, along with Form 5565, shall be forwarded to the 

Michigan Department of Treasury only if requested. However, the local tax collecting unit is still 

required to submit to the Michigan Department of Treasury copies of filed Conditional Rescission 

of Principal Residence Exemption (PRE), Form 4640, Foreclosure Entity Conditional Rescission 

of Principal Residence Exemption (PRE), Form 4983, Principal Residence Exemption Active Duty 

Military, Form 4660, Notice of Denial of Principal Residence Exemption (Local (City/Township)), 

Form 2742, and Notice of Denial of Principal Residence Exemption (County), Form 4075.  

  

Public Act 122 amends the General Property Tax Act to extend a misdemeanor penalty to a person 

who claimed a substantially similar exemption, deduction, or credit on property in another state 

with the intent to obtain a PRE under the Act. 

  

Treasury staff is available to assist and answer questions regarding this Act or other PRE related 

questions. The following are key contacts: 

PRE Unit Phone Number: (517) 373-1950 

PRE Program E-mail Address: PTE-Section@michigan.gov. 

Copies of all PRE forms can be found online at www.michigan.gov/PRE. 
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