
Line  28:  Michigan Historic Preservation Tax Credit.  Direct Deposit 
Enter the amount from your 2016 Historic Preservation  Check with your financial institution to (1) make sure it will 
Tax Credit (Form 3581), line 16a or 16b, whichever applies. accept Direct Deposit, (2) obtain the correct Routing Transit 
Attach a completed Form 3581 and U.S. Form 3581, if Number (RTN) and account number, and (3) if applicable, 
applicable. verify that your financial institution will allow a joint refund 
Line 2 9:  Enter the total Michigan tax withheld including to be deposited into an individual account. 
Michigan flow-through withholding (from your Schedule W). Direct Deposit requests associated with a foreign bank 
If applicable, include any credit for repayments under the account are classified as International ACH Transactions 
“Claim of Right.” See “Repayments of Income Reported in a (IAT). If your Direct Deposit is forwarded or transferred to 
Prior Year” on page 7. a bank account in a foreign country, it will be returned to 
Line 3 0:  Enter the total estimated tax paid with your 2016  Treasury. If this occurs, your refund will be converted to a 
MI-1040ES, the amount paid with a Form 4, and the amount check (warrant) and mailed to the address on your tax return. 
of your 2015 credit forward (2015 MI-1040, line 34) to this Contact your financial institution for questions regarding the 
year’s tax. Do not include a prior year’s refund amount or status of your account. 
Michigan flow-through withholding.  a. RTN. Enter the nine-digit RTN. The RTN is usually found 
Line 32: You Owe. If line 31 is less than line 24, between the symbols |: and |: on the bottom of your check. 
enter the difference. This is the tax you owe with your The first two digits must be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. 
return.  Payments can now be made electronically. Go to  

b. Account Number. Enter your financial institution account www.michigan.gov/iit for more information.  If the balance 
number up to 17 characters (both numbers and letters). The due is less than $1, no payment is required, but you must 
account number is usually found immediately to the right of still file your return. See “Pay” address on page 2 of your  
the RTN on the bottom of your check. Include hyphens but MI-1040. 
omit spaces and special symbols. Do not  include the check 

If you pay after the due date of the return, penalty and number. 
interest for late payment is also due. Penalty accrues monthly 

c. Type of Account. Check the box for checking or savings. at 5 percent of the tax due, and increases by an additional 
5 percent per month, or fraction thereof, after the second When You Are Finished  
month, up to a maximum of 25 percent of the tax due (e.g., Sign Your Return: Each spouse must sign a joint return. If 
penalty on a $500 tax due will be $125 if the tax is unpaid for the tax preparer is someone other than the taxpayer, he or 
six months). See “Penalty and Interest Added for Filing and she must include the name and address of the firm he or she 
Paying Late” on page 4. Add penalty and interest to your tax represents and preparer tax identification or federal employer 
due and enter the total on line 32. identification number. Check the box to indicate if Treasury 
Generally, if you owe more than $500, you are required to may discuss your return with your preparer.  
make estimated payments. Taxpayers  required to make Signing a child’s return: If a return is prepared for a child 
estimated payments may owe penalty and interest for who is too young to sign it, a parent or guardian should 
underpayment, late payment, or for failing to make estimated sign the child’s name, then add “by (your name) parent (or 
tax payments. Use the Michigan Underpayment of Estimated guardian) for minor child.” 
Income Tax (Form MI-2210) to compute penalty and interest. 

Attachments:  Attach all your credit claims and required If you do not file an MI-2210, Treasury will compute your 
Michigan and federal schedules (see Table 3 on page 59). penalty and interest and send you a bill. If you annualize 

your income, you must complete and attach an MI-2210. If you owe tax: Make your check payable to “State of 
Enter the penalty and interest amounts on the lines provided. Michigan.” Print the last four digits of your Social 

Security number and “2016 income tax” on the front of Line  35:  Refund. This includes any tax you overpaid and 
your check. If paying on behalf of another taxpayer, write any  credits you claimed. The state does not refund amounts 
the filer’s name and the last four digits of the filer’s Social less than $1. Mail your return to the “Refund, credit, or zero 
Security number on the check. Enclose your payment but do returns” address on page 2 of your MI-1040. 
not staple it to the return. 
The  filing deadline to receive a refund for tax year 2016 is 
April 15, 2021. 

Line-by-Line Instructions for  Additions and Subtractions  (Schedule 1) 
Part-year and nonresidents, complete Schedule NR (see  is being used. Attach Schedule K-1s which support your 
page 49) before proceeding. attached federal Schedules B, D, E and  4797. If you do not 

attach these schedules and statements, processing of your If you have income or losses attributable to other states, you return may be delayed or your credit/subtraction may be must attach all relevant federal schedules and supporting denied. Refer to the “Business, Rental & Royalty Activity statements (see page 59). The type, source and location of Worksheet” available on Treasury’s Web site for an example the income or losses must be identified. Schedules showing  of the information requested. rental of personal property must report where the property 
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Additions to Income smaller of: (1) the refund you received or ( 2) the amount of  
Line 1 :  Enter gross interest, dividends, and income  the original MET contract price including fees which you  
from obligations or securities of states and their political  deducted in previous years. 
subdivisions other than Michigan. Add this income even if it  •	 D omestic Production Activities Deduction (DPAD)  
comes to you through a partnership, S corporation, estate, or  included in AGI that is attributable to business activity  
trust. You may reduce this income by related expenses not  located in another state, and apportioned if applicable.  
allowed as a deduction by Section 265(a)(1) of the Internal  Nonresidents and part-year residents report DPAD only on  
Revenue Code (IRC). Schedule NR. 
Line 2 :  Enter the deduction taken for self-employment tax  Subtractions From Income 
on your federal return and for other taxes on or measured  NOTE:  Part-year and nonresidents, subtract only income  
by income, such as your share of city income tax paid by  attributable to Michigan (Schedule NR, column B) that is not  
partnerships or S corporations, or your share of the taxes paid  included on line 13. 
by an estate or trust. Line 1 0:  Enter income from U.S. government obligations  
Line 3 :  Use  Michigan Adjustments of Capital Gains and  (e.g., Series EE bonds, Treasury notes), including income from  
Losses  (MI-1040D) and related Michigan Sales and Other  U.S. government obligations received through a partnership,  
Dispositions of Capital Assets (MI-8949)  only if you have  S corporation, or other pass-through entity. This subtraction  
capital gains or losses attributable to: (1) an election to  must be reduced by related expenses used to arrive at AGI. 
use Section 271 treatment for property acquired before   Investment companies that invest in U.S. obligations are  October  1, 1967; (2) the sale or exchange of U.S. obligations  permitted to pass the tax-free exemption to their shareholders.  which cannot be taxed by Michigan; or (3) the sale or exchange  If income from U.S. government obligations exceeds $5,000,  of property located in other states.  attach a copy of your U.S. Schedule B  listing the amounts  
If you reported gains on U.S. Form 4797  on property acquired  received and the issuing agency. Capital gains from the sale  
before October 1, 1967, or located in other states, adjust the  of U.S. government obligations must be adjusted on your  
gain on the Michigan  Adjustments of Gains and Losses From  MI-1040D. 
Sales of Business Property (MI-4797). Line 1 1:  Include military and Michigan National Guard  
Enter gains from the Michigan column of MI-1040D, line 12,  retirement benefits here and on Schedule W, Table 2. Also  
and MI-4797, line 18b(2). Instructions are with each form. report any taxable Tier 1 and Tier 2 railroad retirement  
Line 4 :  Enter losses from a business or property located in  benefits. Other qualifying public or private retirement  
another state which you own as a sole proprietor, a partner  benefits must be reported on the Michigan Pension Schedule   
in a partnership, a shareholder in an S corporation, or as a  (Form 4884) and Schedule 1, line 25.  
member of a pass-through entity. If your business is taxed by  Line 1 2:  Enter the gains from the federal column of your  
both Michigan and another state, the loss must be apportioned.  MI-1040D, line 12, and MI-4797, line 18b(2). See instructions  
You must attach a Michigan  Schedule of Apportionment  for Schedule 1, line 3. 
(MI-1040H). Line 13: Income Attributable to Another State.  
Line 5 :  Enter the net loss from the federal column of your  Nonresidents and part-year residents, complete Schedule NR.  
MI-1040D, line 13, or MI-4797, line 18b(2) as a positive  See instructions on page 50. Attach federal schedules. 
number. Business income that is taxed by Michigan and another state  
Line 6: Enter gross expenses from the production of oil and  must be apportioned. Complete and attach MI-1040H. Income  
gas or extraction of nonferrous metallic minerals subject  reported on the MI-4797 and carried to the MI-1040D is  
to Michigan severance tax to the extent deducted from AGI.  business income, potentially subject to apportionment. 
Subtract the related gross income on line 19. Capital gains from the sale of real property or tangible  
Line 7 : Enter the amount of NOL deduction (NOL  personal property located outside of Michigan must be  
carryforward) used to reduce AGI.
 adjusted on the MI-1040D. 
Line 8: Enter the total of the following (attach a schedule if
  Michigan residents cannot subtract salaries and wages or other  
necessary):
 compensation earned outside Michigan. However, they may be  
•	   Add, to the extent not included in AGI, the amount of  entitled to a tax credit for income tax imposed by government  

money withdrawn in the tax year from a Michigan  units outside Michigan (see page 9). 
Education Savings Program (MESP) account,  including the  Residents may subtract: 
Michigan 529 Advisor Plan (MAP), or a Michigan  •	 N et business income earned in other states and included in  
Achieving a Better Life Experience Program (ABLE)  AGI, and  
account, if the withdrawal was not a qualified withdrawal  •	 N et rents and royalties from real property or tangible  
as provided in the MESP or ABLE Acts. You may first  personal property located or used in another state. 
exclude any amount that represents a return of contributions  Line 1 4:  Compensation received for active duty in the U.S.  
for which no deduction was claimed in any prior tax year. Armed Forces included in AGI should be entered here and on  

•	  Refund received from a Michigan Education Trust (MET)  Schedule W, Table 1.  Enter only the taxable portion of Social  
contract. If you deducted the cost of a MET contract in  Security and Military pay included on your U.S. Form 1040, 
previous years and received a refund from MET during  or your U.S. Form 1040A. Do not include your total Social  
2016 because the MET contract was terminated, enter the  Security benefits. 

11 



NOTE:  Compensation from the U.S. Public Health Service, •	 I f you purchased a MET contract during 2016, you may 
contracted employee pay and civilian pay are not considered deduct the total contract price (including the processing fee). 
military pay. •	  If you made a charitable contribution to the MET 
Line  15:  Renaissance Zone deduction. To be eligible you Charitable Tuition Program during 2016, you may deduct 
must meet all the following requirements: the total contribution amount. You should have received a 

receipt from MET to confirm the amount. All charitable •	  Be a permanent resident of a Renaissance Zone designated donations will go toward providing scholarships to former prior to January 1, 2012, for at least 183 consecutive days foster care students attending Michigan colleges. 
•	 Be approved by your local assessor’s office •	  If you purchased a MET payroll deduction or monthly 
•	  Not be delinquent for any State or local taxes abated by purchase contract, you may deduct the amount paid on 

the Renaissance Zone Act that contract during 2016 (not including fees for late 
•	 File an MI-1040 each year payments or insufficient funds). You will receive an 
•	 Have gross income of $1 million or less. annual statement from MET specifying this amount. 
If you were a full-year resident of a Renaissance Zone, you •	  If you have terminated a MET contract, you may deduct 
may subtract all income earned or received. Unearned the amount included in AGI as income to the purchaser. 
income, such as capital gains, may have to be prorated. Line 1 9: Subtract the gross income subject to Michigan 
If you lived in the Zone at least 183 consecutive days severance tax from the Michigan production of oil and gas 
during  2016, subtract the portion of income earned while or extraction of nonferrous metallic minerals to the extent 
a resident of the Zone. If you are a part-year resident included in AGI. Add back the related expenses on line 6. 
of a Zone, complete and attach a Schedule NR  to your  Attach copies of applicable federal schedules. 
MI-1040. (See “Note” on the bottom of the Schedule NR Line  20: Tax Agreement Tribes: A “Resident Tribal 
instructions, page 50.) Member” (Member must be on the list submitted by their 
Certain Renaissance Zones began to phase out in 2007. The Tribe to the State of Michigan) of a federally recognized 
tax exemption is reduced in increments of 25 percent during Indian tribe that has an active tax agreement with the State of 
the Zone’s final three years of existence. If you are a resident Michigan may subtract certain income that is included in his 
of a Zone that is phasing out (check with your local unit of or her AGI identified on line 10 of the MI-1040. Such exempt 
government), you must reduce your deduction as follows: income may include income derived from wages, interest, 

 and pension income. For a list of agreement tribes, go to  •	 2 5 percent for the tax year that is two years before the 
www.michigan.gov/taxes and select “Individual Income  final year of designation as a Renaissance Zone 
Tax” and then “Native American.” A list of tribes’ names •	 5 0 percent for the tax year immediately preceding the will be available; click to access the tax agreement and final year of the designation as a Renaissance Zone proceed to Section IV. Non-Tax Agreement Tribes: If 

•	 7 5 percent for the tax year that is the final year of the your tribe is not listed, your tribe does not have an active 
designation as a Renaissance Zone. tax agreement with Michigan. Non-agreement members, 

For additional information regarding qualifications for the see Revenue Administrative Bulletin  1988-47 for guidelines 
Renaissance Zone deduction, call the Michigan Economic in determining exempt income that may be subtracted on  
Development Corporation at 517-373-9808. line 20. 
Line 1 6:  Subtract Michigan state and city income tax NOTE:  Michigan income earned while living outside of your 
refunds and homestead property tax credit refunds that were Agreement Area (see your tribe’s agreement for a description 
included in AGI. of your Agreement Area) or Indian Country (as defined 
Note t o f armers:  Subtract (to the extent included in under 18 U.S.C. 1151 for Non-Agreement Tribes) may not be 
AGI) the amount that your state or city income tax refund                                                                                                                           subtracted from Michigan AGI. 
and homestead property tax credit exceeds the business Line  21:  Net Operating Loss (NOL) Deduction. You  
portion of your homestead property tax credit. may only deduct the Michigan NOL. Your Michigan NOL 
Line 17: Michigan Education Savings Program (MESP). carryforward entered here must be reduced by the domestic    

production activities deduction attributable to Michigan You may deduct, to the extent not deducted in calculating  
that was used to arrive at your  AGI (see MI-1045 AGI, the total of all contributions less qualified withdrawals  2015

and rollovers (compute the contributions, withdrawals and  instructions). You must attach Form MI-1045, pages 1 and 
rollovers separately for each account) made during 2016 by  2 of your federal return and all supporting schedules and 
the taxpayer in the tax year to accounts established through  statements.  
the MESP, including the Michigan 529 Advisor Plan (MAP),  Line  22:  Miscellaneous subtractions only include: 
or the Michigan Achieving a Better Life Experience Program  •	   Any portion of a qualified withdrawal from an MESP 
(ABLE). The deduction may not exceed $5,000 for a single  account, including the MAP, or ABLE account to the 
return or $10,000 for a joint return per tax year. There are  extent included in federal AGI. NOTE:  Any amounts not 
numerous education savings accounts available from other  included in AGI or that are already deducted on the U.S. 
states and investment companies, but Michigan only allows a  Form  1040 to arrive at AGI do not qualify for this 
tax deduction for contributions to accounts established through  subtraction. 
MESP and MAP. •	  Benefits from a discriminatory self-insured medical 
Line  18:  Michigan Education Trust (MET). You may  expense reimbursement plan, to the extent these 
deduct the following: reimbursements are included in AGI. 
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•	 L osses from the disposal of property reported in the 2.   Did the filer receive retirement or pension benefits from a 
Michigan column of MI-1040D, line 13, or MI-4797,  deceased spouse born between January 1, 1946 and 
line 18b(2). December 31, 1952?

•	 A mount used to determine the credit for elderly or totally     Yes:  Continue to question 3.
and permanently disabled from U.S. Form 1040 Schedule R,     No:  Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23C. 
line 19. Attach a copy. 3.   Did the filer receive SSA Exempt retirement or pension 

•	 Holocaust victim payments. benefits?
You may not subtract:     Yes:  Check box 23C.
•	  Retirement and pension benefits on line 22. See Form     No:  Continue to question 4. 

4884 4.   Did the filer receive SSA Exempt surviving spouse 
•	 Itemized deductions from U.S. Schedule A benefits?

     Yes:  Check box 23C.•	  Sick pay (except railroad sick pay included in AGI), 
disability benefits, and wage continuation benefits paid to     No:  Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23C. 
you by your employer or by an insurance company under Line 23F: 
contract with your employer 1.   Was the older of the filer or spouse born between  

•	  Unemployment benefits included in AGI, except railroad January 1, 1946 and December 31, 1952?
unemployment benefits     Yes:  Continue to question 3.

•	  Contributions to national or Michigan political parties or     No:  Continue to question 2. 
candidates 2.   Did the spouse receive retirement or pension benefits from  

•	  Proceeds and prizes won in State of Michigan regulated a deceased spouse born between January 1, 1946 and 
bingo, raffle, or charity games December 31, 1952?

     Yes:  Continue to question 3.•	  Distributions from a deferred compensation plan received 
while a resident of Michigan     No:  Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23F. 

 3.   Did the spouse receive SSA Exempt retirement or pension •	  Lottery winnings. (Exception: installment payments from 
benefits?prizes won on or before December 30, 1988, may be 

subtracted.) Include installment gross winnings as     Yes:  Check box 23F.
reported on your Form W-2G, box 1, and enter on your     No:  Continue to question 4. 
Schedule W, Table 1. 4.   Did the spouse receive SSA Exempt surviving spouse 

Lines 23C and 23F:  Benefits From Employment Not benefits?
Covered by the Federal Social Security Act (SSA).      Yes:  Check box 23F.
SSA exempt employment is not covered by the federal      No:  Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23F. 
SSA, which means the worker did not pay Social Security If the older of the filer or spouse was born on or after 
taxes and is not eligible for Social Security benefits based January 1, 1953  but before January 2, 1955, has reached age 
on that employment. Almost all employment is covered by 62 and either the filer or spouse receives Social Security 
the federal SSA. The most common instances of retirement  exempt retirement benefits, check box 23C (for the filer)  
and pension benefits from employment that is not covered and/or box 23F (for the spouse). 
by Social Security are police and firefighter retirees, some Line 24: Michigan Standard Deduction. If the older of you 
federal retirees covered under the Civil Service Retirement or your spouse (if married filing jointly) was born during the 
System and hired prior to 1984, and a small number of other period January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1950, and reached 
state and local government retirees. Federal retirees hired the age of 67 on or before December 31, 2016, you are eligible 
since 1984 and those covered by the Federal Employees’ for a deduction against all income and will no longer deduct 
Retirement System are covered under the SSA. retirement and pension benefits. The deduction is $20,000 
A recipient born between January 1, 1946 and  for a return filed as single or married filing separately, or 
January 1, 1955 who receives, or whose spouse receives, $40,000 for a married filing jointly return. If you checked 
retirement or pension benefits from employment with a either box 23C or 23F your standard deduction is increased 
governmental agency that was not covered by the federal by $15,000. If you checked both boxes 23C and 23F your 
SSA is entitled to a greater retirement or pension deduction  standard deduction is increased by $30,000.  
or Michigan Standard Deduction. If you or your spouse The standard deduction is reduced by any amounts reported 
are SSA exempt this increases your maximum allowable on line 11 and any military pay included on line 14. 
deduction. 

In most cases, taxpayers who complete line 24 should For taxpayers born before 1953, answer the questions below not complete lines 25 or 26. However, if a taxpayer is the to determine if you should check boxes 23C and/or 23F. unremarried surviving spouse of a decedent born prior to 
Line 23C: 1946 who also died after reaching age 65, check the box 
1.   Was the older of the filer or spouse born between  

January 1, 1946 and December 31, 1952?
    Yes: Continue to question 3.
    No: Continue to question 2. 

below line 26 to claim the Michigan standard deduction on 
line 24 and a deduction for investment income on line 26 (if 
applicable). 
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Line 25 :  Qualifying retirement and pension benefits subtraction is limited to a maximum of $11,115  on a single 
included in your AGI may be subtracted from income. return or $22,229 on a joint return and is reduced by any 
Retirement and pension benefits are taxed differently                deduction for: 
depending on the age of the recipient. See “Which Benefits  •	 M ilitary (including Michigan National Guard) retirement 
are Taxable” below. benefits from line 11 
You must attach Form 4884. If you were born during the •	 Railroad retirement benefits from line 11 
period January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1950, see line 24. •	 P ublic and private retirement and pension  benefits from  
Line 2 6: S enior citizens born prior to 1946 (or the line 25 
unremarried surviving spouse of a decedent born prior to •	 A mount used for the federal credit for the elderly and 
1946 who also died after reaching age 65) may subtract totally and permanently disabled from line 22. 
interest, dividends, and capital gains included in AGI. This For further assistance, go to www.michigan.gov/incometax. 

General Information - Pension Schedule  (Form 4884)
 
What are Retirement and Pension Benefits For public and private retirement or pension  
Under Michigan law, qualifying retirement and pension benefits, you may not subtract: 
benefits include most payments that are reported on a •	  Amounts received from a deferred compensation plan that 
1099-R for federal tax purposes. This includes defined lets the employee set the amount to be put aside and does 
benefit pensions, IRA distributions, and most payments not set retirement age or requirements for years of service. 
from defined contribution plans. Payments received before These plans include, but are not limited to, plans under 
the recipient could retire under the provisions of the plan Sections 401(k), 457, and 403(b) of the IRC 
or benefits from 401(k), 457, or 403(b) plans attributable to •	  Amounts received before the recipient could retire under 
employee contributions alone are not retirement and pension the plan provisions, including amounts paid on separation, 
benefits under Michigan law, are taxable, and are subject to withdrawal, or discontinuance of the plan 
withholding. •	  Amounts received as early retirement incentives, unless 
Qualifying benefits include distributions from the the incentives were paid from a pension trust. 
following sources: Which Benefits are Taxable
	
•	  Pension plans that define eligibility for retirement and set 

contribution and benefit amounts in advance Retirement and pension benefits are taxed differently 
depending on the age of the recipient. Married couples filing •	 Qualified retirement plans for the self-employed 
a joint return should complete Form 4884 based on the year •	  Retirement distributions from a 401(k) or 403(b) plan of birth of the older spouse.  Military and Michigan National attributable to employer contributions or attributable to Guard pensions, railroad retirement benefits and Social employee contributions that result in additional employer Security benefits are exempt from tax and should be reported contributions (e.g., matching contributions) on the Schedule 1, line 11 or line 14. 

•	  IRA distributions received after age 59½ or described by 
Section 72(t)(2)(A)(iv) of the IRC (series of equal periodic Who May Claim a Pension Subtraction 
payments made for life) •	  Recipients born before 1946 may subtract all qualifying 

•	  Benefits from any of the previous plans received due to a retirement and pension benefits received from public 
disability, or as a surviving spouse if the decedent sources, and may subtract qualifying private retirement  
qualified for the subtraction at the time of death and was and pension benefits up to $49,861 if single or married 
born prior to January 1, 1953 filing separate, or $99,723 if married filing a joint return. 

 If your public retirement benefits are greater than the •	  Benefits paid to a senior citizen (age 65 or older) from a 
maximum amount you are not entitled to claim an retirement annuity policy that are paid for life (as opposed 
additional subtraction for private pensions. to a specified number of years) 

 NOTE: In addition to the public retirement benefits listed •	 Foreign retirement and pension benefits that meet  
above, the private pension limits are also reduced by the Michigan’s qualifications may also be eligible. 
following from Schedule 1, line 11: Qualifying public benefits include distributions 
•	 M ilitary retirement from the U.S. Armed Forces from the following sources: 
•	 R etirement from the Michigan National Guard       •	 The State of Michigan 
•	 Railroad retirement. •	  Michigan local governmental units (e.g., Michigan 

•	 Recipients  born during the period January 1, 1946 counties, cities, and school districts) 
through January 1, 1950, do not complete Form 4884.  •	 Federal civil service.
 See Schedule 1, line 24. 

Retirement and pension benefits that are transferred from 
 •	  Recipients born after January 1, 1950 through one plan to another (rolled over) continue to be treated as if December 31, 1952  will be able to deduct up to $20,000 they remained in the original plan. in qualifying retirement and pension benefits if single or 
married filing separate, or up to $40,000 if married filing 
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