
Michigan Department of Treasury
2871 (Rev. 07-11), Page 1 Schedule CT
2011 MICHIGAN College Tuition and Fees Credit
Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967.

Print numbers like this :  0123456789 - NOT like this:  1 4 
Attachment 07Attach to Form MI-1040.  Type or print in blue or black ink. 

41. Filer’s First Name M.I. Last Name 42. Filer’s Social Security Number (Example: 123-45-6789)

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name M.I. Last Name   Spouse’s Social Security Number (Example: 123-45-6789)

Limitations: To be eligible to claim the credit, you must be a permanent Michigan resident, your adjusted gross income 
must be $200,000 or less and the student(s) must have attended a school listed on the back of this form.

3. Adjusted gross income (AGI) from your MI-1040, line 10............................................... 43. 00

4. Credit Amount.  Complete all columns and round all amounts to the nearest dollar.
A 4        B C 4  D 4    E F

Student Name Student Social Security Number
Name of Qualifying Michigan
College or University Attended

College or 
University

Code Number
(see p. 2)

Amount of 
Undergraduate

Tuition and
Fees Paid

Multiply each amount in 
Col. E by 8% and enter 
here. Cannot exceed

$375 per student.

a.

b.

c.

d.

4e. Total Credit Amount.  Enter total of column F here and carry this 
amount to your Schedule 2, line 7 (cannot exceed $375 per student).......................... 44e. 00

5. Is someone else contributing to undergraduate tuition and fees for the student(s)
listed above?  If “Yes,” enter the requested information on line 6................................. 45. Yes No

6. Enter the information below if someone else is contributing to undergraduate tuition and fees for the student(s) 
listed on line 4. Continue using the same “a” through “d” references.

A B
Student Identification
From Line 4 Above Name and Address of Contributor

a.

b.

c.

d.

+ 0000 2011 33 01 27 8



2011 Schedule CT, Page 2

Instructions for Schedule CT
Michigan College Tuition and Fees Credit

When computing the credit remember:
•	 The student must be working on an undergraduate 

degree or certificate.

•	 Use the amount of tuition and fees actually paid by 
the claimant during the tax year. Tuition and fees paid 
with student loan funds are eligible for the credit. Do 
not include the amount covered by MET contracts, 
scholarships, grants, etc.

•	 The cost of books, room and board, transportation, etc., 
are not considered tuition and fees paid and therefore 
cannot be used in the computation.

•	 The credit cannot exceed $375 per student, even if two 
or more individuals have contributed to one student’s 
education.

•	 Amounts paid into (or under) a MET contract do not 
qualify as tuition paid.

Treasury may request proof of tuition and fees paid. Failure 
to attach your Schedule CT to your MI-1040 will delay 
processing of your return.

General Information
A nonrefundable Michigan income tax credit for college 
tuition and uniformly-required fees paid on behalf of a 
student is available for 2011. Uniformly-required fees 
are those fees which are paid by all students attending the 
named college or university.

To claim this credit, you must be a permanent resident 
of Michigan at the time the tuition and fees were paid, 
have adjusted gross income of $200,000 or less, and file a 
Michigan Individual Income Tax Return (Form MI-1040). 

The student(s) must attend a Michigan institution of higher 
education which certifies that tuition will not increase in 
the following academic year by more than the preceding 
year’s rate of inflation. See the list below. If the school is 
not listed, you may not claim the credit.

The amount of the credit is limited to 8 percent of tuition 
and fees paid per student. The credit cannot exceed $375 
for each student in each tax year and can only be taken for 
four years per student.

Students attending an institution providing programs solely 
for sectarian instruction or religious worship are not eligible 
for the credit.

If a college or university is not listed, you cannot claim this credit.

2011 MICHIGAN COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY CODES
Approved colleges and universities are listed alphabetically with code numbers to the left of the name. 

Enter the appropriate Michigan College or University Code Number on your Schedule CT, column D, line 4.
 (Do not enter the school business account number.)

0505	 Bay Mills Community College
0524	 Henry Ford Community College
0320	 ITT Tech – Canton
0321	 ITT Tech – Dearborn

0322	 ITT Tech – Swartz Creek
0323	 ITT Tech – Troy
0324	 ITT Tech – Wyoming
0612	 Oakland Community College

www.michigan.gov/taxes
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