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DISCLAIMER: This Tobacco Tax Information Guide is 
intended to provide tobacco product retailers, tobacco 
tax licensees and others with a general background 
on the Michigan tobacco tax by summarizing the 
requirements under the Tobacco Products Tax Act 
(TPTA). It is not intended to be exhaustive and does 
not constitute a Revenue Administrative Bulletin or a 
Letter Ruling. 

While every attempt has been made to ensure 
accuracy, new legislation, regulations, court decisions, 
notices, and announcements could affect the accuracy 
of this Information Guide. Please be aware Treasury's 
interpretation of the law may change because of 
legislation, court cases and other events. 

Please monitor Treasury's website and other 
authoritative sources for changes that may affect the 
tobacco tax. 
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Introduction
The Michigan TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX ACT (TPTA) imposes 
an excise tax on TOBACCO PRODUCTS, which is levied on the 
consumer of the tobacco products. In addition, it closely regulates the 
purchase, acquisition, SALE, importation, transportation, exportation, 
and distribution of tobacco products in, into, and/or from Michigan. 
Because the TPTA imposes serious and significant consequences on 
those who violate this law — including (but not limited to) seizures, civil 
penalties, criminal charges, and LICENSE suspension, revocation, denial, 
or non-renewal — it is important to understand and follow the laws 
and rules that apply when engaging in activities governed by the TPTA. 
To assist LICENSEES, RETAILERS, and other PERSONS that may 
engage in activities governed by the TPTA, TREASURY has prepared 
this Information Guide. 

Tobacco tax laws and regulations are complex. For additional 
information or if you have questions about the TPTA, you can check 
Treasury’s tobacco tax website at www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes or 
contact Treasury directly (see the Treasury Contact Information listed on 
page 28). 

Tax Rates
•	CIGARETTES: $0.10 (10 cents) per individual stick. [MCL 

205.427(1)] The tax on cigarettes, therefore, is $2.00 per pack of 20 
and $2.50 per pack of 25. 

•	OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS (OTP): tax rate is 32% of the 
WHOLESALE PRICE. [MCL 205.422(bb); 205.427(1)(g)]

	

NOTE: Products that do NOT 
contain any tobacco, even 
if they do contain nicotine, 
are NOT subject to the tax 
imposed under (or otherwise 
regulated by) the TPTA. For 
more information, please see 
Letter Ruling 2015-3 at  
www.michigan.gov/taxes

NOTE: Tax under the TPTA 
is generally precollected and 
remitted by Wholesalers and 
Unclassified Acquirers. Persons 
acting solely as retailers do not 
need to be licensed and do 
not file tobacco tax returns or 
remit tobacco tax. 

NOTE: Effective November 
1, 2012 through October 31, 
2021, the tax rate applicable to 
cigars is capped at $0.50  
(50 cents) per individual cigar 
even if the calculated tax at 
32% of the wholesale price is 
greater than $0.50 (50 cents).  
[MCL 205.427(1)(g)] 

For more information, please 
see Notice Regarding Premium 
Cigars at  
www.michigan.gov/
tobaccotaxes

http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
http://www.michigan.gov/taxes
http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
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Tobacco Products Tax Returns and Filing 
Requirements
Tobacco Products Tax Returns are due on or before the twentieth 
(20th) day of each calendar month.  A return must be filed with Treasury 
by every licensee other than a retailer, MANUFACTURER, or 
VENDING MACHINE OPERATOR. In general, the return must 
state: 
(i)	 the wholesale price of each item of OTP purchased; 
(ii)	 the quantity of cigarettes purchased; 
(iii)	 the wholesale price charged for all OTP sold; 
(iv)	 the number of INDIVIDUAL PACKAGES of cigarettes and the 

number of cigarettes in those individual packages; 
(v)	 the number and denominations of STAMPS affixed to individual 

packages of cigarettes sold by the licensee for each PLACE OF 
BUSINESS in the preceding month; and 

(vi)	 the number and denomination of unaffixed stamps in the possession 
of the licensee at the end of the preceding calendar month. [MCL 
205.427(2)]

Licensees that are WHOLESALERS must also report accurate 
inventories of cigarettes, both stamped and unstamped, at the end 
of the preceding calendar month. Licensees that are wholesalers 
and UNCLASSIFIED ACQUIRERS must also report accurate 
inventories of affixed and unaffixed stamps by denomination at the 
beginning and end of each calendar month and all stamps acquired 
during the preceding calendar month. Treasury may also require a 
licensee to report cigarette acquisition, purchase, and sales information 
in other formats and frequency. [MCL 205.427(2)]

Treasury requires all Tobacco Product Tax Returns be submitted 
electronically through the Michigan Motor Fuel and Tobacco System 
(MiMATS). You may file using one of three methods through MiMATS 
e-Services:
•	Web Filing – Manual entry of your return directly in e-Services
•	Excel Spreadsheet – An Excel spreadsheet can be uploaded to the 

system
•	XML File Format – Return data can be uploaded using XML format

For more information on filing, please see the MiMATS e-Services 
instructions at www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes.

If you are both a licensed unclassified acquirer of OTP and a licensed 
SECONDARY WHOLESALER of OTP, please see the Notice to AT/ST 
Dual Licensees’ How to File Your Tobacco Tax Returns at  
www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes. 

NOTE: Michigan Tobacco 
Products Tax Returns are filed 
under penalty of perjury. 

NOTE:  The due date for a 
wholesaler to report and pay 
the tobacco tax is triggered by 
the sale of a tobacco product. 
[MCL 205.427(1)]. 

The due date for an unclassified 
acquirer to report and pay the 
tobacco tax is triggered by the 
importation or acquisition of 
a tobacco product in Michigan.  
[MCL 205.427(6)].  See also LR 
2015-4.  

http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
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Payments 
Tobacco tax payments are required to be submitted electronically 
within the Michigan Motor Fuel and Tobacco System (MiMATS).  To 
make payments, go to www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes and login to 
e-Services.  

Payment Deadlines 
Tobacco tax payments are due on the twentieth (20th) day of each 
month following the reporting period. If payment is not received by 
Treasury by the due date, penalty and interest charges may be assessed 
based on provisions of the Michigan REVENUE ACT [MCL 205.23, 
MCL 205.24]. 

NOTE: If the twentieth (20th) of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday 
or legal holiday, the next business day is considered the due date for 
filing returns and making payments.

Licensing Requirement, License Types, 
License Fees
A PERSON may not purchase, possess, acquire for resale, or sell a 
tobacco product as a manufacturer, wholesaler, secondary wholesaler, 
vending machine operator, unclassified acquirer, TRANSPORTATION 
COMPANY, or TRANSPORTER in Michigan without a license. 
[MCL 205.423(1)] If a person acts in more than one (1) of these 
capacities at any place of business, that person must obtain a license 
for each capacity. [MCL 205.423(2)] A license is not assignable. [MCL 
205.423(1)]

License Types and Fees
Manufacturer – the fee for this license is $100. 

Wholesaler – may purchase TPTA tax unpaid and TPTA tax paid tobacco 
products. The fee for this license is $100.

Unclassified Acquirer – imports or acquires TPTA tax unpaid 
cigarettes or OTP from a source other than a wholesaler or secondary 
wholesaler for its own consumption, for sale to consumers or for 
sale to other businesses for resale. The unclassified acquirer can 
purchase TPTA tax paid tobacco products for sale at retail. The fee for 
an unclassified acquirer of cigarettes license is $100. The fee for an 
unclassified acquirer of OTP license is $10.

NOTE: Important guidance 
as to who does (and does not) 
constitute a “manufacturer” for 
which a manufacturer license 
is required under the TPTA 
can be found in the April 26, 
2018 decision by the Michigan 
Supreme Court in the following 
case:

•	People v Shami, 501 Mich 243 
(2018)(Defendant constituted 
a "manufacturer" under 
the TPTA by producing a 
tobacco product when he 
combined (mixed) two or 
more different tobaccos "to 
give being, form, or shape" to 
a single, custom blend that 
differed from the ingredient 
tobaccos).

NOTE: The licensee or 
retailer will be considered the 
"manufacturer" when blending 
(mixing) of OTP occurs on 
the business premises of the 
licensee or retailer regardless 
whether the blending is 
conducted by an employee, 
manager or owner of the 
business or by the customer 
purchasing the OTP.

NOTE: See Glossary of 
Terms section on pages 26-
28 for descriptions of what 
constitutes a manufacturer, 
secondary wholesaler, vending 
machine operator, unclassified 
acquirer, transportation 
company, transporter and 
more. 

http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
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Secondary Wholesaler – purchases Michigan TPTA tax paid cigarettes 
or OTP from a Michigan licensed wholesaler or unclassified acquirer and 
sells the tobacco products to other businesses for resale. The fee for this 
license is $25.

Vending Machine Operator – purchases Michigan TPTA tax paid 
cigarettes or OTP and sells the tobacco products to consumers through 
one or more vending machines. The fee for a vending machine operator 
license is calculated as follows: $25 for the first vending machine plus 
$6.25 for each additional vending machine.

Transportation Company – the fee for this license is $5.

Transporter – the fee for this license is $50. Please note: a permit is 
required for each load, at $1/load. (See page 11 for more information.) 

For information on how to apply for these licenses, see section titled 
“Applying for and Renewing a License” on page 15.

Stamps, OTP Markings and Shipping 
Labels
Cigarettes

In general, cigarettes sold, offered for sale, or 
possessed in Michigan must be stamped. Below are 
specific rules regarding cigarettes:

Each individual package of cigarettes offered for 
sale in Michigan must have the Treasury authorized 
stamp affixed to it (affixed = 90% or more of the 
stamp on the individual package). [MCL 205.426(6), 
MCL 205.426a(2)]
Wholesalers and unclassified acquirers must place 
(or cause to be placed) a stamp on the bottom of 
each individual package of cigarettes to be sold in 
Michigan before delivery, sale, or transfer to any 
person in Michigan. [MCL 205.426a(2)]
Retailers and licensees (other than wholesalers 

or unclassified acquirers) may not acquire an individual package of 
cigarettes or a cigarette from an individual package for resale unless 
that individual package has the Treasury authorized stamp affixed to it. 
This prohibition does not apply to a person acting as a transporter for 
a wholesaler or unclassified acquirer. [MCL 205.426a(3)]

•	Retailers and vending machine operators may not sell (or offer 
for sale) an individual package to the public that does not have the 
Treasury authorized stamp affixed to it.  An individual package of 
cigarettes without a stamp may not be placed or stored in a vending 
machine. [MCL 205.426a(4)]

•

•

•
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•	The Treasury authorized stamp may only be affixed to those cigarette 
brands (or brand families) that are manufactured by PMs and NPMs 
listed on Treasury’s PM or NPM Directory available at www.michigan.
gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-43519_43547-470540--,00.html. [MCL 
205.426a(2), (11)]

•	A STAMPING AGENT may not affix a stamp to any package of 
cigarettes of an NPM if the NPM is not listed on the NPM Directory 
or after receiving notice that the NPM has not prepaid or paid in full 
the equity assessment imposed under MCL 205.426d(6).  Additional 
requirements applicable to stamping agents can be found in Rule 4 
(R 205.454).  A person seeking to become a stamping agent must 
complete and submit a Stamping Agent Agreement (Form 3371).

Non-Cigarette Tobacco Products (OTP)
Unlike cigarettes, individual items of OTP are not required to have a tax 
stamp affixed or bear a Treasury authorized marking. However, certain 
cases, boxes and containers containing OTP must  bear the “proper” 
marking required by Treasury.  The “proper” marking may take the form 
of the name and address of first purchaser in Michigan (e.g., a shipping 
label) or the marking applied by the Treasury authorized OTP roller/
hand stamper depending on the circumstances. Below are specific rules 
regarding OTP: 

a)  Shipping Cases, Boxes, or Containers of OTP Generally
Every shipping case, box or container of OTP found in a place of 
business or otherwise in the possession of a retailer, secondary 
wholesaler, transporter, unclassified acquirer, vending machine operator, 
or wholesaler must bear the “proper” marking required by Treasury 
except as otherwise explained below. [MCL 205.426(6)].
 
b) Original Manufacturer Shipping Cases of OTP 
Each original manufacturer shipping case of OTP that is received or 
acquired in Michigan by a wholesaler, secondary wholesaler, vending 
machine operator, unclassified acquirer, or retailer must bear at least 1 
of the following “markings” [MCL 205.426(6)]: 
• Name and address of the person making the first purchase in Michigan 

(e.g., a shipping label), or 
• The “marking” applied by the Treasury authorized OTP roller/hand 

stamper. 

Licensed wholesalers and unclassified acquirers typically receive OTP 
in original manufacturers’ shipping cases directly from manufacturers 
or unlicensed out-of-state distributors. Once an original manufacturer’s 
shipping case of OTP is received or acquired in Michigan, these 
wholesalers and unclassified acquirers MUST affix the marking applied 
by the Treasury authorized OTP roller/hand stamper to each original 
manufacturer’s shipping case if it does not already bear the name and 
address of the first purchaser in Michigan. If an original manufacturer’s 
shipping case is purchased or otherwise acquired by a secondary 

NOTE: Each original 
manufacturer shipping case of 
OTP is not required to have 
either prescribed marking 
(e.g., name and address of 
first purchaser in Michigan 
or marking applied with the 
Treasury authorized OTP 
roller/hand stamp) while being 
transported into Michigan so 
long as the case is not received 
or acquired in Michigan by the 
licensee. Therefore, labeling 
or marking the shrink-wrap 
or other material covering 
a pallet or group of these 
cases is acceptable. However, 
once received or acquired in 
Michigan by the licensee, each 
original manufacturer shipping 
case must bear either of the 
markings described above or it 
will be in violation of the TPTA; 
regardless whether there is a 
marking on the shrink-wrap 
or other material covering the 
pallet or group of these cases. 
Whether a case is deemed 
to be received or acquired 
in Michigan will be based 
on the particular facts and 
circumstances. Relevant factors 
include, but are not limited 
to, ownership of the cases at 
the time they enter Michigan, 
the risk of loss, and the use of 
a common carrier versus the 
licensee's own vehicle.

NOTE: Requirements for 
reporting, possessing and 
returning unstamped cigarette 
inventory or stamps can be 
found in Rule 2 (R 205.452).

http://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-43519_43547-470540--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-43519_43547-470540--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-44079-155886--,00.html
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wholesaler or retailer from a licensed wholesaler or unclassified 
acquirer, the shipping case must bear one of the above markings or it 
will be presumed to be contraband and subject to seizure and forfeiture 
as explained on pages 12 and 19 of this Information Guide.     

c) Other Shipping Cases, Boxes or Containers of OTP 
Wholesalers and unclassified acquirers typically ship OTP to their 
customers (e.g., secondary wholesalers, vending machine operators, and 
retailers) in smaller cases, boxes, or containers after the OTP has been 
broken down from the original manufacturers’ shipping cases. Before 
shipping any such case, box, or other container of OTP (regardless 
whether a case, box, or container also contains other (non-tobacco) 
items), each must be marked by the wholesaler or unclassified acquirer 
using the Treasury authorized OTP roller/hand stamper.  

Secondary wholesalers may further break down cases, boxes, or 
containers purchased or received from wholesalers and unclassified 
acquirers into other cases, boxes, or containers for their customers 
(e.g., retailers). Because secondary wholesalers are not permitted to 
possess or use the Treasury authorized OTP roller/hand stamper, OTP 
shipped in these cases, boxes, or containers by secondary wholesalers 
to their customers will NOT bear any markings.  Accordingly, as long 
as the customer (e.g., retailer) purchased or acquired these unmarked 
cases, boxes, or containers from a licensed secondary wholesaler and 
maintains the proper invoices and other records required by the TPTA 
to substantiate the purchase or acquisition, the unmarked cases, boxes, 
or containers will not be considered contraband and will not be subject 
to seizure or forfeiture. 

See Application for Non-Cigarette Tobacco Products Stamp (Form 
323 regarding the Treasury authorized OTP roller/hand stamper) and 
Internal Policy Directive 2006-11 for more information: 
www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/ipd2006-11_179402_7.pdf. See 
also Value, Inc v Dep't of Treasury, 320 Mich App 571 (2017).
 
Vending Machine Disc or Marker
Each vending machine containing a tobacco product for sale must have 
the Treasury authorized disc or marker attached to the front of the 
vending machine (and visible to the public). [MCL 205.423(5)]

 

NOTE: A retailer may possess 
other shipping cases, boxes 
or containers of OTP that 
do not bear the Treasury 
approved marking so long as 
the OTP was purchased or 
otherwise acquired from a 
licensed secondary wholesaler 
and the retailer maintains the 
records required by the TPTA 
to substantiate the purchase or 
acquisition of the OTP.

http://www.michigan.gov/taxes/0,4676,7-238-44079-155886--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/ipd2006-11_179402_7.pdf
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Administrative Inspection of Licensees
Inspectors will present their State of Michigan identification and business 
card to the contact person of the establishment. They will explain 
the reason for the inspection, the process that will be followed, and 
the items that they will need to see inside the business, including (if 
applicable) but not limited to:
•	The previous four (4) years of tobacco product invoices
•	TPTA license
•	Sales tax license
•	 Identification of business contact person
•	All tobacco products
•	 Signage indicating sales to minors are prohibited
•	Cigarette stamp inventory

Administrative inspections will occur during the licensee’s regular 
business hours and will not be pre-scheduled or otherwise announced 
in advance. The inspection process is permitted by law without a search 
warrant or court order and may not be prevented or hindered. [MCL 
205.426a(5), (7)]

All tobacco products associated with the business must be presented 
for inspection including tobacco products held in storage areas inside or 
outside of the business, vehicles, and residences.

Invoices and other records (see page 12 for a description of the invoices 
and other records) must be presented for the purpose of supporting the 
purchase or acquisition of the tobacco products for the business over 
the past four (4) years. These invoices and records must be located at 
the business and immediately accessible at the time of inspection. It is a 
violation of the TPTA for a licensee to not have these invoices 
on site and available for inspection. 

The “ship to” address on the invoices must match the physical location 
where the tobacco products are being stored or offered for sale. 

Tobacco shipping cases, containers, and boxes will be inspected for 
proper markings and, where appropriate, shipping labels. Individual 
packages of cigarettes and cartons will also be inspected to ensure 
stamps are affixed to the individual packages of cigarettes. 

For licensees that are unclassified acquirers, the inspector may bring 
the monthly tobacco tax returns filed by the licensee to assist in the 
inspection. The invoice information will be compared to these tobacco 
tax returns. This process may occur at the business or the records may 
be removed from the business for further examination.	

The Treasury authorized OTP roller (hand stamper) assigned to the 
licensee will be inspected.

NOTE: For licensees, "regular 
business hours" refers to 
the Hours of Operation listed 
on Part 1 of the licensee's 
license application  and any 
additional hours which may 
be displayed  on the licensee's 
signage, advertisements or other 
information communicated to 
the general public. 

 
NOTE: Inspectors will be 
looking for overall compliance 
with the TPTA. This may 
include (but is not limited 
to) the following prohibited 
actions (unless licensed as a 
manufacturer):

•	The mixing or blending of 
tobacco products to create a 
new product.

•	The use of cigarette making 
machines, including for 
demonstration purposes.
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Contraband
A tobacco product held, owned, possessed, transported, or in control 
of a person in violation of the TPTA, and a vending machine, vehicle, 
and other tangible personal property containing a tobacco product in 
violation of the TPTA and any related books and records are contraband 
and may be seized and confiscated by Treasury. [MCL 205.429(1)] 

The seizure and forfeiture of a tobacco product or other property does 
not relieve a person from a fine, imprisonment, or other penalty for 
violation of the TPTA. [MCL 205.429(6)]

Recordkeeping Requirements
Invoices and Other Records (General)
Manufacturers, secondary wholesalers, transportation companies, 
unclassified acquirers, vending machine operators, and wholesalers 
must keep a complete and accurate record of each tobacco product 

manufactured, purchased, or otherwise acquired. For secondary 
wholesalers, transportation companies, unclassified acquirers, 
vending machine operators, and wholesalers these records must 
include a written statement containing all of the following [MCL 
205.426(1)]:
•	Name and address of both the seller and purchaser
•	Delivery date 
•	Quantity of each tobacco product
•	Trade name or brand of each tobacco product
•	Price paid for each tobacco product purchased or acquired

Invoices and Other Records (Vending Machine 
Operators)
Vending machine operators must keep a detailed record of each vending 
machine owned for the sale of tobacco products containing all of the 
following information [MCL 205.426(3)]:
•	Location of each vending machine
•	Date the vending machine was placed on the location
•	Quantity of each tobacco product placed in each vending machine
•	Date when tobacco products were placed in each vending machine
•	Amount of the commission paid or earned on sales through each 

vending machine

When filling or refilling a vending machine, vending machine operators 
must deliver a written statement to the owner or tenant occupying the 
premises where a vending machine is located with all of the following 
[MCL 205.426(3)]:
•	Name and address of vending machine operator and name and address 

of owner or tenant
•	Date when vending machine was filled (or refilled)
•	Quantity of each brand of tobacco product sold from the vending 

machine since the date when the tobacco products were last placed in 
the vending machine.
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Transactions Involving Manufacturer Representatives
Representatives of licensed manufacturers must provide each licensee 
(wholesaler, secondary wholesaler, vending machine operator, or 
unclassified acquirer) with an invoice when exchanging tobacco products 
or otherwise engaged in transactions with that licensee involving 
tobacco products. This record must show:
(i)	 the quantity and identity of the tobacco products received by the 

licensee; 
(ii)	 detail whether exchanged, received, removed, or otherwise disposed 

of; and 
(iii)	 the identity of the licensee involved. 

This invoice must be retained by the licensee in the same place and for 
the same period of time as other records required by the TPTA. [MCL 
205.428(2)]

Records Must be Available for Inspection
A licensee must keep the written statement described above (as 
applicable to that license type) AND a true copy of all purchase orders, 
invoices, bills of lading, and other written matter substantiating the 
purchase or acquisition of each tobacco product at the location where 
the tobacco products are stored or offered for sale. These records must 
be preserved for a period of four (4) years from the date of acquisition 
or purchase and offered for inspection at any time upon oral or written 
demand by Treasury or its authorized agent. Treasury may require other 
documents to be retained by a licensee. [MCL 205.426(1), (5)]

Documents Furnished with each Sale or Consignment 
of Tobacco Products
Manufacturers, secondary wholesalers, unclassified acquirers, and 
wholesalers must deliver (and retain a duplicate) with each sale or 
consignment of a tobacco product a written statement containing all of 
the following information [MCL 205.426(2)]:
•	Name (or trade name) and address of both the seller and purchaser
•	Delivery date 
•	Quantity of each tobacco product
•	Trade name or brand of each tobacco product
•	Price paid for each tobacco product purchased or acquired.

NOTE: A licensee is not 
in compliance with these 
recordkeeping requirements 
if the records are kept offsite, 
such as in the custody of an 
accountant (or other agent), or 
retained solely by the licensees’ 
vendor. 

TIP: Treasury may, by prior 
written approval, allow a 
licensee to maintain records 
in a different manner. [MCL 
205.426(1)]

NOTE: Maintaining documents 
in an electronic format (rather 
than paper) may be acceptable 
as a “true copy” for purposes 
of the TPTA provided the 
documents can be delivered 
(either by printing out on paper 
or by electronic transfer - e.g., 
email or thumb drive) to the 
inspectors upon request. Having 
the information available only 
on a screen for viewing by the 
inspectors does not comply 
with the TPTA.
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Documents Required for Transporting Tobacco 
Products in Michigan
Transporters or other licensees must have in their actual possession bills 
of lading or invoices containing all of the following when transporting, 
possessing, or acquiring for purposes of transporting, a tobacco product 
on Michigan roads, highways, or streets [MCL 205.426(7)]:
•	Name (or trade name) and address of both the seller and purchaser
•	Delivery date 
•	Quantity of each tobacco product
•	Trade name or brand of each tobacco product
•	Price paid for each trade name or brand in the transporter’s (or other 

licensee’s) possession or custody
•	Copy of the transporter’s (or if other licensee, licensee’s) TPTA license
•	Permit issued by Treasury (transporters only). See MCL 205.426(8) for 

details regarding this permit. 

Shipping Tobacco Products to Locations Outside of 
Michigan (Exports)
Licensees located in Michigan who ship (export) tobacco products to 
locations outside Michigan must place the name and address of the 
consignee or purchaser to whom the shipment is made outside Michigan 
on each shipping case or other container in which the tobacco product 
is shipped. [MCL 205.426(6)]

NOTE: An individual acting 
as a transporter is required to 
be licensed as a transporter. 
An employee must have, in his 
or her possession, a copy of 
their employer's transporter or 
other appropriate TPTA license 
when transporting, possessing 
or acquiring for the purpose 
of transporting, a tobacco 
product on a Michigan road or 
highway, or the employee will 
be considered an unlicensed 
transporter in violation of the 
TPTA.

NOTE: Labeling or marking 
shrink-wrap or other material 
covering a pallet or group of 
cases or containers (rather 
than on each individual case or 
container) does not satisfy this 
requirement.
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Applying for and Renewing a 
License
To obtain a license for the first time, an applicant must register and 
submit an online application in the Michigan Motor Fuel and Tobacco 
System (MiMATS) through the e-Services link and demonstrate the 
following (through satisfactory proof as determined by Treasury):   
•	The applicant’s financial responsibility including, but not limited to, a 

minimum net worth of $25,000.00.
•	The applicant owns, or has an executed lease for, a secure 

nonresidential facility for the purpose of receiving and distributing 
cigarettes and/or OTP and conducting its business. If the applicant 
carries on another business in conjunction with the secure 
nonresidential facility, the other business shall also be identified.

•	United States citizenship or eligibility to obtain employment within the 
United States if not a citizen. If the applicant is not an individual, the 
controlling shareholders, partners, directors, and principal officers shall 
be United States citizens or eligible to obtain employment within the 
United States if not a citizen.

A checklist and instructions are available to help complete the 
application.  Additional forms and documentation are required to be 
submitted with the completed application. Please see www.michigan.
gov/tobaccotaxes for more information. 

A TPTA license is issued by location therefore a licensee with two or 
more locations needs a TPTA license for each location.  A TPTA license is 
not assignable and expires annually thus requiring licensees to complete 
and submit an application each year. The license year begins on July 1 and 
ends on June 30. 

In order to continue operating as a licensee into the new license year, an 
application and fee for renewal are required to be submitted to Treasury 
by June 30 each year. If the application is not submitted to Treasury by 
June 30, a person will be unable to operate as a licensee (beginning July 
1) until a new license is issued.  A NEW application must be submitted 
and will be subject to additional requirements. 

NOTE: An applicant for a 
license may be subject to a pre-
license inspection performed by 
the Michigan State Police prior 
to the approval or issuance of a 
license.

NOTE: A secondary wholesaler 
must maintain an established 
place of business in Michigan 
where the tobacco products are 
received, stored and available for 
sale and for inspection purposes 
during regular business hours. 

A license is NOT required 

when a person acts solely 

in the capacity of a retailer.

http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes
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License Hearing Procedures
Treasury may suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a license for 
failure to comply with the TPTA or “for any other good cause.” [MCL 
205.425(1)] Hearing procedures involving a suspension, revocation, or 
refusal to renew a license are set forth under MCL 205.425 and are 
summarized below: 

Hearing Before a Representative of the Treasurer or 
Treasurer’s Designee
Before Treasury suspends, revokes, or refuses to renew a license, 
Treasury is required to notify the person of its intent to hold a hearing 
before a representative of Treasury to determine whether to suspend, 
revoke, or refuse to renew the license at least fourteen (14) days before 
the scheduled hearing date.

Hearing Before a Hearing Referee
A person aggrieved by the suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue or 
renew a license may apply to Treasury's Hearings Division for a hearing 
within twenty (20) days after notice of the suspension, revocation, or 
refusal to issue or renew the license.  A hearing is then held by a Hearing 
Referee in the same manner as provided in MCL 205.21. 

For a suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew a license, the Decision 
of the Administrator of the Hearings Division is required to be issued 
within forty-five (45) days of Treasury’s receipt of the request for 
hearing.  An appeal can be taken as allowed by law.
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Administrative Inspection of 
Retailers (No License)
Inspectors will present their State of Michigan identification and business 
card to the employee contacted at the retail location. They will explain 
the reason for the inspection, the process that will be followed, and the 
items that they will need to see inside the business, including:
•	Tobacco product records for the previous four (4) months
•	Sales tax license
•	 Identification of business contact person
•	All tobacco products
•	 Signage indicating sales to minors are prohibited

Administrative inspections will occur during the retailer’s regular 
business hours and will not be pre-scheduled or announced in advance. 
The inspection process is permitted by law without a search warrant or 
court order and may not be prevented or hindered. [MCL 205.426a(6)(7)]

Tobacco product invoices and other records required by the TPTA 
covering the four (4) month period must be located on the site of the 
business and made available immediately at the time of the inspection. 
Retailers must also have the ability to provide copies of the invoices and 
records to the inspectors upon request.

The inspection process requires that the inspectors be provided access 
to all areas of the business for the following purposes:
•	Determine if the invoices support the tobacco products in the store 

and conduct a reverse inventory to ensure that all of the tobacco 
products are substantiated by invoices.

•	Check that the “Ship To” address on each invoice matches the physical 
location of the tobacco product.

•	Verify that the invoices (and other required records) are from an 
appropriate licensee to ensure that the TPTA tax has been paid. 

•	Ensure that individual packages of cigarettes are properly affixed with a 
valid, Treasury-authorized stamp.

NOTE: Important guidance as 
to who is considered a “retailer” 
under the TPTA can be found in 
the published decisions by the 
Michigan Court of Appeals in 
the following cases:

People v Assy, 316 Mich App 302 
(2016)

People v Shami, 318 Mich App 
316 (2016)

NOTE: A retailer's regular 
business hours are those hours 
the retailer is open for business 
as evidenced by the retailer's 
commercial activity and signage, 
advertisements or other 
information communicated to 
the general public.
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Recordkeeping Requirements
Invoices and Other Records
Retailers must keep a complete and accurate record of each tobacco 
product purchased or otherwise acquired. These records must include a 
written statement containing all of the following [MCL 205.426(1)]:
•	Name and address of both the seller and purchaser
•	Delivery date 
•	Quantity of each tobacco product
•	Trade name or brand of each tobacco product
•	Price paid for each tobacco product purchased or acquired

Records Available for Inspection
A retailer must keep the written statement described above AND 
a true copy of all purchase orders, invoices, bills of lading, and other 
written matter substantiating the purchase or acquisition of each 
tobacco product at the location where the tobacco products are stored 
or offered for sale for a period of four (4) months from the date of 
acquisition or purchase. Records must be preserved for a period of 
four (4) years from the date of acquisition or purchase and offered for 
inspection at any time upon oral or written demand by Treasury or its 
authorized agent. [MCL 205.426(1), (5)]

Acquiring Tobacco Products
Retailers, except those that also maintain an appropriate license (e.g., 
unclassified acquirer - retail importer of cigarettes or OTP), must 
purchase all of their tobacco products from a source that has a valid 
TPTA license to ensure that all tobacco taxes have been pre-paid. 
Licensed sources include: wholesalers, secondary wholesalers, and 
unclassified acquirers. Each retailer is encouraged to contact Treasury to 
verify each source has a valid license.

A retailer may not purchase, receive or solicit a sale of a tobacco 
product to be shipped, mailed or otherwise sent or brought into 
Michigan (including internet-based purchases) unless the retailer also 
holds an unclassified acquirer license or the tobacco products are sold 
through a licensed wholesaler or unclassified acquirer. [MCL 205.423(1), 
205.431(1)]

There are sources located outside of Michigan that have been issued 
a license to sell tobacco products to businesses in Michigan. These 
purchases may be delivered via ground transportation. Contact Treasury 
to determine if a source has such a license.

A representative of a licensed manufacturer must provide the retailer 
with an invoice when exchanging a tobacco product. This record must 
show: (i) the quantity and identity of the tobacco product received 
by the retailer; (ii) detail whether exchanged, received, removed, or 

NOTE: A retailer may keep its 
records relating to purchases 
or acquisitions older than four 
(4) months off-site, including 
with the retailer’s accountant or 
other agent. However, a retailer 
is not in compliance with these 
recordkeeping requirements if 
the records allowed to be kept 
off-site are not in the custody of 
the retailer, it’s accountant (or 
other agent), or retained solely 
by the retailer’s vendor. 

TIP: Treasury may, by prior 
written approval, allow a 
retailer to maintain records 
in a different manner. [MCL 
205.426(1)]

NOTE: Maintaining documents 
in an electronic format (rather 
than paper) may be acceptable 
as a “true copy” for purposes 
of the TPTA provided the 
documents can be delivered 
(either by printing out on paper 
or by electronic transfer - e.g., 
email or thumb drive) to the 
inspectors upon request. Having 
the information available only 
on a screen for viewing by the 
inspectors does not comply 
with the TPTA.
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NOTE: A person (other than 
a licensee) who is in control or 
possession of a tobacco product 
in violation of the TPTA (e.g., an 
individual package of cigarettes 
without a stamp), or offers 
to sell or does sell a tobacco 
product for purposes of resale 
without the requisite license is 
personally liable for the TPTA 
tax plus a penalty of 500% of the 
amount of the TPTA tax due. 
[MCL 205.428(1)]

See Vulic v Dep’t of Treasury, 321 
Mich App 471 (2017).

otherwise disposed of, and (iii) the identity of the retailer involved. 
This invoice must be retained by the retailer in the same place and for 
the same period of time as other records required by the TPTA. [MCL 
205.428(2)]

Transferring Tobacco Inventory Between Retail 
Locations
Tobacco products purchased for a specific retail location for resale 
may not be transferred to other retail locations (i.e., those with a 
different physical address) even if all locations have the same owner.  A 
license (e.g., secondary wholesaler, unclassified acquirer, wholesaler, or 
transporter) is required to transfer products between retail stores with 
different physical addresses. 

Contraband
A tobacco product held, owned, possessed, transported, or in control 
of a person in violation of the TPTA, and a vending machine, vehicle, 
and other tangible personal property containing a tobacco product in 
violation of the TPTA and any related books and records are contraband 
and may be seized and confiscated by Treasury. [MCL 205.429]

The seizure and forfeiture of a tobacco product or other property does 
not relieve a person from a fine, imprisonment, or other penalty for 
violation of the TPTA. [MCL 205.429(6)]
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Manufacturer Representatives
The TPTA allows for certain activities concerning the possession and 
sale, exchange, or other disposition of tobacco products in Michigan 
by a person that is a representative of a licensed manufacturer. [MCL 
205.428(2)] Below are the TPTA’s requirements applicable to such 
representatives:
•	Treasury may permit a representative whose duties require travel in 

Michigan to transport up to 138,000 cigarettes, of which not more 
than 36,000 cigarettes may bear no tax indicia or the tax indicia of 
another state. 

•	The total value of OTP carried by a representative shall not exceed a 
wholesale value of $5,000.00. 

•	A manufacturer must notify Treasury of the manufacturer’s 
representatives that it currently employs who carry cigarettes or OTP 
in performing work duties in Michigan. 

•	The manufacturer shall maintain a record of each transaction by 
the manufacturer’s representative for a period of four (4) years 
immediately following the transaction and shall produce the records 
upon request of Treasury or Treasury’s authorized agent. 

•	Each record shall identify the quantity and identity of the tobacco 
products, detail whether exchanged, received, removed, or otherwise 
disposed of and the identity of the retailer, wholesaler, secondary 
wholesaler, vending machine operator, or unclassified acquirer involved. 
The representative must provide a copy of the record to the retailer, 
wholesaler, secondary wholesaler, vending machine operator, or 
unclassified acquirer at the time of the exchange or disposal. 

•	A representative may not, within Michigan, exchange or otherwise 
dispose of tobacco products bearing the tax indicia of another state or 
receive tobacco products bearing the tax indicia of another state from 
retailers located in Michigan. 

In addition to the statutory provisions of the TPTA, Rule 3 (R 205.453) 
provides that manufacturer representatives may legally possess individual 
packages of cigarettes if the Tobacco Manufacturer’s Representative 
Permission List (Form 4857) is submitted to Treasury. 
 
A manufacturer must promptly notify Treasury when the manufacturer’s 
representative is no longer employed by the manufacturer or when 
there is any change in any representative’s territory in Michigan, name, 
address, telephone number, or vehicle make, model, or license number. 
[R 205.453]

NOTE: A representative is 
guilty of a felony, punishable by a 
fine of not more than $5,000.00 
or imprisonment for not more 
than five (5) years, or both, if 
they do any of the following in 
Michigan:

•	Sell, exchange, or otherwise 
dispose of cigarettes or OTP 
that do not bear the stamp 
or other marking required by 
Treasury, and/or 

•	Sell, exchange, or otherwise 
dispose of cigarettes or OTP 
bearing the tax indicia of 
another state.

[MCL 205.428(2)]

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/taxes/4857_344701_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/taxes/4857_344701_7.pdf
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Sales of Single Cigarettes and Games of 
Chance
Federal law and regulations prohibit a retailer from selling single 
cigarettes (“loosies”):
•	 Federal regulations at 21 CFR 1140.14 provide that "no retailer 

may break or otherwise open any cigarette . . . package to sell or 
distribute individual cigarettes or a number of unpackaged cigarettes 
that is smaller than the quantity in the minimum cigarette package 
size defined in 1140.16(b) . . . ." The minimum cigarette package size is 
generally 20 per 1140.16(b).  A "retailer" is defined for purposes of this 
regulation as "any person who sells cigarettes or smokeless tobacco to 
individuals for personal consumption, or who operates a facility where 
vending machines or self-service displays are permitted under Part 
1140."

•	Michigan law provides that a person shall not possess or sell a tobacco 
product that violates any Federal law or regulation and that a product 
that does not comply with Federal law or regulation is subject to 
seizure. Therefore the sale of single cigarettes is a violation of the 
TPTA. [MCL 205.14]

The TPTA prohibits a person from using a device or game of chance to 
aid, promote or induce sales or purchases of a tobacco product or give 
a tobacco product in connection with a device or game of chance. [MCL 
205.426(4)]

NOTE: More information is 
available at the U.S. Department 
of Treasury, Alcohol and Tobacco 
Tax and Trade Bureau, FAQS  
www.ttb.gov/tobacco/
tobacco-faqs.shtml#t17 

Also see 27 CFR part 40

NOTE: Under MCL 722.642a, 
a person who sells tobacco 
products at retail and sells a 
cigarette separately from its 
package could be subject to a 
misdemeanor charge, punishable 
by a fine of not more than $500 
for each offense. 

https://www.ttb.gov/tobacco/tobacco-faqs.shtml
https://www.ttb.gov/tobacco/tobacco-faqs.shtml
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Audit
In general, the TPTA is administered by Treasury under the Revenue 
Act. [MCL 205.433(1)] Section 3(a) of the Revenue Act [MCL 205.3(a)] 
authorizes the examination of the books and records of a taxpayer to 
determine if the correct tax was reported and paid. 

A confirmation letter will be sent giving notification that an AUDIT 
will be performed. Included in the letter will be instructions on how to 
obtain the Taxpayer Rights During an Audit brochure (Form 2315).

Treasury auditors are professionals, familiar with the application of 
Michigan tax law in the business environment. The auditor assigned to 
an audit will conduct a fair and impartial examination of the taxpayer’s 
records. While the audit is in progress, the auditor will answer any 
questions that may arise. 

When the audit is finished, the auditor will explain the audit findings 
and the alternatives available to the taxpayer if the taxpayer disagrees 
with the audit results. The Revenue Act requires taxpayers to furnish all 
records requested by the auditor that are necessary for performing a 
fair and impartial audit.

NOTE: Audit resources 
including Taxpayer Rights During 
an Audit and Audit Standards for 
Field Audits can be found at  
www.michigan.gov/taxes 
/0,4676,7-238-74531_43524--
-,00.html

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/2315_285135_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/taxes /0,4676,7-238-74531_43524---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/taxes /0,4676,7-238-74531_43524---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/taxes /0,4676,7-238-74531_43524---,00.html
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Seizure Hearing Procedures
Demand for Hearing
After property (contraband) has been seized, any person claiming 
an interest in the seized property may file a demand for a hearing to 
determine if the property was lawfully subject to seizure and forfeiture. 
A demand for hearing must be filed with Treasury's Hearings Division 
within ten (10) business days after the date of service of the Notice of 
Seizure and Inventory Statement of Property Seized. If a timely demand 
for hearing is not made or if it fails to comply with the requirements 
of MCL 205.429(3), the property seized is considered forfeited to the 
State of Michigan by operation of law and may be destroyed or sold by 
Treasury. 

Hearing
Upon receipt of a demand for hearing, Treasury is required to hold the 
hearing within fifteen (15) business days. The case will be assigned to 
a Hearing Referee and Treasury’s Hearings Division will mail a Notice 
of Hearing that includes the date and time of the hearing along with 
instructions for how to participate in person or by telephone. The 
hearing is conducted in an informal manner that facilitates the exchange 
of information needed to determine whether the property is subject to 
seizure and forfeiture or is to be returned. 

At the hearing before Treasury, the person who demanded the hearing 
is entitled to be represented by an attorney or other person, to present 
testimony and argument, and may submit a presentation in the form of 
a brief or a written statement that contains the facts, a discussion of the 
relevant law, and the legal arguments in favor of the person’s position.

After reviewing the testimony, evidence, and written submissions, the 
Hearing Referee will prepare a written Recommendation to Treasury.

Decision
Treasury, acting through the Administrator of the Hearings Division, 
is required to issue its decision, in the form of a Decision and Order of 
Determination, in writing within ten (10) business days of the hearing 
and shall either declare the seized property subject to seizure and 
forfeiture, or declare the property must be returned in whole or in part. 
This decision will be sent by registered mail and will be accompanied 
by a notice of appeal rights.  Appeals must be commenced in the circuit 
court of the county where the seizure took place within twenty (20) 
days of Treasury sending the decision to the interested person(s). [MCL 
205.429(4)] See also Prime Time Int’l Distrib, et. al.  v Dep’t of Treasury, 322 
Mich App 46 (2017).

NOTE: The twenty (20) day 
period for filing an appeal 
commences upon sending of 
the decision to the person or 
persons claiming an interest in 
the seized property. Treasury 
is not required by law to 
send a copy of the decision 
to an attorney or other 
representative of the person(s) 
challenging the seizure. See 
K&W Wholesale, LLC et al v Dep’t 
of Treasury, 318 Mich App 605 
(2017)

NOTE: Failure to make a timely 
appeal to the appropriate circuit 
court will result in the seized 
contraband being forfeited to 
the state. [MCL 205.429(4)]
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Treasury-Issued Rules, Bulletins and Other Guidance 
Administrative Rules 
(R205.451 through 
R205.455)
•	R 205.451: Definitions
•	R 205.452: Prescribed markings 

on cigarette boxes and shipping 
cases; resale and refund of 
returned cigarettes

•	R 205.453: Manufacturers’ 
representatives; permissions; 
limitations

•	R 205.454: Stamping agents; 
permissions; limitations

•	R 205.455: Rescission

Audit Standards for Field 
Audits
• Rules 205.2001-205.20111	

Frequently Asked 
Questions (FAQ) on 
Tobacco Tax
•	 See www.michigan.gov/

tobaccotaxes 

Internal Policy Directives 
(IPDs)
•	 IPD 2006-11 (TOBACCO 

PRODUCTS TAX - OTP 
SEIZURE)

Letter Rulings (LRs)
•	LR 2015-4 (Tobacco Tax 

Payment Requirements for 
Unclassified Acquirers)

•	LR 2015-3 (Non-Tobacco 
Products with Nicotine and the 
TPTA)

•	LR 2013-1 (Operating Cigarette 
Making Machines Through 
Private, Nonprofit Clubs 
Located in Non-Commercial 
Settings to Produce, Roll 
or Generate Cigarettes in 
Michigan)

•	LR 2002-05 (Gratis Cigarettes)

Notices
•	Notice to Stamping Agents re: 

Implementation of Digital Tax 
Stamps in Michigan (Feb 2014)

•	Notice Regarding Premium 
Cigars (Effective Nov 1, 2012)

•	Notice re: 2012 PA 188 and 
Cigarette Making Machines (July 
2012)

•	Special Notice to OTP 
Wholesalers, Secondary 
Wholesalers, and Unclassified 
Acquirers re: Blunt Wraps (June 
2012)

•	Notice re: Brand Identification 
on Shipping Papers and Invoices 
(Oct 2006)

•	Notice to AT/ST Dual Licensees’ 
How to File Your Tobacco Tax 
Returns

•	Prevent All Cigarette Tracking 
(PACT) Act Background and 
Notice

•	Consumer Warning Notice re: 
Internet Tobacco Purchases (for 
Retailers)

•	Notice to Licensed Wholesalers 
and Unclassified Acquirers of 
Cigarettes and OTP re: MSA

Other Guidance and 
Resources
•	Master Settlement Agreement 

(MSA)/NPM Enforcement
•	MSA and NPM Enforcement 

Information and Requirements
•	NPM Filing Deadlines for 

Escrow and Equity Assessment
•	Equity Assessment Prepayment 

Requirement
•	Equity Assessment Notice to 

NPMs
•	List of Manufacturers 

Authorized to Sell Cigarettes 
or Roll-Your-Own (RYO) in 
Michigan

•	Nonparticipating Manufacturer 
(NPM) Directory 

•	Participating Manufacturer (PM) 
Directory 

Revenue Administrative 
Bulletins (RABs)
•	RAB 2009-2 (Tobacco Products 

Tax, Secondary Wholesaler 
Licensure)

To view the "Notices," "Other 
Guidance and Resources" as 
well as additional information, 
visit www.michigan.gov/
tobaccotaxes 

http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes  
http://www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes  
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NOTE: TPTA Administrative 
Rules can be found at: https://
dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/
AdminCode/82_10078_
AdminCode.pdf

RABs, Letter Rulings and IPDs 
are available on Treasury’s 
website under “Reports and 
Legal Resources” which is 
available at: 
www.michigan.gov/treasury

For information describing 
the different types of Treasury 
guidance and the extent, if any, 
taxpayers may rely on such 
guidance, please see RAB 2016-
20 available at:  
www.michigan.gov/
documents/treasury/
RAB_2016-20_-_Issuance_
of_Bulletins_Letter_
Rulings_and_Other_
Guidance_536827_7.pdf

 

https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/82_10078_AdminCode.pdf
https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/82_10078_AdminCode.pdf
https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/82_10078_AdminCode.pdf
https://dtmb.state.mi.us/ORRDocs/AdminCode/82_10078_AdminCode.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/treasury/0,4679,7-121- 44402_76517---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/RAB_2016-20_-_Issuance_of_Bulletins_Letter_Rulings_and_Other_Guidance_536827_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/RAB_2016-20_-_Issuance_of_Bulletins_Letter_Rulings_and_Other_Guidance_536827_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/RAB_2016-20_-_Issuance_of_Bulletins_Letter_Rulings_and_Other_Guidance_536827_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/RAB_2016-20_-_Issuance_of_Bulletins_Letter_Rulings_and_Other_Guidance_536827_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/RAB_2016-20_-_Issuance_of_Bulletins_Letter_Rulings_and_Other_Guidance_536827_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/treasury/RAB_2016-20_-_Issuance_of_Bulletins_Letter_Rulings_and_Other_Guidance_536827_7.pdf
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Glossary of Terms
AUDIT	  
The physical examination of a 
licensee’s records and source 
documents to determine the 
accuracy of the reported 
information on the licensee’s tax 
returns.

CIGARETTE 
A roll for smoking made wholly 
or in part of tobacco, irrespective 
of size or shape and irrespective 
of the tobacco being flavored, 
adulterated, or mixed with any 
other ingredient, which roll has a 
wrapper or cover made of paper 
or any other material. Cigarette 
does not include cigars.

CIGARETTE MAKING 
MACHINE 
Any machine or other mechanical 
device which meets all of the 
following criteria: 
(i.) Is capable of being loaded 

with loose tobacco, cigarette 
tubes or cigarette papers, and 
any other components related 
to the production of cigarettes, 
including, but not limited to, 
cigarette filters. 

(ii.) Is designed to automatically 
or mechanically produce, roll, fill, 
dispense, or otherwise generate 
cigarettes.

(iii.) Is commercial-grade or 
otherwise designed or suitable 
for commercial use.

(iv.) Is designed to be powered or 
otherwise operated by a main 
or primary power source other 
than human power.

MANUFACTURER continued
Note: A person who operates 
or otherwise uses a machine or 
other mechanical device, other 
than a cigarette making machine, 
to produce, roll, fill, dispense, or 
otherwise generate cigarettes shall 
not be considered a manufacturer 
as long as the cigarettes are 
produced or otherwise generated 
in that person’s dwelling and for 
that person’s self-consumption. 
For purposes of the TPTA, “self-
consumption” means production 
for personal consumption or use 
and not for sale, resale, or any 
other profit-making endeavor.

MASTER SETTLEMENT 
AGREEMENT (MSA) 	  
As defined in 1999 PA 244, MCL 
445.2051 to 445.2052.

NON-CIGARETTE 
SMOKING TOBACCO
Tobacco sold in loose or 
bulk form that is intended for 
consumption by smoking and 
includes roll-your-own cigarette 
tobacco and blunts or blunt wraps 
containing tobacco.

NONPARTICIPATING 
MANUFACTURER (NPM) 	
A manufacturer of cigarettes that 
is not a participating manufacturer 
as that term is defined in 1999 PA 
244, MCL 445.2051 to 445.2052. 
Nonparticipating manufacturer 
also includes the first purchaser of 
cigarettes manufactured outside 
the United States for resale in the 
United States.

INDIVIDUAL PACKAGE 	 
An individual packet or pack used 
to contain or to convey cigarettes 
to the consumer. Individual 
package does not include cartons, 
cases, or shipping or storage 
containers that contain smaller 
packaging units of cigarettes.

LICENSE 
The license described under 
section 3 of the TPTA, MCL 
205.423.

LICENSEE  
A person licensed under the 
TPTA.

MANUFACTURER 	
“Manufacturer” means any of the 
following:
(i.) A person who manufactures or
produces a tobacco product.
•	To "manufacture" means to make 

into a product suitable for use or to 
make from raw materials by hand 
or by machinery.

•	To "produce" means to give being, 
form or shape to.

(ii.) A person who operates or 
who permits any other person 
to operate a cigarette making 
machine in this state for the 
purpose of producing, filling, 
rolling, dispensing, or otherwise 
generating cigarettes. 

•	A person who is a manufacturer 
under this subparagraph 
constitutes a nonparticipating 
manufacturer. 
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OTHER TOBACCO 
PRODUCT (OTP) 
Cigars, non-cigarette smoking 
tobacco or smokeless tobacco.

PARTICIPATING 
MANUFACTURER (PM)
As defined in 1999 PA 244, MCL 
445.2051 to 445.2052.

PERSON 
An individual, partnership, 
fiduciary, association, limited 
liability company, corporation, or 
other legal entity.

PLACE OF BUSINESS 
A place where a tobacco product 
is sold or where a tobacco 
product is brought or kept for the 
purpose of sale or consumption, 
including but not limited to, a 
vessel, airplane, train, or vending 
machine.

RETAILER 
A person, other than a 
transportation company, who 
operates a place of business for 
the purpose of making sales of 
a tobacco product at retail.  A 
person who directs or manages 
(or has control over the day-
to-day operations of) the place 
of business for the purposes of 
making sales of tobacco products 
at retail constitutes a retailer 
under the TPTA even if that 
person does not own the place of 
business. 

STAMPING AGENT
A wholesaler or unclassified 
acquirer other than a 
manufacturer who is licensed 
and authorized by Treasury 
to affix stamps to individual 
packages of cigarettes on behalf 
of itself and other wholesalers or 
unclassified acquirers other than 
manufacturers.

TOBACCO PRODUCTS
Cigarettes, cigars, non-cigarette 
smoking tobacco, or smokeless 
tobacco.

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX 
ACT (TPTA)	  
1993 PA 327, MCL 205.421 et seq.

TRANSPORTATION 
COMPANY
A person operating, or supplying 
to common carriers, cars, 
boats, or other vehicles for the 
transportation or accommodation 
of passengers and engaged in the 
sale of a tobacco product at retail.

TRANSPORTER 	  
A person importing or 
transporting into this state, 
or transporting in this state, a 
tobacco product obtained from 
a source located outside this 
state, or from any person not 
duly licensed under the TPTA. 
Transporter does not include an 
interstate commerce carrier 
licensed by the interstate 
commerce commission (or 
its successor federal agency, 
department, or commission) to 
carry commodities in interstate 
commerce, or a licensee 
maintaining a warehouse or 
place of business outside of this 
state if the warehouse or place 
of business is licensed under the 
TPTA.

REVENUE ACT	  
1941 PA 122, MCL 205.1 et seq. 

SALE
A transaction by which the 
ownership of tangible personal 
property is transferred for 
consideration and applies also to 
use, gifts, exchanges, barter, and 
theft.

SECONDARY 
WHOLESALER 
A person who sells a tobacco 
product for resale, who purchases 
a tobacco product from a licensed 
wholesaler or unclassified 
acquirer, and who maintains an 
established place of business in 
this state where a substantial 
portion of the business is the sale 
of tobacco products and related 
merchandise at wholesale, and 
where at all times a substantial 
stock of tobacco products and 
related merchandise is available to 
retailers for resale.

SMOKELESS TOBACCO 	
Snuff, chewing tobacco, and any 
other tobacco that is intended to 
be consumed by means other than 
smoking.

STAMP
A distinctive character, indication, 
or mark, as determined by 
Treasury, attached or affixed to an 
individual package of cigarettes by 
mechanical device or other means 
authorized by Treasury to indicate 
that the tax imposed under the 
TPTA has been paid.
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UNCLASSIFIED ACQUIRER  
A person, except a transportation 
company or a purchaser at retail 
from a retailer licensed under the 
General Sales Tax Act, 1933 PA 
167, MCL 205.51 to 205.78, who 
imports or acquires a tobacco 
product from a source other 
than a licensed wholesaler or 
secondary wholesaler for use, 
sale, or distribution. Unclassified 
acquirer also means a person who 
receives cigars, non-cigarette 
smoking tobacco, or smokeless 
tobacco directly from a licensed 
manufacturer or from another 
source outside this state, which 
source is not licensed under the 
TPTA. Unclassified acquirer does 
not include a wholesaler.

VENDING MACHINE 
OPERATOR  
A person who operates one 
or more vending machines for 
the sale of a tobacco product 
and who purchases a tobacco 
product from a manufacturer, 
licensed wholesaler, or secondary 
wholesaler.

WHOLESALE PRICE 
The actual price paid for a 
tobacco product, including any tax, 
by a wholesaler or unclassified 
acquirer to a manufacturer, 
excluding any discounts or 
reductions.

WHOLESALER
A person who purchases all 
or part of his or her tobacco 
products from a manufacturer, 
who sells 75% or more of those 
tobacco products to others 
for resale, and who maintains 
an established business where 
substantially all of the business 
is the sale of tobacco products 
and related merchandise at 
wholesale and where at all times 
a substantial stock of tobacco 
products and related merchandise 
is available to retailers for resale. 
Wholesaler includes a chain 
of stores retailing a tobacco 
product to the consumer if 75% 
of its stock of tobacco products 
is purchased directly from the 
manufacturer.

 
 

Treasury Contact 
Information	

Tobacco Enforcement 
Discovery & Tax 
Enforcement
Phone: 517-636-0680 
Fax: 	 517-763-0258 
Email:	 Treas_Tobacco_Tax_
Enforcement@michigan.gov	

Mailing address: 
Discovery Unit 
Michigan Department of Treasury 
PO BOX 30140 
Lansing, MI 48909-7640

	

Tobacco Tax Unit
Phone:	517-636-4630 
Fax: 	 517-636-4631 
Email: Treas_TobaccoTaxes@
michigan.gov

Mailing address: 
Tobacco Tax Unit 
Michigan Department of Treasury 
PO BOX 30791 
Lansing, MI 48909-7974

Tribal Affairs*
Phone: 517-241-2185 
Fax:	 517-241-3825

* Licensees transacting with 
federally-recognized Indian 
tribes may contact Tribal Affairs 
with any related questions.

Note: These definitions 

and abbreviations are 

referenced throughout this 

guide.
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