APPLICATION FOR AN ORIGINAL MICHIGAN

I Clear Form I

[ SALVAGE TITLE

(Check One)
PLEASE PRINT IN INK OR TYPE D SCRAP TITLE
(See Instructions On Reverse Side)
DAMAGE DESCRIPTION: FRONT YEAR MAKE MODEL BODY STYLE
[ FroNT 1 g
L] RIGHT FRONT VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER FEE CAT OR WGT | COLOR (TOP/BOTTOM)
I RIGHT sIDE w w | | |
O RiGHT REAR o g
[ rear » it
[ LeFT siDE E f-;
[CJ LEFT REAR ] T | OWNERNAME(S) HECK IF TITLE TO READ
L LEFT FRONT - ‘FULL RIGHTS TO SURVIVOR”
D BURNED STREET ADDRESS
[]RoLL OVER J:L
O stripPED cITY STATE ZIP CODE
REAR
O FLooD
MAJOR COMPONENT PARTS NOT SALVAGEABLE: FIRST SECURED INTEREST FILING DATE
A. [ FRONT BUMPER M. CJLEFT REAR
5. [ Hoob DOOR STREET ADDRESS
N. O LeFT FRONT
c. OenaiNe DOOR
cITY STATE ZIP CODE
D. [J TRANSMISSION o. [ LEFT FENDER
E. [J RIGHT FENDER p [ FRAME OR "
SUPPORTING [ correcteD TITLE
. CJRIGHT FRONT DOOR STRUCTURE
WHICH SERVES
6. CJRIGHT REAR DOOR AS A FRAME STATE REASON
H. CJ RIGHT REAR a. O passENGER VEHICLE PURCHASED FROM PURCHASE DATE
QUARTER PANEL VEHICLE BODY
I. ] REAR BUMPER R. [JTRuck caB STREET ADDRESS
J. O peck Lb, TAILGATE,  s. [ pickup TRUCK
HATCHBACK CARGO BOX CITY STATE ZIP CODE
k. CJTRUNKFLOORPLAN T ] van BACK
DOOR(S)
L O (LDEUFAFRBI'IEEQRPANEL VEHICLE USE AND HISTORY DISCLOSURE:
O POLICE VEHICLE 0 GOVERNMENT VEHICLE O taxi O FLOOD DAMAGED
0 S SALVAG USE TAX RETURN—USE THIS SECTION FOR TAX CALCULATION*
ALL PARTS SALVAGEABLE
1. Full purchase price or retail value whichever is greater...............c.cccooeiinenn. $
BRANCH USE ONLY LEGAL PAPERS 289 (X.0B)....eeveeeeeeeee ettt $ 0.00
TYPE OF DOCUMENT COUNTY
3. Credit for tax paid to a reciprocal state (proof attached)..............cccccoiviiiiinns $
B COURT 4. Amount of tax beiNg Paid..........ccccviiiiiiiiiic e $ 0.00
SE s see e SRR USE THIS SECTION IF CLAIMING TAX EXEMPTION*
STATE REASON
BRANCH OFFICE EXAMINER (Print) Any false statement, alteration, forgery, or fraud in TITLE FEE $
connection with this title transaction is a crime.
NAME: | (we) certify | (we) own this vehicle and all information shown on this application is correct to
L1 owneR the best of my (our) knowledge. | (we) further certify this vehicle qualifies for a salvage title or

1.D. PRESENTED:

[] oTHER

scrap title according to the standards on the reverse side.

IF YOUR TITLE IS NOT RECEIVED WITHIN 10
DAYS FROM THE DATE OF FILING, CONTACT A
SECRETARY OF STATE OFFICE.

OWNER’S SIGNATURE PRINTED NAME OF SIGNER

X

Tl R T DAMAGED SEE REVERSE
ESTIMATED COST OF REPAIR PRE-DAMAGED FAIR MARKET VALUE | PERCENT DAMAGED S|DE FOR
DAMAGE

$ $ % | INFORMATION

A LICENSE PLATE CANNOT BE PURCHASED FOR OR DISPLAYED ON THIS VEHICLE

Authority granted under Public Act 300 of 1949 as amended.

*See instructions on back

TR-12 (07/17)

Michigan Department of State



SALVAGE TITLE

1. Vehicles whose estimated cost of repair is 75% or greater but less than 91% of the pre-damaged value must be titled with a salvage
(or scrap) title. Vehicles with damage less than 75% may voluntarily be titled as salvage.

2. List all major component parts that are not salvageable, or that all parts are salvageable.

3. Send proof of ownership, fees, and this application to Michigan Department of State, PO Box 30330, Lansing, Ml 48909-7830.

4. Salvage title fee: $15. Tax is due unless otherwise exempt (see below). Dealers and insurance companies are exempt from tax when
holding vehicle for resale.

5. The certification on the other side of this application indicates the applicant has an estimate for repair on file which verifies the
estimated cost of repair and pre-damage value. The applicant should keep this information for five years in case it is requested or
needed again.

SCRAP TITLE

1. Vehicles whose estimated cost of repair is 91% or greater than the pre-damaged value must receive a scrap title. Vehicles with
damage less than 91% may voluntarily be titled as scrap.

2. List all major component parts that are not salvageable, or that all parts are salvageable.
3. Send proof of ownership, fees, and this application to Michigan Department of State, PO Box 30330, Lansing, Ml 48909-7830.
4. Scrap title fee: $20. Tax is not due with scrap titles.
VEHICLE COLOR

1. The color code(s) must be selected from the list below.

2. If the vehicle is all one color, record code before the slash.

3. Top color/bottom color format is used for two tone vehicles.

4. Multicolor (MUL) cannot be used in combination with any other color.
COLOR CODE COLOR CODE COLOR CODE COLOR CODE
ALUMINUM SIL CHROME COM LIGHT GREEN LGR RED RED
BEIGE BGE COPPER CPR IVORY CRM SILVER SIL
BLACK BLK CREAM CRM LAVENDER LAV STAINLESS STEEL COM
BLUE BLU GOLD GLD MAROON MAR TAN TAN
DARKBLUE DBL GRAY GRY MULTICOLOR MUL TURQUOISE TRQ
LIGHT BLUE LBL GREEN GRN ORANGE ONG WHITE WHI
BRONZE BRZ DARK GREEN DGR PINK PNK YELLOW YEL
BROWN BRO PURPLE PLE

CORRECTED SALVAGE OR SCRAP TITLE

A certification must be attached to an application for a corrected salvage title or scrap title describing the reason for correction.

USE TAX RETURN

Final determination of the correct tax liability is made by the Michigan Department of Treasury. You may be required to document your
tax return or prove you are entitled to the exemption claimed. If you cannot support your claim, minimum penalties include the added
tax, a negligence penalty, plus interest from the date of filing this application. Additional penalties can be imposed including criminal
prosecution or assessing up to 175% of the tax due.

“A person who violates a provision of this section with intent to defraud or to evade...the payment of a tax, or a part of the tax, is guilty
of a felony, punishable by a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or both.” Sec. 27, Public Act 162
of 1980.

Exemption - Transfers Between Relatives: An exemption from use tax is allowed when the new owner is the spouse, father,
mother, brother, sister, child, stepparent, stepchild, stepbrother, stepsister, half-brother, half-sister, grandparent, grandchild, father-
in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, grandparent-in-law, grandchild-in-law, legal ward, or
legally-appointed guardian of the previous owner. Documentation proving the relationship may be requested by the Michigan
Department of Treasury.

THE SECTION PROVIDING FOR PAYMENT OF TAX IS COMPLETED AS FOLLOWS:

Line 1 — Enter the full purchase price or retail dollar value. The full purchase price includes the full amount paid to the previous owner
together with any outstanding debt owned. Such payment means money, credit, services rendered, trades or anything of value.

Line 2 — Enter 6% of the amount of line 1.

Line 3 - Enter any Sales or Use Tax paid in another state (including the tax paid to local government units) which is reciprocal with
Michigan. Submit proof.

Line 4 — Enter the amount of use tax due. If line 3 is completed, the tax due will be the difference between line 2 and the tax shown as
paid on line 3. In all other cases, line 4 will be the same as line 2.
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