

OWNERSHIP CERTIFICATION

I (we),					
certify I (we) am				watercraft and am er	ntitled to
title or register i	t in the S	State of Michigar	٦.		
L(wa) also cartif	iv I (wa) h	ave inspected t	ha vahicla i	dentification number	(\/INI) or
		er (HIN) on the u			(V II V) OI
		(,			
Year	Make			Model	
Pody Stylo		VIN or HIN			
Body Style		VIN OF HIN			
-	T v	. 🗆		□ \A/-((
This is a: L	J Vehicl	e ∟ Sno	wmobile	☐ Watercraft	⊔ orv
(check one)					
Complete all I	hoxes:				
•					
Vehicle or Watercraft Value:		Date Acquired:			
A 6% use ta	x is due	on the appraisal	value or the	e purchase price, wh	ichever is
				Гах Act (MCL 205.17	
Where Acquired	:				
Name of Person	Acquired	From:			
I Name of Ferson	Acquirca	i ioiii.			
T					
How Acquired:					
Χ					
Signature				Date	
	O.g.i			24.0	
X					
	Co-Owne	r's Signature		-	

Ownership Certification Instructions

Use of this form is limited as a last resort when a:

- (a) Vehicle title, watercraft title or ORV title has been lost, destroyed, or stolen and the purchaser is unable to contact the previous owner for a duplicate title, or
- (b) Snowmobile, non-titled watercraft, or moped registration has been lost and the purchaser is unable to contact the owner on record for an assigned registration or bill of sale.
- 1. Eligibility for using this procedure:
 - The vehicle must be 10 or more years old (6 or more years old for ORVs).
 - The vehicle or watercraft's value can't exceed \$2,500 (\$1,500 for ORVs).
 - Can't be used with mobile homes.
 - Can't be used for vehicles acquired out of state. The out-of-state title is required.
 - Can't be used unless the applicant has exhausted all possibilities of contacting the titled or registered owner on record.

If the vehicle doesn't meet the above criteria and you can't obtain an assigned ownership document from the previous owner, a surety bond must be purchased.

- 2. For vehicles, applicants must submit a vehicle appraisal showing the value is \$2,500 or less. This appraisal may be:
 - a) An appraisal completed by a licensed Michigan dealer, or
 - A page printed from an online appraisal service such as Kelly Blue Book, N.A.D.A. Guides, Edmunds etc. (<u>kbb.com</u>, <u>nadaguides.com</u>, <u>edmunds.com</u>)

On-line appraisal sites may provide multiple vehicle values (wholesale value, trade-in value, and retail value). Any of these values showing a value of \$2,500 or less may be accepted.

An appraisal is not required for watercraft, snowmobiles, ORVs, and mopeds.

- Complete the Ownership Certification (form TR-205) on the reverse side.
- 4. Submit the Ownership Certification and appraisal (for vehicles) at a Secretary of State office. Office staff will check national databases to ensure the vehicle is not reported stolen or titled in another state.
- A 6% use tax is due on the appraisal value or the purchase price, whichever is higher, as required by the Sales and Use Tax Act (MCL 205.179).
- 6. A registration may be purchased as part of your transaction. For vehicles, proof of Michigan no-fault insurance must be presented.