

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY Lansing

RACHAEL EUBANKS STATE TREASURER

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE STATE TAX COMMISSION

Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

Monday, May 24, 2021 9:00 a.m.

Peggy L. Nolde, Chairperson W. Howard Morris, Member STC Leonard D. Kutschman, Member STC

David A. Buick, Executive Director LaNiece Densteadt, Recording Secretary

The item numbers referred to in the minutes correspond to the agenda items as numbered.

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adopt the minutes of May 10, 2021 as presented. (Item 1 on agenda)

Public Comment – Agenda Items 4 and 5 Only (Item 2 on agenda): No member of the public wished to speak regarding agenda items 4 and 5.

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved the valuations enumerated by Ms. Parr and recommended by the Property Services Division be received and approved as the 2021 Final Equalized Valuations for each separately equalized classification of property in each of the 83 Michigan counties. The Final 2021 total state equalized valuations for each class are as follows: (Item 3 on agenda)

Agricultural	\$ 24,725,862,338
Commercial	\$ 72,011,183,737
Industrial	\$ 20,909,443,109
Residential	\$ 360,665,143,888
Timber-Cutover	\$ 204,444,022
Developmental	\$ 71,249,020
Total Real Property	\$ 478,587,326,114
Total Personal Property	\$ 32,020,646,613
Total Real and Personal	\$ 510,607,972,727

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to acknowledge those local units who have received a perfect score on the Audit of Minimum Assessing Requirements (AMAR) Review by providing a Certificate of Achievement to the following: (Item 4 on agenda)

Baraga County

Arvon Township L'Anse Township

Houghton County

Franklin Township Osceola Township Quincy Township

Ionia County

Campbell Township Keene Township Ronald Township

Leelanau County

Bingham Township Glen Arbor Township Solon Township

Livingston County

City of Brighton Brighton Township Hartland Township Iosco Township Oceola Township Unadilla Township

Mackinac County

Brevort Township Garfield Township Moran Township

Menominee County

City of Menominee Daggett Township Gourley Township Lake Township Meyer Township

Missaukee County

City of Lake City Aetna Township West Branch Township Covington Township Spurr Township

Laird Township Portage Township Torch Lake Township

Danby Township Lyons Township Sebewa Township

Elmwood Township Kasson Township

City of Howell Cohoctah Township Howell Township Marion Township Tyrone Township

Clark Township Marquette Township

City of Stephenson Faithorn Township Holmes Township Menominee Township Stephenson Township

Forest Township

Muskegon County

City of Muskegon City of Norton Shores City of Whitehall Casnovia Township Dalton Township Fruitland Township Holton Township Moorland Township White River Township

Ontonagon County

Bergland Township Greenland Township McMillan Township Rockland Township

Ottawa County

City of Grand Haven Blendon Township Crockery Township

Wexford County

City of Cadillac Antioch Township Cherry Grove Township Colfax Township Hanover Township Liberty Township Springville Township City of North Muskegon City of Roosevelt Park

Cedar Creek Township Egelston Township Fruitport Township Montague Township Sullivan Township Whitehall Township

Carp Lake Township Haight Township Ontonagon Township Stannard Township

Chester Township Robinson Township

City of Manton Cedar Creek Township Clam Lake Township Greenwood Township Haring Township Slagle Township Wexford Township

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved all recommendations made by staff regarding the interlocal agreements from sixty-eight (68) counties that demonstrate the proposed Designated Assessor can ensure that the local units within these counties can achieve and maintain substantial compliance with the General Property Tax Act in the event the Designated Assessor provisions within Public Act 660 of 2018 become necessary. (Approved Counties Link) The Commission received notice the following eleven (11) counties have not yet filed *Form 5697 – State Tax Commission Petition for Approval of County Designated Assessor*. Barry, Bay, Benzie, Houghton, Huron, Lenawee, Ogemaw, Ontonagon, Saginaw, Washtenaw and Wayne Counties. The Commission also approved to require the following three counties supply further information to meet requirements approved by the Commission on June 9, 2020 for consideration of approval: Alger, Missaukee and Otsego Counties. The Commission additionally denied the proposed Designated Assessor for Lake County based on the qualifications of the proposed assessor. (Item 5 on agenda)

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adopt the MCL 211.154 petitions on the **Concurrence Agenda**. (Item 6 on agenda) (<u>Concurrence Agenda Link</u>)

Public Comment (Item 7 on agenda):

No member of the public wished to speak at public comment.

Executive Director Buick stated the following: I just wanted to give a real brief update on the Solar Panel Ad Hoc Committee. We are finalizing the draft multiplier table and how the multiplier table was developed. We will be releasing the table on June 4th. The Committee has been working diligently to get this done. I am very impressed by the information and the way they have pulled this together.

The June 8, 2021 Commission meeting is scheduled to take place at the Okemos Conference Center in the Okemos Ballroom A, B & C, 2187 University Park Drive, Okemos. In order to limit the spread of COVID-19, the meeting may be held virtually via Microsoft Teams. In the event the meeting is held virtually, a video and audio link to the meeting will be posted on the State Tax Commission's website at www.michigan.gov/statetaxcommission one week prior to the meeting.

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adjourn the meeting of the State Tax Commission at 9:26 am.

DATE TYPED:	May 25, 2021
DATE APPROVED:	June 8, 2021

Peggy L. Nolde, Chairperson State Tax Commission

W. Howard Morris, Member State Tax Commission

Leonard D. Kutschman, Member State Tax Commission