**GRETCHEN WHITMER** 

GOVERNOR



STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY LANSING

RACHAEL EUBANKS STATE TREASURER

## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE STATE TAX COMMISSION

## Okemos Conference Center, Okemos A & B Rooms 2187 University Park Drive, Okemos, Michigan

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 9:00 a.m.

PRESENT: Nick A. Khouri, Chair STC W. Howard Morris, Member STC Leonard D. Kutschman, Member STC

> David A. Buick, Acting Executive Director LaNiece Densteadt, Recording Secretary

## The item numbers referred to in the minutes correspond to the agenda items as numbered.

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the minutes of May 13, 2019. (Item 1 on agenda)

Public Comment – Agenda Items 4-7 Only (Item 2 on agenda):

No member of the public wished to speak at public comment on agenda items 4-7.

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved the valuations enumerated by Ms. Parr and recommended by the Property Services Division be received and approved as the 2019 Final Equalized Valuations for each separately equalized classification of property in each of the 83 Michigan counties. The Final 2019 total state equalized valuations for each class are as follows: (Item 3 on agenda)

Agricultural	\$ 24,127,707,286
Commercial	\$ 66,044,428,409
Industrial	\$ 19,610,294,569
Residential	\$ 319,596,513,032
Timber-Cutover	\$ 215,084,613
Developmental	\$ 79,982,763
<b>Total Real Property</b>	\$ 429,674,010,672
<b>Total Personal Property</b>	\$ 29,241,372,608
<b>Total Real and Personal</b>	\$ 458,915,383,280

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adopt the revised Supervising Preparation of the Roll to reflect statutory changes in MCL 211.10e, as amended by 2018 PA 660. (Item 4 on agenda)

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the Property Assessing Reform Proposal Frequently Asked Questions. (Item 5 on agenda)

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adopt the staff recommendation on the Re-certifications and New Certifications of Computerized Tax Rolls for the following: (Item 6 on agenda)

These certifications will expire on May 1, 2022.

## New Certification's:

## Ingham County

Williamstown Township

## **Jackson County**

Village of Concord Grass Lake Township Village of Hanover Village of Springport

<u>Mason County</u> Logan Township

## **Recertification's:**

Alcona County

Curtis Township

## **Genesee County**

City of Burton Clayton Township City of Linden Mundy Township

# Gogebic County

Bessemer Township

#### Hillsdale County Somerset Towns

Somerset Township

## Isabella County

Broomfield Township Denver Township Gilmore Township Isabella Township Nottawa Township Rolland Township Village of Shepherd Vernon Township

### **Jackson County**

Hanover Township Napoleon Township Norvell Township Village of Parma Rives Township Sandstone Township Spring Arbor Township Tompkins Township

## Kent County

Algoma Township City of Walker

<u>Livingston County</u> Green Oak Township

## Macomb County

City of Eastpointe

## **Midland County**

Edenville Township Homer Township Ingersoll Township Larkin Township Lee Township Lincoln Township City of Midland

## **Osceola County**

Burdell Township Cedar Township Hartwick Township Highland Township Middle Branch Township Orient Township Osceola Township Rose Lake Township

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the staff recommendation on the New Certifications and Recertifications of Computerized Assessment Rolls for the following: (Item 7 on agenda)

These certifications will expire on May 1, 2022.

New Certifications:

Hillsdale County Somerset Township

Jackson County Henrietta Township

<u>Lenawee County</u> Franklin Township Rollin Township Woodstock Township

<u>Monroe County</u> City of Milan

Oceana County Newfield Township

<u>St. Clair County</u> Columbus Township

Washtenaw County City of Milan

Wayne County City of Flat Rock

## **Recertifications:**

Allegan County Saugatuck Township

Berrien County Chikaming Township

<u>Kalamazoo County</u> Comstock Township

Kent County

Alpine Township City of Walker

Oakland County White Lake Township

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the MCL 211.154 petitions on the **Concurrence Agenda**. (Item 8 on agenda) (See attached link for file identification)

Public Comment (Item 9 on agenda):

No member of the public wished to speak at public comment.

The next Commission meeting will be held June 11, 2019, at the Okemos Conference Center in the Okemos A & B Rooms, 2187 University Park Drive, Okemos.

It was moved by Khouri, supported by Kutschman, and approved to adjourn the meeting of the State Tax Commission at 9:09 a.m.

DATE TYPED: May 28, 2019

DATE APPROVED: June 11, 2019

Nick A. Khouri, Chair State Tax Commission

W. Howard Morris, Member State Tax Commission

Leonard D. Kutschman, Member State Tax Commission