RICK SNYDER

GOVERNOR



STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY LANSING

NICK A. KHOURI STATE TREASURER

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE STATE TAX COMMISSION

Okemos Conference Center, Okemos A & B Rooms 2187 University Park Drive, Okemos, Michigan

> Tuesday, May 29, 2018 9:00 a.m.

PRESENT: Douglas B. Roberts, Chair STC W. Howard Morris, Member STC Leonard D. Kutschman, Member STC

> Heather S. Frick, Executive Director LaNiece Densteadt, Recording Secretary

The item numbers referred to in the minutes correspond to the agenda items as numbered.

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the minutes of May 14, 2018. (Item 1 on agenda)

Public Comment – Agenda Items 4-10 Only (Item 2 on agenda): No member of the public wished to speak at public comment on agenda items 4-10.

Ms. Parr submitted the 2018 Preliminary State Equalized Valuation Report which included recommended revisions received from the Eaton County's Equalization Director regarding the L-4024 Report of Assessed and Equalized Valuations. It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved that the revised valuations enumerated by Ms. Parr and recommended by the Property Services Division be received and approved as the 2018 Final Equalized Valuations for each separately equalized classification of property in each of the 83 Michigan counties. The Final 2018 total state equalized valuations for each class are as follows: (Item 3 on agenda)

Agricultural	\$ 23,875,149,909
Commercial	\$ 59,886,541,936
Industrial	\$ 18,399,190,366
Residential	\$ 298,806,291,873
Timber-Cutover	\$ 221,738.864
Developmental	\$ 113,310,652
Total Real Property	\$ 401,302,120,700
Total Personal Property	\$ 28,268,257,483
Total Real and Personal	\$ 429,570,378,183

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adopt the State Tax Commission Policy on Assessor Discipline Following a Failed Follow-Up AMAR Review (<u>See attached link for file identification</u>). (Item 4 on agenda)

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved Bulletin 6 of 2018 July and December Boards of Review. (Item 5 on agenda)

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved the revision of Form 5241 – Application for Exemption of Charitable Nonprofit Housing Property. (Item 6 on agenda)

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved the Charitable Nonprofit Housing Property Exemption Guidelines. (Item 7 on agenda)

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the staff recommendation on the Charitable Non-Profit Housing Organization Exemptions for the following: (Item 8 on agenda)

These exemptions will expire on **December 30, 2021 for a period of three (3 years) or December 30, 2023 for a period of five (5 years)** or until one of the following events occur:

- 1. The eligible nonprofit housing property is occupied by a low-income person under a lease agreement, or
- 2. The eligible nonprofit housing property is transferred by the charitable nonprofit housing organization.

County	Local Unit	Parcel Number	Years Approved
Monroe	Monroe Township	58-12-110-008-00	3 years
Dickinson	Norway Township	22-004-450-015-00	5 years

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the staff recommendation on the Re-certifications and New Certifications of Computerized Tax Rolls for the following: (Item 9 on agenda)

These certifications will expire on May 1, 2021.

New Certifications:

Kent County

City of Lowell

Missaukee County Clam Union Township

Sanilac County

Austin Township Buel Township Forester Township City of Brown City City of Sandusky

Recertification's:

Macomb City of Roseville

Montcalm County Bushnell Township

It was moved by Kutschman, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adopt the staff recommendation on the New Certifications of Computerized Assessment Rolls for the following: (Item 10 on agenda)

These certifications will expire on May 1, 2021.

New Certifications:

Grand Traverse County City of Traverse City

Houghton County Franklin Township Torch Lake Township

Leelanau County City of Traverse City

Muskegon County City of Muskegon

Washtenaw County City of Chelsea

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the staff recommendations on the **Exemptions Agenda**. (Item 11 on agenda) (See attached link for file identification.)

It was moved by Morris, supported by Kutschman, and unanimously approved to adopt the MCL 211.154 petitions on the **Concurrence Agenda**. (Item 12 on agenda) (See attached link for file identification)

Public Comment (Item 13 on agenda): No member of the public wished to speak at public comment.

The next Commission meeting will be held June 5, 2018, at the Okemos Conference Center in the Okemos A & B Rooms, 2187 University Park Drive, Okemos.

It was moved by Roberts, supported by Morris, and unanimously approved to adjourn the meeting of the State Tax Commission at 9:15 a.m.

DATE TYPED:May 29, 2018DATE APPROVED:June 5, 2018

Douglas B. Roberts, Chair State Tax Commission

W. Howard Morris, Member State Tax Commission

Leonard D. Kutschman, Member State Tax Commission