STATE OF MICHIGAN
DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY
LANSING

JENNIFER M. GRANHOLM
GOVERNOR

ROBERT J. KLEINE STATE TREASURER

NUMBERED LETTER 2008-1

MILEAGE RATE FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS

Issued By: Local Audit and Finance Division, Bureau of Local Government Services

Issue Date: February 6, 2008

2008-1. This Numbered Letter announces the change in the statutory mileage rate allowed for the process or papers served out of a court by an authorized person.

In accordance with the provisions of Public Act 236 of 1961 as amended, MCL 600.2559(4) and 600.2555, the statutory mileage rate that an authorized person is entitled to receive for all court process or papers served is 1.5 times the Premium Mileage Rate allowed for employees in the State classified civil service. Mileage is computed, each way, by the shortest distance from the court that issued the process of paper to the place of service, not to exceed 75 miles each way. For example, if the Premium Mileage Rate is 50.5 cents, the amount that an authorized person is entitled to receive would be 75.75 cents per mile (50.5 x 1.5). Please note that the Premium Mileage Rate is updated regularly and this calculation is for illustrative purposes only.

The Premium Travel Rate allowed for employees in the State classified civil service may be found at the Department of Management and Budget's website at: Michigan.gov/dmb. Click on *agency services*, then *travel*. The document can then be found under the heading "Travel Rates and Select Cities."

Authority to administer all travel rules and regulations covering employees in the classified and unclassified service is within the jurisdiction of the Department of Management and Budget, Agency Services, Vehicle and Travel Services Division. Any questions regarding standard travel regulations should be directed to the Department of Management and Budget at 517-322-5110.

Issued by:

Michigan Department of Treasury Local Audit and Finance Division P.O. Box 30728 Lansing, Michigan 48909-8228